??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Diamond Awards

Commonwealth Bank Diamond Awards

3.6 from 40 reviews

See the Best Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • Earn 1.25 Awards Points per $1

  • International Travel Insurance included

  • Cashback offers with Mastercard Travelers Rewards

Cons

  • $349 Annual Fee

  • 3% International Transaction Fee

  • Minimum Credit Limit of $15,000

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
10
3 star
12
2 star
4
1 star
3

Valkyrie

ValkyrieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Probably one of the worst top level credit card to own

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2005
Main Point of ContactBranch
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Easy Access Travel Insurance is a bonus.

published

The main benefit I find is the travel insurance as I travel frequently and it is one less thing to have to worry about arranging. I use multiple cards though as this one charges international transaction fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2012
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers
skyblue

skyblueSydney

  • 5 reviews

Okay but not great

published

This credit card used to be very good when it came to earning points, but since they discontinued the Amex card, the earning rate has dropped dramatically and they cancelled zero international fees. Free international travel insurance is still available for customers. Points needed to redeem re Awards program seems to be increasing. I will be shopping around to see if there are other credit cards on offer with better deals.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers
Justonereview

JustonereviewGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Reward points can be better

published

I got the card as part of the wealth home loan package. There were 2 cards, an AMEX and the MasterCard. The AMEX was good cause the reward points were higher than MasterCard. Then they took the AMEX away and lower the reward points so I used it less now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

Pretty good but poor point rewards

published

The card has great travel insurance included. Points system is not very rewarding. The international fees are also high. I only have it because its free with my home loan.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Best credit card

published

So many promotions to get extra points, free overseas insurance for whole family. Good exchange rate and low fee to use in overseas. Easy to maintain through internet banking. Strongly recommended.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Chris

ChrisPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified customer

My card of choice

published

I have found that the best benefit of this card is the travel insurance feature. Unline other premier cards you don't need to purchase your travel (flights/accom) on this card to activate the travel insurance. Just log into Commbank, tell them where, when and who is going and activate it on a trip by trip basis!
The rewards return is reasonable for this class of card (~0.5 points per $1 spend) and can be converted to Qantas or Virgin points or can be redeemed on a range of items through the CBA rewards program i.e. at Flight Centre or Myers to name a couple.
With CBA now offering Apple Pay support, I keep this one in my digital wallet, making it very handy to access.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

thomalfa

thomalfaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

One of the card that i want to get rid but i can't

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2010
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dan

DanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

My card for my needs

published

I've had this card for 5 years since it comes free with the CBA home loan wealth package
It comes with free travel insurance (no longer needs to be activated - automatic cover)
However since AMEX has been removed (2 points per $ spend) it's been much harder to earn points. Since this change, we've just used the debit card for convenience since it comes with the wealth package too (no points earned)
Definitely worth using if you're already on the wealth package and a frequent traveller for the free travel insurance, but wouldn't use it for the points conversion.

Nirmal P.

Nirmal P.Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

low annual fees then other cards

published

I have this credit card over 8 years, but good part is I'm still paying $
199 annual fees which is now $349.
Getting lots of points and benefits.
love this card,will keep it forever.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Samuel

SamuelHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews

Great when paired with Wealth Package.

published

This card is great when paired with a Wealth Package (Attached to your Home Loan).
The wealth package forfeits the annual fee for this credit card, making it free while giving the user all of its benefits.
Decent awards and free travel insurance.
The only downside I have found is International Conversion Fee's are no longer free (since CBA removed the complimentary AMEX card which used to be paired with this card for free).

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2014
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Sam J.

Sam J.Perth, WA

Excellent card for free travel insurance but high overseas fees and average rewards point for spending

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Jack H.

Jack H.

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Was once top of its class, now it is at the very bottom

published

Been with CBA for nearly 6 years, banking, credit card and home loan with them. I have seen this credit card fall off in comparison with what's out there. It USED to offer amex companion card and no overseas transaction fees on the amex card. Now there is no amex and the rewards rate is the lowest in its class for flights, CBA Awards are not competitive either. If not for my current home loan with them I would probably cancel this card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2014
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

TW

TWGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Overall a good credit card product

published

CBA has the best phone app, so It is very convenient to manage the card on your phone, redeem point is very convenient as well, egift card can be emailed usually within 2 business hours.
Rewards points are not very attractive on normal purchases compared to other banks only 1.25 per dollar spent. however, they have eshops where you can claim multiple points per dollar spent.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Loumick1

Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 13 likes

was much better when it had companion Amex card

published

Was a great card initially, came fee free with my home loan package and points earn great was good particularly with the companion American Express card. I would regularly redeem rewards which was quite easy online.
Over time the Amex was removed. Once my home loan was repaid and it was no longer fee free it just wasn’t value for money any more.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
Max

MaxSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I used to love my credit card but the amex linked card is no longer available to use.

published

This credit card is great value because I can accumulate the points for rewards. Hope I can still use the linked amex credit card but this options is unavailable now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Veer

VeerVictoria

  • 3 reviews

Great credit card but less value for points

published

If you compare the fees and the value for points, the card is not attractive - It offers all features like other credit cards and the same duration. Only advantage is the choice of rewards options available and the ease of transferring points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Feedbackguy

FeedbackguyMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amex portion is gone

published

I used this card (part of a home loan package) regularly when it had an associated Amex but it's just Mastercard now. Rewards points decreased as well so I'm using it a lot less. There is a good security check if a transaction is made on a foreign website.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Andrea

AndreaMelbourne Area

  • 26 reviews
  • 24 likes

GREAT VALUE if you are looking for Free travel insurance and awards points

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Troga

TrogaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great Card

published

The CBA Diamond Mastercard is a great card. CBA have a great rewards program and we can also transfer our points balance to Qantas Frequent Flyer points. The only down side is you get 1 Qantas point for 2 CBA points but it's better then nothing and our last European vacation cost us $1500 less because of the points we had. I am very happy with this card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2014
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Commonwealth Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.