??!
9 photos
Breville the Soft Top Luxe BKE735

Breville the Soft Top Luxe BKE735

3.6 from 19 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
2

Sarah

SarahHunter Region, NSW

Soft close lid stopped working

published

The soft top closing mechanism on our kettle has just stopped working, coincidentally it is just over two years old. It cannot be fixed or replaced. I will not be buying another Breville Kettle!

Purchased in October 2017.


Nikki Bub

Nikki BubSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very Good quality but not what I expected

published

The positives, great looking kettle and boils fairly quickly and quietly, water taste is fine. However I wasn’t expecting it to be so heavy, I need two hands to hold it whilst filling under the tap and when it’s full of water, even heavier. I am fairly strong and healthy and wonder how an older person would cope. I agree with other reviewers you cannot see the water levels through the windows unless you open the lid.
Also bought the matching toaster which is fantastic.

Purchased in July 2019 at Qantas store for $65.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Coco

Coco

  • 20 reviews

Stylish, Quiet and Easy to use.

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $125.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Harold45

Harold45Sydney

The base of this kettle is unstable

published

There is a major design flaw with this kettle - the base is unstable and causes the kettle to rock around the central axis. If you look closely at the base you will see that the sides curve upward, like a spinning top. Also, the kettle does not fit securely into the base and wobbles around. It is a very strange design for a kettle base, and was probably driven by aesthetics rather than functionality or safety. It's a shame. I usually like Breville appliances, but I had to return this one to David Jones in Sydney because the instability does not feel safe. .

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Jens

Jens

  • 6 reviews

Quiet brilliant kettle

published

Love this kettle . Quiet, boils very quickly love the soft close of the lid easy to see the water level! Plus I have bought the toaster to match. Love the colour. Very appealing. Easy to use. . Good service at the good guys where I bought it from. It was more expensive than I would normally pay but I now see why after using it daily

Date PurchasedNov 2017

foxxyone1

foxxyone1Brisbane

  • 6 reviews

Re design needed

published

We bought this Luxe (BKE735) kettle and matching blueberry-Granita toaster from the Good Guys at Aspley..
Kettle needs redesign as Water level viewing impossible without opening top.
Opening the top can be problematic, as a recently boiled kettle gives a steam bath to your hand.
Love the Colour blueberry, beautiful.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

I love ii!

published

I bought this kettle and matching (blue) toaster to replace two !! leaking Morphy Richards kettles. I love my new kettle it boils and a little bell tinkles and it doesn’t leak, I like the way the lid slowly opens, and unlike some other reviews, I can read the water level window - what more could you ask for from a kettle?

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Josephine Zangari

Josephine ZangariSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this kettle

published

Absolutely love my new kettle. Its very quiet and boils extremely quickly. Best kettle i have had to date. I bought the licorice colour and as the title says it certainly looks lux in my kitchen. It is on the expensive side but im loving how super quick it boils and looks.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Billfle

BillfleLaunceston

  • 3 reviews

Sorry I bought one, never again for this brand.

published

The kettle looks good, that's it. It is seriously noisy, too heavy, hard to see the water level. The most serious issue was the taste of burnt plastic, similar to the water taste from a new garden hose. We boiled it 15 times to be sure but the taste still persisted. The retailer believed the no BPA and defended it. We wanted a refund but the Breville rep refused. We just could not drink from it. The extra hundred dollars is not worth it for a slow opening lid. The mechanism is complex plastic and all inside the kettle. This did not perform to our expectations. We have replaced it with a Delongi and no problems straight away as it is all stainless, no plastic.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Nice looking but that is all,

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Functional, boils the water, however it can be improved.

published

This is an OK Kettle. It boils the water, so I can't complain. However, it is very difficult to see the waterline through the glass panel. Every time I want to boil some water I have to open the lid and check how much water is in the kettle. This does severely impinge on the functionality of the object, rendering the glass panel useless.

On a more positive note, the soft-opening top is nice, in addition to the sound it makes when the water is boiled.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Shelley

ShelleyNew Zealand

  • 2 reviews

Best of the Best

published

This kettle is quick boiling, stunningly stylish, easy to clean and fill, out performs my previous Dualit Kettles by miles. I would never go back to any other brand. The cord was way too long so an electrician shortened it so that it can sit by the dedicated power point and can't be moved near sink and running water.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Lili Gunawan

Lili Gunawan

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Worth the money spent

published

My first Breville Moda kettle has served us well for 8.5 years.
Replaced by Electrolux Expresionist kettle which looks great but not performing at all after 1 year and 1 month.
After 1 day without kettle, we were at a loss and came across this pretty looking kettle.
Design wise it is on par with Kitchen Aid, etc.
And am sure based on previous Breville performance wont let us down.
We have no problem with the noise (during or after the boiling).
It boils water fast and auto shut off is working perfectly.
Highly recommended if you are after top of the range kettle with high performance record.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Dani

Dani

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice looking, annoying tinging sound.

published

Love the look and the quality of this kettle. It is quiet and boils fast but there are a couple of really annoying things about it that make me want to return it and try another brand. Firstly, it's almost impossible to see the water level and because the kettle is quite solid and heavy it feels like there is a decent amount in there when you lift it but often there is not. The other thing is that it tings and tinkles whenever you move it not just when it is finished boiling. I'm not sure if they all do this or if this is a fault in ours but I see others have mentioned it too.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Trishat2

Trishat2

  • 5 reviews

Expensive with a few things that need improvement

published

I was skeptical about the handle at first but have found it good as it rests again the pad of my hand and deflects the weight. But, I find it annoying that when I have to refill it just after I've used it, I need to support it at the spout which can be very hot. And the biggest fault is that it is impossible to see how high the kettle has been filled. The glass panels don't show clearly where the water is up to.... I would not buy one again - too dear for nothing great

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Scotty the AJ

Scotty the AJAU

  • 20 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Verified purchase

You can boil water in style!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Davey

DaveyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Solid, looks good and quiet (so far)

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 54 reviews

Quiet as and very stylish to boot

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

2017april

2017aprilEarth

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

The Quietest Kettle in Australia.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Questions & Answers

Lorraine

Lorraineasked

I recently purchased a Breville BKE735 however it is not switching off unless i do it manually. This is causing enormous steam to my brand new kitchen cuoboards overhead which is concerning me as i dont want any damage to occur to the kitchen cupboards as they cost me an arm and a leg so to speak. Also i cannot read the water level at all.

2 answers
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hello Lorraine, This is definitely something we want to assist with and not at all how we would expect our kettle to function. Please contact us directly at askus@breville.com.au.

Lorraine
Lorraine

It is ok - i have taken the kettle back to Harvey Norman where i purchased it and they gave me a new one. So far so good. Regards


ninja t

ninja tasked

Hi does this jug have a light in it? thanks.

1 answer
Dani
Dani

No light inside unfortunately as that would help with the problem of difficulty seeing the water level. There's a small circular ring that lights up around the on/off switch.


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.