1 photo
Davis & Waddell DES0186

Davis & Waddell DES0186

MPN: DES0186
3.9 from 11 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Novelty / Snack Makers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Davis & Waddell? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.9
11 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
ann
annNorthern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

stinks

published

i followed the instructions after making kimchee but now the plastic stinks so much I cant't use it
nor does there seem to be anywhere where i can get a replacement container

Purchased in December 2021.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Oolie
OolieSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Its a great little gadget

published

I liked it so much I got one for my Mum too. I have only used it to make yoghurt (none of the fancy ones though) so far but will give it a go on fermenting when I get a glut of veg in the garden. I love the straining basket and that you get a lit to store your yoghurt covered in the fridge. Its a nice size big enough for yoghurt batches but a goid size to store when not in use.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ada Harley
Ada HarleyPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Grainy yoghurt

published

I have been using the yoghurt maker for 2 months now and have tried different settings and times but the yoghurt still comes out grainy. Any hints anyone as I cannot find a Davis and Waddell help centre online.

Purchased in April 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Souphead
SoupheadGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it.

published

Like most Yogurt makers I ask the question what does it do?
Yes it does make yogurt, but the reality is, it keeps temperature correct, and its a timer, because making yogurt isn't rocket science. So if things are not working out instead of blaming the machine one needs to look at your processes. For me I use long life skimmed milk two teaspoons of low fat milk powder, add the mother at room temp set C7 38c, 12 hours and the more you strain it the thicker it gets whey is surprisingly not to much
and my yogurt is thick and creamy. if you getting low qualities of yogurt look at your processes not the machine .......Love it, set and forget

Purchased in February 2021 for $39.99.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Davis & Waddell DES0186 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
luna7
luna7Sydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

E02 error after only few months of usage

published

I use this for making sauerkraut.
Love that I can adjust temperature and timing.
Hate that error message Is now showing - and I can neither find any info on internet about what problem is nor contact D&W.
That’s a large amount of Organic veggies in the compost! Disappointed at lack of customer support.

Purchased in June 2020 for $50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wendy L
Wendy LTasmania
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

I love how easy this makes yoghurt.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Amazon for $39.95.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SimonPG
SimonPGTasmania
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Works a treat.

published

This suits me perfectly. I can set my own time and temperature (yoghurt at 38C for 12 hours). I have been using it for a few months now without problem. Has a 1.8 litre capacity whereas a lot of others have much less.

Purchased in October 2019 for $54.85.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
Jung
Jung
  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

It is a perfect yoghurt maker

published

I brought this from Amazon,for reasonable price. Was little bit suspicious ,because i have used different braNd before. It has mentioned we can use for fermenting other things as well ,which i havent tried yet. While making yoghurt from cold room temperature milk, for me it was bit runny ,than i tried with boiled milk and culture from store brought yoghurt,it comes perferct everytime.a Natural homemade yoghurt without any additives or extra fat Not too sour. Highly recommend for people with family who use Yoghurt on daily basis.

Purchased in September 2019 at Amazon for $44.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Polla
PollaWheatbelt, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent yoghurt

published

Purchased this machine to try and make yoghurt as it was quite cheap and had some positive reviews. I now use this machine on a weekly basis to make delicious Greek yoghurt. Reliable temperature control and consistent results.

Purchased at Kitchen Warehouse Physical Stores for $40.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Davis & Waddell DES0186 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Annette09
Annette09South East Queensland, QLD
  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Disappointing

published

I’m disappointed in my results for this machine, out of 1.5 litres of milk I ended up with about 200ml of Greek yoghurt. Before I strained it, it was way too liquid. I used Mad Millie starter. I was hoping to make low fat yoghurt but seems low fat milk doesn’t work well. Limited information in the instruction manual. I’ve gone back to buying our yoghurt.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
IronMaiden
IronMaidenBowral
  • 26 reviews
  • 7 likes

Makes Good Yogurt

published

My old Easy Yogurt maker was not suitable for making certain probiotic yogurt that required a lower temperature for incubation. I could not find any review for the Davis & Waddell machine and decided to risk $65. It is similar to the Easy machine in size, but has a number of preset temp settings for various Yogurt's, Kimchi, Sauerkraut and similar fermented dishes, there is also a variable temp setting.
In all it works ok and has produced some good results.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Serge
Sergeasked

Does anyone how tapioca starch,I need with almond milk

1 answer
Serge
Serge

I meant to say " how much tapioca starch I need when using almond milk

Fili
Filiasked

Does one put the cover (white) lid on as well as the clear plastic one? For all the recipes? The manual does not make that clear.

3 answers
tanyamaude
tanyamaude

Yes, use both lids

Fili
Fili

Thanks. I did eventually work that out. Manual was a bit lacking in directions. Thanks to Product Review I managed to scroll along to read about how to use it. :)

Fili
Fili
mel
melasked

Hi just wondering if anyone can help. I have tried my yoghurt maker a few times. And set it at 42 degrees. Each time by the end my yohurt is scolding. Is my yoghurt maker broken?
Is there something I am missing?

1 answer
Terry D.
Terry D.

Best temperature for most beneficial probiotic bacteria is 35-38 not 42. I set temp on setting C5, 37 degrees for 24 hours, not 10 hours. Perfect yogurt every time.

See all Davis & Waddell DES0186 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryNovelty / Snack Makers
Price (RRP) $119.00
Product TypeOther
Dimensions 235 x 155 x 180 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
  • MPN: DES0186

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.