1 photo
Breville the Fast Slow Cooker BPR650

Breville the Fast Slow Cooker BPR650

MPNs: BPR650 and BPR650BSS
4.1 from 52 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Pros

  • 6 versatile cooking functions

  • Simple to operate and clean

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (13)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (12)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    3.0 (6)
  • Pressurising Speed
    3.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Ujkl
Ujkl
  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes

Versatile product

published

I’ve been using regularly and have not been disappointed. Great sautee feature, pressure cooking is good alternative to slow cooking as so much faster . I also use it boil rice, pasta, legumes. I use weekly in winter to make soups and have been happy with the result. I like that the lid comes off completely unlike the Tefal cook in one. Only downside is it takes a while to reach pressure to start actually cooking, approx 10 minutes so need to factor in this time.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
The Divine Miss L
The Divine Miss LQueensland
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great until it stops working

published

Was really happy with this, but after about a dozen times using it now it fails to pressurise about 75% of the time and I only find out at the end when no pressure releases and food isn’t cooked. Very frustrating when you need to get dinner on the table. I purchased an Instant Pot to replace it - it is so much easier to use than the Breville.

Purchased for $160.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Not happy
Not happy
  • 3 reviews
  • 37 likes

Best and worse device

published

First time using it very happy. Second time the seal didn’t work and I couldn’t use the pressure function, when I had people over to cook for. Disappointing, it is going back and am going to buy another product.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pressure Cookers

Find out how Breville the Fast Slow Cooker BPR650 compares to other Pressure Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard
RichardGreat Southern, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Kaboom. Doesn’t seal properly, and exploded once

published

Frequently had seal issues. Cleaned seal thoroughly and carefully fitted lid.

Frequently loses pressure through the seal. Had it cooking once when the seal exploded spewing boiling liquid all over the wall. Fortunately it blew out the back towards the splash back not forwards where we would have been scolded.

So we are buying a brand new cooker, of another brand.

Build Quality
Safety
Incentivised Review No
Lis k
Lis kSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Wouldn’t buy again

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Target Australia for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Liam
LiamPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good until it died - Dreaded E2 error

published

Purchased in December 2016 at The Good Guys for $135.20.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Megan
MeganKirrawee
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Does it all

published

The fast slow Pro has the convenience of being a slow cooker and a pressure cooker . It allows
You to sear saving time and also has a risotto feature which makes perfect risotto every time
It’s a kitchen appliance I could not live without - Meals always tasty and meat tender especially
Slow cooked lamb shoulder as
Pictured -
Perfect every time

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Anne
AnneIllawarra, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Useful

published

I have owned a FastSlow for 12 months. It is great. I cook a lot of soups and curries using a mix of pressure cooking and slow cooking meaning lots of flavour and keeps hot for eating at different times. Only difficulty is there is no temperature control on the sear feature.

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John J
John JGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Prefer an old-fashioned crockpot

published

Food comes out much more tastier using the slow cooker feature than the pressure cooker feature. Beef spare ribs using the pressure cooker function came out very chewy with not much taste.

In hindsight I should have just bought an old fashioned crock pot with a glass lid.

Purchased in February 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pressure Cookers

Find out how Breville the Fast Slow Cooker BPR650 compares to other Pressure Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pop-up
Pop-upBrisbane
  • 40 reviews
  • 21 likes

The best slow cooker I have

published

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rebecca
RebeccaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Started out great

published

The first 4 times I used it I loved BUT then, the lid would not seal. Got a replacement but still had the same issue. Ended up returning it and getting a refund. Very disappointed

Purchased in May 2019 at Big W for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lorel
LorelWhitianga
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Pretty Good

published

Purchased in November 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
PhilB
PhilBNew South Wales
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

27mths old....after a great start....died...

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Briscoes Panmure Auckland for $197.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
PhilB
PhilB
DeanaH
DeanaHSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Does the job, but not perfect

published

It does the job, but isn't perfect.
The inner ring required replacing under recall, and it was easy enough to manage.
However, even with the new ring installed, the pressure cooker functionality is fiddly and can be quite difficult.
Cleaning the lid and ring is also a little difficult.
The slow cooker is easy to use however.
Recipe book is also helpful

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Rachell
Rachell
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

Excellent product. Highly recommend it and it is very convenient considering that you just leave and do other chores then few minutes you have a good food ready for the whole family. Enerhy saving and ot realky makes the food yummy and tender. We love having the slow cooker very convenient for us.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Pressure Cookers

Find out how Breville the Fast Slow Cooker BPR650 compares to other Pressure Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Vanessa L
Vanessa Lasked

My cooker has been working fine for a long time. This morning it's not detecting the lid. You can use the saute function with a lid on which you are not supposed to be able to do. Just beeps with all the other functions. It was fine yesterday when I pressure cooked. Any ideas on how to fix this?

No answers
Carmen G
Carmen Gasked

Why does this unit BPR650 completely power off?? Turned on to saute and it worked fine, switched to pressure cook, set unit, looked a couple minutes later and no power. No display at all. Unplugged, let it sit overnight and it was ok in the morning. Tried to use it again, same issue. Switched wall plugs and no power. This has only been used half a dozen times.

No answers
Christine C.
Christine C.asked

I can’t seem to close the lid with one hand anymore, when I do close it. Steam comes out of the side and eventually evaporates all the liquid. Seal has no damage and all other mechanisms are functional.

1 answer
Megan
Megan

Seal is blocked -
Pea and ham soup blocked mine cause of the split peas - soak the lid in boiled water and Sloosh it about - pour a kettle of boiled water thru it - but soak to soften whatever is blocking it - that’s IF THE SEAL IS WORKING PROPERLY
- try that and let me know ....

See all Breville the Fast Slow Cooker BPR650 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Features

  • Equipped with 6 functions, Breville the Fast Slow Cooker can saute, sear, slow cook, pressure cook, pressure steam, and keep warm.
  • A 6-litre capacity makes Breville’s the Fast Slow Cooker a suitable size for preparing meals for households of 4-5 people.
  • A brushed stainless steel construction provides a sturdy build quality.
  • The following accessories are included: a stainless steel steaming tray and trivet, a serving spoon, heat-resistant spatula, and measuring cup.

Points of Praise

  • Reviewers praised the effectiveness of the pressure cooker and slow cooker fairly equally, saying that both functions both worked really well to cook foods. They also liked the usefulness of having two reliable appliances in one.
  • The slow cooker in particular was praised for cooking tender meat, as well as rice.
  • Its ease of use and cleaning made this Breville multi-cooker an even more popular pick amongst reviewers.
CategorySlow Cookers and Pressure Cookers
Price (RRP) $199.95
TypeElectric
Capacity6L
Keep Warm SettingYes
Dimensions 337 x 288 x 335 mm
DisplayLCD
Power1,100 W
Outer Body Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Searing FunctionYes
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9312432024938
  • MPN: BPR650 and BPR650BSS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.