??!
1 photo
Coles Organic Fairtrade Gold Freeze Dried

Coles Organic Fairtrade Gold Freeze Dried

4.7 from 31 reviews

See the Best Instant Coffees in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
23
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

jes j.

jes j.Sydney, NSW

Quietly dropped "Arabica" from their label

published

It's a very good compromise on price, given everyone else has also dropped off using Arabica beans (including Coles Fairtrade).
Taste is not as nutty as it used to be.
Our conscience is at least calmed over the Fairtrade accreditation, that farmers & pickers are not exploited to the degree of non-Fairtrade products.

Purchased in November 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for $4.00.


Doc

DocCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not quite the old Moccona No. 5, but close

published

I now almost always use the Coles Organic Fairtrade, but I still have a couple of jars of the old Moccona No. 5 stashed away and from time to time I make a cup for old time's sake. The original No. 5 is better, but there isn't much in it. Hence I won't be toooooo upset when my last jar of No. 5 original runs out!

Purchased in November 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for $4.00.

Michael

MichaelLeongatha

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent and doesn't hurt the wallet

published

Have been on the search for a new everyday coffee since Nescafe and Moccona's apparent brain implosions. Had read good reviews about this product and was certainly not disappointed. Great taste and is also a
cheap option.

Purchased in October 2019 at Coles for $4.00.

Mel

MelGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

One of the only instant coffees that is decent

published

If you are disappointed in the revamp of Moccona, this is your go-to. It is inexpensive but don't let that put you off. The quality is very good.

Coles, whatever you are doing, wherever you are sourcing this, please don't change.

Just a warning: when you go looking for this, it can be hard to find. It is very popular and word is spreading. Pick yourself up a couple of jars at a time (only $4.00) and save yourself the stress.

Purchased at Coles for $4.00.


Lyndal Y.

Lyndal Y.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very smooth and creamy

published

After Moccona went cheap on their classic number 5, I was forced to find a new instant coffee. Coles Organic Freeze Dried came recommended by another disgruntled Moccona drinker. I've been drinking it for 12 months now and have no plans of switching. It's a lovely-tasting coffee. I look forward to it each morning.

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles for $4.00.


Peter

Peter

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Not only a cheap home brand but the best tasting and best quality

published

I recently wrote a review about how awful Nescafe Gold was. Then I saw a choice article about how this home brand coffee was rated the best. Not only does this coffee use the more delcious arabica bean for 100% of the coffee, it is organic, fair trade AND freeze dried - all markers you would think would bump the price over the top yet the price is among the lowest.

The taste is delicious. Save your money and forget the rest.

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for $4.00.


Esmay

Esmay

  • 5 reviews

Fantastic and better than Moccona

published

We switched to this coffee after they changed the horrible Moccona no. 5. This coffee is fantastic and very reasonably priced. Love the flavour. Wish it came in a larger size.

Purchased in August 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for $4.00.


Chrispy

ChrispySouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

The best!

published

Like a lot of others, we have moved away from Moccona No. 5.
This is a great coffee and at a great price, we love the taste.
Just wish it came in bigger jars, and a bit easier to find on the Coles shelves!

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles, Drysdale VIC 3222 for $4.00.

Padon

PadonMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

An end to the gnashing of teeth

published

Reiterating what others have already said: this is a genuinely excellent replacement for the old Moccona No 5 (and, needless to say, light years ahead of the disastrous new version of that product). Just like the old Moccona No 5, the Coles Fairtrade Organic blend achieves just the right balance between a full flavour and a smooth, non-acrid taste. There is no need to expend energy trying to convince Douwe Egberts to change Moccona No 5 back to what it was. At risk of sounding hyperbolic, Moccona is dead to me. This has the taste of the old Moccona No 5 and has a cheaper everyday price.

Purchased in February 2019 at Coles for $4.00.

J.P

J.PGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best instant.

published

Apparently organic and has plenty of taste. For $4 it’s a winner. I mix it with Natures Cuppa Rich Roast and it’s even better.


MsJ

MsJSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 14 likes

Terrific replacement for the hideous new version of Moccona Classic Medium Roast no. 5

published

Very happy to have been put on to this Coles Organic Fairtrade Gold Freeze Dried coffee. It tastes like the original Moccona no.5 that I drank for years but it's less expensive, organic and also fairtrade. Win, win, win, win. Yay!


Chookadook

Chookadooknoyb

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

The best coffee ive ever tasted

published

I bought this yesterday, sceptical about how it would taste and im shocked, this is the best coffee ive ever tasted, not bitter and smoother than moccona.


DarrenG

DarrenGLaunceston

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great coffee, has replaced Maccona No.5 as my fave coffee

published

After Maccona ruined their No.5 coffee by apparently making it better (so bitter and horrible after taste), I had to find a replacement to kick-start my day (as well as keep me going throughout the day, I am a 10 coffee a day person). Looking at online recommendations I found Coles Organic Fairtrade Gold Free Dried coffee. After trying it, I can confirm it does taste very similar to the original Maccona No.5. No bitterness whatsoever. I love this coffee and at only $4 for a 100gm jar, it is so cheap. Will never return to Maccona, even if they do change the flavour back to the original.


Jamie

JamieSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Life Saver!

published

This is the closest thing to the original moccona that now tastes terrible. This coles brand coffee is so good I can now make this my new coffee I can use 3 times a day. Tastes smooth and like a proper coffee. Does not taste like the other bad instant coffees. Tastes better than some cafe coffees no exaggeration. Thank you.

Hellokitty9

Hellokitty9Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Thank you Coles!

published

I had Moconna for 20 years. I never liked Nescafe. I am very fussy in coffees. I had this coffee for quite sometime now. Thanks Coles. Don't ever change!

JJ Smith

JJ SmithPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Better than the New Moccona Blend

published

Tried this as an alternative to Moccona as didn’t like the New Blend and it’s GREAT !! Smooth taste and affordable price. Well worth a try.


Myrtle T

Myrtle TMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Big fan of this beautiful and superior blend!!

published

I had changed to drinking this coffee due to it's affordability only to find that it's flavour and aroma are superior to the more expensive brands of moccona and nescafe. After a long, satisfying time of consuming Coles Fairtrade Organic Coffee, I purchased both Moccona and Nescafe as what I thought would be a treat only to be 'bitterly' disappointed by their new offensive flavours. I now drink only this lovely Coles Fairtrade Gold coffee it is the best tasting instant EVER!


Di A

Di A

  • 3 reviews
  • 13 likes

Coles fair trade organic coffee is so enjoyable

published

After Moccona destroyed the Classic 5 Coffee taste, have been using Coles Fair Trade Organic Coffee for weeks now and it's fantastic. No need to try any other brands as this tastes so good.


Rochey

RocheyPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Substitute for moccona!

published

After seeing the good reviews about Coles coffee, I thought I should try it. Pretty good! Taste fairly similar to old moccona so recommend to anyone looking for a replacement. It's cheap and fair trade also. We both enjoy it. It's here to stay in our house


Brent

BrentVictoria, 3752

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

It’s alright. Not as good as the old Maccona but 1000 times better than the new Maccona

published

Some people were suggesting to try this coffee as a replacement for the absolutely horrid new recipe of the Maccona Classic #5, and it was surprisingly good. Like i said not as good as the old Maccona but it’s alright and it’ll do for now. Id recommend trying it at least.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Craig C.

Craig C.asked

how much caffeine is contained in this coffee?

1 answer
J.P
J.P

Not sure. One big spoon I can notice, two you’d get a buzz.


CoffeeDrinker

CoffeeDrinkerasked

What is the intensity of this coffee?

1 answer
MsJ
MsJ

In my opinion it’s the same intensity or strength as the old Moccona “5”, I consider it a mild intensity coffee.


noodle

noodleasked

Have they changed the package, it's no longer called 'gold'??

1 answer
Hellokitty9
Hellokitty9

You are so right. I bought a few times and just noticed after you reminded me. Not Gold. That's right.


Get an answer from our members and Coles representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.