??!
5 photos
Breville Crystal Clear

Breville Crystal Clear

BKE595, BKE750, BKE480, BKE290
2.8 from 107 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (21)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (21)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jorgejio

Jorgejio

  • 25 reviews
  • 18 likes

Embarrassingly short-lived switches & clips

published

While it worked, it was great. Design was good, pouring was good, OH&S considerations good. But it only lasted three years. First the lid-opening switch failed. So we filled it with a tiny watering can for a few months. Then the on/off switch failed. Purchase date 26 January 2018. Failure date 31 January 2021.
A family member had a Breville that they inherited - only replaced when the plastic jug itself began to crack; it must have lasted 30 years. A major drop in quality, Mr Breville!!

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for $119.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Serena

SerenaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

So Disappointing

published

Such a disappointment on our previous Breville glass kettle! The quality drop is quite amazing. No more german Schott glass, the glass above the waterline and the "see through" lid has permanent condensation after one boil, the filter is not worth having, cannot believe Breville were too cheap to put a mesh filter on it. There is no safe touch point on the lid anymore either and with just two days of use the kettle is already discolouring inside. It took a year for my last kettle to do that. Breville clearly need to bring manufacturing back to Australia to ensure better quality.

Purchased in December 2020 at Myer for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
eric g.

eric g.

  • 5 reviews

Unacceptable.

published

Pretty unbelievable that a premium priced product, in such a well-understood category, performs SO poorly. The first thing we noticed was that the switch to start the kettle was really fussy and difficult to press in. The deal-breaker, though, has been the ever-present pool of water on our kitchen counter under and around the entire base of the unit. Fortunately it's a stone benchtop.
Leaking is just unacceptable. Really can't believe they let this product go to market.
Today we replaced with a Sunbeam unit, and will not be purchasing another Breville product.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville Crystal Clear compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Derek J

Derek JGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Faulty Product - no not buy

published

Product leaks from day 1! The large number of poor reviews should already persuade you to shop for anything else but this! The nice lady at Customer Service told me 'we sell more non-leaky kettles than leaky ones so...', but given the amount of reviews left with the same issue - for a $140 kettle - I wouldn't bother with taking the risk, or anything else from Breville from now on.

Purchased in August 2019 for $140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Toni

Toni

  • 2 reviews

Safety risk

published

Boiling water is fine, the problem, as other reviewers have mentioned, the lid intermittently pops open of its own accord and the kettle continues to boil until you manually turn it off or it boils dry. I have walked into the kitchen to find the upper cabinetry literally dripping with condensed steam (ie water). Not good. Then the lid started opening (flicking hot water onto your hand) when we picked the boiled kettle up off the base. I agree with other reviewers, this kettle should have a recall on it.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
EJ1965

EJ1965Southern and Hills, SA

  • 2 reviews

Buy this if you like looking at condensation

published

Residue of condensation around all of the glass including the lid after kettle boils. It looks ugly and cheap, defeats the purpose of having a clear glass jug. Jug is a replacement for Sunbeam clear stainless steel jug no problems with condensation ever!

Purchased in July 2020 at Betta Home Living for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ali S

Ali SGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Disappointing

published

The kettle keeps boiling for long before turning off. Surprisingly the lid jammed after short use right after warranty. Used to trust this brand more. Not worth $70+ at all

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for $75.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
C.Liu

C.LiuSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Internal water leak after 5 months of use.

published

Leaks from internally after only 5 months of usage. NOT HAPPY! Even the 10 dollars kettle from kart last much longer than this Kettle. We bought a sunbeam one as replacement and it is much better!

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2019 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Teles

TelesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent! Clean, quiet and reliable.

published

I read the reviews here and kept seeing warnings about leaks. My kettle is perfect. No leaks, no discolouration, no plastic taste. Its fast and safe, although the glass does get very hot.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville Crystal Clear compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dypsis

DypsisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Beware: It Leaks

published

I bought the Breville The Crystal Clear BKE750CLR Electric Kettle recently, but unfortunately the next morning, we noticed a lot of water on the kitchen bench and in and around the electric base. It leaks from between the plastic bottom of the kettle and the stainless steel outer surround. We took it back, and were informed that they have had quite a few returns. In my opinion, it should be withdrawn from sale. It's hazardous, and there are a number of other people with the same problem. I bought a cheaper glass one for less than half the price.

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Luna

LunaSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not buy this product

published

I bought this three years ago. It lasted 8 months then when I went to try open it it wouldn't open. I got a replacement however. The new one was working fine for about 1.5 years and now it has the same problem. It only has a 12 month warranty and now I have to buy a new one. One of the plastic hinges of the lid is now broken thus it does not pop open when the water is boiled anymore and I am unable to open it unless I flip the kettle backwards. It has two springs on two hinges (right underneath the lid) and one of the hinges has now broken I can see it is made of plastic and it's very delicate no wonder it has broke after 1.5 years.

Unless you want to change kettles every 1 to 2 years don't buy this one.

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Bruce J

Bruce JSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice kettle.....But Leaks

published

Nice looking kettle with good ergonomics. Also like the extra capacity and is fairly quiet compared to some others I have used. Boils water quite fast as well.

But... after 4 weeks of use it has started leaking around the base. Going by the number of reviews with the same problem it is a design flaw. Avoid.

Purchased in December 2019 at David Jones Online Store for $89.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
WhingeForChange

WhingeForChangeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Classy Looking Kettle

published

We have been using Breville kettles for years, the one before this had problems with boiling dry just after 1 year of use, when we contacted Breville, they sent us one of these and it has worked perfect for over a year, easy to clean off scale with 1 cup of white vinegar and 1 cup of water, let it sit for an hour then boil it, tip it out and wipe the bottom with a cloth and its like new again

Purchased at Breville.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Emmie

EmmieHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well BUT after 3 weeks leaks from the base making a mess and maybe dangerous.

published

Works well BUT after 3 weeks leaks from the base making a mess and maybe dangerous. This kettle actually replaced a ten month old Breville bke595clr when the lid kept popping up , I am disappointed. I am waiting to hear back from Breville but now have lost trust and feel confused when old previous kettles lasted for years.
Photo shows water on paper towel from leak.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

A leaker.... definitely a flawed product!

published

Like other reviewers, we liked the style of this kettle. Also liked its extra capacity and quiet operation. But the appearance of water around the base necessitating frequent wiping before use means we won’t be keeping it for long. This is the second one we have tried and proves the fault was not a one off.

Purchased in August 2019.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville Crystal Clear compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew A.

Andrew A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Looking Kettle but Leaks

published

A very good looking design. Like the clear glass, ergonomic handle. Very fast and surprisingly quieter than similar glass kettles. But found puddles of water on the base within a couple of days of use. Water trickled out of the bottom of kettle before it came out of the spout.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ken B

Ken BSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a good product

published

Good early on but built up scum, impossible to de-scale. Now (2 yrs in) throwing bits off its element so have stopped using it. Would not recommend. Short life span?

Purchased in July 2017 at Breville Shop.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
april.r.chisholm

april.r.chisholmHunter Region, NSW

Disappointed for such an expensive kettle

published

We had a Breville kettle for 10 years and thinking this is a great reliable brand, decided to replace it with this newer style. Within a week, water began to leak from the bottom so when you lifted the kettle up there would be a pool of water around the base and on the bench. The water caused the base to short so the lights on the buttons on the base were going on and off. Very disappointed considering the price we paid for it.

Purchased in August 2019 at David Jones for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mark Nickolavic

Mark NickolavicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The one we bought leaks

published

Within a few days of buying this kettle there was a pool of water around the base. It seems that it leaks when it’s cooling down. Each time we use it we have to wipe up the water before using it again

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Nice looking leaker

published

Purchased one week ago and kept finding water on the base when picking up the kettle to use but couldn’t work out why. Turns out it leaks from the bottom as the water cools and water is caught between the glass and plastic on the bottom of the kettle, and between the plastic and metal on the base plate. Straight back to the store for a refund no questions asked and replaced it with a new version of our old Breville kettle which worked perfectly for 8 years. Really liked the glass but wonder if there is a design flaw with mixing glass, plastic, metal and heat.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Graeme Blanch

Graeme Blanchasked

Crystal Clear BKE595

Our kettle is over 2 years old but now the plastic hinge connection has a small fracture on one side, which means the button to raise the lid does not work. I’ve unsuccessfully tried a little superglue on the fracture site.
Should I claim under warranty even though the initial 12 months has long gone?

1 answer
Derek J
Derek J

Give breville a call. They offered me a replacement kettle which was fantastic. Good service

Lloyd

Lloyd asked

Crystal Clear

What can be done to adjust the pop up lid so it stays closed until switch off mine needs a weight on it otherwise its always open and hence wont switch off.
Lloyd Kelmscott WA

No answers
Victor C.

Victor C.asked

Crystal Clear BKE595

The kettle worked perfectly well for two years. Now it does not start. Checked electric connections. No problem in them. Coil is ok. It looks like the auto shut off switch is jammed. Is it possible to fix it?

1 answer
C.Liu
C.Liu

Hi Victor. Sorry can't really help you with this one. But i think you should just replace this kettle anyway just for your peace of mind. All the best!

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Breville Crystal Clear
CategoryElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $129.95$99.95
Capacity1.7 L1.7 L1.7 L
Features360° Swivel Base, BPA Free and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base, BPA Free and Water Gauge
Variable Temperatures NoNoNoNo
Construction MaterialGlass and Stainless SteelGlass and Stainless SteelGlass and Stainless SteelGlass and Stainless Steel
Colour / FinishGlass vessel, Brushed Stainless Steel Power BaseBlack, RedClear Glass
Power2,400 W2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019
Discontinuation dateAug 2019
Replaced byBreville the Crystal Clear BKE750
Compare all 4 Breville Crystal Clear

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.