2 photos
ASUS RT-AC88U

ASUS RT-AC88U

MPN: RT-AC88U
4.2 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Routers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by ASUS

Reviews

4.2
18 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (5)
  • Number of Connected Devices 16 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    4.4 (5)
  • Reliability
    3.8 (5)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next
Ric C.
Ric C.South East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Good when it runs

published

I “upgraded”from a 68U to the 88U. The 88U struggled on 2.4. not good if you have plugged in to a safety switch and an electrical storm comes thru as that was the end of them both. Works well otherwise. Better with mesh. Returning back to HN again inside a year for replacement. 68U backup still works

Purchased for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David2
David2AU
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Performance, Excellence,Mesh

published

Connectivity is superb, we avoided the fiasco that is the NBN and went with Optus 4G
Dropouts are very, very rare.
Management ranges from simple to complex, I have 2 mesh repeaters and wanted to flood the house with signal.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Routers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Glenn M.
Glenn M.
  • 3 reviews

Tried 2, both are broken

published

After deciding that my old trusty Netgear router was struggling with all my devices, I thought I'd upgrade to the Asus ac88u. Got the router and it was great for about 15 minutes. I tried all the settings and factory reset it a few times but after 2 days it completely failed. I got a replacement and it seems to last about 20 minutes before dropping out. This is officially the worst product I have ever purchased.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Routers

Find out how ASUS RT-AC88U compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
brocky
brockyCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well

published

I recently purchased the ASUS RT-AC88U Dual Band AC3100 Gigabit Router I have found this product to be perfect for my needs it offers gigabit wired networking and fantastic other features like being able to have a hard drive connected to be able to do mac back up It also is grate for gaming and has a feature to speed up the connection for gaming networks it is fairly easy to set up and if you do run into problems there are plenty of YouTube videos from asus and others that will walk you through the setup highly recommend this product

Purchased in July 2019 at Umart Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
steven
stevenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 27 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified

Great upgrade from RT68U (update added 29APR2020)

published

Purchased in June 2019 at MSY Technology for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Never again wow
Never again wowperth
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

No issues

published

How satisfied are you with the connectivity of the modem/router to your devices?
very good.

How often do you get dropouts that are fixed by resetting the modem / router (ie. the ISP is not at fault)?
None that ive noticed.

How difficult is it to set up and manage this modem / router?
pretty easy if you have a bit of background knowledge i use the ISP modem as a bridge.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Glen B
Glen B
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Rock solid

published

Ton of features and great range. I haven't had a single drop out or Reboot needed since switching from a Dlink taipan. It also just smashes the d'link in feature set and range. The extra LAN ports is also great for homes with a fair bit of Ethernet wiring.

Not the prettiest thing but I don't care as long as it works. That said, their customer support pages are terrible so I hope I don't have to use them.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Newbs
NewbsVictoria
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Reliable High Performance Router

published

This router performs very reliably and has no trouble at all downloading at 50mbps on NBN, or streaming or file sharing between the 7 other devices on my network. I installed the Merlin custom firmware for some extra features, but it really has everything most users would need with the stock firmware, including the VPN client functionality which is so convenient. The speed and range are excellent on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands. I really don't think you can go wrong with this router.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Other Routers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Octavia
OctaviaBrisbane
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Solid Router

published

I've had a great experience with the AC68U I had high hopes for the AC3200. I've read a few things about sketchy setup issues and dropped connections so was a little nervous. Anyway, I followed the directions to first set it up and immediately download the latest firmware. First note is that I did the quick setup and that worked great. It prompted for the firmware upgrade and I did it. After doing it, I reset configuration back to factory default using the Web GUI. This ensures settings with the latest firmware are addressed in the config file. I've had stable connection and I've seen a performance improvement over the AC68U. For a single router system I highly recommended it.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Routers

Find out how ASUS RT-AC88U compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Addy
AddyPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Good router with great range

published

This router is awesome. No connection drops and a great range. Bonus is that it has a futuristic love it or hate it design, and I absolutely love it. Sad thing is that it does not have an inbuilt modem, wherein I still have to use Optus’ Junkbox to connect with NBN. Beside this, the product is highly recommended

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Stevo
StevoAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Amazing router

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

3yr warranty, you may need it.

published

3 stars as it was a great unit while it worked, but...
1st RT-AC88U lasted ~6 months before dropping the 5Gwifi band permanently. Factory reset and rescue mode was unsuccessful. Returned to reseller.
2nd RT-AC88U lasted 4 hours before dropping the 2.4Gwifi band permanently. Factory reset and rescue mode was unsuccessful. Returned to reseller.
We have swapped to a RT-AC68U which looks to be a more reliable unit, only time will tell.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
ausishman
ausishmanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

A fantastic router

published

I have been using the router for a while and I can not fault it. The Wi-Fi range is great yet no outstanding. I installed Merlin on it and it runs with no complaints. The software comes with a bunuch of very useful features (not only for geeks). If I had to purchase it again I would not think twice.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Bruce
BruceGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Perfomance, looks & features, but not actual function or operation!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Other Routers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
wusyc
wusycGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 25 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good solid high performance router

published

I am using this router on my 100/40 NBN connection. It's wifi coverage and performance is great. It also has a lot of security features that most family needs. For more demanding user, there is also custom firmware available which makes the router even more flexible.

I only give 4 starts because the router seems to slow down the connection over a number of days. I am hoping that the latest firmware fixes this.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Routers

Find out how ASUS RT-AC88U compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members and ASUS representatives

Details

CategoryRouters
Price (RRP) $379.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, Built-In Malware / Anti-Virus Protection, External Antennas, Mesh Compatible, Mobile App Control, Parental Controls and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed2,167 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports1
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Smart Home CompatibilityAmazon Alexa and IFTTT
Dimensions 24 x 118 x 74 mm
Weight0.11 kg
NBN CompatibleNo
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: RT-AC88U

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.