??!
4 photos
Breville Flavour Maker BSC560

Breville Flavour Maker BSC560

MPNs: 35904498 and BSC560
4.2 from 86 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
51
4 star
20
3 star
6
2 star
2
1 star
7

Loved my slow cooker at first

published

Worked great at first but it’s exactly the same as another review can be on 8 hours on high food still not cooked it’s a great size and fits perfectly into my kitchen drawer but disappointed it hasn’t lasted it still looks like new

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

NICJAMIE81

NICJAMIE81Sydney, NSW

Worked great at first but that was short lived

published

loved this when I first got it as no more browning in a separate pan then transferring it to the slow cooker. Noticed the coating on the insert started to bubble after a few uses but was still ok. In the 16 months I have had it I have only used it about 10-12 times and it is already broken. On the high setting it is not even cooking things properly after 6 hours, it will not get hot enough. Tried it one last time last night and after being on for 2 hours on high the contents was about the same temp as hot water from a tap. I had to fish out my old slowcooker from the garage and wash it up and transfer everything into that to cook dinner. Extremely disappointed with this product to not even last longer than 1.5 years.

Purchased in January 2018 at Myer Retail Stores for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
bzerk86

bzerk86Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 32 reviews
  • 19 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good sized family slow cooker

published

Good unit, can make a really big batch of our favourite slow cooked meal. The insert works well on the stove to brown meat first, it's also really easy to clean!

Moisture is locked in by the well fitting lid and there is no vent for steam. In my experience this is a good thing.

it would have been nice if the insert was cast iron and not non-stick coated aluminium and if the control knob didn't feel so delicate. With this being said, the price would likely be substantially more.

Overall I am happy with this purchase and would buy it again.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Pretty good - light not coming on 18 months old

published

I have been very happy with this slow cooker which I have had for 28 months, great to be able to sear however I fear I may have a faulty product as the light does not come in when i turn it on even though the element heats up. Am a little concerned to use it in case there is an electrical fault.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great Slow Cooker but our lid shattered!

published

Love the slow cooker, worked great cooked lots of meals in it...then our lid shattered after cleaning it (it was cool before cleaned) and we cant use it any more.
Replacement lid is around $50...half the price of a new one.... Just out of warranty also so its kinda a bummer.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Snowyowl

Snowyowl

  • 19 reviews
  • 18 likes

Used everyday so far

published

At this point in time I have had this about a week. I have found it easy to clean after use. Bit concerned at how hard it appears to cook on low. Unlike others who have had meat dry out it is not a problem I have had as yet taking note to leave things like gravy beef in largish pieces. I don't use direct heat on the insert having small gas burners and direct heat in one small area is asking for trouble. Have not used the auto function as yet. The large 7lt insert is both a blessing and a bit of a pain. If you are doing a small amount just for 2 I do pay a lot more attention. All in all at this point in time I like this.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

VVH

VVH

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic except for cooking pot

published

I love this slow cooker - except for the cooking pan! The coating inside has deteriorated and to replace it as a spare part costs nearly as much as buying a new complete machine.
Moved house and now have induction cooktop so can’t use to sear anymore :(
Keep up with the times Breville and bring out a new model that you can do everything with.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Sarah

SarahSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the size and versatility

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
ajp94

ajp94Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it!

published

I love that I can brown on the stovetop, which means less washing up and the flavour stays in the dish. The large capacity means I can cook double batches of food easily. The non-stick pan means an easy clean up. I will never go back to a slow cooker that I can't put on the stove.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
SeanYC

SeanYCHOBART

  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes

Too large for me but you cannot beat this price.

published

I bought this slow cooker years ago and it was still running strong. The only downside I can complain is the size. I cannot find a smaller one in my local store so I have to buy this (maybe they have a smaller size elsewhere?). However, the price is good and it runs for years working good. So overall I still think this product deserves a 5 star.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Jay

Jay

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good

published

Very nice machine, Easy and quick to use, makes great flavoured food.. I would recommend this to anyone. It is fabulous. Also very easy to clean, nice and compact on the bench top too. Excellent purchase. very nice to come home to hot meal in the evenings. Would definitely recommend it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Skyer

SkyerBrisbane, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great slow cooker, even works as a rice cooker if you keep and eye on it

published

Definitely happy with the cooking results. We often leave this on while at work. Don't worry we have a stone bench and the wiring is very new in the house. The only thing that lets this down is the temp settings. I wish there was more of a range. Don't get me wrong I would definitely buy another one.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Brooke e

Brooke eBatemans bay

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great time saver

published

One of the best i have used.it cooks great does not dry out meals .large bowl to fit enough for a large growing family .super easy to use and great to clean .am very happy with my purchase of this product .definitely would recommend this for large families it's great time saver.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Best Ever +++++

published

Bought this as wanted bigger slower cooker for beef ribs & its the best thing I have tried since sliced bread.
Easy to braise then slow cook even large roasts.
A lot quicker & better cooking results with more flavour than my smaller slow cooker.
Easy to clean.
Very happy with product +++++

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sarah

SarahSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a great slow cooker.

published

We have been very happy with our slow cooker. It has huge capacity which suits our big family. We can feed a family of five and have well and truly enough for another meal for the freezer. It is so handy to be able to put it on the top of the stove to brown onions and meats and then transfer the whole thing for slow cooking. I can put it also straight from the unit on the table which means I don’t have much washing up.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Kazzamc

Kazzamc

  • 3 reviews

Awesome product!

published

This is a large slow cooker. It easily holds a leg of lamb, which mine does on a regular basis. It holds it temperature well. You can put the insert on the stove top to brown your food before slow cooking it.
It’s very easy to clean.
My only negative is that the insert handles & the exterior do get hot, but knowing that you take precautions not to burn yourself.
I love this machine. It’s so large that you make extra & then freeze the leftovers.

Date PurchasedJul 2014

Abbie

AbbieMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

We have used this so much!

published

This Is great you can sear meat in the pot on the stove and then cook for up to 6 hours. We have used it for ribs, curries,red wine chicken. Such a great investment. We went for the larger size so we can freeze leftovers. Bought from Myer Sale such a bargain.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Marnie M

Marnie MAU

  • 4 reviews

Wish I'd bought one earlier

published

Had been meaning to get a slow cooker for years. After some research I bought this one on sale for $99. I am extremely happy with the results. Love the fact that I can brown and sear on the cook top and then pop the pot into the slow cooker. Saves on washing up and mucking about. Perfect for a leg of lamb or a large piece of pork. Kids are getting a little tired of slow cooked curries and stews, but until they start cooking meals, too bad!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

rose3

rose3Sydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is a must have to any home chef!

published

I cook for my family on a daily basis. I always look for ways to make it easy for me to prepare nice home meals and save time. I have discovered a new chef that cooks for me and at the price is just amazing! This is a great product to have for any kitchen big or small!

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Jonesy100

Jonesy100Qld, 4123

  • 24 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Many positives but cooks way too quickly for a slow cooker.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Jan b

Jan basked

Can I cook a smaller amount in this cooker all the recipes in the book are enormous

No answers

Patricia W

Patricia Wasked

Can you put the insert into the oven with the silicone handles?

1 answer
Penny M.
Penny M.

The Manual states that you can.


Libbu

Libbuasked

Can I slow cook rice on auto?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategorySlow Cookers
Price (RRP) $159.95
Capacity7L
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Dimensions 210 x 460 x 280 mm
Weight4.9 kg
Power360 W
Outer Body Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Cooking Bowl MaterialAluminium
Searing FunctionYes
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateDec 2009

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 35904498 and BSC560
  • GTIN13: 9312432015448

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.