??!
4 photos
ASUS RT-AC68U

ASUS RT-AC68U

MPN: RT-AC68U
4.4 from 131 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (15)
  • Number of Connected Devices 8.636 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    4.4 (14)
  • Reliability
    4.8 (14)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.6 (14)
Previous
Next
Brad

BradSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Excellent performance, mediocre interface

published

The ASUS RT-AC68U performs amazingly. Even with lots of other competing networks showing up I'm able to get good performance with the unit centrally located in the house. Wifi never seems to drop off and testing the speeds on file transfers I get excellent results (60MB/s (close to 500Mbps)) on the 5Ghz range.

My only criticism is the confusing interface which could be alot easier to use. I've used alot of routers over the last ten years from Netgear, Dlink, Netcomm and TP-LINK and this interface was just ordinary. For me it wasn't a problem as I know what I'm doing but I imagine less experienced users would struggle with it.

Purchased at Mwave Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices10 devices
ISPLeaptel LBNCo
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
Reasons

ReasonsAdelaide

  • 13 reviews
  • 18 likes
  • Verified purchase

The ASUS RT-AC68U is a Great NBN HFC Router!

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for A$225.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
Jawad A.

Jawad A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Not easy to setup but excellent NBN router

published

Purchased in June 2020 for A$215.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices4 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
Routers

Find out how ASUS RT-AC68U compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Markzz

MarkzzSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent Performance and Reliable hardware

published

Purchased in January 2018 at EYO Technologies for A$220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices15 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 100 (Family)
ModemNetgear DM200
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
IIW

IIW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

great product! will buy again!

published

Product is probably the best bang for your buck. Connectivity is great, easy to setup and no dropouts from my end. surprisingly the distance for wifi is awesome! much better than my old router. if you want to buy a good quality router. buy this one!

Purchased in November 2019 at Bing Lee for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
tvsharsha

tvsharshaVictoria

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing product.

published

I’ve had it for three years and haven’t looked back since. One of the best products that I have purchased. Great value for money love the parental controls and the range is awesome. Keep it up Asus.

Purchased in September 2017 at eBay for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices15 devices
ISPAussie Broadband
ModemTP-Link Archer VR600 / VR600V
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers

Set and forget, fast reliable WiFi

published

Set & forget. Good feature set. Host of different firmware options which provide more configuration and system options for advanced users. Strong WiFi network speeds and can be easily setup in a few steps for basic users or can more extensively configured for advanced users.

Purchased in August 2016 for A$220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices6 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 100 (Family)
ModemNetcomm AC1600 NF18ACV
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
Edwin

Edwin

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

I recommend this product

published

Bought long ago but did not exploit its capability, till these days I installed wired internet. It is able to transfer signal through several concrete walls, no blind spot. I am happy with it. I would recommend to buy it. But remember it is a router only, and you also need to a modem.
Three antennas, usb2.0,3.0 for dongle input internet, mesh network, strong capability. Safety/security features with the anti- fishing settings, much secure network.

Purchased for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices4 devices
ISPMate NBN 50 (Best Mates)
ModemNbn
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Albs

AlbsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Asus router

published

Its good range router its not bad for the price i love it easy to setup plus love the child protection blocks from using xxx sites i use to use netgear which was terrible at it.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices10 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN
See all answers
Routers

Find out how ASUS RT-AC68U compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg W.

Greg W.South East Queensland, QLD

Money well spent.

published

I recently had the NBN put on at my house. They had decided that it was going to be a ‘Fixed Wireless’ connection (no cabling). My ISP was offering a preconfigured modem/router for a reasonable cost but it was getting good reviews for its ability to cast WiFi inside of a house. So I decided to use my original (old) ADSL modem/router, which worked fine, however it had daily drop outs that required restarting.
After a lot of research and price comparisons I decided on the Asus RT - AC68U router. Best choice I made. Unbelievably easy installation. So many cool features. The Asus Router app works really good. Highly recommended. No downside at all. Best money spent.

Purchased in January 2020 at Computer Alliance for A$210.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices16 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
Hugh Mann

Hugh MannAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Rock solid. Good price. Small footprint. Nice interface.

published

The DHCP client table shows device type, name, device interface and other useful information. I can hear a slight high frequency when the unit is on at night. The coverage is fine for my three bedroom house. Plenty of ports. USB works well. I use wifi broadband and I've never had any issues. I'm content with this product.

Purchased in March 2018 at MSY Technology.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices5 devices
ISPNuSkope Fixed Wireless
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
calais

calais

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Meh ok

published

My tplink archer d was broken thanks bro the kids. I was advised how good these were but the WiFi Ain't as good and I find that I'm having to reboot the Asus slot more than the old d9. Has some good features thoe.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
ModemASUS AC1900 DSL-AC68U
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
Anne

Anne

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

great router

published

I brought this Asus router after reading online recommendations and haven't regretted it. It's the best router I have owned. It's very reliable, easy to set up and manage and has many great features. The signal strength is strong and easily connects to my devices.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
coinlaundry

coinlaundry

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Brilliant router, can use with NBN.

published

If there was one router I had to recommend, it would be this one. It is very reliable, easily the best router I've ever had. It's been active at home for > 4 years and the technology is far from obsolete. Signal quality is great throughout the home. You can also plug in a USB pocket WiFi to use as a backup, which is extremely handy. Configuration is simple and there are plenty of options to customise if you wish. Also had NBN recently installed - this router can handle it without any fuss. Highly recommended.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
See all answers
Brodie

BrodieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great value router

published

Router is rock solid with advanced features and great wifi strength. Ability to set static addresses easily in the front end and rename devices is very useful for IoT enabled homes. I have ~25-30 devices connected simultaneously and it works 100% without issue.

Purchased in March 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Routers

Find out how ASUS RT-AC68U compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pottering11

Pottering11Perth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic Router for FTTP NBN

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Not working out of the box, very frustrating experience

published

Hi I have wasted 3 hours today attempting to get this router to work, to no avail. I have set up 5-6 routers in the past with no dramas - but this one just didn't work. I haven't been able to access the router setup page. I have tried by Lan cable connection only for window 10 not to connect and wireless. It connected for about 10 minutes only and was able to look at the settings page, only for it to drop out again. Maybe I just bought a dud, but taking back to the shop tomorrow for a refund.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Bailey

Baileyperth

  • 11 reviews

Good router

published

it meets the needs of a large family with lots of devices. I am always very satisfied with the connection. Our family of seven barely ever gets drop outs, almost never. This modem is very simple to set up and manage, just put it on the bench and get wifi.

Date PurchasedJul 2011
Agger

AggerMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Great router

published

great asus router used to own a tp link router but it was too slow and cutting out all the time
but when we got this router everything is flying now soo happy what we purchased
This unit works well for us, from one end of the house to the other as well as our downstairs garage and well into our rear yard.
The router was easy to configure. The Asus interface is excellent and user friendly too.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
GSN

GSNMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Did all our research to find correct one - very happy

published

NBN rolled out to our street and started looking to find appropriate modem / router. Did all our research to find appropriate one. Finalised with this and purchased one. Had initial struggle with updating firmware, once followed the step in their website it is not that hard to update.

Always connected with 5+ devices and excellent range.

Very happy with this equipment.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Mark C

Mark Casked

will this work with century link?

No answers
Questioning

Questioningasked

is the Asus rt-68u also a modem or do I need something else?

4 answers
calais
calais

You will need a seperate modem, it is only a router

Questioning
Questioning

Thanks

Greg W.
Greg W.

Or buy the Asus DSL rt-68u. It has a built in modem with the router.

Margot

Margotasked

I havce moved my ASUS RT AC68U from my old residence which had an NBN fibre box/connection to my new home which is NBN using copper to the home phone line connection and it doesnt work - any suggestions.
I tried the Phone line to wan cable connector but cannot see any internet connectively

1 answer
Scotch Fury
Scotch Fury

If you have or can easily get an ISP one, most under advanced setting will allow changing to 'Bridge Mode'. Which essentially changes it to work as a modem only. Which can then be connected, via network cable to the WAN port on the Asus. This will make the connection using the other one purely for modulation of the xDSL signal. 2nd hand sites are full of cheap unwanted ISP modem / routers. Most can be bridged to act only as a modem, and if needed, be reset back to normal for testing or troubleshooting.

Get an answer from our members and ASUS representatives

Details

CategoryRouters
Price (RRP) A$219.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesExternal Antennas, Mesh Compatible and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Dimensions 160 x 220 x 83.3 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4712900967661 and 4716659418993
  • GTIN12: 886227418992 and 886227419005
  • MPN: RT-AC68U

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.