??!
2 photos
BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S Dual Camera

BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S Dual Camera

DR650GW-2CH, DR650S-2CH, D650S-TR-IR-16
4.0 from 115 reviews

Reviews

4.0

115 reviews
5
(75)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(17)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (7)
  • Readable Number PlatesYes (67%) · No (33%)
  • Battery Life
    3.8 (4)
  • Video Quality
    4.0 (6)
  • Audio Quality
    4.3 (4)
  • Night-Time Video Quality
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next
David C.

David C.Queensland

  • 3 reviews

BlackVue quickly resolved my issue....

published

I posted an issue I had with my BlackVue dash cam and this company worked very quickly to resolve it, you can’t ask for anything more than that!

It’s great to see some companies making the effort to show their customers they are valued and eager to resolve issues, for this reason I highly recommend purchasing products from this company BlackVue.

Thank you very much Chaim and staff for making this customer have faith again it is really appreciated.

Thanks again!

Purchased in May 2017 for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car ModelToyota Aurion GSV50R AT-X
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
3 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
David C.
David C.
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
SergiiS

SergiiSSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Great camera, slick design

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Automotive Superstore for A$853.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car ModelSuzuki Swift AZ GL+
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
arauch

arauchPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

The product doesn't last long

published

I bought 03 Blackvues, two as a gift and another for my daily use. One as a gift has not worked since new, however, the manufacturer replaced it for a new one and it is working. I was not so lucky with mine Blackvue DR650GW-2CH, that after 3 years stopped working. I replaced it with a cheap and more reliable brand. I will never buy anything from Blackvue again since 66% of failure for a brand new and expensive dashcam is totally unacceptable. The image quality of my current affordable camera is far better too.

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Readable Number PlatesNo
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Dash Cams

Find out how BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S Dual Camera compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Didn't last a year...

published
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
O.O

O.OGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Second time it's faulty!

published

This is the second time this camera is playing up. First time only GPS light was lighting up so it was fixed free of charge and chip replaced. Now the camera runs for a while then the GPS light stay alight and red recording light turns off. Also camera makes a funny noise. Unplug it and restart camera and same thing happens all over again. Not happy!

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Problems Galore

published

Purchased in September 2016 at Daschcams Australia for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car Modelcx5
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Unlucky

UnluckySouth East Queensland, QLD

Great when it worked

published

My dash cam was purchased and installed by a reputable dealer just over two years ago. It has been replaced because it kept restarting and the replacement unit was repaired under warranty because the internal power in the front camera was faulty. The dealer has sent it off again today because the front camera won't power up. I'm very disappointed- I was assured this was a very good brand and I seem to have had nothing but trouble with it. I drive approximately 1000 kms a week and need a good, reliable unit for peace of mind on the road.

Purchased in June 2017 at Sound in Motion for A$880.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Readable Number PlatesNo
Car ModelMazda CX-3 DK Akari AWD, 1.8L Diesel, Automatic
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Blackvue 650S 2ch LEMON

Blackvue 650S 2ch LEMONSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst Camera Ever

published

Purchased in August 2017 at No Limit Audio Melbourne for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Readable Number PlatesYes
Car ModelToyota Hilux
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
4 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Upset Aussie

Upset AussieChisholm NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Only Dash cam to Have

published

Needed to be hard wired but well worth the effort. So impressed will keep it for whatever car i drive even though costly to have hardwired. Havent needed to update software after 2 years of wear. Costly to buy but so much better than cheaper dash cams. Before buying a dashcam its worthwhile doing the research. This product is worth the money.....

2 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Thanks very much for your review :) If you ever considering upgrading your system, then please get in touch with us so we can help you out.
Thanks again,
Tom.
Auto BlackBox Pty Ltd

Upset Aussie
Upset Aussie

Its working fine thanks

Dash Cams

Find out how BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S Dual Camera compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brendon

Brendon

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Avoid

published
4 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Brendon,
Just touching base to see if you have had any joy resolving the problems you were experiencing? Our support team haven't heard from you, feel free to get in touch if you would like any help.
Best Regards,
James

Brendon
Brendon
Beachman

BeachmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Avoid this unit.

published

The dash cam worked very well for a while then stopped working without any warning. Changing the SD card, rebooting, downloading and installing firmware are all complicated and time consuming. Theres a constant “invalid settings” warning. I’ll be looking to get my money back and get a more reliable dash cam.

1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Vincent23

Vincent23Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive Popular Camera and Pretty Reliable

published
4 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Vincent23
Vincent23
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

ALL THE SEARCHES SHOW THAT THE REAR CAMERA IS TERRIBLE

published

I have a fleet of cars, and one Blackvue 650 2 ch, nothing but issues from day on, cable to rear renewed, rear camera stopped no power now, multiple issues with the upgrades, and cloud etc,
I think the rear camera is better than the front on video, but it never works, so thats in the bin.
No more Blackvue for me.

1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Not worth the money

published

Purchased this unit 18 months ago. Had it fitted by an auto electrician complete with the power magic pro. This unit worked well for the first 6 months but then came daily issues, ranging from, loss of audio, no recordings, turning on and off at random times. Seriously every couple of weeks something would go wrong. I contacted blackvue support and with there assistance via email over a 6 month period, it was diagnosed as having a broken NAND memory??
Anyhow since it was outside the warranty period they were not prepared to fix it at there cost.
Not happy with the product, will be removing and throwing in the bin over the weekend.
Save your money.

1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Customer Service from Autoblackbox WA (Aust Supplier)

published
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Dash Cams

Find out how BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S Dual Camera compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sibron

SibronPerth, WA

  • 29 reviews

Good, but not cheap

published
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Not happy

published

I purchased the 650GW 2ch some time ago. I was fine for about 13 months then the SD card problem started. I tried various SD cards including the one from Blackvue. I kept getting the "Please check the SD card" message. I'd re format the card once a week and kept getting the error message. I disconnected the rear camera and the problem stopped. I payed for a 2ch dash cam but I've ended up with a 1 channel cam. Never again will i buy a Blackvue dash cam.

2 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

motion sensor warnings are flooding in post firmware upgrade

published

Hi,

Today I upgraded the firmware of my dashcam.

Post the upgrade, the sensor warnings are flooding in despite the fact that I have put the impact sensor to 20. I have tried multiple numbers ranging from 20 to 100 and not seen a change. Surely I can't set it to too low so wonder what the ideal number.

Has anyone seen this issue?

regards,
JB

Can’t trust this camera, I purchased it to safe guard any claims against me in an accident. It has f

published

How many words does it take to let you know that I feel very dissatisfied with the purchase of this unreliable dash cam, I thought I was buying the best but maybe a cheap one would have served better. It is obviously a bad unit as you have discontinued it that’s the best thing for it.

4 comments
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Eric
Eric
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Lidia

LidiaSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best dash cam and best customer care

published
1 comment
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue
Page 1 of 6
See all BlackVue DR650GW / DR650S reviews

Questions & Answers

Benjamin C.

Benjamin C.asked

Dual Camera DR650S-2CH

While reviewing playback from the SDCard for my Blackvue DR900S-2CH, I noticed in parking mode the playback is almost an hour not 3min which I set. And the playback is in 16X or 32X fast forward speed with no audio. Why?

1 answer
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Benjamin,
Thanks for getting in touch with your query.
It sounds like your units parking mode has been set to Time Lapse recording instead of Motion & Impact detection.
This will make the camera record 1 frame per second for the duration of the parking time and then plays the files back at 30 frames per second so a 30 minute recording period is played back in a 1 minute file.
To change settings access the firmware settings and under the basic then recording tabs change the parking mode recordings.
If you require further assistance please get in touch on the number below.
Best regards,
Chaim
BlackVue Australia
08 6267 5167

Yorinaldi

Yorinaldiasked

Dual Camera DR650S-2CH

After upgrade firmware, my blackvue DR650S-2CH can't connect to wifi, it says "wifi unavailable"
Can you help me about this problem ?

1 answer
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Yorinaldi, Thanks for sending your query through. Typically for this error message disabling mobile data on Android based devices will resolve the issue. However if you are using a apple device then a network reset maybe required to get it back up and running. Can you confirm if this error message is occurring in your devices WiFi network list or when trying to connect through the app?
Best regards,
Chaim
BlackVue Australia
08 6267 5167

Casey R.

Casey R.asked

Dual Camera DR650S-2CH

Hi since installing the device my car battery has been draining, is it connected to the car battery?

1 answer
BlackVue
BlackVue Australia T.BlackVue

Hi Casey,

Whether the unit is drawing from your vehicles battery is determined by how it has been installed.
If the unit was installed with the hard wiring Power Magic Pro kit, then the camera will draw from the vehicles battery.
However the Power Magic Pro has inbuilt voltage and timer cut off to ensure that the camera does not run the vehicles battery flat.
The voltage cut off setting can be adjusted on the Power Magic Pro itself to either 12V or 12.5V cut off.

If you require any assistance with how the devices work or would like to run something by our support team they can be contacted on the details below.
Phone: 08 6267 5167
Email: support@blackvue.com.au

Best regards,
Chaim
BlackVue Australia

Get an answer from our members and BlackVue representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.