1 photo
Bosch PCM 1800 SD

Bosch PCM 1800 SD

2.0 from 27 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Happy Customer
Happy Customer
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not accurate out of the box - but found the solution

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $450.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Perfect for crooked cuts!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $380.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jarrin
JarrinSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Must have got a good one?

published

Purcahsed this saw for some home renovations and so far has not missed a beat. Can't relate to the issuses that everyone else has reported. Top quality as far as I am concerned. I do not use this saw as often as a trades person would so I cannot say its great for that particular application, but it suit my home renovation just fine. I did however purchase a more expenaive blade for it.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools

Hi Jarrin,
Glad to hear you're getting good use out of our mitre saw. We appreciate your feedback.
Have a great day!

Cut-Off & Mitre Saws

Find out how Bosch PCM 1800 SD compares to other Cut-Off & Mitre Saws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
scott
scott
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bosch..I think you have tarnished your good name on this one

published

I've always relied on Bosch being top choice for an important tool.this thing is out of square beyond adjustment.i have to turn down jobs until I can replace the 400$ mistake ive purchased. Save your good name send everyone here a voucher!!!!

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
3 comments
scott
scott

feel free to send voucher to enquiries@imperialhomeimprovements.com.au

Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools
scott
scott
Col
ColSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not impressed.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Total Tools for $1,199.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mark
MarkSydney, NSW

Disappointing from Bosch

published

I had a Bosch PCM 1800 that had served me well for 5 years. So when I decided to upgrade to a sliding saw I went with the Bosch PCM 1800 SD. What a mistake. It didn't cut square out of the box and the fence can not be moved enough to get it to be square when set to zero. I made it square by setting to an angle that wasn't zero in order to finish my project. Then the blade guard didn't retract enough and got caught on the wood I was cutting. This meant that you had to pull back the guard slightly in order to cut wood above a certain thickness (appeared to be about 30mm) then after using the clamp to secure the wood for the 5th time the clamp broke. At that point I gave up and returned it to the store where I bought it.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools

Very disappointing for a Bosch machine

published

Within the first week of use, I found the lever that tightens the radius of the table does tighten the table properly. Also the fence is curving in, in the middle by 2mm which makes the cut inaccurate and dangerous, as the timber jams and the blade kicks back.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Saw cuts OK, Laser is a useless

published

Only used the saw a few times when the laser went fuzzy, so I contacted Bosch and they said take it to a service centre listed in Victoria, NSW, Queensland, everywhere, almost, too bad I live in South Australia, I will never buy Bosch again.

Incentivised ReviewNo

don’t buy this drop saw

published

Like other users, the blade guard was hopeless; I had to reassemble it several times (it’s now utterly broken), and I keep having to reset the blade. I have had my Bosch drop saw for about 2 years. Having also just had a Bosch drill which was disappointing, I won’t be buying another Bosch product again.

Purchased in January 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Cut-Off & Mitre Saws

Find out how Bosch PCM 1800 SD compares to other Cut-Off & Mitre Saws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pissed off
pissed off
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst Bosch tool EVER!!!

published

Seriously save yourself the headache and buy anything else.
Mine had the saw guard jam on it the second day of use.....exceptionally poor design.
I love my other Bosch tools, so this one actually made me sad I had to return it because its practically useless.

Purchased in March 2019 for $430.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Davo
Davoport pirie
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

very disappointed bad quality and performance

published

bought the saw and stand combo from mitre ten, got it out of the box and straight away inaccurate cuts, both indicators are a mile out. could not get a square cut anywhere, the slide compound will not work unless you take the upper support away from the cutting table, to the right the transport knob hits then the gearbox housing hits and to the left simply binds again. ridiculous from a supposed high quality manufacturer
the rear of the handle on mine gets extremely hot as well with a faint smell of overheated electrics when the motor is running
I usually buy Makita, should have done so again.......severely disappointed however the stand is good

Date PurchasedJan 2019
James
JamesAdelaide
  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified

Terrible quality

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Brendan Moylan
Brendan MoylanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Average quality for a good brand

published

Was pretty disappointed after less than 6 months, due to the guard not working properly and the angles being out when cutting. In the end, I modified the guard slide rail so it works without drama, but I always have to check with my set square to ensure straight cuts. The laser got covered in fresh sap from pine timber and now doesn't work cause it ruined the plastic cover... and it was always needing to be cleared anyway as it was in a terrible position and kept getting covered in sawdust. I don't know why but the part which hold the blade on know as the locking nut has worn and now has a wobble in the blade.
Also, it uses 5 watts of power plugged in doing nothing which is a joke.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

This is not the Bosch quality and value I am used to.

published

I bought this saw last 6 months ago and after a couple of hours use the blade started to wobble. At first I thought it was the blade so swapped that with a new one with no luck. It then went back to be repaired under guarantee which only lasted 5 minutes. It then went back again to have a whole lot of new parts replaced, such as gears etc.This lasted a few hours work before the blade started to loosen off again. Mitre10 then replaced the saw with a new one out of the box. This saw is now also having problems cutting roughly and then the blade comes loose. I have had a lot of Bosch products over the years and never had a problem. I am now returning it for a refund and will buy something else.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Mark U
Mark UMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

This is the worst drop saw I’ve ever used

published

Major guard malfunctioning / design issues. I sent the saw back to rectify the issue and the fix only lasted less than a week. The guard mechanism design on the saw just does not work. And after a small amount of use becomes extremely dangerous, due to the need to force the saw down to engage the guard.
I didn’t bother sending it back again for repair as the design problem lies in the flimsy metal bracket that engages the guard. Simply replacing this part with the same only leads to failure.

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Cut-Off & Mitre Saws

Find out how Bosch PCM 1800 SD compares to other Cut-Off & Mitre Saws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

David C
David Casked

The laser feature on my saw has packed it in! Light is shining on blade teeth & not on the wood. I have cleaned the light & the reflecting surface, still not working. Any suggestions?
david.

No answers
gard s.
gard s.asked

I've just bought one of these (used) and it has a few issues.
The main one is that the blade does not line up with the groove in the base. It is approx. 10mm to the left of where it ought to be (when used vertically and at 90 degrees).
I haven't tried with the blade any other way but vertical.
Have re-mounted blade to ensure it was on correctly.

No answers
John
Johnasked

Hi,

As George asked 9 months ago (& it appears didn't get an answer), Is it possible to adjust the blade to make sure it is cutting 90' when it is out of alignment? If so, how is it done.

No answers
See all Bosch PCM 1800 SD questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Power Tools representatives

Details

CategoryCut-Off & Mitre Saws
ManualDownload manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.