??!
11 photos
Breville Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast

BTA845, BTA825, BTA830, etc...
3.5 from 230 reviews

Reviews

(97)
(32)
(26)
(29)
(46)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (25)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (24)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (24)
  • Even Toasting Yes (14) · No (7)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Geoff Costello

Geoff CostelloPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Best toaster we have had in 40 years, versatile and easy to use

published

We bought this toast in December 2018 as I wanted a toaster that could do tings like crumpets and fruit toast properly. We weren't disappointed. The toaster is easy to use, and as really useful settings for things like frozen bread, crumpets and fruit toast. We use it every day. Each half of the 4 slide toaster can be set separately so we can do things like have crumpets on one half and fruit bread in the other and get perfect results.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $147.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

fog

fogBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

very intermittent toaster !!

published

Have had mine about 2 years - one side drops out regularly - best keep them very keen - no crumbs inside or they jam up - toast ok - but I would not buy another one

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Charles

CharlesMelbourne

  • 21 reviews
  • 1 like

It's Toastin !

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
malcolm

malcolmGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

beware non repair

published

i have posted on this site about this product but have come up with this disappointing finding. a breville service repair centre have informed me that the smart toast BTA825 is non repairable and there are no replaceable parts available for this model. mine has a faulty toast/cancel button that has gradually bottomed out or worn out to the point of complete failure. it now looks certain that i have a pile of junk sitting on the bench top in my kitchen. very sad for a 159 dollar purchase after a couple of years use.

i would say not a smart toast........harvey norman should place a sticker on these toasters......non repairable!!

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 44 reviews
  • 1 like

Creme de la Creme of Toasters

published
  • +6

Purchased in January 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for $146.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Ex-Breville Customer

Ex-Breville CustomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No good. Looks great but too many issues

published

Purchased it 18 months ago. It started by flashing and not being able to pop up on its own without switching the power in and off. This happened a number of times. Now only one side toasts and the other goes up and down but doesnt heat/toast at all. Rubbish. Considering how expensive this toaster was $140. I expect more

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for $140.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Toasts well while it works

published

Whoever the Industrial Designer of this toaster was got the builtin obsolescence bang on. First one stopped toasting on one side after 23months. Replacement one had the same issue after 9months. It's not a cheap toaster so should be made with much better internal components and materials.

Purchased in February 2017 at Appliances Online for $170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Worst toaster ever bought.

published

Purchased first Smart Toast just after Christmas. After several months, stopped toasting. Was replaced and now after a similar time frame, one side doesn't heat up at all and the other, just barely. Our Kmart toaster bought years ago now dragged out of cupboard and works so much quicker.

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for $170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
MMM

MMMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Great quality 4 slice toaster

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Norm

NormNortheast, VIC

Disappointed.

published

I purchased this toaster no 19 September, I am sorry to say I expected it to be better than the old toaster but no it toasts unevenly just as the much cheaper one did. I expected better for $169.00

Purchased in September 2019 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Pete

PeteGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Brand loyalty goes wrong this time

published

After owning one of these for many years and being totally satisfied with it we bought a new one without hesitation. It is a total disappointment. As others have stated it toasts totally erratically and only on one side generally. It is also so slow it drives us mad. Extremely disillusioned. The old one is almost worn out but works much better.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $189.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Irvin

IrvinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Not quite perfect

published

Fairly big for a 2 standard slice toaster. Sceptical at first regarding the motorised toast lift ...it still works after 3 years ! Controls are simple and straight forward. Bread slots could be slightly longer to accomodate European style rye breads, without having to purchase the larger model that has a very long footprint, internal edges could of been rolled, so buckled toast doesn’t jam on lift , fairly even toasting coverage, first toast requires longer toasting time to subsequent toasting


Richard A.

Richard A.Sunshine Coast Queensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great design very poor manufacture

published

Adel16

Adel16Adelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Finally a Toaster that Works Well

published

We have been living with a cheap 1600W toaster we purchased from K-Mart about 2 years ago and were forever popping it up to check on it and with each pop up the elements turned off and the toast got harder and harder. That has all be fixed now with the Breville Smart Toaster (2kW) , indeed once you have determined your setting it produces perfect toast every time due to the better control it has of the heat and the positioning of the bread evenly between the elements- this is a fantastic toaster and truly produces first class toast. As Wallace says .."Cracking toast Gromit!"

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
mitchger

mitchgerSydney, NSW

  • 36 reviews

A+ for cool factor but not practical

published

Pretty cool and doesn't throw your toast up halfway to space but there are problems with it. Some items get stuck on the way up and it's very difficult to clear. Far too expensive.

Purchased in August 2016 at Harvey Norman for $80.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Tamika B.

Tamika B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

If you have this toaster - watch for fires.

published

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

wey2go

wey2goGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Failed just after the 2 years warranty.

published

Works well while it is working. Just stopped working with all lights blinking while toasting some bread and will no longer work. This is just past the 2 years warranty. Really poor durability.

1 comment
wey2go
wey2go

Even though the crumbs does not look like clogging the mechanism, give the unit a few firm pats to dislodge any crumbs fixes this issue.


Cathy

Cathy

  • 2 reviews

Lasted less than 12 months

published

Purchased this product in August 2018 and had no issues until I went to use it yesterday. Pressed the button down and an almighty flash came from the appliance. Needless to say it doesn't work and after paying $169 not impressed. Now to do battle in getting a replacement???

Purchased in August 2018.


Don L

Don LGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Quality toaster, but is it worth the price?

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Jill

JillSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Finally a toaster than toasts crumpets

published

Best toaster I have ever used. Toasts crumpets too perfection. Love the look and see option , plus the 'bit more ' feature is handy. Looks good in kitchen with chrome.Highly recommend this toaster.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for $129.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Jane S.

Jane S.asked

The sliding light scale on my toaster comes on and off intermittently when the toaster is not in use. Toaster is about 3 years old, this issue has just started. Can it be fixed? Is there a risk of it “shorting” or causing a fire? I have always regularly cleaned the crumb tray and turn it upside down to shake out crumbs.

3 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

Don’t use until you have contacted the company

Sue A.
Sue A.

My toaster has been doing the same thing, did you find any answer. I turn mine off from the power point when not in use for safety reasons.

Jane S.
Jane S.

no , no answer but do the same.


GingerSnap

GingerSnapasked

My Breville toaster will not pop up. Cancel button not working either. Thank you. Any help?

3 answers
Unhappy customer
Unhappy customer

Take it back for a refund. Our first died within months as did the replacement. The elements died in both, started by not cooking along the bottom. Have gone back to a cheap toaster bought years ago which still works beautifully.

Fired Up
Fired Up

Contact them directly

GingerSnap
GingerSnap

Thank you for the excellent advice. I contacted the company directly and they are sending me a replacement toaster. In the meantime, I bought a cheap $28 toaster that works beautifully. I'll keep it in the wings, just in case...
So funny because when I was growing up we had the same toaster for about thirty years and we made a LOT of toast !


bubbaz

bubbazasked

I just bought Breville BTA730 "the look and lift Pro" and cannot find serial number so I can register product online?

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Check the manual or ring them


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.