?
? !

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.3 (23)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (23)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (23)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (5) · No (15)
  • Caused Razor BurnYes (4) · No (16)
  • Shave Closeness
    2.8 (22)
  • Battery Life
    3.9 (21)
  • Wet Shave
    3.1 (17)
  • Dry Shave
    3.0 (21)
Previous
Next
cwc10

cwc10South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Bad Experience

published

Bad Experience
concur completely with other reviews . Upgraded from series 7 which was a far better product than this rubbish. Head foils last about 6 months and neither Braun or Shaver Shop want to know about it. Currently reverted to using razor . However will give Panasonic a go next purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Shaver Shop Physical store for $465.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
zak f.

zak f.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

can't cut properly and cuts you and pulls your hair

published
Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chopper

ChopperThe Mallee, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Overrated

published

New foil/blades are $75.00 to replace. Braun says change them every 18 months, mine wear out long before that. I wont buy another one. Plus the cost of replacing the cleaning cartridge every few months pack of 2 approx $21.00. Too expensive for a poor performing razor (900 series).

Purchased in August 2018 at Shaver Shop Online store for $600.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Braun Series 9 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Unhappy

UnhappyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst!!

published

Worst Customer Service from Braun
Design fault error with the Series 9 cutters.
I have replaced the cutters 4 times in <3 years. Cutters are estimated to last 18months. Mine have only lasted 4-6months.
Braun not willing to replace free if charge, nor are the cutters covered under warranty.

Purchased in August 2017.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony Mx

Tony MxMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

OK for a while until...

published

Fanatstic close shave for a few months- then no better than my old rotary. But that's OK, But what isn't OK is, like others here, the circuit board was faulty, and it would switch off after a few seconds. I opened it up (thanks Youtube for the how-to) and there was no water near the circuit board, just a manufacturing fault. It broke down two weeks after expiry of the guarantee. I can't find anywhere that sells the circuit board, so, now in the rubbish.

Purchased in September 2019.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible shaver and 90 days money back takes 500 days

published

Stay away from this shaver and braun.. shaver does not shave well at all.. it is ok for someone who has baby beard

I have sent the shaver for a refund and it has been more than 2 months now — still no cheque has been sent by Braun

Terrible company

Not acceptable, stay away and use G. Skin guard razor instead- you will thank me

Purchased in May 2020 at Shaver Shop for $369.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian G.

Ian G.Hunter Region, NSW

Beware Watrproof Rating

published

Purchased the Series 9 brand new in 2017 and found it very good. Recently found issues with the "lock" activating for no reason. Diagnosed as a damaged circuit board due to moisture ingress. Estimate $200 to repair. Waterproof? Braun repair technician says "no".

Purchased in October 2017 at Shaver Shop for $450.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

$650 nz $ for a piece of junk. Have gone back to my $4 hand razor

published

I have tried to give this shaver a fair trial but after 2 months have thrown it into the drawer. It will not shave clean without applying some pressure and going over the skin several times. I think my old disc shaver will do the same job and only cost a fraction of the Braun 9 cost.

Purchased in April 2020 for $650.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Graham

GrahamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Travel lock

published

After about 6 months the travel lock starts to switch on although it is meant to do that only if Start button is pressed for 3 seconds. Need to press start button for 10-15 seconds to get unit to restart. I have had this problem with 3 units thus far, each starting the same problem around the 6 months mark. Each unit replaced by Shaver Shop. Now the latest unit has started the same problem, again about 6 months from receiving the new unit. Great shaves. Shame Braun has not fixed the Travel lock problem.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Braun Series 9 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Landy73

Landy73Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing Quality

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Shaver Shop for $500.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bought for elderly father, disappointed with shave

published

Bought this shaver for my elderly father. There is no way to adjust power level. We feel it is inferior in this regard to the series 7 which my husband has. The 9 doesn't appear to be giving my dad an acceptable shave at all. We use all of the correct charging and cleaning procedures. We wish we had gone for the supposedly inferior series 7!

Purchased in July 2019 at Shaver Shop Physical store.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
PJ63

PJ63Perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

3rd failure in 3 years, same issue

published

First of all it does a great wet shave, excellent battery life between charges - but you would expect that. What is very disappointing is that I have have had 3 (yes 3) of these fail after about 12mn with the on/off safety switch cutting in whilst shaving. Shaver would work for 5 secs and turn off to the safety. 5 sec to hold the switch and it works again for a few seconds. This happens after about 12mn and on 3 units now, luckily all in warrenty period. Will return again and try a differing Brand - very dissapointing

Purchased in January 2019 for $499.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
gamer347

gamer347New South Wales

  • 3 reviews

Failed after 1 year.

published

Used shaver daily for over a year. It does an okay job. I have used much cheaper shavers and gotten the same results.

It is ok to travel with if you have the space due to its large size and weight and large charge brick. This can be a problem to plug into some outlets if there isn't enough space.

Unfortunately for me, mine failed after a year and no longer holds a charge. Dealing with the service/warranty side of things hasn't been that great either.

Purchased in September 2019 at Shaver Shop Online store for $380.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben

Ben

  • 4 reviews

Great shaver

published

Used to have a series 7 shaver which was good but found I had to go over spots with a manual razor. Series 9 shaver is great! Shaves just as good as a manual razor.

Purchased in December 2019 at eBay for $249.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Wayne

WayneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

A big disappointment after my Braun 360

published

The new head design in the 9240S is the problem as the foil holes are smaller making it difficult for coarser hairs to enter and be cut, resulting much more movement required over the face at varying angles to obtain a close shave. This could lead to skin rashes if persisting for too long to get a close shave.
Also the head design is more difficult to clean as it is not as open and there are more places to trap the cut hairs. Doing a similar shave with the 360 much more hair dust is extracted compared with the 9240S when cleaning the shaving head.
Overall the series 9 9240S is a backward step compared with the older 360.

Purchased in May 2019 at Shaver Shop Physical store.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Braun Series 9 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony

AnthonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

The head foils dont last

published

I have had my shaver now for 18 months. In this time, the foil & cutter head has been replaced 3 times. The cleaner is useless unless you manually clean first.

Purchased in February 2018 at Shaver Shop for $500.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
FrodoBaggins

FrodoBagginsHunter Region, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 26 likes

Temporary review

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Edith

EdithSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Easy quick perfect shave

published

Bought for my husband use to use s rotary shaver and will neber go back. This shaves so well he doesnt have to shave everyday much closer shave than his old one. Excellent highly recommend.

Purchased in August 2019 at Shaver Shop Physical store for $519.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Piotr S.

Piotr S.AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

An amazing shaver. Best I ever had

published

Best shave - closes one i ever had. Very comfortable to hold and easy to clean. The only thing I would change is the material (plastic) which looks and feel bit cheap. But this is my personal thing and beside that this is a very easy to use, powerful shaver.

Purchased in July 2019 at TobyDeals.com for $321.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gary M.

Gary M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing shaver

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Shaver Shop Online store for $449.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

arnoldc

arnoldcasked

Series 9

I have a Series 9 on a charging pedestal. I have retuned 2 shavers due to water and battery leakage through the shaver. The last leak resulted in a charging pin snapping due to corrosion. My replacement appears to be headed the same way after 3 months usage - I am getting seepage from the bottom of the shaver. Is this a known problem?

No answers
William R.

William R.asked

Series 9

Trimmer not working any ideas?

No answers
Brian K.

Brian K.asked

Series 9

I have a Braun 9000 and it does a perfect shave. The problem is that the whiskers come out of the shaver and land on my shirt. I now have to shave over the sink which defeats the purpose. Does anybody else have this problem?

1 answer
Darren O
Darren O

Yes exactly the same. Very frustrating. I came to this site for the exact same reason to see if it was just a fault with mine

See all Braun Series 9 questions

Get an answer from our members

Braun Series 9

Details

Compare all 5 Braun Series 9
CategoryMen's Electric ShaversMen's Electric ShaversMen's Electric ShaversMen's Electric Shavers
Price (RRP)$599$649$699
Compare all 5 Braun Series 9

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.