??!
5 photos
Breville Crystal Clear

Breville Crystal Clear

BKE595, BKE480, BKE750, BKE290
2.9 from 95 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
25
4 star
13
3 star
10
2 star
23
1 star
24

Emmie

EmmieHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well BUT after 3 weeks leaks from the base making a mess and maybe dangerous.

published

Works well BUT after 3 weeks leaks from the base making a mess and maybe dangerous. This kettle actually replaced a ten month old Breville bke595clr when the lid kept popping up , I am disappointed. I am waiting to hear back from Breville but now have lost trust and feel confused when old previous kettles lasted for years.
Photo shows water on paper towel from leak.

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

A leaker.... definitely a flawed product!

published

Like other reviewers, we liked the style of this kettle. Also liked its extra capacity and quiet operation. But the appearance of water around the base necessitating frequent wiping before use means we won’t be keeping it for long. This is the second one we have tried and proves the fault was not a one off.

Purchased in August 2019.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Andrew A.

Andrew A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good Looking Kettle but Leaks

published

A very good looking design. Like the clear glass, ergonomic handle. Very fast and surprisingly quieter than similar glass kettles. But found puddles of water on the base within a couple of days of use. Water trickled out of the bottom of kettle before it came out of the spout.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Ken B

Ken BSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a good product

published

Good early on but built up scum, impossible to de-scale. Now (2 yrs in) throwing bits off its element so have stopped using it. Would not recommend. Short life span?

Purchased in July 2017 at Breville Shop.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

april.r.chisholm

april.r.chisholmHunter Region, NSW

Disappointed for such an expensive kettle

published

We had a Breville kettle for 10 years and thinking this is a great reliable brand, decided to replace it with this newer style. Within a week, water began to leak from the bottom so when you lifted the kettle up there would be a pool of water around the base and on the bench. The water caused the base to short so the lights on the buttons on the base were going on and off. Very disappointed considering the price we paid for it.

Purchased in August 2019 at David Jones for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Mark Nickolavic

Mark NickolavicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The one we bought leaks

published

Within a few days of buying this kettle there was a pool of water around the base. It seems that it leaks when it’s cooling down. Each time we use it we have to wipe up the water before using it again

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

WhingeForChange

WhingeForChangeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Dangerous

published

UPDATE... Breville sent us a new kettle, onya Breville!
Sometimes lid pops up when boiling and keeps boiling, sometimes lid pops up when pouring flicking boiling water on you, tried to contact Breville Australia and finish putting the info in the fields only to be told at the end you must be logged in? gives you an email option for Breville USA no email address for Australia?

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

Nice looking leaker

published

Purchased one week ago and kept finding water on the base when picking up the kettle to use but couldn’t work out why. Turns out it leaks from the bottom as the water cools and water is caught between the glass and plastic on the bottom of the kettle, and between the plastic and metal on the base plate. Straight back to the store for a refund no questions asked and replaced it with a new version of our old Breville kettle which worked perfectly for 8 years. Really liked the glass but wonder if there is a design flaw with mixing glass, plastic, metal and heat.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
genXreviewer

genXreviewerSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews

5 years & still going strong

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Myer Retail Stores for $88.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

Fantastic

published

Purchased over two yrs. Has done really well. water tastes great but we use filtered water anyway,
Has survived being over flooded by filling and walking away.
has stayed nice and shiny and colour still as is new,

however sadly the lid finally sold the farm and started popping open. and now it has cracked on the plastic part near the lid. So buying another one today

Purchased in April 2017 at Better Braces for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

Jim W.

Jim W.Hobart, TAS

Lid opens while kettle is boiling.

published

Like many others I too have had it boil dry because the lid will not stay closed when the water comes to a boil... we have had one situation where the kitchen was filled with steam because it boiled dry.. the lid release is of poor design and will fail, potentially scalding the user.

This is a very badly designed product and I find it hard to believe that this is still allowed to be sold, it should be part of a recall.

Purchased in August 2016 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

Jenny

JennySydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

So far so good. Quite impressed with the speed of the boiler.

published

The kettle heats up quite quick, about 1 min for level 1.7L of water. Quite exxy, bought it for $60. Hopefully this last for 2 years+. Also the boiler isn't too quiet, and can be a bit loud for some people also a bit heavy to carry, it's not very lightweight.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Bec

BecPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Very disappointed

published

Not happy at all and have bought a few breville kettles over the years and never had this problem. Bought it late last year and it rusted at the bottom in a week plus get bits floating in water. Contacted House where I bought it online and they took awhile to get back to me with an answer from Breville to descal it. Ru kidding me!!! In a week after I got it. What an absolute joke! Have cleaned it and you can not get rid of rust plus still get bits floating in water and surely it's not good to drink. Not happy at all!!

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Jacob

JacobGold coast

  • 5 reviews

Works Well

published

Owned for Six months , Started to get a build up on the element and become noisy
I read the instructions and purchased the Breville Kettle cleaner which brought the
Kettle back to perfect working condition. Very happy with the Kettlles appearance and ease of cleaning
and speed of boil.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
UsandMe

UsandMeToowoomba

  • 5 reviews

Design Flaw

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Frank&Estelle

Frank&EstelleHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of junk

published

Lid opens upon boiling and sometimes wont stop boiling.
The top of the kettle flexes causing the lid to pop open when lifting up
This in dangerous these should be recalled
I have always trusted Breville products until now, never again
I have contacted ACCC, product safety Australia
Their product testing and design is flawed.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Micha

MichaBrisbane

Condensation in the kettle

published

I bought my kettle from the Good Guys 2 days ago Sat 27/10/18 . Owned one before and loved it. However, the condensation in the new one has started right from the first boil & hasn't disappeared. Not a nice look for a brand new purchase. Any thoughts? Thank you.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Pierre

PierreNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best kettle ever.

published

Lasts and lasts all other kettles I have purchased leak or stop.
Easy to fill, can see water level, auto switch off.
Have had for many years and was happy with performance so bought another but has lasted so long haven't needed to use it. Great product May never as I am Seventy.

Date PurchasedAug 2012

goodgrief

goodgriefAU

  • 8 reviews

Best Kettle we have ever had!

published
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Faulty spout?

published

We've had the kettle about 2 years and it works great but when it comes to pouring the water, it tends to leak down the sides of the kettle. Has been like that since the day we unpackaged it, but its more of a hazard now that we have kids using it too.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Wendy

Wendyasked

what kind of materials made of this Breville crystal kettle? the black material around inside and outside is it safe to use it?

1 answer
Ken B
Ken B

I believe so, however we have subsequently 'cleaned' it by boiling with a very concentrated solution (1:4) of carb soda and water. Boiled it vigorously for some time and the sediment lifted straight off. The water became quite blue. Left it to cool and cleaned it out three times with clear water.... good as new. However, almost needs doing again after a month. Sydney water?


Anna

Annaasked

How can I stop the condensation on the glass

No answers

Bas4

Bas4asked

I purchased a Breville BKE840 Kettle (glass) and it leaked through the base after only 3 days. Got a replacement and it leased also. Now on my 3rd one and it has started to leak also after 3 days. Is Breville going to change the design of the glass kettles to something that doesn’t leak? Because you have glass sitting on a metal element separated by a rubber grommet, it’s always going to leak. Different expansion contraction properties. It really is a very poor design and is damaging your brand reputation

1 answer
Eilis W.
Eilis W.

Yes agree. I have had the same problem. Bought one which leaked and replacement does the same. Safety issue needs to be rectified. Will go and ask for refund on 2nd one.


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.