??!
7 photos
Bosch Serie 4 Vented Tumble Dryers

Bosch Serie 4 Vented Tumble Dryers

WTA74200AU, WTA74201AU
3.0 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Clothes Dryers Buying Guide

When you've just done the laundry, a warm sunny day is perfect. But what if it's raining for days? Your lovely clean clothes might stay wet for just as long. A reliable tumble dryer can give you clean, dry clothes - and fast. Whether you're interested in a heat pump, condenser or vented dryer, a washer dryer combo, or maybe no dryer at all, this guide has all the handy dryer tips and info.

Read now

Reviews

3.0

16 reviews
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Simone

SimoneSydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 3 likes

WTA74200AU

published

Purchased in August 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Broken after 5 years

published

We bought Bosch because of its reputation. We also bought this model because we we are a large family and 7kg was recommended.
$1000 !!! Now it is broken and repairs are as much as a new model.
Now I am stuck as I have the Bosch washing machine and need to stack a dryer on top.
Really mad that this has happened and the cost is so much!
Surely these items should last 10 or more years?

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
CathyOne

CathyOne

  • 4 reviews

Fabulous Dryer

published

I bought this dryer a week ago after much deliberation, because of the very mixed reviews on here. The price was great for a dryer of this quality. It seems extremely solid & well built. The dryer is fabulous & very quiet. The sensor drying is great, it seems to dry much quicker than my old dryer. You have to read the manual, this is not just a "turn the dial & it goes" type of dryer. So maybe that has something to do with the negative reviews.

I also didn't stack the dryer, as it is not recommended.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Bosch Serie 4 Vented Tumble Dryers compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cherry1

Cherry1AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this dryer

published

Great dryer..holds big loads..sometimes not the best when only a couple of items are in it, it tends to think they are dryer than what they really are and turns off. Other than that it has saved our life with 4 kids in the family and constant washing, we only do big loads now so not washing/drying as much!

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
The King

The KingGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

Must have on a budget dryer

published

Packed full of technology this vented dryer ticks all the boxes including price. New heat pump technology is still financially out of reach of most consumers, so if you need a dryer that is just as good (though not as economical as the heat pump 6 stars energy rating) then this machine has the goods. Reason it gets four stars is the issue with drying sheets, they get tangled up in a ball and need untangling twice minimum.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
terrencer7876

terrencer7876Tasmania

  • 2 reviews

A drier for those who want a special kind of drying each time...

published

This is a drier that does the drying as you want it dried but you need to take the time to put the information in to get the best out of this great function. Remember that you only get great when you take a little time. So if a good drier gives you a drying time and quality of dry clothing just as you order then this is the drier for you.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Bosch 7kg dryer Lemon

published

This dryer does not dry, only two weeks old has not completely dried anything I have put in it. I want my money back this is the most ridiculous pathetic excuse for a dryer I have spent a lot of money on and have received nothing in return, what is wrong with this product ?

Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Sally
Sally

I have contacted your help site and am waiting for an agent to call me and book a service call, your representative was rather condescending in questioning how I "qualify" damp, wet, etc. I would say "not dry ! "

AJ WHARE

AJ WHARESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does not dry clothes

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
GreenDaisies

GreenDaisiesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Average dryer

published

In a nutshell - clothes always take longer to dry. Sheets come out in one big tangle. The lint filter is easy enough to clean but heaps of lint falls below the filter. The area where the lint gets trapped is too deep to put my hand in. This is an annoying feature.

The most annoying feature of this dryer is the funnel for the air to blow out of. I prefer dryers that have this feature on the front of the machine. For one of the more expensive dryers on the market this is a cheap looking and annoying feature. I have to prop the funnel up otherwise the floor gets wet with condensation.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Bosch Serie 4 Vented Tumble Dryers compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great dryer.

published

Clothes come out soft and not burning hot. Dries in alot less time than my previous dryer. Once you get into the habit of telling the dryer what you want, rather than just pushing one button. Very different to use bit I love it. Once you get used to it it's great.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch lover

Bosch loverBrisbane

Adjust the default settings otherwise it does not dry properly!

published

I'm not sure why the Bosch officials aren't informing you of this in their generic response, but when this dryer is deliverer the default dryness setting is "0" , use the "fine adjust" and set it higher to make things drier. The setting will stay high until you adjust it down. I am going to give it a bit longer and hopefully things will improve but I'm not overly impressed yet! I have just run a load and it is slightly drier, but not fully! What is going on Bosch!

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Samar kalandos

Samar kalandosVictoria

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad for sheets ok for clothes

published

My sheets never dry probably, this dryer keep making them like ball and, I have to go every 10mintus to check it and fixing it, ok for clothes but take so long for 7kg ,something don't drying it probably, but they coming out clean and soft and no fluff, I just got it for about a 3weeks now and I'm not happy at all, I wish I never make this porches, my old one was Electrolux and at was fantastic,fast and energy saver,I wish I can have my money back, I well go back to the old one, plus...I don't recommend anyone to buy it plus it's so expensive comparing by the other brands.im very very sad

Date PurchasedSep 2016
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Samar kalandos
Samar kalandos

Thanks for your reply I well asap when I have time.

Sue

SuePerth, Western Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

BRAND NEW Absolute waste of money

published

I have never come across a dryer so useless, it is a 7kg machine on every setting it does not dry clothing, doesn't matter if you set it on extra dry still wont heat up, People NEVER BUY THIS DRYER, I wouldn't even buy another Bosch product, I have tried putting in one item No heat tried several items No heat, full load No heat.
I am disgusted

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
Sid

SidLos Gatos, CA

Very disappointed in my Bosch dryer

published

I purchased a Bosch Dryer 86402 in Sept '15 and would not recommend it! Because there is no vent to the outside, the whole room gets hot and the moisture in the machine keeps the clothes from drying faster. The sheets, when being dried, continue to quickly form into a ball, taking longer to dry and result in very wrinkled sheets. I am very disappointed in my dryer!!! And would not recommend it. I would like to return it!
Sidney M.

4 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
Sid
Sid
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
weng393

weng393

  • 17 reviews
  • 52 likes

Excellent and Reliable

published
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Bosch Serie 4 Vented Tumble Dryers compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GirlP

GirlPPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wonderful Machine

published

Purchased this dryer several weeks ago and although it's different to other dryers I have used (being a sensor dryer, depending on the setting, it automatically selects the drying time). I have found the time it takes to dry clothes is much shorter, it's quiet and overall I am very pleased with it's performance. I love the fact you can select the type of clothing in it and the dryer does the rest! It even has an alarm to tell you when the clothes are dry.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances

Questions & Answers

Rosemary

Rosemaryasked

Serie 4 Vented Tumble Dryers

I'm 69 and wanted to ask concerning the venting. If I have the external laundry open (1500cm from machine) is that enough. I've never owned a dryer so don't know anything about them. Thanks Rosemary

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Rosemary,
Thanks for the question regarding the Bosch dryer range.
You can find the installation instructions for appliances at https://www.bosch-home.com.au/ If you want to provide the specific model number you're looking at we can assist with more specifics. You can either post it here or feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

janem

janemasked

Serie 4 WTA74200AU

I just went to clean the lint filter and as I removed it 2 rectangles of fluff fell off the filter and into the gap in the machine. The picture on the door of the drying shows a hinged fluff filter that you open and brush off to clean. Mine has no hinge, it's just one piece and nothing to hold the fluff on as you pull it out. So now I have to try to fish out the fluff from the inside gap in the front of the machine. Worried this is a fire hazzard. What to do? Have I got the wrong filter in it?

No answers
Siam

Siamasked

Serie 4 WTA74200AU

I am having many problems with this dryer, not sure if faulty but will not dry a load in the last month, beeps that it's finished and the clothes are very wet, very frustrated. Any ideas?

3 answers
weng393
weng393

sounds like there's a problem with it. I assume you've cleared the lint filter. is it under warranty? If it's less than 2-3 years old then under Australian law you should be able to get it repaired by the manufacturer because expensive items should have a reasonable life. I hope you have the store receipt?

Sid
Sid

I think it takes longer because the moisture is not released through vents to the outside, which most other dryers have.

Bosch Home Appliances
BoschHomeAUBosch Home Appliances

Hi Siam,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch WTA74200AU Dryer.

We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact our After Sales Support team on 1300 369 744 during business hours.

Regards, BoschHomeAu

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.