?
? !

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (33)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (33)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (33)
  • Night Vision
    2.8 (25)
  • Motion Detection
    2.7 (25)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.1 (26)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    2.5 (29)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Sadman

SadmanCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

16 months perfect

published

Had system installed has worked faultlessly all this time only problem has been when wifi failed not security fault was modem fault I can monitor my cams from 600 km away and get notices when movement is detected, sun and clouds are a problem as it thinks this is a movement and also cars passing at night picks up headlights passing lighting front of house windy days also shadows move and it records I was wanting another system but I see its no longer available

Purchased in January 2020 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
brian

brianSouth East Queensland, QLD

warranty nightmare

published

enjoy the first few months of using this ,but god help you if you need to make a warranty claim ,they dont trust you and make you jump through hoops till they beat you down and just throw it away ,dont bother

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Rubbish Dont Waste Money

published

rubish product, acts like a dumy , battery goes away in a week, by the time camera will activate damage would have already happend, warranty calim terrible, Dont waste money for it.

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Surveillance Systems

Find out how ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras compares to other Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Innes

InnesSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

If only it worked like the app claims

published

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $99.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
WarrenH

WarrenHSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hard work but excellent value.

published

This is the second Cocoon indoor WiFi camera for me. Both have been difficult to connect and program to Google home. Cheap and good once set up. Clear video both night and day. Does not play up much with power outages etc.

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Waz

WazSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Dysfunctional

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Crp

Crp

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

No sd card slot found

published

Purchased smart pan tilt camera yesterday, 17 Oct 2020. Works well, but tracking is hit and miss, and sometimes signal is delayed. I cannot find the advertised micro sd card slot anywhere on the unit. Have requested advice from customer support.

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

No SD card slot on the camera device located

published

Bought 2 cameras Tilt & Pan at Aldi on Saturday 17-10-2020. Installed them, bought micro card later and found no slot to insert the card. Package & instruction point out that you can insert a card up to 128GB of memory for recording. Quality control lacking, waiting to hear back from Cocoon to explain. Rating 1 star until issue resolved.
Okay - New update on this review : Memory card slot has been located thanks to a User on this Forum and also an email from Cocoon customer help service. Card slot is situated under the camera eyeball socket by rolling it upwards.
I found that the bottom mounting plate that comes with the camera sits very loose on the camera - camera wobbles, not sure why the plate does not lock/clamp in more firmly !

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amanda

AmandaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

4 camera security system has been a loss of money

published

Purchased in March 2018 at ALDI for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Surveillance Systems

Find out how ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras compares to other Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

it works ok

published

the 2 cameras i bought at aldi worked ok until the app for i phone disappeared and i bought a new iphone so now i am missing two security cameras please send me the iphone app to control them

Purchased in January 2015 for $90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Chews thru batteries & night vision a bit iffy

published

Going thru too many AA batteries so plugged in USB cable & since then no real issues. Not ideal solution because now I have to run power to it but workable

Purchased in July 2018 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vik_Dogra

Vik_DograSydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 21 likes

Total rip off

published

I bought two of these cameras $100 each from Aldi about three weeks ago. And it was easy setup and installation was pretty easy. But when they get operational they consume battery like crazy.each camera needs 4xAA batteries and so total. I needed were 8. I have used 3set of them by now. 24xbatteries. With this speed, I'm going to spend more on batteries than $200 I spent cameras on a short while.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephen Hinder

Stephen HinderMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 36 reviews
  • 26 likes

Total rubbish, no real support

published

Purchased in December 2018 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Surprised especially because of the bad reviews...

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Graeme L

Graeme LSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Would not connect. Don't buy

published

Bought one of these at ALDI yesterday and returned it today. The enclosed two sets of instructions were different and still did not reflect the image on the APP. Dpwnloaded the APP fine but when scanning the barcode to link the camera it would not be recognised by the wifi. Tried two modern mobile phones and a good tablet and none worked. Even got my tech savvy son to try it and he had no success either.
I have an internal wireless camera from QSee and it works fine on my mobile.
Just confirmed what I always thought, in that ALDI stuff is crap. Looks a really nice and compact camera so I was disappointed.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for $99.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Surveillance Systems

Find out how ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras compares to other Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great visual quality in daytime. Night vision ok too but clearly not as defined as day.

published

Just bought this and have to say it works quite well viewing from an iPhone or iPad away on location. Motion detection works but has a lag. This might be fine as once there is a detection alert you simply view the live footage to ascertain what is going on.

Running on 4 AA batteries needs strong alkaline ones as having kids, they just love to view themselves outside on the iPad, thus draining battery life for no reason.

Apart from that, they’re easy to install and check coverage while installing as you view the footage on your phone to get the right angle.

For $99 it’s a great buy. 2 way talk communication and clarity is good.

If it lasts a year, I’ll be happy.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worked fine till I updated my phone then wanted proof of purchase to switch it

published

Worked fine till I updated my phone then wanted proof of purchase to switch it to my new phone owned it for over a year.
I now own a $100 paperweight

Purchased in March 2018 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lakshan

Lakshan

  • 2 reviews

worse DVR system ever

published

stopped working after a year and when contacted support they didn't help at all but made lot of excuses. Faulty DVR system and very poor support. I do not recommend

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
shredder2

shredder2Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Early days. Fair so far

published

In use 2 months, just 1 camera so far. I prefer cabled cameras, wifi supposedly insecure. Maybe I'll keep other 3 cameras as spares! Not using any app so far. Night motion detection poor, triggered by rain, bugs and car headlight splash. IR illumination too spotlight, should be wider. Day motion triggered by trees, tree shadows, magpies. "You only get what you pay for", sometimes yes, sometimes no. Even so, for the price, I have at least a surveillance. Hope it keeps working.

Purchased in June 2019 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
shredder2
shredder2

PS setup was half from their (brief) manual, and half from suck-it-see work it out yourself, assuming you're reasonably tech savvy.

shredder2
shredder2

All four cameras been in use for a while, working ok. Motion detection very limited, triggers too much, even when traffic passes through disabled viewing area. UI a bit annoying.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Run a mile!!

published

I wish I could give it a minus score. Paid to have it set up: worked on phones for two days and then zilch. We were overseas, which is why we bought it, for holiday and couldn't get it once. Came back but couldn't get the electrician back and followed the 'advice' of the Cocoon people. Turned off, rebooted. Worked for an hour or two and then zilch again. Works on the t.v. but we wanted it to work on our phones and tablet for when weren't at home! DO NOT BUY!!!

Purchased at ALDI for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Rodney A.

Rodney A.asked

Cocoon Security Cameras

set up on computer

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

What??

Andrew S.

Andrew S.asked

Cocoon Security Cameras

Are they wireless

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Which one?

Haych

Haychasked

Cocoon Security Cameras

My cameras aren’t recording any footage and the there is no light next to HDD on the box. I tried plugging in a USB but still no luck. Any suggestions?

HE180040 Model.

When I try to play back it says ‘no data’.

Cheers

No answers
See all ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras

Details

Compare all 8 ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras
CategorySurveillance SystemsSurveillance SystemsSurveillance Systems and Wired Surveillance SystemsSurveillance Systems and Wireless Surveillance Systems
Price (RRP) $279.00$199.00$59.99$99.99
FeaturesLive Viewing, Motion Detection and Night VisionMotion DetectionMotion DetectionMotion Detection, Night Vision and Two-way Audio
Memory Size1,024 GB500 GB
Special Buy Dates
  • 5 Mar 2016
  • 8 Mar 2017
  • 14 Feb 2018
  • 16 Feb 2019
  • 15 Feb 2020
  • 24 Apr 2021
  • 19 Apr 2014
  • 28 Feb 2015
  • 12 Dec 2015
  • 10 Dec 2016
  • 9 Dec 2017
  • 8 Dec 2018
  • 30 Oct 2019
  • 30 Oct 2019
  • 18 Jul 2020
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateMar 2016Apr 2014Oct 2019Oct 2019
Discontinuation dateApr 2021Dec 2018Nov 2019July 2020
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 8 ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.