??!
1 photo
Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum

Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum

4.9 from 27 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.9

27 reviews
5
(23)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (16)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (16)
  • Pet OwnerYes (11) · No (6)
  • Battery Life
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Fabián P.

Fabián P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Such a DEAL!

published

I bought it after read the reviews here!
WOW!
I had to write another one,
my little blue assistant deserves!
for the price of a fast food menu
you get a fast and efficient tool!!!
Easy to use, easy to storage, with a long cable, and the price is so low if you compare with its competitors.
Warning: You don’t scare with its potency when you first switch it on.

Purchased in June 2020 at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers

Outperforms more expensive models

published

Extremely efficient for its price (Wooden & Carpet flooring)

Outperformed my previous vacuum (purchased at $100+) in terms of suction power.

Ease of use is also good, easy to assemble and disassemble when done, which encourages better routine habits.

Pretty long & very lightweight (helps with back issues), no need for bending down

Purchased in June 2020 at Big W for A$29.90.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Cindy

CindyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Better than my Dyson!

published

I still can't believe this vacuum could pick up more off my floors than my Dyson animal. The only thing different is it isn't cordless but with a powerful pickup, this is awesome! I use it on slate, timber flooring and carpet rugs both low pile and shaggy and it was perfect.
My Dyson has been losing battery power and needed constantly charging, it flicked stuff everywhere and wouldnt pick up all the dirt and dust this Contempo can.
I was lucky to pay only $19 as I had a $10 reward on my Woolworths rewards card, what an absolute bargain!!!

Purchased in June 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for A$19.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Weerakoon

Weerakoon

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Perfect vacuum and really like it

published

Recently I had purchased Contempo 2 in 1 stick/Handheld Vacuum-600w from Big W store.
It was so light and very handy and so far working well with no problem. It’s helping me to get in to a corners easily. 600w machine’s speed/power is enough to do whole my house vacuuming in short period of time. Worth for the money I spent on this and really like this.

Purchased in May 2020 at Big W -Queen Victoria village, cnr Swanston and Lonsdale st for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ak147ak

ak147ak

  • 2 reviews

Amazing value and great suctions great replacement for my broken stick dyson

published

I usually dont write reviews but, If you need a light vacuum for around the house that has great suction. Please go and buy this ASAP. It vacuums carpets and tiles with ease and has more dirt removed than my v6 dyson. The build quality is ok but amazing vacuum quality.

Also do yourself a favor a get a 10m extension cable for $10 so you can go around the house.

Purchased in May 2020 at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
smc.

smc.

  • 2 reviews

It’s true. It’s that good

published

Amazing. This $29 vacuum out performs my $600 vacuum. Also has 2 year warranty. Incredible. Super light. Good power. It’s really simple to use. I use it in the house but it would be great in the garage or caravan.

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers

YASSS!

published

I bought this based on reviews here and it didn’t disappoint. Works brilliantly well on all surfaces. Lightweight,powerful and so easy to use. I’m glad I gave it a go.Highly recommend!!!!!

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Aleesha F.

Aleesha F.Mid North Coast, NSW

Great little vacuum

published

For $29 this vacuum has really good suction. I use on carpet, tiles and wooden floors. I use it in my 3 bedroom house, so would be perfect for smaller apartments. Only down side is it's a little tricky when changing the heads. It feels sort of stuck and due to that, the clip that connects the 2 parts of the vacuum together has become weak. Overall it's a great little vacuum.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
jules

julesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Brilliant, easy to use vac

published

The vac is used on both carpet and hard floors. Great little machine with the bonus price of only $29. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed with it’s cleaning ability

Purchased at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
megalina

megalinaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Brilliant vacuum cleaner

published

I hesitated several times before buying, but now there are no regrets. Fabulous little light vacuum cleaner. Its easy to put together.
Only small issue is I cant get the bottom part off so I can attach the crevice nozzle, but at $29, buy a second.
Ive used this on linoleum flooring and its been perfect.

Purchased in October 2019 at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Linoleum
See all answers
Jane

JanePerth, WA

Bloody ripper...

published

I bought this based on reviews and needed it for my tiled laundry where I have set up the kitty litter tray for my daughter's new kitten. Works great, I'm really happy with it. Bought a second for daughter's laminate flooring room. It's loud, but that is not an issue, easy to move around and a bargain at $30 from Big W. Includes a spare filter. Easy to put together. It's corded, but plenty of length for what I need. Easy enough to empty it. I'm pretty happy with it.

Purchased in October 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for A$30.00.

Ease of Use
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Roger GordonB

Roger GordonB

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful Product

published

I bought 3 of these,friends have bought 9 between them since seeing mine. Lightweight, easy to use and so powerful. A lot of thought has gone into this - no bristles so stuff doesn't get stuck or passed over - just a hard plastic dirt shifter, an angled accessory for cars, no batteries so the power is better than heavy machines. Outdoes my expensive Miele which blew up. Great work Contempo - many thanks! :)

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for A$38.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
GK at Underwood

GK at UnderwoodSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Seriously The Best Little 2 in 1 Vac Ever!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Big W for A$29.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Tricia

TriciaPerth, WA

My little blue vacuum rocker

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Kathryn

KathrynSydney

  • 3 reviews

A Little Pocket Rocket!

published

Bought this little vacuum cleaner, on the basis of the great reviews, to replace my broken, slightly more expensive one.
Very pleasantly surprised, the suction on this little thing is unbelievable! It works just as well on hard floors as on carpet.
Comes with a crevice tool and 2 filters.
Very lightweight, easy to handle, easy to empty, although capacity on the smaller size, it wasn't a problem.
Handle can be removed to be a very powerful hand held vacuum cleaner. ( I found the handle was a bit hard to remove once put together).
The cord was a bit on the short side but was not a problem.
Very happy to have purchased this little gem and would not hesitate to recommend. Excellent value for $29.

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W Online Store for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo 2 in 1 Vacuum compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Holly C

Holly CGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Surprisingly very good

published

I was very dubious about how good this vacuum could be given its $29 price tag. It's incredible. I have a long haired cat and it does an amazing job - though bear in mind I have no carpet. Holds heaps of fluff and can easily do my small apartment a few times over. It does feel very plasticy but it's been very durable. Can't recommend enough

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers
Annie B.

Annie B.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Surprisingly powerful and light weight

published

I purchased this product to vacuum the stairs because it was light to carry. I have an older Dyson DC12 that still works well but it’s too heavy for me to carry.

I didn’t expect much for $29 but I’m blown away how good this product is. It’s powerful and easy to empty, and because it’s not battery operated, there’s no waiting time to charge. It works well on tiles and carpet and even on the outdoor mats.

I’m purchasing one for my mother because it’s so good and light enough for her to use. My husband laughed at me for buying it - he’s not laughing now and uses it himself on his car.

Purchased in February 2019 at Big W Menai for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Angela

AngelaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

excellent vacuum cleaner. b

published

excellent for a small apartment, super powerful, super lightweight and compact.

looks like a toy and priced like a toy at $29 but it is not a toy.

has gotten into all the nooks and crannies the regular one wouldn't.

old one (hoover) was way more expensive, clunkier and not as powerful as this one.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Adi

Adi

  • 3 reviews

I can just say Wooow!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
willow12

willow12MELBOURNE

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best value vacuum cleaner

published

I always imagined really good vacuum cleaners to be expensive so I was so surprised that one at this price would do the job just as well. I've used it mainly on carpet and tiles, very effective on tiles and good on carpet. I may have to go over a particular patch a few times only because the debris is caught onto the carpet fibres, but I probably would have to do that anyway. Really lightweight and easy to use for a small person like me, and makes vacuum cleaning less of a chore compared to those old big heavy cleaners I'm used to.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Gwen Brien

Gwen Brienasked

This is a 2 in 1, what other than a vacuum cleaner is it please?

2 answers
Cindy
Cindy

By 2 in 1 it means you can take the handle off and the end attachment so it can be used as a handheld vacuum which I only do if I am vacuuming my car while the cord is still attached, if that makes sense ( not rechargable)

Will T
Will T

Hi Cindy & Gwen,

That is correct. the 2 in 1 refers to 2 modes of 1) Stick and 2) Handheld

The handheld mode is also useful to vacuum pet furs if/when you have a pet (cat) that loves fitting in cabinet drawers

JoJo

JoJoasked

I have a carpeted 3 bedroom house/lounge then floorboards in kitchen and Lino in toilet/bathroom/laundry. Do you think this vacuum would work well? Thankyou

2 answers
Weerakoon
Weerakoon

It depends on how you use it. If you vacuum 15 minutes at a stretch and have 3-4 minutes intervals for machine to get cool down and keep on going, will be better. That’s how I do. For $29 it’s really worth.

JoJo
JoJo

Thank you my old one just died, going to go buy this one now. Can’t wait to test it out. Should be easier for my kids to use too

Dennis Dixon

Dennis Dixonasked

Can you buy filters for this vacuum?

2 answers
Jennifer
Jennifer

An advertisement says it comes with a washable filter and a spare filter. For the price of the machine, most filters cost way more than that just for the filter.

Dennis Dixon
Dennis Dixon

Well thanks for the answer, it has only taken TWO months, and you reply is pathetic.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.