??!
3 photos
Cox LawnBOSS

Cox LawnBOSS

32" (CR9607), 38" (CR9612), CR9604, etc...
3.5 from 22 reviews

See the Best Ride-On Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
3

grey

greyIpswich

  • 5 reviews

I can live without the unreliable cox mower

published

cox mower unreliable , poor quality with no customer service, the cutter deck cracked within the first 2 hours of use , paint peeling off , engine unreliable , all over extremely poor mower

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $3,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

Not a massive fan

published

The lawn mower is fine on flat suburban lawns on a fine day. If however, there is the slightest slope and the grass is wet, the wheels just spin and the mower gets stuck.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
rassaf

rassaf

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Very Good Lawn Mower

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
iinet sucks

iinet sucks

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Just needs more grip

published

Bought this because it is Australian and seemed to have more metal rather than plastic parts. I am happy with it but it has a limitation when it comes to fairly slight inclines - where the tires slip. The agent who sold it suggested that I buy tractor pattern tires - from him for $200 - so I guess I will have to try this...but after $4,400 for the mower I didn't expect to have to pay for anything else. I think that this traction issue is the major problem and if Cox could get it solved they would potentially have the best mid priced mower out there.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Diamond anniversary lawnboss 17.5hp

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

furry

furrySouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Machine

published

Easy to operate. Engine noise levels dictate hearing protection is a must. Only used it a few times and it has been easy to start and easy to control with a decent turning circle. Wheel spin occurs when on a slight incline when pulling plastic cart containing wood. Purchased because it is made in Australia. I hope I don't regret my decision. First ride on mower and I love it..
Had the mower for a few months now and have just fitted a set of mulch blades and side cover. Great as a mulcher as long as revs are increased to cope with the extra load. Always starts first time. Still enjoy mowing lawns. Always a fun ride... I'm still Loving it.!,!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Definitely no complaints at all

published

This mower has done a lot of heavy and light work, pull through with flying colours.
Its now 11 years old , I'm ready to purchase a new COX, made in aussie, never had
an ounce of troubles, I would recommend to anyone, (just so long as its looked after)

Date PurchasedJun 2005

Bullet proof ride on.

published

400+ hrs and not a single problem. Have mowed grass way higher than should have but it just keeps working. Chose honda engine opt that cost $600 extra but thoroughly worth it, starts first time always. Replacement blades bought on ebay a lot cheaper than original parts and last well. Very happy.

Fantastic as always

published

I have a lawnboss and a 1974 Cox Rideon. The lawnboss is 8 years old and is an excellent unit. I have owned MTD's, Huskys, Rovers etc and they don't even come close in quality. Solid Chassis design, fabricated deck, and hand built . Except for a Greenfield, give me a Cox anyday!!!!!

Not happy

Not happy

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Only good to mow golf course or pool table!

published

Absolute rubbish if mowing on any incline or wanting to cut when turning as back wheel breaks traction even on the driest grass. At times this was dangerous and had to get off and stand beside and use the accelerator otherwise couldn't get out of corner facing slightly downhill.


Lawn Boss Cox 13 hp Rubbish BAD engineering

published

Positive - Good heal/toe operation. Economical blades.
Negatives - Hard to change oil without huge mess, fuel tap mounted on tank/breaks, tyres have no grip, blows head gaskets, awkward blade engage lever.
May have been better designed if made in RUSSIA !
I could have bought a cheap ride on to have similar experience.
Avoid any mower with powerbuilt or intek Briggs engines is also my advice.


Rikki

RikkiGlen Waverley

Over 10 years of usage

published

Had the lawn boss for over 10 years now. Initially had problems because the mower repair person I used didn't know what they were doing. He kept telling me I was burning out my starter all the time. 6 years ago, took it to where I bought it and the mower has been great. Tyre grip and punctures is a negative but just keeps going and mows what is in front of it.


shockorc

shockorcballarat

13.5hp lawnboss

published

Have had mower 18months has done a good job,trouble is that the tyres get hard and brittle causing them to roll which breaks the seal on the rims which means they go flat,tubes have to be placed inside,inconvenience when living away from town and have to take wheels off to get tubes put in by tyre company,both extra added costs which I have not endure with greenfields rideon prior to this one.

can't get it to go forward or reverse,have lookedunderwith motor going with my wife operating accelerator,cable does not move ,would something have slipped causing this.Can wheel it freely with motor off.


Allan3551

Allan3551Central Coast

Tuff as nails

published

I have been using my Lawn Boss for about 5 years now and it hasn't stopped once! I have treated it with care but have made it pay for itself by doing things mowers aren't supposed to do and it has not let me down even mowing 2 foot high thick grass.
Reliable, midpriced, easy to use

tonjs

tonjsAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

works well

published

I have had my Cox Lawn Boss for about 4 years,and use it once every couple of weeks.It has performed well over the years.I have a fairly flat 1/2 acre to mow.
I have recently had trouble with the park brake which makes it difficult to start,but once its going it's fine.I have been told the deck will need to get removed to have it fixed.It still starts OK you just need a strong leg to apply the brake so it will start.Overall I am happy with its performance.
reliable,easy to use

MowerMan

MowerManAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my lawnboss

published

The 16.5hp Briggs is Reliable and tuff little machine, turning circle is great got this one as a upgrade from my old cox and can not fault it. Take the front strip off the front of the deck and it ploughs through the toughest of grass.
Solid and built tough for Aussie conditions and grass. Fully welded fabricated deck and swing back blades
Plastic bonnett but other than that nothing

1 comment
Russell Male
Russell Male

Terrible

published
1 comment
MB
MB

If your blades broke within a week, sorry, but you are hitting stuff. Your whole review sounds like mower abuse to me. If your mowing area is very ruff and undulating you might need a small tractor with a slasher and not a ride on mower.


jay94

jay94

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes

OK

published

i would never buy this unit over the red cox with the legendary frictiondrive systerm. these mowers share the same sub frame as all coxes and its fairly good quality-compared to mtd or huskvana to name a few. if i had to chose between the friction-drive systerm and this hydrostatic rubbish i would got frictiondrive anyday! if you have the extra mony then go the intec/ic engine over the powerbuilt engin.
BOTTOM LINE: the drive systerm is no where near as good as that on red coxes, if you have the mony then get the red cox with the honda, or the 17 hp briggs stratton.
fairly robust design
it has a turf torq hydrostatic drive

1 comment
MB
MB

Friction drives are OK when new.....horrible when old, noisy, lots of vibration and expensive to fix. I would take the hydrostatic drive any day, silent and oh so smooth. I have both so feel able to make informed judgement.


Good

published

This Manchine beats any cox with friction drv Friction drv has costly repairs low speed very unreliable, and makes awfull sounds Most poeple dont buy the correct mahine for there application, this is not a slasher machine, this is made for clean cut smooth lawns, not rocks,twiggs and sand. Ive never had a problem with this machine as i ahve purchase the right machine for my application. only down side is it is a bit over priced compared to the John Deere or husky. and its not a erganomic machine more of a square box. all that said i rate this machine 4 outta 5


jwaters

jwatersWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 10 likes

OK

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Chris D

Chris Dasked

I have Cox Ride on mower Model A16517H Hydrostatic Drive and have only had it just under a year and the cover above the blades is going rusty. My husband has passed and I'm wondering what I can do about this as this is my Third Cox Mower and it has never happened before

No answers

Lindsay

Lindsayasked

how to change blade on lawn boss 32 inch. do you have to drop deck?

No answers

Jeremy M.

Jeremy M.asked

how do I get to the spark plug

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Cox representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.