??!
11 photos
Breville Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast

BTA845, BTA825, BTA830, etc...
3.4 from 249 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (43)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (43)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (43)
  • Even Toasting Yes (22) · No (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jodie P.

Jodie P.South East Queensland, QLD

Great toaster until it fails 3 times

published

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $157.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ripped Off

Ripped OffSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

2 years old and broken

published

One side element no longer toasts. The broken element half comes on when defrost is selected. Product is just over 2 years old. I mainly toast sliced sour dough and gluten free bread.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $175.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
EMAD Nash

EMAD NashGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Bad Quality

published

Bought it from Myer in May 2017, use it once a week on average. One side of the toaster stopped working after seeing an electric spark. You would expect a toaster with this price ($179) to last longer than that. The quality of this toaster is unacceptable and unsatisfactory

Purchased in May 2017 at Myer for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Goose G

Goose GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Old reliable!

published

Purchased at Myer for $119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
ZoomZoom

ZoomZoomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Dumb smart toaster

published

Toast / cancel button no longer works ... less than 5 years old ... the button still clicks but the toaster fails to take the toast down. We only used it once/day so I don’t think it was excessive wear either. Have replaced it with one where you pull the handle down...less parts to go wrong.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sam

SamBelconnen 2617, ACT

Throw an expensive toaster it looks a good but doesn't perform.

published

Always had issues with this toasting evenly on crumpets both sides in the two different slots and they both come out different each time. And now it has just shorted out my unit and it wouldn't even be 3 years old

Purchased in October 2016 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

UNEVEN toasting

published

after just one year the toaster only toasts on one side. No very satisfied. It is so hard to find a toaster that toasts both side evenly. This was supposed to be a best rated toaster-NOT.

Purchased in August 2019 for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
SAMMY

SAMMYHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

not a problem at all with this toaster

published

we have had this toaster for good 7 years or so.... and it hasn't disappointed. Thick or thin slices of any bread,including a fruit loaf, it has been great. Still works like new. So much so, we have since bought many Breville products because of it. None of them have had any issues at all. Very pleased and satisfied customer here.

Purchased in April 2013 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
MMM

MMMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great family toaster

published

I love that this toaster cooks evenly and thanks to settings is able to do so for fruit toast crumpets etc.

I have never had a problem with toast getting stuck.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
emily b.

emily b.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

quality built toaster but makes bread taste funny

published

For the first year this toaster worked great with daily use but after that it started making my toast taste and smell funny, I tried cleaning it multiple times but the issue persisted.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Anthony

Anthony

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Breville BTA830 - What a piece of C#ap!

published

Hit the lift and look button and shorts the main switchboard. Hardly used but of course out of warranty. Sent an email to Breville, response I got was to throw it out. No concern why shorting and given other reviews seems like a common issue.

Purchased in June 2017 at David Jones for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Had two toasters fail on me...never again.

published

I had two of these fail on me, the first while under warranty, the second-after. This is an inferior product. The elements slowly failed until it didn't work. And it just had blinking lights..

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for $136.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
DunceNotDux

DunceNotDuxCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice style, junk quality

published

Had this $169 toaster for just over 2 years, not used every day of the week but is now dead. Literally died in a flash, tripped the house safety switch and again when checking whether it still worked. Was a good unit while it worked, but clearly from our experience and other reviews there is a fundamental flaw with the quality of electrical components used and therefore a safety issue.

If we had bought a $9 Kmart or BigW toaster then just over 2 years occasional use would be fair, at almost 20 times the price it's unacceptable, particularly with no service parts available from the maker. In a house where we also have a Breville kettle, sandwich press, blender etc sadly we will not buy Breville again.

Avoid.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hifi Home for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kev H

Kev HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 38 reviews
  • 29 likes

Smart Toaster

published

Purchased in May 2020 at eBay for $145.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Murat

MuratGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not worth the price

published

Slow to toast. Was content until the left side "Toast" button got stuck & damaged the functionality of the left 2 toasters. Occurred out of warranty. They dont offer parts either. As a consequence, have been using it as a 2 slice toaster for several years. Been through several Breville kettles as well. Will never buy another Breville appliance. Kitchenaid is the best brand for features, quality & therefore longevity; well worth the money.

Purchased in August 2014 at The Good Guys for $172.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helen S.

Helen S.Canberra 2600, ACT

Slowest toaster, not worth the money

published

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very Poor Product - Stopped working after 12 months.... Unacceptable

published

Ive got alot of breville products, and sadly this one has ruined the brand for me, its lasted just over 12 months, so out of warranty... one side just stopped working....

Update - Seems Breville might reassess my units warranty cover as I got such short lifespan. I was told the units are on the whole good, but some fail early.... evidently i got a bad one. Hope they replace! This would certainly redeem my thoughts of the brand.

Purchased in December 2018 at eBay for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Never worked right and only a few months old and doesn’t work at all.

published

We toast regular bread slices. We tried all settings. Bread sometimes got stuck. Didn’t toast evenly. Now doesn’t work at all. This is the most money I ever spent on a toaster and the worst toaster I have ever owned.

Purchased at Bamboo Bed and Bath.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
melee

melee

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great looking toaster but ......

published

Purchased this in Jan 2019 and we have been pleased with it. Unfortunately, the element on one side of my toaster have stopped working altogether. We only use the toaster mainly on weekends, maybe that's why mine has lasted 15 months. Looking at the other reviews, the toaster doesn't appear to last beyond 18 months so the one year warranty is pretty useless. Disappointing that Breville hasn't come on line to address customers' issues. Sad that so many appliances don't last long these days nor can be fixed - what hope is there to reduce waste?

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Julia F.

Julia F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Nice toaster but broken twice

published

Sadly our toasters keep breaking! Our first one stopped popping up and we're now on our second and one side has stopped working. Really disappointing because it's a nice toaster, looks great and toasts well but too many faults especially for the price. Luckily we got an extended warranty!

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Richard W.

Richard W.asked

Smart Toast

Why doesn't my 2 piece Breville toaster toast on both sides? I notice that the inner elements don't turn on.

No answers
Miss Kitty

Miss Kittyasked

Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast 4 slice - toast/cancel button stopped working on right side and carriage stuck in "down" position. Is it possible to fix?

No answers
Melanie

Melanie asked

Smart Toast

Why does my Breville Bit More toaster’s LED light bar randomly light up when not in use?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Breville Smart Toast
Breville Smart Toast BTA820
  • Discontinued

Breville Smart Toast BTA820

3.5
(15)
CategoryToastersToastersToastersToasters
Price (RRP) $219.95$179.95$159.95
Type4 Slice4 Slice2 Slice2 Slice
Replaced byBreville Smart Toast BTA825
Compare all 5 Breville Smart Toast

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.