1 photo
Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum

Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum

4.5 from 53 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Big W? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (38)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (41)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (42)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (41)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (40)
  • Pet OwnerYes (19) · No (23)
  • Battery Life
    4.5 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
bushra m.
bushra m.AU
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Big w I am not finding this product anywhere in stores or online please help

published

I bought blue one last year and I loved it due to it is sturdy body make and good suction compared with kmart one $29.
But very sorry they replaced this good product with black colour bad body style , non sturdy vacume. Its metal handle comes off again and again. I need it using while standing. Its mouthpiece stuck upward on floor surface so untill I dont push it down again and again it , it dont sucks anything. Could you please help me find this blue one if it is still somewhere in stock.

Purchased in August 2020 at Big W for $29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
lmax2021
lmax2021South East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

This vaccuum cleaner really sucks! in a good way!

published

This vaccuum cleaner really sucks! in a good way!, i am amazed. for 30 bucks, and only 600watts, she does the job for my little place. carpet always left clean. it always picks up all the dust and dirt. happy customer. it just..works.

The one small issue i have, is the clip that holds the vaccum container on, was loose. i taped it down. and she is alright now ;)

Purchased in March 2021 at Big W Retail Stores for $30.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Annette
AnnetteHobart, TAS

Wow the suction on this $29 vac is amazing... 100% reccomend ..

published

Used on carpet then onto lino perfect ... did great job still blown away over its performance a very great buy wont dissapoint you at all easy empty of filter and vac

Purchased in April 2021 at Big W Online Store for $29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cactus
CactusSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Is mine the only one where the handle comes off every 5 minutes?

published

So the suction is great, I'll give it that.
But you can't adjust the suction, and with the head having NO brushes, I could see it doing some real damage to hardwood flooring.
My issue is that the flimsy catch that's supposed to secure the extension pole to the Dustbuster fails to do so.
I'm left with the option of throw the pole and head away and just keep it as a Dustbuster, or get some liquid nails and fix the pole on permanently.

Purchased in April 2021 at Big W Online Store for $15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Ali M
Ali MNewcastle
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Little monster

published

It’s fantastic little vacuum cleaner for small places. This handy little monster does the job very well. I use it for both hard surfaces and on carpet. Both working well.

Purchased in April 2020 for $29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
davidp
davidpSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good value. I won't go back to my Dyson.

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Big W for $29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Sucks harder than an airplane toilet

published

I think I have actual love for this vacuum. I never leave reviews but I feel like more people need this in their lives. Less than $30 and I prefer it to my boyfriend's expensive hoover! They've updated it now with an extra sucky attachment and hooks to wind the cables around which was my only complaint before... Such great suction. I have two!

Purchased in March 2021 at Big W for $29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Khan
Khan
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolute rubbish

published

Exceptionally noisy, very small suction head with poor suction power and hard to use. I bought it by reading all the other fantastic reviews and given the price. Turned out to be a complete rubbish. Yeah, it's cheap but you still be wasting $29 for no good reason.

Purchased in July 2020 for $38.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lolwut
LolwutSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

How is this so cheap?

published

I bought one of these from Big W Stafford in July after moving to a small 1br unit and downsizing.
I half expected it to break within a month, but 4 months on and it’s still going strong.
It has good suction, is light and easy to store away if you’re short on space as the handle and body pull apart into 3 sections.
I’ve just decided to use it with a powder carpet deodorizer for once, and emptied the canister several times at intervals however it’s currently overheated now (which it’s never done before after being used 1-2 times every week) and won’t turn on again.
After leaving it to cool down in front of a fan for 15 mins it’s now working normally.
The vacuum also comes with 2 filters.

Purchased in July 2020 at Big W for $30.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Design flaw

published

My initial praise for this otherwise excellent little vacuum cleaner proved to be premature when I noticed that the dirt collected trapped itself at the top of the filter and the casing where the gap between the two is minimal. This was quickly blocking the filter before the container was even a quarter full. As cleaning the filter so frequently began to annoy me I made a small modification and now the dirt collected doesn’t get trapped at the top of the filter.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020 at Big W Online Store for $29.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Disappointed girl
Disappointed girlSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Useless without replacement filters.

published

Useless without replacement filters. Use to use everyday now cannot filter to dirty cleaning destroying filter. Was great product now collecting dust and not in a good way. FIX PROBLEM

Purchased in June 2018 at Big Aussie Deals for $29.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kim
KimIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Cheap and works amazingly well

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Big W Online Store for $2.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Aimee
AimeeSydney, NSW
  • 94 reviews
  • 52 likes
  • Verified

Ok for the price

published

I bought it based on the reviews here as I had problem deciding which vacuum cleaner to buy that does not cost too much. I used this on my tiled floor and it performs well except for the noise and non swivelling head. I am not too happy about this so I will continue my quest for a reasonably priced cordless stick vacuum.

Incentivised Review No
Kaitlin
Kaitlin
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap but OK

published

I bought this vacuum based off reviews on here so I thought I'd give one myself.

You get what you pay for. For the price the suction is surprisingly good, it does pick up a lot of dust which is excellent. However the plastic is cheap and flimsy, and the head cracked the first time we were trying to get it on. We've kept it to use in the kitchen as a handheld vacuum - cleaning up small messes, but I would not recommend for the rest of the house.

Not a bad vacuum for the price but if you're willing to spend a bit more definitely do.

Purchased in August 2020 at Big W for $30.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ravi
RaviGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Bang for your buck

published

We have owned a Ryobi Vacum and then an expensive Dyson V7. And by far the $29$ Big W Contempo is the best of the two. "Not everything that is expensive is good". This product is a true reminder of this theory. It's light weight, compact, powerful and does the job. Good on carpets and tiles. I think I am going to buy another one as a reserve.

Purchased in September 2020 at Big W Online Store for $29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Summer R.
Summer R.asked

Can you use it without the filter

4 answers
Ali M
Ali M

No. You can't use it without the filter. Good thing is it's come with two filters.

Summer R.
Summer R.

No actually mine didn’t come with two filters.

Summer R.
Summer R.

I wouldn’t be asking the question if it came with two.

Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous asked

I’ve put the stick in the wrong way and it’s jammed in... Is there anyway of undoing this???

No answers
neil
neilasked

where can I purchase filter for the contempo SC001 vacuum cleaner 2 IN 1 MODEL
NEIL

No answers
See all Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $29.00
HEPA FilterNo
Weight3 kg
TypeElectric
Power600 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.