??!
2 photos
Breville Lift & Look Pro BTA720 / BTA730

Breville Lift & Look Pro BTA720 / BTA730

BTA730 (4 Slice), BTA720 (2 Slice)
2.0 from 92 reviews

Reviews

2.0

92 reviews
5
(11)
4
(7)
3
(6)
2
(16)
1
(52)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (8)
  • Even Toasting Yes (6) · No (3)
Previous
Next
Kathy McGiffen

Kathy McGiffenSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Last Breville toaster ever

published

Like most reviews here, we loved this expensive toaster for the first couple of years, until it started refusing to keep the bread down long enough to toast. Pops up randomly after a random time, from a few seconds to half done. Just out of the 1 year warranty, (which is ridiculous for a toaster, which independent sites say should last 6-8 years). We have always used Breville, but will be reluctant to purchase their products in the future, based on this experience.

Purchased for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Glenn d J

Glenn d JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great toaster but doesn’t last long

published

Just like everyone else , this toaster doesn’t last more than a 14 months , don’t buy one . Unless you only expect a toaster that lasts one year stay away from this one , good design but terrible quality .

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
peeved1

peeved1Perth, WA

  • 22 reviews

Not a good toaster

published

I bought one of these toasters when they first came out, wasnt cheap but worked really well. I recently replaced it with the same model and am very disappointed with it, it doesn't toast like the first one did, if you turn it up too high it burns the bread but doesn't toast on the lower settings. Wont be buying another one.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$168.00.

Value for Money
Even Toasting No
Toasters

Find out how Breville Lift & Look Pro BTA720 / BTA730 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
IrishPat

IrishPatCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews

Like it and have bought twice but also broken twice

published

Highly recommend when you buy it buy the extended warranty. I am on the second one I've purchased however I've had 3 altogether as one was replaced under warranty. The first one the element went in the right hand side. The second one (free warranty replacement) the button on the right (the side I use most failed) - I must admit I've pressed that button 3000 times. The third one the element has gone again. I will probably buy again but would like a product that lasts a long time not just 3-5 years. Next time longest extended warranty I can get and I won't lose the receipt.

Purchased in February 2016 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Shushila

ShushilaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for a couple

published

I haven't had a toaster for some time now and we invested in the Breville 'Lift & Look' Pro. I love the ease of the settings, can stop it anytime at the press of a button, 'cancel'. I mainly use it for toasting fresh bread, sometimes the top of the bread is over toasted compared to the end. Can over toast if the toaster is used more than once, so I automatically reduce the setting. Toasts crumpets and they come out fine.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
josjos13

josjos13Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Both sides cooked PERFECT and Crumpet setting.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Myer Online Store.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Bel

BelAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

two replacements in 16 months. Rubbish.

published

Don't bother. First replacement was 9 months after purchase. Stopped working all together. Second replacement was 7 months later - only one side would toast. Great when it worked but poor quality and wholly unreliable. Buy any toaster but this one. Couldn't be worse.

Purchased in February 2018 at Peter's of Kensington for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Sharleen

SharleenCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Warranty expires and the toaster expires with it!

published

When we purchased this toaster it was exactly what we wanted! For 12 months it worked like a charm- We are a family of 5 and we used it regularly. Within 6 weeks of the warranty expiring (12 months) the toaster handle won’t hold down. In order to use the toaster, you have to stand with it (while in use) and hold the handle down in place for it to toast! I would NOT recommend this toaster- it’s not with the price tag!

Purchased in April 2018 at Myer for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
harry.cheung.790

harry.cheung.790Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Expensive toaster for just two years life span

published

Paid $99 for this toaster in Myer two years ago. Recently it just pop the toasts up whenever it feels like it. Now it does not stay down at all.
I always went for the Breville brand for kitchen appliances and thought it was a good brand. Very disappointing. Now I shall look at some other brands for my appliances in the future.

Purchased in February 2017 at Myer for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Lift & Look Pro BTA720 / BTA730 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst toaster I've had!

published

My biggest issue with this toaster is that the toasting time is all over the place. It just pops up whenever it wants to. Sometimes it will beep at me & not stay down at all. Other times it will stay down for 10 seconds, other times 60 seconds. You can never predict it! It's very frustrating when you are busy getting the kids ready for school & you have to keep running back to the toaster to push it back down again.

Considering it was not a cheap toaster, I expected a lot better. Next time I will get a standard toaster without the fancy functions.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Gizzyduck

GizzyduckSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 28 reviews

LOVE IT

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Shari

Shari

  • 4 reviews

Even toasting and fits large sourdough slices

published

This toaster is stylish and has a lot of handy features, including a 'little bit more' function for when you don't want to re-start the process. There is also a progress bar that shows you how far along in the cooking process you are. Overall though, our favourite feature of this toaster is the even heating. Plus it is the perfect size for larger bits of bread (or 4 standard size).

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Netski

NetskiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Premature ejection

published

Bought this toaster 17 months ago and in the beginning it was quite good apart from the annoying several times it would beep at me and wouldn't let me put my bread down?? It now only toasts my bread when it feels like it.The back element doesn't heat up all the time.I thought I had purchased the bee's knees of toasters....WHAT A BUST

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Amanda

Amanda

  • 2 reviews

Faulty Product

published

Toasts for five or ten seconds and then pops up regardless of applied setting. You need to stand near the toaster and keep pushing it down to collect your burnt toast. Waste of money and would recommend avoiding this product at all costs. Totally ripped off by Breville. Will not be purchasing Breville in the future.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
bunker90

bunker90

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Expensive Landfill

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Toasters

Find out how Breville Lift & Look Pro BTA720 / BTA730 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Buzzin' Dozen

Buzzin' DozenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews

13 Months old Big spark and died !

published

Worked fine for the first few months then started burning toast on same low setting every now and then. Eventually, just after a year, flashed a big spark and cut off power in the house.

Harvey Norman advised to contact Breville at which point you realise what you're dealing with. They basically could not give a ......

Do yourself a favour and DO NOT BUY a Breville.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
The Doogooder

The DoogooderHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Undocumented feature: Random toasting time.

published

No matter what time you select the toaster makes it’s own decision.
Awesome potential however product toast timer doesn’t work.
Burns or under cooks on a whim.
POS - Don’t buy it.
Terrible after sales services. Sent multiple email with no response.
The irony is we had the same problem with an earlier Breville two slice toaster and bought this expecting it would fix the problem.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Does not work for long- just pops up all the time without toasting

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Wazza

WazzaSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Kaput with Little use from retired couple

published

The Breville toaster shure looks robust and I am shure it is but after around 11 months use it stopped working , We returned it to the store Billy Guyets and they sent us a new Breville (same Model) we have been using it now for around 3 months with no trouble and are satisfied with
the Great Service from Billy Guyetts

Date PurchasedApr 2018
David Gormley

David GormleyAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Lasted one week past warranty period

published

Whilst the toaster has lots of good features, it is a pretty pricey toaster and worked well. Until a loud pop sound resulting in all the lights continuing to happen, but alas no heat generation. So appears some sort of heating element failure. One week past the twelve month warranty. Alas.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Ernie Pihlstrom

Ernie Pihlstromasked

Lift & Look Pro BTA720 (2 Slice)

My toaster BTA720 2 slice wont stay down. Its just over 1 yr old. Any help?

No answers
Loretta

Lorettaasked

Lift & Look Pro BTA730 (4 Slice)

I have a Breville toaster bta730 - it’s our second one- it is constantly beeping and pops up seconds after pushing it down- I’ve cleaned out the crumb tray and gently turned it upside down- still no change... any tips?

1 answer
Gizzyduck
Gizzyduck

Just make sure you push it down firmly so that it locks in properly.
If you find this doesn't help if it is in the 12 month warranty see if you can get a new one under warranty.

JulzT

JulzTasked

Lift & Look Pro BTA730 (4 Slice)

I decided to clean crumbs from my BTA730 model and tipped it upside down and now it no longer locks in place! Is this a repair job or can I 'fix' myself?

1 answer
Stefan
Stefan

Call Breville, tell them the unit is faulty or take back to store and get a refund. This model is a lemon.

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.