??!

Reviews

3.2

54 reviews
5
(17)
4
(8)
3
(8)
2
(10)
1
(11)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (17)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (17)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (4) · No (10)
  • Caused Razor BurnYes (3) · No (11)
  • Battery Life
    4.1 (15)
  • Shave Closeness
    3.3 (16)
  • Wet Shave
    3.4 (13)
  • Dry Shave
    3.3 (15)
Previous
Next
Ian G.

Ian G.Hunter Region, NSW

Beware Watrproof Rating

published

Purchased the Series 9 brand new in 2017 and found it very good. Recently found issues with the "lock" activating for no reason. Diagnosed as a damaged circuit board due to moisture ingress. Estimate $200 to repair. Waterproof? Braun repair technician says "no".

Purchased in October 2017 at Shaver Shop for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers

$650 nz $ for a piece of junk. Have gone back to my $4 hand razor

published

I have tried to give this shaver a fair trial but after 2 months have thrown it into the drawer. It will not shave clean without applying some pressure and going over the skin several times. I think my old disc shaver will do the same job and only cost a fraction of the Braun 9 cost.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Graham

GrahamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Travel lock

published

After about 6 months the travel lock starts to switch on although it is meant to do that only if Start button is pressed for 3 seconds. Need to press start button for 10-15 seconds to get unit to restart. I have had this problem with 3 units thus far, each starting the same problem around the 6 months mark. Each unit replaced by Shaver Shop. Now the latest unit has started the same problem, again about 6 months from receiving the new unit. Great shaves. Shame Braun has not fixed the Travel lock problem.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Braun Series 9 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Landy73

Landy73Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing Quality

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Shaver Shop for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers

Bought for elderly father, disappointed with shave

published

Bought this shaver for my elderly father. There is no way to adjust power level. We feel it is inferior in this regard to the series 7 which my husband has. The 9 doesn't appear to be giving my dad an acceptable shave at all. We use all of the correct charging and cleaning procedures. We wish we had gone for the supposedly inferior series 7!

Purchased in July 2019 at Shaver Shop Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
PJ63

PJ63Perth

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

3rd failure in 3 years, same issue

published

First of all it does a great wet shave, excellent battery life between charges - but you would expect that. What is very disappointing is that I have have had 3 (yes 3) of these fail after about 12mn with the on/off safety switch cutting in whilst shaving. Shaver would work for 5 secs and turn off to the safety. 5 sec to hold the switch and it works again for a few seconds. This happens after about 12mn and on 3 units now, luckily all in warrenty period. Will return again and try a differing Brand - very dissapointing

Purchased in January 2019 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
gamer347

gamer347New South Wales

  • 3 reviews

Failed after 1 year.

published

Used shaver daily for over a year. It does an okay job. I have used much cheaper shavers and gotten the same results.

It is ok to travel with if you have the space due to its large size and weight and large charge brick. This can be a problem to plug into some outlets if there isn't enough space.

Unfortunately for me, mine failed after a year and no longer holds a charge. Dealing with the service/warranty side of things hasn't been that great either.

Purchased in September 2019 at Shaver Shop Online store for A$380.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Caused Razor BurnYes
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Ben

Ben

  • 4 reviews

Great shaver

published

Used to have a series 7 shaver which was good but found I had to go over spots with a manual razor. Series 9 shaver is great! Shaves just as good as a manual razor.

Purchased in December 2019 at eBay for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Wayne

WayneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

A big disappointment after my Braun 360

published

The new head design in the 9240S is the problem as the foil holes are smaller making it difficult for coarser hairs to enter and be cut, resulting much more movement required over the face at varying angles to obtain a close shave. This could lead to skin rashes if persisting for too long to get a close shave.
Also the head design is more difficult to clean as it is not as open and there are more places to trap the cut hairs. Doing a similar shave with the 360 much more hair dust is extracted compared with the 9240S when cleaning the shaving head.
Overall the series 9 9240S is a backward step compared with the older 360.

Purchased in May 2019 at Shaver Shop Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Braun Series 9 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony

AnthonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The head foils dont last

published

I have had my shaver now for 18 months. In this time, the foil & cutter head has been replaced 3 times. The cleaner is useless unless you manually clean first.

Purchased in February 2018 at Shaver Shop for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Caused Razor BurnYes
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
FrodoBaggins

FrodoBagginsHunter Region, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 24 likes

Temporary review

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Edith

EdithSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Easy quick perfect shave

published

Bought for my husband use to use s rotary shaver and will neber go back. This shaves so well he doesnt have to shave everyday much closer shave than his old one. Excellent highly recommend.

Purchased in August 2019 at Shaver Shop Physical store for A$519.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Piotr S.

Piotr S.AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

An amazing shaver. Best I ever had

published

Best shave - closes one i ever had. Very comfortable to hold and easy to clean. The only thing I would change is the material (plastic) which looks and feel bit cheap. But this is my personal thing and beside that this is a very easy to use, powerful shaver.

Purchased in July 2019 at TobyDeals.com for A$321.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Gary M.

Gary M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing shaver

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Shaver Shop Online store for A$449.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Aussiebloke34

Aussiebloke34Perth, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • 41 likes

Barely an upgrade from the Series 7 I have

published

Purchased in December 2016 at Shaver Shop for A$499.00.

Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Braun Series 9 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ChrisOz

ChrisOzSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 47 likes

Good, but not great and certainly cannot replace a razor

published

Purchased in December 2016 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Caused Razor BurnYes
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Marcel

MarcelGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Converted after one shave

published

Ok, a 2 day growth and my 9000 Series Philips struggling. I use Shaving Oil and thinking that perhaps its time to change the rotary blades after 2 years. Was advised it was $129 for replacement. Noticed in shaver shop that the shavers were 65% off the sale price? Quick math told me that instead of new blades, add another $100 and see what Braun can do this time. I have used Philips all my life, from Sensotouch 3D to 9160 3D etc etc. Would be 7 or 8 Philips over past 40 years.

I tried Braun about 10 or 12 years ago and returned it.
For my rough, grey hard hair, even after only 24hour growth the Philips would struggle.

Tried this Braun and after only one, 4 minute shave, Im impressed. Hopefully after another 2 or 3 weeks that I still am.

Purchased in March 2019 at Shaver Shop for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Simon

Simon

  • 2 reviews

Ineffective

published

The shaver misses so many hairs that I need to complete a shave with a disposable razor to complete the job. For a product that costs this much I would expect much better. I missed the window to return this as I kept trying to get a better shave out of it. My advice would be to try it out but if you have any doubts send it back straight away

Purchased in August 2018 at Shaver Shop Physical store for A$496.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Bruno

BrunoMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Braun simply the best

published

Great all rounder, now I know why they're more expensive. Great results & easier to clean.
Wouldn't have any other brand.
Also got a discount from City shop .

Same

SameSudney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

The best electric shaver Braun series 9

published

Hi the is the best electric shaver I ever used. First I bought Braun series 5 that was also good but than I bought this Braun series 9 and this is the best a nan can get. Since I bought it have used at To shave every 2bd or 3rd day. And the best thing since I bought it I only charged it once first day and after that I’m continuously using it. I mean the battery life is awesome. I’ll highly recommend this Braun series 9 electric shaver.

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

LENP

LENPasked

Series 9

WHY WON'T THE BLUE CLEANING LIGHT GO OUT AFTER I HAVE CLEANED THE BLADES,
THE LIGHT IS ON EVAN WITH THE BLADES NOT ATTACHED TO THE SHAVER. I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND THIS !!!
BRAUN SERIES 9

No answers
Myrna Smith

Myrna Smithasked

Series 9

I have a Braun S5 and I don't know how to turn the lock light off?

No answers
Karen E

Karen Easked

Series 9

we purchased a series 9 for my elderly father 6 months ago. we are unhappy with its performance. It seems to be operating at a low power level than necessary even though fully charged. My husband has a series 7 and feels it is more powerful. Any advice?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.