??!
2 photos
Breville Multi Grain BRC550

Breville Multi Grain BRC550

MPN: BRC550SIL
2.3 from 14 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
7

Randy

RandyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Believe the reviews - don’t buy it

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Catch for $89.00.


A rip off!

published

I bought this very expensive rice cooker about 2.5 years ago now. For the first year or so it worked well but now, like so many others have said in this thread, it doesn't work. It stops cooking after a few minutes and switches to keep warm. I've tried everything to stop this from happening- sometimes it cooks rice well but most times it stops cooking. I tend to select the saute button to at least keep the cooking process going...

Purchased in October 2016.

Design Flaw

published

As others have stated previously, bubbles will form and shake the lid viciously when cooking rice. What is left is a big mess on the lid and around the cooker to clean up. I would suggest buying a different rice cooker that doesn't create a mess.

Purchased in February 2019.

ozzieroo

ozzierooSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Breaks after three months

published

Terrible product, as others have stated it stops cooking rice and just beeps and keeps the setting on ‘Keep Warm’. This continues to occur despite powering off, reseting or replacing the cooking pot. Surprised that a product that’s only designed to do one thing can fail so abysmally. Do not buy this cooker!

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer Retail Stores.


Rick

RickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Mine works perfectly.

published

Purchased in September 2018 at eBay for $85.00.


Failed

published

Got one from Chrismas and now it is broken. After couple of weeks of using it, got some
issues of cooking rice. Rice still raw and not even boiling yet but it keeps saying KEEP WARM. Turned it off and on again many times, sometimes it works but not often. Expensive rice cooker but low quality. Don’t waste money on this

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Alister

AlisterBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A great disappointment.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Doesn’t cook, waste of time and money.

published

This cooker has never made that nice fluffy rice you expect from a cooker. The water continuously boils, leaving you starchy water bubbling out the top and a huge mess. If you don’t add more water, the machine clicks to keep warm but your rice is crunchy. An absolute waste of time and money, we ended up putting it in the bin.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Alison

AlisonSydney

  • 3 reviews

No better than a cheap rice cooker

published

I bought this rice cooker thinking it would work well and make rice with no fuss. Unfortunately when I go to cook rice the water bubbles up and out the hole in the top, making a total mess. I got in contact with Breville but they didn't have any advice to stop this. I have tried rinsing the rice many times and it doesn't help. This is only with about 1.5 cups of rice in the machine so I imagine if I cook more it will be much messier. Also the porridge cook function takes 1 hour which is impractical. I'm very disappointed in this rice cooker and want to warn others to not bother for the price!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Cavitation

CavitationSydney, NSW

  • 41 reviews

Nicely featured rice cooker, that cooks rice poorly

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Ian Gardner

Ian GardnerMaleny, Queensland

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent for my purpose viz. Rice

published

A sturdy, high quality product, free of POFA, which cooks brown rice perfectly in the month or so I have had it. Note: I use the correct amount of water for the quantity of rice used. The lid is very well made and heavy enough to sit well and do what it should. Quality is evident even in the way the power cord is designed and made!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Ian - thanks for your comments. The Breville team

Ian Gardner
Ian Gardner

My pleasure: credit where credit is due :-)


I love brown rice, but it doesn't cook!!!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Jason

JasonAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Surprised by how good this is

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Jason - thanks for your comments. The Breville team


Switches to warm every 2 minutes

published

I had this rice cooker and it kept switching to warm every now and then. I returned it but i decided to give it another Go but this new one is even worse. I literally have to sit in the kitchen to cancel and set it to cook again until the rice is cooked. I am returning it. Am over it. Furious
The good guys Here i come

1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Kado - our design team receive these notifications and appreciate feedback. Thanks, the Breville team

Questions & Answers

Nic L

Nic Lasked

I have recenty purchased this and all functions are working except porridge (it doesn't automatically switch off). I spoke to Breville who said to take it back and I did and swapped it for another one. . Same thing now happens to my second one. I have followed instructions, but not successful results on the porridge setting. Any advice on how to make porridge successfully on this device?

2 answers
Cavitation
Cavitation

Perhaps you are cooking too large a quantity? The cooker is supposed to shut off automatically, but the time this takes depends on the amount in the bowl, of solids and water. Try with just the minimum amount (ie, one cup), and check every five minutes. I'd expect the cycle to stop in around 20 minutes. If after 40 minutes, it still hasn't shut off, then your cooker is faulty, and take it back again, and make sure you get it replaced with one with a different batch number. Note that the instructions say that porridge should be cooked with the lid OFF. So you need to check continuously to make sure it doesn't boil dry (a known problem with this model, when used to steam vegetables and suchlike).

Nic L
Nic L

I have now followed your suggestion and it still doesn't automatically switch off on porridge setting! Looks like I will have to take it back again and maybe third time lucky???


barbara17

barbara17asked

Can you steam dim sims in it and how long for and how much water goes in the bottom?

1 answer
Ian Gardner
Ian Gardner

It comes with a steaming "tray" - perhaps better described as "bucket" - and there are instructions for steaming dumplings so it seems that it will also steam dim sims but I do not know about the quantity of water required. Try contacting Breville.


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.