5 photos
Bissell Bolt Ion
2.2 from 71 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Bissell? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.6 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (9)
  • Pet OwnerYes (7) · No (2)
  • Battery Life
    1.0 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Battery life is only 1-2years before you need to buy a new one

published

have had 1 for approx 3-4 years, have replaced the battery/vac unit 2 times already and now needs a 3rd one. Battery lasts no longer then 2 mins after full charge and the entire unit was replaced 1 year ago. Stay well clear of Bissell products.

Purchased in August 2018 at Noel Leeming for $300.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Grumps B.
Grumps B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Verge Fodder - #DONOTBUY

published

#DONOTBUY - Basically your buying rubbish, verg fodder. Ours lasted barely a month from new and it was useless. It's uselessness is surpassed only by bissell after sale service in Australia.
Not even 30 days from new and It no longer would charge. ie: runs for a second then stops. Purpetualy flashing red lights indicating it's charoging but only ever gets to 21v.
(It needs 25v to operate.)
Suggest it has faulty battery pack or charge controller. But trying to communicat with Bissell was akin to banging my head on a rock - only felt good when I stopped.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $250.00.

Noise Level
3/5
Battery Life
1/5
Greg P.
Greg P.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

BATTERY DIES on Warranty

published

The battery has died and doesn’t charge. Lucky enough the first one died a month prior to 2year warranty. Replacement main unit (dust buster part) has done exactly the same but 2 months after the 2nd 2 year warranty and they, Bissell, aren’t responding after 3 emails

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys for $300.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Tom
TomNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish, works for 5 seconds then dies

published

The vacuum works for 5 seconds then dies. The battery was replaced first time this happened. Three months later it happened again. This product is a total lemon. Don't buy.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $299.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bissell Bolt Ion compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Noel
NoelSouth West, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Bad! Bad! product

published

Purchased a Bissell Bolt ION-XRT 25V. Used as a secondary vacuum for small spills. It worked well for about 3 mths. After a few months it only ran for 3 seconds at a time. Took it back to the Good Guys and had it repaired (08/2016). It worked OK for two or three times, but was back to running for about 3 seconds again (just long enough to get to full speed). I think it is a safety overload cutout problem. I would not recommend these vacuums to my worst enemy. Bad product!

Purchased in July 2015 for $260.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rajesh E
Rajesh EPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Hopeless

published

Thought I was buying best of breed according to Bissel marketing. Within 2 months handle broke at pivot joint. JB-HiFi opened a new box and gave me just the new handle. Apparently that's how Bissel's warranty works. Then latch to release brush broke. Just after warranty was up, battery failed. No replacement battery supplied by Bissel. They make it such the the irreplaceable battery will only last just up to the warranty. Vacuum went into bin. Don't buy a Bissel.

Purchased in September 2016 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $350.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
GLENN GOUGH
GLENN GOUGHMid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Battery Useless and Customer Service Worse

published

Purchased in August 2019 at bissell online for $249.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Good for first 6mths then becomes expensive paperweight...2nd time with bissell

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Will not hold charge!

published

I’m done with this product or any other Bissell products. Very upsetting to see that I am in the same Predicament in these reviews for all the same reasons! I feel like I was scammed and now I’m stuck with a unit barely over a year old that is worthless!

Purchased in December 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Pet OwnerYes
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bissell Bolt Ion compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
elizabeth
elizabethGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bissell Bolt Edge reach - not worth it :-(. Very disappointing.

published

First one died after 18 months. Replacement dead after 18 months. This vacuum is only used lightly for quick cleanup of VERY small mess. I can’t state how disappointed I am in this vacuum and wouldn’t want anyone else to experience this.

Purchased in March 2017 at Costco.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5

Dies after 12 months of use and its a common problem with this product

published

The product itself is good but the unit shuts off after 30 seconds of use - I believe its a battery issue. It worked well for about a year. I looked online and its a common problem. I would not buy this product. The customer service is terrible too - surprise surprise.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Tash
TashMoncrieff 2914, ACT
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Battery doesn't last long - and you can't replace

published

We only used our Bissel Bolt for tiles. We have now gone through two Bissel Bolts. The first one, the battery died just before warranty was up. They did replace it however said the replacement's warranty would only be honoured for the time left on the warranty from the first one. We only had 3 months left.

After about 15 months, the second bolt also suffered the same fate.

The machine would vacuum for about 20 secs and then turn off.

Not worth the money, especially with cheaper ones on the market.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bissell Bolt Ion compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KAD
KADGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Will never buy another Bissell product

published

This our 2nd Bolt in 4 years. Same problem as other users, it only works for about 20 seconds and then stops. The charging indicator shows "FULL" but obviously the battery is faulty. Why are there so many persons with problems with this item. The Bissell steam Mop is great. Have also tried to but a replacement battery pack - impossible. Goodbye Bissell KD

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
MickyB
MickyBSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Second replacement in 2 years

published

We purchased this vacuum as we already have a steam mop from Bissell (which works great), but less than 12 months in it would only work for approx 20 secs then turn off. Bissell replaced it with a brand new model (Bolt lithium max 25v model no.1971F) and approx 12 months have passed and this is doing the same thing again. Bissell is replacing it again but there has to be an inherent problem with these vacuums.
When they are working they are great but I shouldn't have to replace every year at the price.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Linda
LindaGORDONVALE

Loved it till the wheels kept falling off.

published

Loved the performance of this vacuum cleanser. So easy to use to zip around. However, the wheels started falling off after about 18 months. Such a nuisance. Another problem is it is difficult to open the bottom where the brush is to remove long hair twirled around the brush. Is now cutting out after a few minutes. Barely get the kitchen and dining room floor done before the charge runs out. Used to be able to do the whole house on one charge.

Date PurchasedSept 2016

Questions & Answers

Tony B.
Tony B.asked
Bolt Ion

roller and edgereach funtion w ont work

No answers
sam
samasked
Bolt Ion XRT (1311F)

how to clean rotating head assemly

1 answer
GLENN GOUGH
GLENN GOUGH

Hi Sam, we sold our Bolt shortly after my post but having said that there should be a slide release on the bottom or side to remove the rotating brush. It is a good machine just very heavy, not suitable for us, we replaced it with an Aldi cordless and it was $99 light with 40min run time and turbo mode, very light and effective, only downside is small dust collector but no real problem, Just empty when full also very easy to remove brush with release tab. Have a good look at your Bissel head you shouldn't have to much trouble finding the release, also check out YouTube. Hope this helps

Frank F.
Frank F.asked
Bolt Ion XRT (1315X)

Our Bissell Bolt Ion 18V (orange coloured Casing) makes a unhealthy rattly sound when switch on. What could be the problem, is it fixable and an approximate cost?

No answers
See all Bissell Bolt Ion questions

Get an answer from our members

Bissell Bolt Ion

Details

Compare all 4 Bissell Bolt Ion
Bissell Bolt Ion (1312F)
  • Discontinued

Bissell Bolt Ion (1312F)

2.2
(12)
Bissell Bolt Ion (1312G)
  • Discontinued

Bissell Bolt Ion (1312G)

2.8
(6)
Bissell Bolt Ion XRT (1311F)
  • Discontinued

Bissell Bolt Ion XRT (1311F)

2.2
(49)
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $199.00
HEPA FilterNoNoNo
Weight2.63 kg2.63 kg2.35 kg
TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
Charging Time4 hours4 hours4 hours
Running Time 30 min30 min40 min20 min
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)1 year(s)
Compare all 4 Bissell Bolt Ion

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.