??!
7 photos
TP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V

TP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V

VR600, VR600V (VoIP)
4.1 from 63 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Widespread coverage

  • Stable NBN connection

  • Rarely drops out

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (16)
  • Number of Connected Devices 7 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    4.4 (16)
  • Reliability
    4.2 (16)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.3 (16)
Previous
Next
Steve

SteveGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Cheap and easy to set up but NOT reliable or powerful

published

Purchased in July 2009 at eBay for $154.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
TP-Link
Sean F.TP-Link
Jon

JonThe Mallee, VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great speed but can't hardwire to xbox

published

I have to admit it has great speed and works great from the other end of the house, however the main reason I brought was for the xbox but can't seem to get access to xbox live when the xbox is hardwired to the modem, it will only allow the xbox access by wifi

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Greg

GregSydney Surrounds, NSW

Real Good

published

Took 15 minutes to set it up, No tweaking or fiddling, The VR600 gets 55mbps on a 50mbps internode connection (FTTP), the old modem (D1500) was lucky to get 20mbps

Purchased in October 2020 at Office Works for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Modems

Find out how TP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex

Alex

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great affordable modem + router unit!

published

This unit is great.
I have switched from the ASUS DSL-AC68U model to the TP-link VR600 due to constant wifi dropouts.
I am really happy with this unit, its been an absolute workhorse, great wifi performance and provides stable NBN connection. I wish I bought this earlier, it would have saved so much frustration.

Great thing about this unit is that it used a Braodcom chipset which is known for its reliability.
Highly recommend this one!

Purchased in June 2020 at eBay for $156.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Nabeel Aziz

Nabeel AzizGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

Excellent Modem router with NBN FTTC support

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2020 at eBay for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
rezz110

rezz110Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

A really good device for a national disgrace called NBN.

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Officeworks for $225.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
sunny

sunnySidaknee

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

Decent performance, nice range of features and excellent value

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks for $225.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter P

Peter PGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 22 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great WiFi modem for ADSL 2+, ready for NBN (internet yes, *VOIP no)

published

Purchased at Amazon for $140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
TP-Link
Sean F.TP-Link

Hello, just a quick note to thank you for your detailed and helpful review on the Archer VR1600v. Thank you for choosing TP-Link products.

airsolaja

airsolajaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 48 reviews
  • 19 likes

Suggested by a company but not impressed

published

I don't know if this is the network, provider or NBN system that makes internet today worse then 3 years ago. The company instaling NBN suggested buying TP-Link, and the internet is just so unpredictable, on weekends it is so slow that I do not understand the point of having NBN? The box of the router does not have any hook so I can hook it up on the wall, they assume that I will have a shelf to put it on?

Purchased in April 2019 at eBay for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Modems

Find out how TP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kieren A.

Kieren A.Murray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great range and speed. Reaches the sheds!

published

What I can I say it was cheap and looks great in the kitchen. Has a fantastic range and well out does any NBN bottleneck with fibre to the node connections.

Purchased at Jaycar Electronics for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Tejash

TejashPerth, Western Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent and good enough for domestic use (5-6 devices)

published

My previous modem used to be D Link python which was a great device, however after a year and half, it started getting dropouts frequently for some reason. After going through quite a few attempts and checks with D-link technician over the phone, D-link offered me a refund. I had a chat with Mate communicate service tech who recommended me of TP-Link VR600V after a couple of questions. I bought this router from Officeworks and since then I haven't looked back.

The router is easy to set up with a very few time dropouts so far (barely 2-3 in last six months).

I would rate this router for ease of set up, reliable and affordability. Five stars from me :)

Purchased in February 2019 at Officeworks for $228.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Shahrin noor

Shahrin noorGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect!

published

We live in a area where its sometimes hard to get the network but since we got this everything went the best. I even get coverage from little far from my house.

Purchased in July 2019 at Officeworks Physical store for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Aiden P.

Aiden P.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome router with great WiFi performance

published

Super fast router, great signal throughout the house, great NBN sync speeds, and super cheap ($100 for this?).

Works great on Aussie Broadband FTTN and the ability to turn the lights off is awesome.

Purchased in March 2018 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good enough for NBN

published

Needed something NBN compliant once it rolled into my area, this was a decent budget unit that does the job. Pretty simple to set up - mostly automated. Aesthetically sleek design and easy enough to find the relevant buttons and ports.
Get dropouts maybe once a month or less, pretty reliable.

Wi-fi range is so-so, I can connect with varying signal strength depending on the range obviously, though I've seen better.
The UI and internal settings could be a lot more involved and expanded sadly, no ability to block individual IP's or certain other tweaks that you may be interested in.

Purchased in March 2018 at eBay for $106.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Pawan Prasad

Pawan PrasadSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Nice.

published

Bought this router modem when I was having an issue with the TPG modem which they provided. now all good. it is working perfectly, smoothly. would recommend anyone to buy and try.

Purchased in January 2019 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Modems

Find out how TP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
umar a.

umar a.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

so far so good

published

i just want to point out buying a new router wont help if the device on the other end have outdated wifi chips and if your isp dont support the speeds your router clams to output then whats the point in Australia really. my provider is LETSBEMATES there really good and with the tp-link i run power line adaptors on my main pc and i get 84 mbps after 6:00pm so far so good

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Emer

EmerSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Excellent Router with a good price

published

Bought this router modem when I was having an issue with the provider supplied model (TPG/Huawei). I was thinking of changing the old modem but unfortunately I will lose my VOIP as I don't have the configuration for this. Instead I use the VR600V in bridge mode and use the old one as a modem only. The quality of the connection did change and much better than Huawei, I would like to use the VR600V as my modem-wi-fi but need to research on how to activate/settings of the VOIP.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Angela vd K

Angela vd KGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

A great product!

published

We signed up with TPG for an NBN package and they supplied us with the TP-Link modem. It is an easy to use product where you literally just plug it in. The support service provided by TPG also made tracking the NBN route easier. I can recommend this if you are looking for an easy to use modem.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
JahannaLeo

JahannaLeoWarrnambool

  • 3 reviews

General average

published

Bought a period of time, sometimes will be inexplicable drop line, probably a few minutes.
Sometimes a reboot is needed to fix the problem, whether it is a router problem or a carrier problem.
When you go to the room and close the door, the signal is very erratic.
But it's still a good product, at least for most of my time.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Jacqueline

JacquelineLEANYER

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's a good choice.

published

The surface is relatively smooth, will absorb dust and leave fingerprints traces, and the phone screen like。Quick settings make it easier, the list of ISPs is selected, it pre-selects various settings for that provider.Great WiFi RangeThe 2.4 and 5GHz WiFi series have been improved, the TP Link theter app is great, it's easy to set up and manage the connection easily.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Prue

Prueasked

VR600V (VoIP)

I need a modem/router for NBN FTTN, home landline, 1 pc connected, one smart tv. What is suitable? I'm with Telstra but have hopeless buffering problems when downloading or streaming on tv.

2 answers
Nabeel Aziz
Nabeel Aziz

This will suit youe needs more than enough. Just don't put it very at the other end of the house. If you don't need the phone support you can buy the non voip version TP-Link VR600

Alex
Alex

This modem will be fine for you. As already addressed by others, keep your modem close to your devices as buffering issues can be the result of poor wifi signals.

Mathew Turner

Mathew Turnerasked

VR600V (VoIP)

Nabeel Aziz this may be the solution to your problem, We noticed that the unit was dropping Internet connectivity on occasion but enabling SRA within the DSL settings fixed that issue. We’re not sure why TP-Link decided to disable SRA by default.

2 answers
Nabeel Aziz
Nabeel Aziz

Oh ok. I could not find this setting. My modem is set on Wireless router mode. NBN is FTTC.

Mathew Turner
Mathew Turner

yes this bloke is talking fttc fttn and fttp it may help others however.

Allan

Allanasked

Archer VR600 / VR600V

Which is better the TP-Link VR1600V or the TP-Link VR600V?

2 answers
Alex
Alex

Don't have any experience with the vr1600. However, from what I read it's pretty much a VR600 with voip.

Nabeel Aziz
Nabeel Aziz

I think VR1600v is an old model and does not have an external antennas. I think vr600v will be better in performance. I have it and it is working really good. See my review of it too.

Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

Details

Features:

The TP-Link Archer VR600 has super speedy Wi-Fi, with 300Mbps at 2.4GHz and 1300Mbps at 5GHz - making it great for downloading large files, online gaming, and high-definition streaming.

The TO-Link Archer VR600V uses dual Wi-Fi bands to give you speeds of up to 1600Mbps - 300Mbps at 2.4GHz and 1300Mbps at 5GHz. This model also provides phone support, letting you add up to six digital handsets and 2 analogue telephones or fax machines to your VoIP network.

Both modem routers have the following features.

  • Beamforming technology strengthens the wireless range and betters its performance on 5GHz band for both modem routers.
  • They have three detachable antennas that help provide a reliable wireless connection and great range.
  • You can access and manage the routers on iOS and Android smart devices via the Tether App, which gives you parental controls and media sharing capabilities.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers said that the modem routers had great Wi-Fi performance - saying that the connection rarely dropped out - and provided a stable NBN connection.
  • They also liked the widespread coverage, noting that it provided them great signal wherever they were in their home or office.
  • Reviewers appreciated the host of features that the models had, particularly the ability to turn the LED lights on the device off.
Compare both TP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V
CategoryRouters and ModemsRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $174.90$199.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)Dual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control, Parental Controls and Quality of ServiceBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports44
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports11
Number of USB 3.0 Ports0
Dimensions 37 x 216 x 164 mm36.8 x 215.8 x 163.7 mm
NBN CompatibleYesYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare both TP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V

  • GTIN13: 6935364081980 and 6935364094478

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.