??!
2 photos
Breville The Bit More Plus

Breville The Bit More Plus

BTA440 (4 Slice), BTA435 (2 Slice)
2.9 from 27 reviews

Reviews

2.9

27 reviews
5
(3)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (11)
  • Even Toasting Yes (4) · No (5)
Previous
Next
Tom

TomMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Burnt edges, uncooked middle

published

This toaster consistently burns the edges whilst the centre remains uncooked. Lift and look feature great, but fails the basic test of toasting bread evenly. Definitely not worth the price.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
PatRob123

PatRob123South East Queensland, QLD

Seemed ok while it worked, but lifespan not good.

published

Seemed ok while we had it, but stopped working (wont stay down) after about 18 months. Would expect more life span on a toaster so we don't have to contribute to land fill so often!

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$65.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Get a different toaster!!

published

This toaster consistently either burns the toast on one side or underdoes it on the other, regardless of the setting.It's impossible to get even-sided toasting with any sort of bread. At $60 or whatever, it's a complete waste of money. Our last ($15 K Mart) toaster was far superior. Our other Breville products are excellent, so I don't know how they can be selling this dud. Ours is now in the bin.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hifi Home for A$60.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville The Bit More Plus compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Had high expectations- let down

published

Had high expectations due to function of a little bit more - unfortunately it constantly burnt edges of toast regularly- I’ve never know our smoke alarm to go off more in 15 years - can not cook crumpets- & now has stopped working after 9mths - (won’t stay down) - our last toaster Avanti lasted nearly 14 years

Purchased in April 2019 at Target Australia for A$59.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Slide out crumb tray only catches 50% of crumbs

published

Had the toaster for 9 months. I am happy with its performance in toasting however the slide out crumb tray is next to useless. If you lift the toaster after toasting there are crumbs underneath.

Purchased in April 2019 at Target Australia for A$59.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
phoenixd

phoenixdMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 98 reviews
  • 2 likes

As good as it gets

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Myer for A$44.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
ak47wong

ak47wongAU

  • 10 reviews

Okay, not great

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Big W.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Ken

KenRobinvale

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

thought it would be easy to make a good toaster

published

Had the toaster for 13 months then one morning just wouldn't work, it did a good job for the 13 months while it did work. Then went and brought a Kambrook KTA140 4 slice toaster it cooks one side of the toast great and the other side not a sign of brown, didn't think it would be so hard to toast bread in our modern world. Shame can't try toasting before buying!

Purchased in May 2018 at Leading Edge for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Mee2

Mee2

  • 16 reviews

Good Toaster, but could do with a better crumb tray

published

I have had this Breville toaster for about five and a half months now. The best feature on this has to be the "little bit more"function. This is a life (bread) saver. One thing I have noticed is if you put in the first lot of toast at set at say level 3, the toast comes out light brown. If I then put in four more straight after on the same setting the bread will almost burn. Need to turn it down if you have a large family.
It seems fairly well made except the pop-up is fast and loud I have a conniption every morning. The crumb tray is far to small and you always have crumbs under the toaster. Other than that, I quite like it.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville The Bit More Plus compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JulesFP

JulesFPBrisbane

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disappointed in this toaster

published

My experience with this toaster isn't good. It only browns the toast on one side so I have to turn it over and do the other side. Also, often the bread doesn't pop up, it justs goes up halfway and stays there until I raise the bar to bring it up. First world problems but not what I was expecting from a good brand.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for A$42.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Bcat

BcatSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good features, but toasts unevenly

published

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Happy customers

Happy customersberwick melbourne

  • 13 reviews

very pleased

published

We bought the Breville 4 slice toaster (the Bit More Plus model) just recently and have found it to be most effective. So far, we have toasted Hot Cross Buns, Frozen Fruit bread and sour dough bread - all of which proved to be perfectly browned. The settings are easy to manage and the wide slots are the main reason why we bought the unit. An excellent product!

Date PurchasedJan 2019
starz84

starz84Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

12 months.... broken

published

Don't bother with this one. The snazzy buttons and cool features aren't even worth it. Sometimes you just want evenly toasted bread but this toaster always burnt certain sections of the toast. Eventually one whole side stopped heating completely so we ended up just toasting 2 slices of bread at a time. Avoid at all costs.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Shannon S

Shannon SACT, 2604

  • 7 reviews

Great Toaster

published

After moving interstate into a rental we needed a reliable toaster until our belongings are moved later in the year. I have had Breville in the past and been disappointed with the browning. However this toaster was on special and decided I would just go with it, it has not disappointed, in fact it is the best toaster I have had by far.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
USB

USBBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Disappointed

published

Less than 1 year and it is already broken. Yes, it’s 12 month replacement warranty but I can’t be bothered to take it back to Myer. I was a fan of Breville. Most of my kitchen appliances are Breville but lately I noticed that the quality has gone down. So I won’t get Breville anymore. Just get a cheap one.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Toasters

Find out how Breville The Bit More Plus compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michelle

MichelleSydney

Disappointed

published

Had a previous Breville 4 slice toaster, so when it gave up, I bought the Bit More Plus 4 slice toaster. We mainly toast frozen bread, so thought the 'Frozen' feature would be great. It burns the edges, doesn't cook the middle and the bottom is so undercooked it is actually soggy! Plan to return it this week. Won't be buying another Breville toaster.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Garry F

Garry FSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Get the perfect toast every time

published

I have been using this toaster for a few days now and I am happy with the additional features this toaster has. If your toast is still white you can get an extra 30 seconds of time with a press of a button, rather than having to hover around the toaster monitoring your bread. The slots are also quite large which allows breads of different sizes and thickness to fit in. Another feature is a button for frozen (single press) and fruit bread with a (double press) of the button this saves you time having to adjust the settings. Overall a great branded toaster worth considering if you’re interested in the features.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Rochelle

RochelleSouth Bunbury

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very Unimpressed

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Should be recalled

published

Absolutely terrible, it never cooks the bread the same, it either under cooks or burns, the bit more button just puts it on for another entire cooking cycle and it nearly caught on fire. Might as well use the grill as you have to constantly keep checking whether it's cooked or burnt.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Ail

AilArmidale

  • 6 reviews
  • 23 likes

Good even toasting on all sides of bread

published

Hated my old expensive toaster's uneven toasting so bought the Breville the Bit More Plus BTA435 from Harvey Norman. After adjusting the cooking dial to 5 for wholemeal bread I found it an inexpensive gem. Although slower than my previous toaster it is easy to use and delivers good even toast without drying out the bread. Easy breadcrumb dispenser as well.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Miraculix

Miraculixasked

The Bit More Plus BTA435 (2 Slice)

We just bought this toaster for the fact that other kitchen appiances are of the same brand and function properly. Howeever, this toaster doesn't seem to brown evenly, specifically, the center elements hardly heat up to get an evenly browned slice of toast. As per some of the above reviews, this seems to be a common issue with this toaster. Any recommendations?

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Yes. Contact the company

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.