??!
11 photos
Breville Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast

BTA845, BTA825, BTA830, etc...
3.4 from 243 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (37)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (37)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (37)
  • Even Toasting Yes (19) · No (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

UNEVEN toasting

published

after just one year the toaster only toasts on one side. No very satisfied. It is so hard to find a toaster that toasts both side evenly. This was supposed to be a best rated toaster-NOT.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
SAMMY

SAMMYHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews

not a problem at all with this toaster

published

we have had this toaster for good 7 years or so.... and it hasn't disappointed. Thick or thin slices of any bread,including a fruit loaf, it has been great. Still works like new. So much so, we have since bought many Breville products because of it. None of them have had any issues at all. Very pleased and satisfied customer here.

Purchased in April 2013 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
MMM

MMMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great family toaster

published

I love that this toaster cooks evenly and thanks to settings is able to do so for fruit toast crumpets etc.

I have never had a problem with toast getting stuck.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
emily b.

emily b.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

quality built toaster but makes bread taste funny

published

For the first year this toaster worked great with daily use but after that it started making my toast taste and smell funny, I tried cleaning it multiple times but the issue persisted.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Anthony

Anthony

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Breville BTA830 - What a piece of C#ap!

published

Hit the lift and look button and shorts the main switchboard. Hardly used but of course out of warranty. Sent an email to Breville, response I got was to throw it out. No concern why shorting and given other reviews seems like a common issue.

Purchased in June 2017 at David Jones for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers

Had two toasters fail on me...never again.

published

I had two of these fail on me, the first while under warranty, the second-after. This is an inferior product. The elements slowly failed until it didn't work. And it just had blinking lights..

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$136.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
DunceNotDux

DunceNotDuxCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice style, junk quality

published

Had this $169 toaster for just over 2 years, not used every day of the week but is now dead. Literally died in a flash, tripped the house safety switch and again when checking whether it still worked. Was a good unit while it worked, but clearly from our experience and other reviews there is a fundamental flaw with the quality of electrical components used and therefore a safety issue.

If we had bought a $9 Kmart or BigW toaster then just over 2 years occasional use would be fair, at almost 20 times the price it's unacceptable, particularly with no service parts available from the maker. In a house where we also have a Breville kettle, sandwich press, blender etc sadly we will not buy Breville again.

Avoid.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hifi Home for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Kev H

Kev HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 35 reviews
  • 28 likes

Smart Toaster

published

Purchased in May 2020 at eBay for A$145.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Murat

MuratGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not worth the price

published

Slow to toast. Was content until the left side "Toast" button got stuck & damaged the functionality of the left 2 toasters. Occurred out of warranty. They dont offer parts either. As a consequence, have been using it as a 2 slice toaster for several years. Been through several Breville kettles as well. Will never buy another Breville appliance. Kitchenaid is the best brand for features, quality & therefore longevity; well worth the money.

Purchased in August 2014 at The Good Guys for A$172.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helen S.

Helen S.Canberra 2600, ACT

Slowest toaster, not worth the money

published

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very Poor Product - Stopped working after 12 months.... Unacceptable

published

Ive got alot of breville products, and sadly this one has ruined the brand for me, its lasted just over 12 months, so out of warranty... one side just stopped working....

Update - Seems Breville might reassess my units warranty cover as I got such short lifespan. I was told the units are on the whole good, but some fail early.... evidently i got a bad one. Hope they replace! This would certainly redeem my thoughts of the brand.

Purchased in December 2018 at eBay for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers

Never worked right and only a few months old and doesn’t work at all.

published

We toast regular bread slices. We tried all settings. Bread sometimes got stuck. Didn’t toast evenly. Now doesn’t work at all. This is the most money I ever spent on a toaster and the worst toaster I have ever owned.

Purchased at Bamboo Bed and Bath.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
melee

melee

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great looking toaster but ......

published

Purchased this in Jan 2019 and we have been pleased with it. Unfortunately, the element on one side of my toaster have stopped working altogether. We only use the toaster mainly on weekends, maybe that's why mine has lasted 15 months. Looking at the other reviews, the toaster doesn't appear to last beyond 18 months so the one year warranty is pretty useless. Disappointing that Breville hasn't come on line to address customers' issues. Sad that so many appliances don't last long these days nor can be fixed - what hope is there to reduce waste?

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Julia F.

Julia F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Nice toaster but broken twice

published

Sadly our toasters keep breaking! Our first one stopped popping up and we're now on our second and one side has stopped working. Really disappointing because it's a nice toaster, looks great and toasts well but too many faults especially for the price. Luckily we got an extended warranty!

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Geoff Costello

Geoff CostelloPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Best toaster we have had in 40 years, versatile and easy to use

published

We bought this toast in December 2018 as I wanted a toaster that could do tings like crumpets and fruit toast properly. We weren't disappointed. The toaster is easy to use, and as really useful settings for things like frozen bread, crumpets and fruit toast. We use it every day. Each half of the 4 slide toaster can be set separately so we can do things like have crumpets on one half and fruit bread in the other and get perfect results.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$147.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
fog

fogBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

very intermittent toaster !!

published

Have had mine about 2 years - one side drops out regularly - best keep them very keen - no crumbs inside or they jam up - toast ok - but I would not buy another one

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Charles

CharlesMelbourne

  • 24 reviews
  • 25 likes

It's Toastin !

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
malcolm

malcolmGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

beware non repair

published

i have posted on this site about this product but have come up with this disappointing finding. a breville service repair centre have informed me that the smart toast BTA825 is non repairable and there are no replaceable parts available for this model. mine has a faulty toast/cancel button that has gradually bottomed out or worn out to the point of complete failure. it now looks certain that i have a pile of junk sitting on the bench top in my kitchen. very sad for a 159 dollar purchase after a couple of years use.

i would say not a smart toast........harvey norman should place a sticker on these toasters......non repairable!!

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 52 reviews
  • 56 likes

Not So Creme de la Creme of Toasters

published
  • +6

Purchased in January 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$146.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Ex-Breville Customer

Ex-Breville CustomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No good. Looks great but too many issues

published

Purchased it 18 months ago. It started by flashing and not being able to pop up on its own without switching the power in and off. This happened a number of times. Now only one side toasts and the other goes up and down but doesnt heat/toast at all. Rubbish. Considering how expensive this toaster was $140. I expect more

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

buzzie1966

buzzie1966asked

Smart Toast BTA825

Can somebody please confirm if the exterior finishes on the BTA825 and the BTA825BSS are different please? I am looking to buy a Breville Smart toaster to match our Breville Smart kettle (in a brushed stainless steel finish), but the finish on all the toasters i've seen in stores is a slightly different "silver" finish, which doesn't match the kettle.

No answers
Linda N.

Linda N.asked

Smart Toast

I toasted a bagel on the bagel setting. Now when I make toast, one side of the bread is just raw. It is only a year old. Any help?

2 answers
RegG
RegG

Same problem

RegG
RegG

Any help?

Les

Lesasked

Smart Toast BTA825

Where is the Breville BTA825 made ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Breville Smart Toast
Breville Smart Toast BTA820
  • Discontinued

Breville Smart Toast BTA820

3.5
(15)
CategoryToastersToastersToastersToasters
Price (RRP) $219.95$179.95$159.95
Type4 Slice4 Slice2 Slice2 Slice
Replaced byBreville Smart Toast BTA825
Compare all 5 Breville Smart Toast

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.