6 photos
TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v

TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v

VR600, VR600v
4.0 from 64 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Modems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by TP-Link

Pros

  • Widespread coverage

  • Stable NBN connection

  • Rarely drops out

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (17)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (17)
  • Number of Connected Devices 7 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    4.3 (17)
  • Reliability
    4.1 (17)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.2 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Grime
GrimeGippsland, VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 14 likes

Try getting warranty service from TP-Link "support"

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Amazon for $145.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Steve
SteveGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Cheap and easy to set up but NOT reliable or powerful

published

Purchased in July 2009 at eBay for $154.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TP-Link
Sean F.TP-Link

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jon
JonThe Mallee, VIC
  • 27 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great speed but can't hardwire to xbox

published

I have to admit it has great speed and works great from the other end of the house, however the main reason I brought was for the xbox but can't seem to get access to xbox live when the xbox is hardwired to the modem, it will only allow the xbox access by wifi

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg
GregSydney Surrounds, NSW

Real Good

published

Took 15 minutes to set it up, No tweaking or fiddling, The VR600 gets 55mbps on a 50mbps internode connection (FTTP), the old modem (D1500) was lucky to get 20mbps

Purchased in October 2020 at Office Works for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Alex
Alex
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great affordable modem + router unit!

published

This unit is great.
I have switched from the ASUS DSL-AC68U model to the TP-link VR600 due to constant wifi dropouts.
I am really happy with this unit, its been an absolute workhorse, great wifi performance and provides stable NBN connection. I wish I bought this earlier, it would have saved so much frustration.

Great thing about this unit is that it used a Braodcom chipset which is known for its reliability.
Highly recommend this one!

Purchased in June 2020 at eBay for $156.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nabeel Aziz
Nabeel AzizGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

Excellent Modem router with NBN FTTC support

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2020 at eBay for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
rezz110
rezz110Melbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

A really good device for a national disgrace called NBN.

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Officeworks for $225.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
sunny
sunnySidaknee
  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes

Decent performance, nice range of features and excellent value

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks for $225.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Peter P
Peter PGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 22 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great WiFi modem for ADSL 2+, ready for NBN (internet yes, *VOIP no)

published

Purchased at Amazon for $140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TP-Link
Sean F.TP-Link

Hello, just a quick note to thank you for your detailed and helpful review on the Archer VR1600v. Thank you for choosing TP-Link products.

Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
airsolaja
airsolajaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 49 reviews
  • 19 likes

Suggested by a company but not impressed

published

I don't know if this is the network, provider or NBN system that makes internet today worse then 3 years ago. The company instaling NBN suggested buying TP-Link, and the internet is just so unpredictable, on weekends it is so slow that I do not understand the point of having NBN? The box of the router does not have any hook so I can hook it up on the wall, they assume that I will have a shelf to put it on?

Purchased in April 2019 at eBay for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kieren A.
Kieren A.Murray Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Great range and speed. Reaches the sheds!

published

What I can I say it was cheap and looks great in the kitchen. Has a fantastic range and well out does any NBN bottleneck with fibre to the node connections.

Purchased at Jaycar Electronics for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tejash
TejashPerth, Western Australia
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent and good enough for domestic use (5-6 devices)

published

My previous modem used to be D Link python which was a great device, however after a year and half, it started getting dropouts frequently for some reason. After going through quite a few attempts and checks with D-link technician over the phone, D-link offered me a refund. I had a chat with Mate communicate service tech who recommended me of TP-Link VR600V after a couple of questions. I bought this router from Officeworks and since then I haven't looked back.

The router is easy to set up with a very few time dropouts so far (barely 2-3 in last six months).

I would rate this router for ease of set up, reliable and affordability. Five stars from me :)

Purchased in February 2019 at Officeworks for $228.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shahrin noor
Shahrin noorGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect!

published

We live in a area where its sometimes hard to get the network but since we got this everything went the best. I even get coverage from little far from my house.

Purchased in July 2019 at Officeworks Physical store for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Aiden P.
Aiden P.
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome router with great WiFi performance

published

Super fast router, great signal throughout the house, great NBN sync speeds, and super cheap ($100 for this?).

Works great on Aussie Broadband FTTN and the ability to turn the lights off is awesome.

Purchased in March 2018 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Steve
SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good enough for NBN

published

Needed something NBN compliant once it rolled into my area, this was a decent budget unit that does the job. Pretty simple to set up - mostly automated. Aesthetically sleek design and easy enough to find the relevant buttons and ports.
Get dropouts maybe once a month or less, pretty reliable.

Wi-fi range is so-so, I can connect with varying signal strength depending on the range obviously, though I've seen better.
The UI and internal settings could be a lot more involved and expanded sadly, no ability to block individual IP's or certain other tweaks that you may be interested in.

Purchased in March 2018 at eBay for $106.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Prue
Prueasked
AC1600 Archer VR600v

I need a modem/router for NBN FTTN, home landline, 1 pc connected, one smart tv. What is suitable? I'm with Telstra but have hopeless buffering problems when downloading or streaming on tv.

2 answers
Nabeel Aziz
Nabeel Aziz

This will suit youe needs more than enough. Just don't put it very at the other end of the house. If you don't need the phone support you can buy the non voip version TP-Link VR600

Alex
Alex

This modem will be fine for you. As already addressed by others, keep your modem close to your devices as buffering issues can be the result of poor wifi signals.

Mathew Turner
Mathew Turnerasked
AC1600 Archer VR600v

Nabeel Aziz this may be the solution to your problem, We noticed that the unit was dropping Internet connectivity on occasion but enabling SRA within the DSL settings fixed that issue. We’re not sure why TP-Link decided to disable SRA by default.

2 answers
Nabeel Aziz
Nabeel Aziz

Oh ok. I could not find this setting. My modem is set on Wireless router mode. NBN is FTTC.

Mathew Turner
Mathew Turner

yes this bloke is talking fttc fttn and fttp it may help others however.

Allan
Allanasked
AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v

Which is better the TP-Link VR1600V or the TP-Link VR600V?

2 answers
Alex
Alex

Don't have any experience with the vr1600. However, from what I read it's pretty much a VR600 with voip.

Nabeel Aziz
Nabeel Aziz

I think VR1600v is an old model and does not have an external antennas. I think vr600v will be better in performance. I have it and it is working really good. See my review of it too.

See all TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v questions

Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v

Details

Features:

The TP-Link Archer VR600 has super speedy Wi-Fi, with 300Mbps at 2.4GHz and 1300Mbps at 5GHz - making it great for downloading large files, online gaming, and high-definition streaming.

The TO-Link Archer VR600V uses dual Wi-Fi bands to give you speeds of up to 1600Mbps - 300Mbps at 2.4GHz and 1300Mbps at 5GHz. This model also provides phone support, letting you add up to six digital handsets and 2 analogue telephones or fax machines to your VoIP network.

Both modem routers have the following features.

  • Beamforming technology strengthens the wireless range and betters its performance on 5GHz band for both modem routers.
  • They have three detachable antennas that help provide a reliable wireless connection and great range.
  • You can access and manage the routers on iOS and Android smart devices via the Tether App, which gives you parental controls and media sharing capabilities.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers said that the modem routers had great Wi-Fi performance - saying that the connection rarely dropped out - and provided a stable NBN connection.
  • They also liked the widespread coverage, noting that it provided them great signal wherever they were in their home or office.
  • Reviewers appreciated the host of features that the models had, particularly the ability to turn the LED lights on the device off.
Compare both TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v
CategoryRouters and ModemsRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $209.00$199.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)Dual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control, Parental Controls and Quality of ServiceBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports44
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports11
Number of USB 3.0 Ports00
Dimensions 36.8 x 216 x 164 mm36.8 x 215.8 x 163.7 mm
NBN CompatibleYesYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare both TP-Link AC1600 Archer VR600 / VR600v

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.