26 photos
Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers

Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers

SMS50E32AU (White), SMS46GI01A (Silver Inox), SMS46GW01A (White), etc...
3.8 from 183 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Bosch Home Appliances

Pros

  • Internal layout is convenient as it fits most dishes

  • Quiet

  • Cleans dishes well

  • 4-star energy and water rating

Cons

  • May not dry dishes effectively

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (66)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (66)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (66)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (66)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (66)
  • Internal Layout
    4.1 (56)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Mollybot
Mollybot
  • 2 reviews

Stinks of Bitumen

published

We've had it one day. The smell of toxic road tar is overwhelming. I've used two different dishwasher cleaning products on it, and its had a total of five cycles run. The smell is still disgusting and overwhelming. We did one load of dishes, twice. They absolutely stink. Its going back today.

Sounds odd - but make sure you *smell* the unit before you install it. If it smells like road tar, send it back.

Edited to add: The Good Guys refunded us and we brought an LG instead.

Purchased in July 2021 at The Good Guys for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Serge
SergeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Horrible, cost more in service callouts than the dishwasher

published

Like a few others, constant faults. Error 25 and pump issues, door sensor, drainage, etc. Machine is under 3 years old. And after warranty runs out Bosch support basically tells you to go away, you no longer exist to them. Horrible experience and last Bosch product we will buy!

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Serge
Serge
Rick
RickBusselton WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well but I have reservations.

published

Works well, but:
Times jump from 30 mins to 2 hours 15 mins. Nothing in between.
The 2 hrs 15 mins does not dry.
So I am not gushing with praise. Look around is my advice.

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trishy
Trishy
  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble!

published

The worse dishwasher ever. I have had the water pump replaced twice. I rinse my dishes before I use my dishwasher. Constant error 25 on a dishwasher that is only 3 years old. Terrible!

Purchased in April 2018 for $890.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Lasted 2 years and 3 months then died

published

Worked well for two years then error messages began. Was repaired after two repair visits and three weeks, worked for several weeks then flooded kitchen and, when dried out, was completely dead. Have now waited over 6 weeks for the second repair (by a different tradie). Repair person has been back twice, third time booked he didn’t show up. Still no word on if or when Bosch will help resolve this issue, to myself or to the repairer. I bought this brand as several people I know have one and recommended Bosch. I won’t be one of those who do.

Purchased in September 2018 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
malcolm
malcolmGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

better basket blueprint

published

Purchased in June 2021 for $813.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Good quality product

published

Our dishwasher is 3yrs old now and in use every day. It performs consistently well and we're very happy with the quality of wash. Good range of settings. Very quiet too.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
justin w.
justin w.Far West, NSW

2 down in 5 years…

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Emcee
EmceePerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Had a horrible smell - discovered black mould

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2021 for $898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gracie
Gracie
  • 3 reviews

Now that I moved to a place with a different dishwasher, I appreciate it so much more

published

Bought this a little over a year ago and found it to be pretty great. Each program is actually unique and Extra Dry actually work!
I moved into a place with a built in and its just not as good.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
KrisY
KrisYGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Amazingly quiet. Superb clean!

published

Installed yesterday & did my first wash with 4 large pots & 1 greasy frying pans, wine glasses, plates,bowls, greasy ladles etc. Great result! Glasses were streak-free. Pots & pans came up perfectly. Absolutely quiet so can run at night if we wish. No doubt, the pot was 2.45hrs, which is a bit long so will try half wash or eco from now on. So happy with this dishwasher.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
aiver23
aiver23
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Wash like a Bosch!

published

Best dishwasher. It's quiet, good value for money, cleans super dirty dishes like new (no pre-rinse needed)! The internal rack layout is perfect and sturdy - and everything fits nicely inside.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
MNJ
MNJWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

My mistake!

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Althom
AlthomPerth, WA
  • 89 reviews
  • 154 likes

Not as good as our old Westinghouse

published

Doesn't get dishes clean on normal wash, has no place to keep plastics from flipping over, doesn't have an alarm to let you know it's finished.
Cost twice as much as our old Westinghouse and it's nowhere near as good.
Posted a review on the Bosch website. Got contacted by a Bosch representative who couldn't have possibly been less helpful.
Made suggestions on programming which this machine cannot do.

Purchased in September 2020 at Perth Dishwashers for $1,059.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Althom
Althom

Already done that and that's the source of the completely useless "assistance" I got. Telling me to run the dishwasher on programmes that don't even exist on this model??
Maybe you need to train your people a bit better?

Rick
RickSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great machine, dishes sparkling and the place settings fit dishes perfectly.

published

I’ve had the dishwasher for over a month and it’s a great machine so far. The best thing for me is that it fits all the different dishes perfectly. Such as breakfast bowls and long stem wine glasses. It’s also easy to use, with a simple button layout.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Freestanding Dishwashers

Find out how Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers compares to other Freestanding Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Kamyar E.
Kamyar E.asked
Serie 4 Dishwashers

Is cold rinse (pre rinse) available on sms46n105e bosch dishwashers ? If not , is it possible use 40 degrees of centigrade (glass) program without cleaning tablets instead ?

1 answer
malcolm
malcolm

sorry Kamyar, i do not know the answer to your question. best to direct it to a Bosch appliance customer service team. cheers M

Leon
Leonasked
Serie 4 SMS46GI01A (Silver Inox)

Hi, We purchased SMS46G102A two years ago. For the three option buttons (Speed Perfect, Half Load, Extra Dry), only the button for Extra Dry can be pressed and held on, the other two could never function. Are these two functions not supposed to work for this model? Leon

No answers
Bruce S
Bruce Sasked
Serie 4 Dishwashers

what is the difference between SMS46GI02A and SMS46GI01A dish washer

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Bruce,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch Dishwasher.
Please see link below as you are able to compare both appliances on our website.
https://www.bosch-home.com.au/products/page_rep_product_compare
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia

See all Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers

Details

Features

Bosch’s Serie 4 dishwashers are designed for the average-sized family, they offer a speed wash setting to cut washing time by half while still providing sparkling clean results. The EcoSilence Drive feature also offers a quiet and convenient clean.

In addition, the dishwashers feature:

  • Adjustable top basket on three levels for additional space, especially for tall dishes
  • Anti-fingerprint coating makes fingerprints much more difficult to see and the surface stays clean longer.
  • 14 international place settings
  • 4 Star energy rating & a 4 Star WELS water rating
  • 13.4 litres water consumption per wash and 230kWh energy consumption per year, based on Eco 45°C program
  • Polinox inner tub is rust-free and made of robust materials that withstand dints, scratches and discolouration, based on 10-year simulation tests
  • Self-closing door when below a 20° angle
  • Front facing control display
  • Easy to remove worktop & toe kick panel
  • 6 programmes and 4 special options
  • Half load option to save energy, water & time.

Reviewers thought:

This is a very easy-to-use dishwasher that provides a deep clean depending on the setting you use. It is spacious and the adjustable racks are convenient for fitting long-stemmed wine glasses and other large cookware. Reviewers noted that sometimes, the dishes do not dry and there may be a ‘plastic’ smell after cleaning. The auto cycle is 3 hours long and the short cycle may not clean as effectively.

Compare all 7 Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers
CategoryFreestanding DishwashersFreestanding DishwashersFreestanding DishwashersFreestanding Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $1,299.00$1,149.00$1,349.00$999.00
FeaturesChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack, Self Cleaning and Time Remaining DisplayChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack, Self Cleaning and Time Remaining DisplayChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack, Self Cleaning and Time Remaining DisplayChild Lock, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack, Self Cleaning and Time Remaining Display
Number of Place Settings 14141414
Water Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Water Consumption13.4 L/wash13.4 L/wash13.4 L/wash13.5 L/wash
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Energy Consumption230 kWh per year230 kWh per year230 kWh per year268 kWh per year
Control Panel Position FrontFrontFrontFront
Maximum Noise Level46 db46 db46 db48 db
Number of Programs6665
Dimensions 845 x 600 x 600 mm845 x 600 x 600 mm845 x 600 x 600 mm845 x 600 x 600 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishSilver InoxWhiteSilver InoxWhite
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 7 Bosch Home Appliances Serie 4 Dishwashers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.