??!
5 photos
Bissell Bolt Ion

See the Best Stick Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(10)
(6)
(4)
(17)
(29)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (4)
  • Product is used:
    • Daily (3)
    • Rarely (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (4)
  • Pet OwnerYes (4) · No (1)
  • Battery Life
    1.0 (3)

Rajesh E

Rajesh EPerth, WA

Hopeless

published

Thought I was buying best of breed according to Bissel marketing. Within 2 months handle broke at pivot joint. JB-HiFi opened a new box and gave me just the new handle. Apparently that's how Bissel's warranty works. Then latch to release brush broke. Just after warranty was up, battery failed. No replacement battery supplied by Bissel. They make it such the the irreplaceable battery will only last just up to the warranty. Vacuum went into bin. Don't buy a Bissel.

Purchased in September 2016 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
See all answers

GLENN GOUGH

GLENN GOUGHMid North Coast, NSW

Battery Useless and Customer Service Worse

published

Purchased in August 2019 at bissell online for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Good for first 6mths then becomes expensive paperweight...2nd time with bissell

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers

Will not hold charge!

published

I’m done with this product or any other Bissell products. Very upsetting to see that I am in the same Predicament in these reviews for all the same reasons! I feel like I was scammed and now I’m stuck with a unit barely over a year old that is worthless!

Purchased in December 2018.

Pet OwnerYes

elizabeth

elizabethGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bissell Bolt Edge reach - not worth it :-(. Very disappointing.

published

First one died after 18 months. Replacement dead after 18 months. This vacuum is only used lightly for quick cleanup of VERY small mess. I can’t state how disappointed I am in this vacuum and wouldn’t want anyone else to experience this.

Purchased in March 2017 at Costco.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Dies after 12 months of use and its a common problem with this product

published

The product itself is good but the unit shuts off after 30 seconds of use - I believe its a battery issue. It worked well for about a year. I looked online and its a common problem. I would not buy this product. The customer service is terrible too - surprise surprise.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Tash

TashMoncrieff 2914, ACT

  • 5 reviews

Battery doesn't last long - and you can't replace

published

We only used our Bissel Bolt for tiles. We have now gone through two Bissel Bolts. The first one, the battery died just before warranty was up. They did replace it however said the replacement's warranty would only be honoured for the time left on the warranty from the first one. We only had 3 months left.

After about 15 months, the second bolt also suffered the same fate.

The machine would vacuum for about 20 secs and then turn off.

Not worth the money, especially with cheaper ones on the market.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

KAD

KADSafety Beach

Will never buy another Bissell product

published

This our 2nd Bolt in 4 years. Same problem as other users, it only works for about 20 seconds and then stops. The charging indicator shows "FULL" but obviously the battery is faulty. Why are there so many persons with problems with this item. The Bissell steam Mop is great. Have also tried to but a replacement battery pack - impossible. Goodbye Bissell KD

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
MickyB

MickyBGOULBURN

  • 2 reviews

Second replacement in 2 years

published

We purchased this vacuum as we already have a steam mop from Bissell (which works great), but less than 12 months in it would only work for approx 20 secs then turn off. Bissell replaced it with a brand new model (Bolt lithium max 25v model no.1971F) and approx 12 months have passed and this is doing the same thing again. Bissell is replacing it again but there has to be an inherent problem with these vacuums.
When they are working they are great but I shouldn't have to replace every year at the price.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Linda

LindaGORDONVALE

Loved it till the wheels kept falling off.

published

Loved the performance of this vacuum cleanser. So easy to use to zip around. However, the wheels started falling off after about 18 months. Such a nuisance. Another problem is it is difficult to open the bottom where the brush is to remove long hair twirled around the brush. Is now cutting out after a few minutes. Barely get the kitchen and dining room floor done before the charge runs out. Used to be able to do the whole house on one charge.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Deeds

DeedsSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good for a While

published
Date PurchasedJan 2015

Total rubbish

published

Keeps cutting out after a few seconds. Suction is very weak. We have rarely used this product and find it has been a complete waste of money. not sure what the problem is, but it appears to be the battery. This product should have been recalled judging by the number of poor reviews. No more Bissell for me.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Don't waste your Money!

published

Two weeks after purchasing the Bissell Bolt, cordless vacuum, it stopped working. It would run a few seconds and shut down. Called Bissell, they sent me another. (Thank you Bissell ). Unfortunately, the second one had the same problem. It lasted 3 weeks. Runs for a few seconds and shuts down. Called again, sorry it's out of warranty. I'll be shopping for a new cordless vacuum. I will not be looking at ANY Bissell products!

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Michelle G

Michelle GSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awful product. Nothing more than a DISAPPOINTMENT

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Stewpot

StewpotSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Unreliable and Not Very Effective.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
irene

irenesouth bowenfels

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

cant live without it

published

I love this machine , I use it daily , very easy to empty and clean plus does a wonderful job , would not hesitate to buy another , my mother in law has now purchased one and has my sister in law and several of their friends . Very tempted to buy another just in case they stop selling them

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Many

ManyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

A vacuum can only make noise

published

Bought this one awhile ago, worked ok at the first but gradually the suction getting worse.
Finally now it doesn’t clean the floor as a vacuum machine besides making loud noise.
The roller in the head of vacuum didn’t work when I try to change to a new one as well.
Guess I I’ll avoid this brand in the further.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Rhonda

RhondaShelbytownship

Battery died in 3 months

published

Has this product for 3 months. Battery is charged but it work work. Flashing light and turns off within 5 seconds. I didn't expect much but I did expect more then 3 months use out of this. Never buying this brand again. I do however like the light weight and it's perfect for a small apartment.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

dirty dishes

dirty dishesAU

  • 3 reviews

battery issues like everyone else.

published

I'm having the same battery issues as everyone else. Bissell replaced the unit with a 1312F which died about 6 months quicker than the first one. Bissell said that would be the last exchange unit they sent out.
I'll be looking for a Dyson, although I'll be checking the battery reviews first...

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Micky5

Micky5Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good Idea Weak Battery

published

We got this to do the kitchen and floorboards for crumbs instead of bringing out the big vac. It's light and maneuverable and works well but just not for long enough! The battery just doesn't go for more than 5 minutes even off a full charge. I can see that I am not the only one so I guess this is a design problem. Its a pity because its a good idea. Taking points off due to battery

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

sam

samasked

how to clean rotating head assemly

1 answer
GLENN GOUGH
GLENN GOUGH

Hi Sam, we sold our Bolt shortly after my post but having said that there should be a slide release on the bottom or side to remove the rotating brush. It is a good machine just very heavy, not suitable for us, we replaced it with an Aldi cordless and it was $99 light with 40min run time and turbo mode, very light and effective, only downside is small dust collector but no real problem, Just empty when full also very easy to remove brush with release tab. Have a good look at your Bissel head you shouldn't have to much trouble finding the release, also check out YouTube. Hope this helps


Frank F.

Frank F.asked

Our Bissell Bolt Ion 18V (orange coloured Casing) makes a unhealthy rattly sound when switch on. What could be the problem, is it fixable and an approximate cost?

No answers

P HAwkins

P HAwkinsasked

Motor shuts down 30 seconds into vacuuming. This is our second Bissell with same problem. Will not recommend or buy another Bissell ever. Waste of money and my time. Any recommendations on other reliable stick vacuums?

2 answers
elizabeth
elizabeth

Hi, I bought the Dyson V8 on sale in Myers. Extremely good but expensive. The benefit (unlike the Bissell) is you can consumer replaceable batteries. Regards, Elizabeth

P HAwkins
P HAwkins

Thank you


Get an answer from our members and Bissell representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.