?
? !
1 photo
Bio-Oil

Bio-Oil

3.6 from 268 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Treats a variety of conditions

  • Vegan and cruelty free

  • Found in most supermarkets and chemists

Cons

  • Triggered allergic reactions for some reviewers

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Elle L.

Elle L.Sydney, NSW

Less is More!

published

Have been using this product for all 3 pregnancies, found that it helped nourish the skin be reducing new stretch marks. Don't forget elbows and knees! I like to use just enough and add a barrier cream on top to lock it in. For me i don't recommend it on the face, my face got irritated.

Purchased in March 2021 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lynda B

Lynda BSydney, NSW

Bio Oil

published

I agree with the positive remarks on this product.
Cannot track any certain use, however have been using this for all the things they state. Had noticeably cleared up deep cuts on my son.
The ignorant person who says they try to emulate a gel is wrong, they don’t! Bio OIL. Grow a brain

Purchased in November 2020 for $30.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Before and after picture 6weeks apart

published

These photos are just six weeks apart. I can’t recommend Bio oil enough. Amazing. Highly recommend. My scars are fading rapidly and have healed so fast.I also put bio oil in the bath for super soft skin . 5 star rating

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pregnancy & Postnatal Skin Care Products

Find out how Bio-Oil compares to other Pregnancy & Postnatal Skin Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RedPenVandal

RedPenVandalCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not a single stretch mark!

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $25.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mz Zombie

Mz ZombieQueensland

  • 17 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

It tries to be gel, but fails miserably.

published

Bought this due to its Urea content and it's supposed 'Gel' consistency.
On initial inspection it looks kind of like gel until I dipped my finger in, and there was an entire layer of oil, so I pushed deeper and the 'gel' was just more oil, I don't know how something can look somewhat like gel but feel so very greasy.

Purchased in August 2020 at Priceline for $14.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
THTm

THTmSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not a gel at all

published

Purchased the bio oil gel. It is just the oil in a jar no gel consistency AT ALL. Waste of money. Not A soothing Product at all. Not suited for sensitive skin either

Purchased in August 2020 at Priceline for $12.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
f.c.w

f.c.wGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I got rashes, allergy and eczema

published

I am 15 weeks pregnant and i used this bio oil for a week I then got rashs breaks out. the rashes covered all the skin where i applied the bio oil. Now my whole upper front body are covered with rash. I have to take medicine n cream to calm my skin.

Purchased in June 2020 at Chemist Warehouse Online Store for $20.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
irene

ireneSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great product

published

I had a brown spot on forehead for years and it would get raised and crusty. I started using bio oil for my face, the brown spot disappeared and any redness/dryness around my nose disappeared.

Purchased in January 2019 at Chemist Outlet.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tayla Dee

Tayla DeeCentral Queensland, QLD

Worked wonders

published

I used bio oil a couple of years ago when it first came out, I had some really bad scars/scabs all over my legs from excessive itching.. brought bio oil and within 3-6 months they had gone. Really was a life saver and I currently use it while pregnant to prevent stretch marks around my tummy and haven't had any new marks. Great product!

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pregnancy & Postnatal Skin Care Products

Find out how Bio-Oil compares to other Pregnancy & Postnatal Skin Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Love bio oil - currently using roaccutane

published

I am currently on roacutane so you can imagine how dry and sensitive my skin is. I use this on my face at night time after my moisturiser. It really helps and I would recommend. I do struggle to find products that I can use on my sensitive and easily reactive skin and bio oil is a must!

Purchased in January 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for $24.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gemma E.

Gemma E.South East Queensland, QLD

if i could give no stars i would

published

within a hour of putting the bio oil gel for face!!! on my face i had a horrible reaction i now have sore skin around my eyes and cheeks, it says its safe for your face but i've read a lot of reviews saying the ingredients is bad for your face especially if you have sensitive skin and it was dry skin not open wounds or scars so for it to react this badly! I only had it on for an hour and my face felt hot and itchy i took it off and applied a cold compress but it stayed raised for days on day 3 now. not happy. i've taken piritol just in case its a allergy but my skin is still sore and hot to the touch.
will not be purchasing again.

Purchased in March 2020 at boots for $6.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not much change

published

Applied it since a cut healed for 6 months and counting. I still have pretty obvious cut scar and it has not faded at all. Not sure this did anything

Purchased in July 2019 for $25.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Woot

Woot

  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes

No good for scars.

published

Have used for 3 months on a large new scar and it didn't change appearance at all. I may have well just dabbed water on it for the same result.

Purchased in September 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $24.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bio-oil Rash

published

I started using Bio-oil, to help with surgical scars, about 3 weeks ago. Woke up this morning with large, itchy hives. Do not use if you have sensitive skin, or are prone to allergies.

Purchased in December 2019 for $24.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

bio oil

published

.I ran out of shave oil so tried whether bio oil would be OK. It was excellent and left my skin soft and pliable, even mores after I applied more bio oils an aftershave.I found the same good effects when I used the oil to shave my dick and balls, which can be a problematical area.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Causes IrritationNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pregnancy & Postnatal Skin Care Products

Find out how Bio-Oil compares to other Pregnancy & Postnatal Skin Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

If you're skin is SENSITIVE & dry, dont use this!!!

published

2 days after using bio oil on my face I woke up to my face being red, swollen & burnt from the middle of my nose down. I had lumps on each side of my nose from the crease onto my cheek. It hurt so bad even applying a warm or cool cloth hurt. I applied moisturizer as much as possible all day for day 3 & on day 4 my skin looked like a snake does when shedding their skin!! Big patches were peeling off my face!! I'm on day 7 now & the peeling is almost gone but it's still sore. There are A LOT of chemicals in this stuff that cause damage. I have really dry skin & was looking for a solution. Bio oil made it so much worse. Be careful.

Purchased in December 2019 at Amazon for $9.99.

Ease of Application
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sarah

sarahMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

The best!

published

I love bio oil honestly its the best i got terrible stretch marks through pregnancy as i gained 60 kg and 12 weeks pp there already dissapearing, ive began using it all over my body and face and i have a glowing tan and even completion. Anyone who doesnt like bio oil probably has crap/too far damaged skin to begin with, there's not much on the market at this price and chemist available that works so im very happy.

Purchased in January 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $30.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharon

SharonMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Can't believe how great it is

published

Not only has it fixed my dry skin on my face it's also made my wrinkles dissapeared. I have received alot of compliments on my skin lately which is wonderful considering my skin is usually red and dry.

Purchased in September 2019 at Amcal.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
LISA

LISA

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Expect better

published

The product is OK. It works but the results are super slow. I apply it like 3-4 times a day and I use ALOT of product in one day but still I only see the smallest results. I also leave it on my uneven skin tone overnight and I see the smallest results. I recommend this if you are patient. But I think this product is better than ALOT of products solt so I recommend this.

Purchased in May 2018 at BIGW for $15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sue b

Sue bMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best product that helped my dry upper arm skin

published

After trying many moisturisers for my upper arms near my biceps this is my saviour. I am petite and in my early 60s . As a result of menopause my skin had dried out even though I participate in gym classes the skin was sagging badly.
I noticed an immediate change and now use it morning and night and the results are fantastic. I can now wear sleeveless tops again with confidence.

Purchased in June 2019 at Pricelinepharmacy for $12.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Florence

Florence asked

Can I use bio oil and palmer skin success together?

No answers
Lara C

Lara Casked

Can I mix bio oil with my aveeno baby?

No answers
annie a.

annie a.asked

Can a bio oil good for bed bug on hand?

No answers
See all Bio-Oil questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • This oil is made up of botanical extracts, such as lavender and rosemary oil, and vitamins such as vitamin A and vitamin E
  • Bio-oil can be used to treat stretch marks, scars, uneven skin tone, effects of ageing, and dehydrated skin
  • Safe to use during pregnancy, teenage growth spurts, and rapid weight gain, and can be applied on the face or body
  • This product is vegan and cruelty-free as it’s not derived from animal products or tested on animals
  • Available in 60ml, 125ml and 200ml bottles, and is easily accessible - can be found in major supermarkets and chemist chains

What reviewers thought about this product:

  • Bio-oil has benefited many reviewers, but overall, responses to this product have been mixed.
  • When applied consistently over a long period (usually around 3-6 months), many reviewers have been able to remove scars and spots that have been around for years.
  • Reviewers reported that using this oil has left their skin feeling soft and supple.
  • Upon further investigation, it appears as though most of the negative reviews this product centres around people experiencing some kind of reaction from this product, whether it was developing a rash or itch. It’s important to note that different products will affect people differently, and some people may be unaware of allergies that they might have.
CategoryPregnancy & Postnatal Skin Care Products and Serums & Oils
ApplicationBody
Release dateSept 2008

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 891038001011

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.