3 photos
D-Link AC2300 DSL-3890

D-Link AC2300 DSL-3890

MPN: DSL-3890
2.1 from 9 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Modems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for D-Link? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

2.1
9 reviews
5
(2)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    2.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (9)
  • Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    1.4 (9)
  • Reliability
    2.3 (7)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    2.4 (7)
Previous
Next

Works as a router, but not a modem

published

I bought this modem/router to replace my Telstra Gen 2 Smart Modem. I could not get it connected to the internet regardless of what I tried. I contacted Dlink and they gave me a standard response (i.e. explained how to do a default setup, which I had already done a number of times). They have not responded to my follow up questions. I have now got it working as a router which means I am still relying on my Telstra modem to provide internet. If I wanted this type of setup I could have saved $100 and bought a router.

Purchased in March 2021 at Officeworks Physical store.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Robin K.
Robin K.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Perfect for NBN, hard to configure though

published

bought to replace belong nbn modem, connect wizard doesnt work, contacted dlink chat support who fixed the issue within a few minutes, range is awesome and no dropouts, well done!

Purchased in December 2020 for $168.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

quicker more reliable than the ISP router

published

Quicker more reliable it might be a bit hard to set up if you don't know what you are doing but once you do you will love it the coverage is amazing it covers the whole house just fine

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Junk x 2

published

Purchased unit but can't log into the internet - it doesn't recognize it 's own password/s
My IT bloke couldn't help. Took it back to Officeworks and got another unit - exact same problem. Refund please.
DO NOT BUY THIS !!!

Purchased in October 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $249.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Modems

Find out how D-Link AC2300 DSL-3890 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nate
NateGold Coast, -Choose a state-
  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified

Garbage, expensive good for nothing but a small boat anchor. Wish I read reviews first.

published

Doesn't connect to my provider after 3 hours of trouble shooting painstakingly through the overseas based technical support thats typical with many isp's with no success. Went back to the store to return it after 3 hours of troubleshooting, Wish I had read these reviews before buying I would have saved the round trip plus the 3 hours of stress. I reconnected a free modem I had which worked immediately.
I don't recommend this product.

Purchased in October 2020 for $249.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Nemo
Nemo
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

I can't connect it to my FTTC nbn. The wizard seems very basic and wont connect to the nbn. Used to work for ADSL.

published

The wizard is very basic and wont connect to the nbn. Used to work for ADSL. The manual is obtuse and there are no youtube guides. Support is vacant. I will not by another D-Link ever again

Purchased in October 2019 for $249.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
TheHBpencil
TheHBpencilSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Won't connect with iinet

published

Disappointed as purchased it to replace the iinet supplied (Technicolor) which can't handle more than 4 devices connected to wifi and it won't connect to iinet. Have to return it after 4 hours with Tech support and a further couple of hours myself trying to troubleshoot it online. It says for NBN on the packaging but its a no. Hopefully I can return it as purchased online otherwise the 4 aerials may allow it to double as a boat anchor albeit probably not heavy enough for that.

Purchased in May 2020 for $189.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Chris
ChrisBrisbane
  • 29 reviews
  • 15 likes

Very dissapointed

published

Returning this tomorrow, multiple wifi devices need to be manually reconnected after a few house of non use. Never had a problem previously. Also, unable to use special characters within the wifi password is an absolute joke. Gives you the idea what sort of 'technology company' d-link is. User interface is very limited and terrible to use, e.g. refreshing the page takes you back to the login page. Brand has massively gone downhill, look elsewhere.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Shaun C.
Shaun C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • Verified

Disappointed

published

Quite disappointed, modem was dead on arrival, powered up but wouldn’t connect, even had NBN co come to site as my ISP thought it was an issue with my connection. Couldn’t get the modem to work, super disappointed.

Purchased for $180.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Modems

Find out how D-Link AC2300 DSL-3890 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $329.95
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,732 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL2+ and VDSL2
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Dimensions 258.8 x 184.1 x 45.5 mm
Weight0.64 kg
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: DSL-3890

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.