??!
4 photos
Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 15-inch

Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 15-inch

2017, 2015 Mid, 2016 (with Touch Bar), etc...
3.6 from 44 reviews

See the Best Laptops in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
8
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
8

Keyboard keys damage screen

published

Purchased this Macbook in mid 2018, only to realise a year that overtime the keys on the keyboard had damaged the screen and left permanent marks on it that cannot be wiped off. The design of the new keyboard keys mean that when the Macbook is closed the keys will wear away and rub on the screen and leave permanent marks. I have a nice outline of a spacebar on my screen, as well as outlines of the actual keys on my screen. I recommend if purchasing this laptop to keep a thin protector between the screen and the keyboard. Or just don't buy it until Apple decides to change the design of the keyboard to be a good balance of function and aesthetics.

Purchased in July 2018 at Apple Store Australia for $4,500.00.


Kestan

Kestan

  • 2 reviews

Less user friendly than before

published

Using usb c as a charging port replacing the MagSafe is a terrible idea: can’t tell when it’s full charge except to look at the display and different to plug-in without adequate ambient lighting (does not easily snap in like MagSafe)

Unbelievable - WORST keyboard and working laptop ever

published

Purchased a Macbook Pro 2018 (over 4,000 Euros!!!) and it's the WORST laptop and keyboard I ever had.

This device is not for professionals (how could it be if you cannot even type on it properly!?), it's for people showing-off or wannabe cool kiddies.

Stay away if you want a proper working device.

Purchased in November 2018 for $5,000.00.

Ivan C

Ivan CSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Excelente!!

published

Working as the first day I bought.
Using it for photography and artistic designs, never got a virus like my old windows or frozen even that I use apps that requires a lot of memory ram and power.
An absolutely monster!!

Purchased in August 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $4,500.00.


Cassie

CassieBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Amazing, will never go back

published

I cant live without this Mac. I used to have an Mac air and I loved it until I got my hands on this. The Retina display is incredible and I love the size of the screen and how far the screen goes to the sides. Its very fast and I have no complaints.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Marijke

MarijkeTownsville

PORTS

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Jacob White

Jacob White

  • 3 reviews

Macbook Prada, not Pro

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Samba

SambaSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awful for typing/coding, clunky for the stuff you need to add to operate it.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Narasimha

NarasimhaDocklands

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Mac book pro 15 inch with touch bar's display is flickered with in 2 weeks of purchase

published

I have recently purchased "Mac book pro 15 inch with touch bar(2017 model)" and there was an issue with display. Display was flickered 4 times on a single day and I have captured the same. However, Apple support team confirmed that they have not found any issue during diagnosis. I am really unhappy about the Apple Product quality.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Steve

Steve

  • 11 reviews
  • 15 likes

The Mac Book Pro 2 Terabytes Storage is Awesome

published

The all new models of the Mac Book Pro with the touch bar are fantastic. They are so fast and connects to the Internet super fast. I was amazed with the product from the date of purchase. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who can splash out to reach that price tag.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

DeadlyDigger

DeadlyDiggerCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Stick to Windows

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

I.S

I.SUlladulla

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Times Have Changed - Poor Product!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Kizzy

KizzyBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A fantastic update let down by a poor keyboard and lack of ports

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Nic

Nicbrisbane

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 like

Try Find Me A Better Laptop

published

Best laptop I've owned - AND I'M A WINDOWS GUY!!!!

Fast, responsive, best screen ever, fluent typing experience, instant on, trackpad smooth as silk, good sound, quick drive.

I'm going to stick with Mac as my laptop from now on without hesitation.

(BUT - Windows Explorer has a way better filing system than MAC OS which isn't the laptop's fault - it's the folks at Cuppertino! Apple do yourself a favour and just pinch the Windows version of managing files.)

Gotta say it, love my MAC!

Date PurchasedJul 2014
Matthew

MatthewPerth

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Horrendously overpriced

published

I paid $3000 for the 15" MacBook Pro back in September 2014 and I can not tell you enough how much of a rip off it is! For the same price I could build or buy a PC that would leave the MacBook Pro in the dust, I understand MacBooks are built better and they have Mac OS but your really just paying for the brand name, it performs very poorly for the price paid for it, would not recommend it.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
Mat

MatMelbourne

A very bad battery experience - Macbook pro 15' 2017

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Tucs

TucsPerth

  • 7 reviews

Very good but expensive

published

I am using this laptop for work, with windows 10 and it is great. I also use it at home with mainly video usage'
If I have to highlight something bad, than it would be only the battery time, which has gone down drastically over time, when unatached the battery is poor and the overall cost is expensive but i must say it is a good laptop

Date PurchasedJun 2016

P Tran

P TranMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Reliable, with decent screen size

published

I work from home so need a decent sized computer with fast processing. Aesthetically, I liked the look of the mac and it is lightweight enough for transport. The fan goes off quite quickly on hot days and it doesn't cope that well. I also found that mac have a lot of update pop ups which can get distracting. Still good overall.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Unfortunate

UnfortunateHobart

  • 5 reviews

Good graphics and improved speed however poor battery life and repairability and not compatible with

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Shannon B

Shannon BAdelaide

  • 34 reviews

I Love This and still going Strong!

published

Got rid of my last IBM after losing all my photos/files to a virus. Replaced with Macbook and haven't looked back. A stunning slick looking computer. Gets used constantly for work, home, education, movies, TV etc. Never a virus, never a glitch. Am sold and would definately recommend and repurchase. $3200 I paid initially was money well spent and do not regret.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Apple representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.