??!

Reviews

2.4

47 reviews
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (30)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (30)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (30)
  • Night Vision
    2.7 (21)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    2.5 (25)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.2 (22)
  • Motion Detection
    2.8 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
WarrenH

WarrenHSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hard work but excellent value.

published

This is the second Cocoon indoor WiFi camera for me. Both have been difficult to connect and program to Google home. Cheap and good once set up. Clear video both night and day. Does not play up much with power outages etc.

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Waz

WazSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Dysfunctional

published

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Crp

Crp

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

No sd card slot found

published

Purchased smart pan tilt camera yesterday, 17 Oct 2020. Works well, but tracking is hit and miss, and sometimes signal is delayed. I cannot find the advertised micro sd card slot anywhere on the unit. Have requested advice from customer support.

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Surveillance Systems

Find out how ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras compares to other Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No SD card slot on the camera device located

published

Bought 2 cameras Tilt & Pan at Aldi on Saturday 17-10-2020. Installed them, bought micro card later and found no slot to insert the card. Package & instruction point out that you can insert a card up to 128GB of memory for recording. Quality control lacking, waiting to hear back from Cocoon to explain. Rating 1 star until issue resolved.
Okay - New update on this review : Memory card slot has been located thanks to a User on this Forum and also an email from Cocoon customer help service. Card slot is situated under the camera eyeball socket by rolling it upwards.
I found that the bottom mounting plate that comes with the camera sits very loose on the camera - camera wobbles, not sure why the plate does not lock/clamp in more firmly !

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Amanda

AmandaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

4 camera security system has been a loss of money

published

Purchased in March 2018 at ALDI for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

it works ok

published

the 2 cameras i bought at aldi worked ok until the app for i phone disappeared and i bought a new iphone so now i am missing two security cameras please send me the iphone app to control them

Purchased in January 2015 for A$90.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Chews thru batteries & night vision a bit iffy

published

Going thru too many AA batteries so plugged in USB cable & since then no real issues. Not ideal solution because now I have to run power to it but workable

Purchased in July 2018 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Vik_Dogra

Vik_DograSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 21 likes

Total rip off

published

I bought two of these cameras $100 each from Aldi about three weeks ago. And it was easy setup and installation was pretty easy. But when they get operational they consume battery like crazy.each camera needs 4xAA batteries and so total. I needed were 8. I have used 3set of them by now. 24xbatteries. With this speed, I'm going to spend more on batteries than $200 I spent cameras on a short while.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Stephen Hinder

Stephen HinderMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 29 reviews
  • 27 likes

Total rubbish, no real support

published

Purchased in December 2018 at ALDI for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Surveillance Systems

Find out how ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras compares to other Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Surprised especially because of the bad reviews...

published

Purchased in February 2020 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Graeme L

Graeme LSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Would not connect. Don't buy

published

Bought one of these at ALDI yesterday and returned it today. The enclosed two sets of instructions were different and still did not reflect the image on the APP. Dpwnloaded the APP fine but when scanning the barcode to link the camera it would not be recognised by the wifi. Tried two modern mobile phones and a good tablet and none worked. Even got my tech savvy son to try it and he had no success either.
I have an internal wireless camera from QSee and it works fine on my mobile.
Just confirmed what I always thought, in that ALDI stuff is crap. Looks a really nice and compact camera so I was disappointed.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for A$99.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Great visual quality in daytime. Night vision ok too but clearly not as defined as day.

published

Just bought this and have to say it works quite well viewing from an iPhone or iPad away on location. Motion detection works but has a lag. This might be fine as once there is a detection alert you simply view the live footage to ascertain what is going on.

Running on 4 AA batteries needs strong alkaline ones as having kids, they just love to view themselves outside on the iPad, thus draining battery life for no reason.

Apart from that, they’re easy to install and check coverage while installing as you view the footage on your phone to get the right angle.

For $99 it’s a great buy. 2 way talk communication and clarity is good.

If it lasts a year, I’ll be happy.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers

Worked fine till I updated my phone then wanted proof of purchase to switch it

published

Worked fine till I updated my phone then wanted proof of purchase to switch it to my new phone owned it for over a year.
I now own a $100 paperweight

Purchased in March 2018 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Lakshan

Lakshan

  • 2 reviews

worse DVR system ever

published

stopped working after a year and when contacted support they didn't help at all but made lot of excuses. Faulty DVR system and very poor support. I do not recommend

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
shredder2

shredder2Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 6 likes

Early days. Fair so far

published

In use 2 months, just 1 camera so far. I prefer cabled cameras, wifi supposedly insecure. Maybe I'll keep other 3 cameras as spares! Not using any app so far. Night motion detection poor, triggered by rain, bugs and car headlight splash. IR illumination too spotlight, should be wider. Day motion triggered by trees, tree shadows, magpies. "You only get what you pay for", sometimes yes, sometimes no. Even so, for the price, I have at least a surveillance. Hope it keeps working.

Purchased in June 2019 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
2 comments
shredder2
shredder2

PS setup was half from their (brief) manual, and half from suck-it-see work it out yourself, assuming you're reasonably tech savvy.

shredder2
shredder2

All four cameras been in use for a while, working ok. Motion detection very limited, triggers too much, even when traffic passes through disabled viewing area. UI a bit annoying.

Surveillance Systems

Find out how ALDI Cocoon Security Cameras compares to other Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Run a mile!!

published

I wish I could give it a minus score. Paid to have it set up: worked on phones for two days and then zilch. We were overseas, which is why we bought it, for holiday and couldn't get it once. Came back but couldn't get the electrician back and followed the 'advice' of the Cocoon people. Turned off, rebooted. Worked for an hour or two and then zilch again. Works on the t.v. but we wanted it to work on our phones and tablet for when weren't at home! DO NOT BUY!!!

Purchased at ALDI for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
paul m.

paul m.South East Queensland, QLD

Not wireless 18 m cables to run through your house.

published

the system is not wireless . You have to run wires all over your house didn't say that on the box or on the advertising . I wanted an easy to set up system ,this looked good but the advertising never showed the cables.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
See all answers
Peter Tang

Peter TangGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Company is fraud

published

Changed the camera settings from D1 to 960H and the system now reboots itself after 5 minutes. You cannot access the menu to revert the settings or reset the device.

Contacted support and they advised plugging the DVR into another TV. Otherwise if you cannot access the menu then there is no way to reset the DVR as the settings are stored in memory.

Purchased at ALDI.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Works fine if you take time to review the parameters

published

i have 2 systems and initially was disappointed with the video quality over the phone app until i realised that there is a setting which allows the quality (and file size) of the image being transmitted to your phone. For some reason, the default is the worst quality image. After changing this, the phone image is good. The cameras are also fully conforming to industry standard - meaning you could buy a high quality 1080p night camera and interchange it on the primary station and it will work with the Cocoon.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
hilal dawood

hilal dawoodSydney, NSW

worst security system in the world

published

i made the passwords for the mobile app and the pc admin... after a month the passwords gone.... no resets... even i called the customers services they dont know how to resets the passwords...
wat the product is this

Purchased in April 2019 at ALDI for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Muwafaq S.

Muwafaq S.asked

Cocoon Security Cameras

Password for d v r?

No answers
DeeBee

DeeBeeasked

Cocoon Security Cameras

Hi dumb question but does the camera need to be attached to USB power all the time or is it rechargeable? ? If so how many hours will I get ?

No answers
Saba puvi

Saba puviasked

Smart Wireless Camera (Oct 2020)

What type SD card and 64gb fits

1 answer
Udo B.
Udo B.

Hi
Micro SD Card, 16 , 64 or 128mb should wok - I have 16GB installed.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.