??!
11 photos
Breville Smart Toast

Breville Smart Toast

BTA845, BTA825, BTA830, etc...
3.4 from 236 reviews

Reviews

3.4

236 reviews
5
(96)
4
(32)
3
(29)
2
(31)
1
(48)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (30)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (29)
  • Even Toasting Yes (16) · No (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Murat

MuratGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not worth the price

published

Slow to toast. Was content until the left side "Toast" button got stuck & damaged the functionality of the left 2 toasters. Occurred out of warranty. They dont offer parts either. As a consequence, have been using it as a 2 slice toaster for several years. Been through several Breville kettles as well. Will never buy another Breville appliance. Kitchenaid is the best brand for features, quality & therefore longevity; well worth the money.

Purchased in August 2014 at The Good Guys for A$172.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Helen S.

Helen S.Canberra 2600, ACT

Slowest toaster, not worth the money

published

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very Poor Product - Stopped working after 12 months.... Unacceptable

published

Ive got alot of breville products, and sadly this one has ruined the brand for me, its lasted just over 12 months, so out of warranty... one side just stopped working....

Update - Seems Breville might reassess my units warranty cover as I got such short lifespan. I was told the units are on the whole good, but some fail early.... evidently i got a bad one. Hope they replace! This would certainly redeem my thoughts of the brand.

Purchased in December 2018 at eBay for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Never worked right and only a few months old and doesn’t work at all.

published

We toast regular bread slices. We tried all settings. Bread sometimes got stuck. Didn’t toast evenly. Now doesn’t work at all. This is the most money I ever spent on a toaster and the worst toaster I have ever owned.

Purchased at Bamboo Bed and Bath.

Even Toasting No
melee

melee

  • 4 reviews

Great looking toaster but ......

published

Purchased this in Jan 2019 and we have been pleased with it. Unfortunately, the element on one side of my toaster have stopped working altogether. We only use the toaster mainly on weekends, maybe that's why mine has lasted 15 months. Looking at the other reviews, the toaster doesn't appear to last beyond 18 months so the one year warranty is pretty useless. Disappointing that Breville hasn't come on line to address customers' issues. Sad that so many appliances don't last long these days nor can be fixed - what hope is there to reduce waste?

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Julia F.

Julia F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Nice toaster but broken twice

published

Sadly our toasters keep breaking! Our first one stopped popping up and we're now on our second and one side has stopped working. Really disappointing because it's a nice toaster, looks great and toasts well but too many faults especially for the price. Luckily we got an extended warranty!

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Geoff Costello

Geoff CostelloPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best toaster we have had in 40 years, versatile and easy to use

published

We bought this toast in December 2018 as I wanted a toaster that could do tings like crumpets and fruit toast properly. We weren't disappointed. The toaster is easy to use, and as really useful settings for things like frozen bread, crumpets and fruit toast. We use it every day. Each half of the 4 slide toaster can be set separately so we can do things like have crumpets on one half and fruit bread in the other and get perfect results.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$147.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
fog

fogBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

very intermittent toaster !!

published

Have had mine about 2 years - one side drops out regularly - best keep them very keen - no crumbs inside or they jam up - toast ok - but I would not buy another one

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Charles

CharlesMelbourne

  • 22 reviews
  • 1 like

It's Toastin !

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
malcolm

malcolmGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

beware non repair

published

i have posted on this site about this product but have come up with this disappointing finding. a breville service repair centre have informed me that the smart toast BTA825 is non repairable and there are no replaceable parts available for this model. mine has a faulty toast/cancel button that has gradually bottomed out or worn out to the point of complete failure. it now looks certain that i have a pile of junk sitting on the bench top in my kitchen. very sad for a 159 dollar purchase after a couple of years use.

i would say not a smart toast........harvey norman should place a sticker on these toasters......non repairable!!

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 47 reviews
  • 1 like

Not So Creme de la Creme of Toasters

published
  • +6

Purchased in January 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$146.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Ex-Breville Customer

Ex-Breville CustomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No good. Looks great but too many issues

published

Purchased it 18 months ago. It started by flashing and not being able to pop up on its own without switching the power in and off. This happened a number of times. Now only one side toasts and the other goes up and down but doesnt heat/toast at all. Rubbish. Considering how expensive this toaster was $140. I expect more

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Toasts well while it works

published

Whoever the Industrial Designer of this toaster was got the builtin obsolescence bang on. First one stopped toasting on one side after 23months. Replacement one had the same issue after 9months. It's not a cheap toaster so should be made with much better internal components and materials.

Purchased in February 2017 at Appliances Online for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Worst toaster ever bought.

published

Purchased first Smart Toast just after Christmas. After several months, stopped toasting. Was replaced and now after a similar time frame, one side doesn't heat up at all and the other, just barely. Our Kmart toaster bought years ago now dragged out of cupboard and works so much quicker.

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
MMM

MMMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Great quality 4 slice toaster

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Norm

NormNortheast, VIC

Disappointed.

published

I purchased this toaster no 19 September, I am sorry to say I expected it to be better than the old toaster but no it toasts unevenly just as the much cheaper one did. I expected better for $169.00

Purchased in September 2019 for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Pete

PeteGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Brand loyalty goes wrong this time

published

After owning one of these for many years and being totally satisfied with it we bought a new one without hesitation. It is a total disappointment. As others have stated it toasts totally erratically and only on one side generally. It is also so slow it drives us mad. Extremely disillusioned. The old one is almost worn out but works much better.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Irvin

IrvinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Not quite perfect

published

Fairly big for a 2 standard slice toaster. Sceptical at first regarding the motorised toast lift ...it still works after 3 years ! Controls are simple and straight forward. Bread slots could be slightly longer to accomodate European style rye breads, without having to purchase the larger model that has a very long footprint, internal edges could of been rolled, so buckled toast doesn’t jam on lift , fairly even toasting coverage, first toast requires longer toasting time to subsequent toasting

Richard A.

Richard A.Sunshine Coast Queensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great design very poor manufacture

published
Adel16

Adel16Adelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Finally a Toaster that Works Well

published

We have been living with a cheap 1600W toaster we purchased from K-Mart about 2 years ago and were forever popping it up to check on it and with each pop up the elements turned off and the toast got harder and harder. That has all be fixed now with the Breville Smart Toaster (2kW) , indeed once you have determined your setting it produces perfect toast every time due to the better control it has of the heat and the positioning of the bread evenly between the elements- this is a fantastic toaster and truly produces first class toast. As Wallace says .."Cracking toast Gromit!"

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Ellie

Ellieasked

Smart Toast BTA845

All lights flashing and toast will not lift

No answers
Michael F.

Michael F.asked

Smart Toast BTA825

Stetting at 3 but LCD displays full setting & toast is burned black. Warranty 5 months at 5 months.
Michael

1 answer
Geoff Costello
Geoff Costello

Shouldn't happen unless you have it accidently on the crumpet setting, which will do that on one side?

Michael F.

Michael F.asked

Smart Toast BTA825

Why is Call Center in Australia not working?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.