??!
4 photos
ASUS RT-AC68U

ASUS RT-AC68U

MPN: RT-AC68U
4.4 from 122 reviews

Reviews

(76)
(29)
(8)
(4)
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (6)
  • Number of Connected Devices 9 devices (3)
  • Ease of Setup
    4.7 (6)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.3 (6)
  • Reliability
    4.5 (6)


Greg W.

Greg W.South East Queensland, QLD

Money well spent.

published

I recently had the NBN put on at my house. They had decided that it was going to be a ‘Fixed Wireless’ connection (no cabling). My ISP was offering a preconfigured modem/router for a reasonable cost but it was getting good reviews for its ability to cast WiFi inside of a house. So I decided to use my original (old) ADSL modem/router, which worked fine, however it had daily drop outs that required restarting.
After a lot of research and price comparisons I decided on the Asus RT - AC68U router. Best choice I made. Unbelievably easy installation. So many cool features. The Asus Router app works really good. Highly recommended. No downside at all. Best money spent.

Purchased in January 2020 at Computer Alliance for $210.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 16 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Hugh Mann

Hugh MannAU

  • 4 reviews

Rock solid. Good price. Small footprint. Nice interface.

published

The DHCP client table shows device type, name, device interface and other useful information. I can hear a slight high frequency when the unit is on at night. The coverage is fine for my three bedroom house. Plenty of ports. USB works well. I use wifi broadband and I've never had any issues. I'm content with this product.

Purchased in March 2018 at MSY Technology.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPNuSkope Fixed Wireless
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
calais

calais

  • 9 reviews

Meh ok

published

My tplink archer d was broken thanks bro the kids. I was advised how good these were but the WiFi Ain't as good and I find that I'm having to reboot the Asus slot more than the old d9. Has some good features thoe.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ModemASUS AC1900 DSL-AC68U
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Anne

Anne

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

great router

published

I brought this Asus router after reading online recommendations and haven't regretted it. It's the best router I have owned. It's very reliable, easy to set up and manage and has many great features. The signal strength is strong and easily connects to my devices.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

coinlaundry

coinlaundry

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Brilliant router, can use with NBN.

published

If there was one router I had to recommend, it would be this one. It is very reliable, easily the best router I've ever had. It's been active at home for > 4 years and the technology is far from obsolete. Signal quality is great throughout the home. You can also plug in a USB pocket WiFi to use as a backup, which is extremely handy. Configuration is simple and there are plenty of options to customise if you wish. Also had NBN recently installed - this router can handle it without any fuss. Highly recommended.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Brodie

BrodieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great value router

published

Router is rock solid with advanced features and great wifi strength. Ability to set static addresses easily in the front end and rename devices is very useful for IoT enabled homes. I have ~25-30 devices connected simultaneously and it works 100% without issue.

Purchased in March 2019.


Pottering11

Pottering11Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic Router for FTTP NBN

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Not working out of the box, very frustrating experience

published

Hi I have wasted 3 hours today attempting to get this router to work, to no avail. I have set up 5-6 routers in the past with no dramas - but this one just didn't work. I haven't been able to access the router setup page. I have tried by Lan cable connection only for window 10 not to connect and wireless. It connected for about 10 minutes only and was able to look at the settings page, only for it to drop out again. Maybe I just bought a dud, but taking back to the shop tomorrow for a refund.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Bailey

Baileyperth

  • 11 reviews

Good router

published

it meets the needs of a large family with lots of devices. I am always very satisfied with the connection. Our family of seven barely ever gets drop outs, almost never. This modem is very simple to set up and manage, just put it on the bench and get wifi.

Date PurchasedJul 2011
Agger

AggerMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Great router

published

great asus router used to own a tp link router but it was too slow and cutting out all the time
but when we got this router everything is flying now soo happy what we purchased
This unit works well for us, from one end of the house to the other as well as our downstairs garage and well into our rear yard.
The router was easy to configure. The Asus interface is excellent and user friendly too.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

GSN

GSNMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Did all our research to find correct one - very happy

published

NBN rolled out to our street and started looking to find appropriate modem / router. Did all our research to find appropriate one. Finalised with this and purchased one. Had initial struggle with updating firmware, once followed the step in their website it is not that hard to update.

Always connected with 5+ devices and excellent range.

Very happy with this equipment.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Merlot65

Merlot65moorabin

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome family router

published

This meets the needs of a growing large family house easily. We often have multiple people streaming Netflix or similar movies without a problem. The router never acts up, it just does its thuing and always works. Initial set up was done by a tech savvy family member and I cant think of any major problems with it, just reset it occasionally. Works very well

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Seagul1

Seagul1Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Solid performance for over a year

published

Virtually never need to restart this modem - its as solid a s rock and has reach right to every room on the house. Often have three people streaming Netflix simultaneously no problems at all. Initial set up was easy although I had to Google a few terms Good overall experience and I would definitely get the same model again. I think Ausus are just getting better and better

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Hardwood

HardwoodChadstone

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent experience with this router

published

This was a real breath of relief after my ancient Netgear that would collapse if you looked at it funny. I have reach in every room of the house and seriously good speeds. Set up was relatively painless although it took my a while to configure it. Never drops out - I just dont have to think about it. Good device

Date PurchasedDec 2017
jaysblueaus

jaysblueausAU

  • 18 reviews

Best router that my partner and I have ever owned

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
jaysblueaus
jaysblueaus
Pete n Rete

Pete n ReteMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fast & Stable

published

We got this Asus router after having problems with our old D-Link N300 which kept dropping out and was quite slow. The Asus RT-AC 68U router has doubled our internet speed, is very stable with good coverage. We haven’t had any problems with the internet or the router since we installed it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Dina

DinaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Not great

published

I got this modem when I purchased a 24 month contract with spintel and the modem arrived it's not a great quality and the internet seems so slow from it it was easy to set up but not happy with it not worth 149 I wish they provided better modems with better functions

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Naoki D

Naoki DAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Keeps disconnecting.

published

This may be a ISP problem and not a router problem but this router always disconnects for me. This is after deciding to spend lots of money on a quality router because the cheap one I got had the same problem. Only reason I don't rule out out completely as an ISP problem is because the first ever router I got for joining my ISP was very cheap and didn't have any of these problems until it stopped working. It's a shame because this router is very good for gamers and has all the features you would need to play games at a stable ping.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Jason

JasonPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very Stable Modem, great wireless

published

Purchased this modem for replacement to DSL604T. This new Asus is much more stable without dropouts even when pushing it hard (opening folder of 10 pages simultaneously). Price is on the expensive side but well worth the investment.

Installation was very easy and intuitive, nice interface.
Wireless is very good and reaches all around my house (modem located in office which is central to the house)
Easily reaches my Solar inverter on the outside back wall of house.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Adam

Adam

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Solid router with plenty of features

published

I purchased this router after online forums were raving about how good it was. It has not disappointed me. I am using it for home internet, home automation with numerous iot devices and media steaming. The devices struggle before the router does. The interface is user friendly compared to a lot of other routers. My only complaint is that I can't get the router to share my hard drive consistently. Ideally I'd like to use the onboard media server by plugging a hdd into one of the usb ports. I've tried this, set it all up and got it working but it keeps disconnecting. I think maybe the hard drive goes to sleep in some sort of power saving mode and it isn't recognised but I've spent enough time trying to get it working properly.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Questioning

Questioningasked

is the Asus rt-68u also a modem or do I need something else?

3 answers
calais
calais

You will need a seperate modem, it is only a router

Questioning
Questioning

Thanks

Greg W.
Greg W.

Or buy the Asus DSL rt-68u. It has a built in modem with the router.


Margot

Margotasked

I havce moved my ASUS RT AC68U from my old residence which had an NBN fibre box/connection to my new home which is NBN using copper to the home phone line connection and it doesnt work - any suggestions.
I tried the Phone line to wan cable connector but cannot see any internet connectively

No answers

Kathy

Kathyasked

Having trouble configuring router via laptop. Keep getting Ip address conflict. I’m not at all tech savy so any ideas? I’ve googled & attempted some suggestions but they haven’t worked. NBN HFC

1 answer
Pottering11
Pottering11

I needed to set mine up with a direct ethernet connection to the laptop. Perhaps try that if you are not already doing that and turn wifi off on your lap top whilst you configure the router


Get an answer from our members and ASUS representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.