??!
1 photo
Bosch PCM 1800 SD

Bosch PCM 1800 SD

1.8 from 22 reviews

Reviews

(0)
(3)
(1)
(7)
(11)


Mark

MarkSydney, NSW

Disappointing from Bosch

published

I had a Bosch PCM 1800 that had served me well for 5 years. So when I decided to upgrade to a sliding saw I went with the Bosch PCM 1800 SD. What a mistake. It didn't cut square out of the box and the fence can not be moved enough to get it to be square when set to zero. I made it square by setting to an angle that wasn't zero in order to finish my project. Then the blade guard didn't retract enough and got caught on the wood I was cutting. This meant that you had to pull back the guard slightly in order to cut wood above a certain thickness (appeared to be about 30mm) then after using the clamp to secure the wood for the 5th time the clamp broke. At that point I gave up and returned it to the store where I bought it.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.


Very disappointing for a Bosch machine

published

Within the first week of use, I found the lever that tightens the radius of the table does tighten the table properly. Also the fence is curving in, in the middle by 2mm which makes the cut inaccurate and dangerous, as the timber jams and the blade kicks back.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Saw cuts OK, Laser is a useless

published

Only used the saw a few times when the laser went fuzzy, so I contacted Bosch and they said take it to a service centre listed in Victoria, NSW, Queensland, everywhere, almost, too bad I live in South Australia, I will never buy Bosch again.

don’t buy this drop saw

published

Like other users, the blade guard was hopeless; I had to reassemble it several times (it’s now utterly broken), and I keep having to reset the blade. I have had my Bosch drop saw for about 2 years. Having also just had a Bosch drill which was disappointing, I won’t be buying another Bosch product again.

Purchased in January 2017.


pissed off

pissed off

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst Bosch tool EVER!!!

published

Seriously save yourself the headache and buy anything else.
Mine had the saw guard jam on it the second day of use.....exceptionally poor design.
I love my other Bosch tools, so this one actually made me sad I had to return it because its practically useless.

Purchased in March 2019 for $430.00.


Davo

Davoport pirie

  • 5 reviews

very disappointed bad quality and performance

published

bought the saw and stand combo from mitre ten, got it out of the box and straight away inaccurate cuts, both indicators are a mile out. could not get a square cut anywhere, the slide compound will not work unless you take the upper support away from the cutting table, to the right the transport knob hits then the gearbox housing hits and to the left simply binds again. ridiculous from a supposed high quality manufacturer
the rear of the handle on mine gets extremely hot as well with a faint smell of overheated electrics when the motor is running
I usually buy Makita, should have done so again.......severely disappointed however the stand is good

Date PurchasedJan 2019

James

JamesAdelaide

  • 13 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Terrible quality

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Brendan Moylan

Brendan MoylanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Average quality for a good brand

published

Was pretty disappointed after less than 6 months, due to the guard not working properly and the angles being out when cutting. In the end, I modified the guard slide rail so it works without drama, but I always have to check with my set square to ensure straight cuts. The laser got covered in fresh sap from pine timber and now doesn't work cause it ruined the plastic cover... and it was always needing to be cleared anyway as it was in a terrible position and kept getting covered in sawdust. I don't know why but the part which hold the blade on know as the locking nut has worn and now has a wobble in the blade.
Also, it uses 5 watts of power plugged in doing nothing which is a joke.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

This is not the Bosch quality and value I am used to.

published

I bought this saw last 6 months ago and after a couple of hours use the blade started to wobble. At first I thought it was the blade so swapped that with a new one with no luck. It then went back to be repaired under guarantee which only lasted 5 minutes. It then went back again to have a whole lot of new parts replaced, such as gears etc.This lasted a few hours work before the blade started to loosen off again. Mitre10 then replaced the saw with a new one out of the box. This saw is now also having problems cutting roughly and then the blade comes loose. I have had a lot of Bosch products over the years and never had a problem. I am now returning it for a refund and will buy something else.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Mark U

Mark UMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is the worst drop saw I’ve ever used

published

Major guard malfunctioning / design issues. I sent the saw back to rectify the issue and the fix only lasted less than a week. The guard mechanism design on the saw just does not work. And after a small amount of use becomes extremely dangerous, due to the need to force the saw down to engage the guard.
I didn’t bother sending it back again for repair as the design problem lies in the flimsy metal bracket that engages the guard. Simply replacing this part with the same only leads to failure.

Date PurchasedMar 2014

Works like a dream

published

I can't relate to some of the negative feedback whilst some appear to be comparing this tool to professional tools at double the price
I bought mine to build my deck and basic work around the house. Hasn't missed a beat to date 6 months in
Moral to the story don't buy a $400 tool & expect the precision of a $1000 tool, this is after all a DIY product if you want bells and whistles buy Bosch blue

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

JJ41

JJ41Southwest, VIC

  • 40 reviews

OK for rough structural timber but not for precision work

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
JJ41
JJ41

Manolito

ManolitoAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well!

published

I have not experienced all the problems mentioned in the reviews. Four projects I have finished now and it is still running like a dream. The pcm 1800 sd I bought in August 2016 for the price of AUD 399.00 included with stand at Mitre10. I am a satisfied user.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

I rate my PCM 1800SD

published
Jack J

Jack JDeer Park

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Bosch shows us a good example of ineptitude that could produce injury in my opinion!

published

I returned my PCM 1800 SD to Bunnings warehouse today after the blade kept loosening creating a disaster about to happen. When I first purchased this it came with the Bosch PTA 1 work stand and unfortunately Makita would not work with so I was stuck with another PCM 1800 SD which is still unopened in my garage as I am trying to find a Dewalt that I can trade for.... Bunnings would only allow a store credit and had no Dewalts with similar specs. I will never purchase another Bosch product again and I will never recommend a Bosch made product- I have a Dewalt 12" slider at my home back in the states which makes this Bosch PCM 1800 SD look like a piece of junk.
JM

Sloppy adjustment

published

Straight out of box to begin 90 degree cuts and basically stopped. Using it as adjustment was a tedious process. The turret is just sloppy when locking angle. Eventually tightened the turret spindle nut which helped a bit. Realigned the backstop which also helped. Basically have to check with set square each time I set up. A complete waste. Simple parts should not be designed to be crap cos there cheap. Never buying green Bosch again.


Waz

WazAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a good product.

published

I tend to concur with all the prior reviews condemning this product. I purchased this saw 15/07/2015 before I looked at the reviews in question and that was a mistake. The laser light lasted about 3 minutes after removing it from the box and using it. The accuracy of the degree scale is not the best, requiring much experimentation to get accurate cuts. I purchased this saw at Bunnings warehouse and hope I hope to return it ASAP.


Not Happy Northlander

published

Laser light has stopped working within a few hours or cuts, getting ready to take back to Mitre 10 and note the slides have gone rusty inside the housing, saw has never been out side, always been in the shed, like Bosch brand but this is a let down. Now I have to waste time to get the issues sorted


Auckland Kiwi

Auckland KiwiAuckland

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

This is a big disappointment

published

Marius

MariusWestern Australia

Disappointing....

published

First thing I checked when I got home, were the mitre and bevel angles: Bevel angles were fine at -45, 0 and 45deg. The mitre table angles were fine at 45deg left, and zero degrees, but was off by about 1.5deg. at 45 degrees right. Laser came conveniently pre-broken from the factory.

At least I can say I owned one for about two hours, and that was long enough- it took it straight back and exchanged for a Makita LS1018L, which was spot-on straight out of the box and has a lot more of a quality "feel" about it.

I've been using Bosch power tools for over 25 years without hassles, so this one was pretty disappointing.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

george

georgeasked

How can I adjust the blade to make sure it is cutting 90' when it is out of alignment?

No answers

Karl and Lore Zarnowski

Karl and Lore Zarnowskiasked

We can not lift the saw upwards tried everything. Help Karl

1 answer
Greg
Greg

There is a 'transport safety lock's #34 in my user guide. You need to slightly depress the main handle to take the load off the locking pin then pull the pin to the right. If it will not move or is very tight you may be pressing too hard on the main handle.
The transport safety pin rotates into an off position so it doesn't automatically re-engage when you make a cut.


Shayne R.

Shayne R.asked

How can I adjust the position of the laser light?

1 answer
Bosch Power Tools
HayleyBosch Power Tools

Hi Shayne,

The laser light is adjusted when you adjust the tool itself. When you change the bevel or mitre angle, the laser is positioned correctly so that you know exactly where the blade will go.

Otherwise, if you're talking about the position of the laser unit, this is fixed in place.

Hope this answers your question. Otherwise let me know and I can try to assist further.

Cheers, Hayley.


Get an answer from our members and Bosch Power Tools representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.