??!
6 photos
Breville Smart Waffle BWM620 / BWM640

Breville Smart Waffle BWM620 / BWM640

BWM640 (4 Slices), BWM620 (2 Slices)
4.4 from 30 reviews

Reviews

(20)
(5)
(2)
(3)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
Jolanta

JolantaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

It's a must if you love waffles!

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Kitchen Warehouse Online Store for $220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
DBO

DBOSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 48 reviews
  • 1 like

I have turned into a waffle monster.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at David Jones for $220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
MissyMoo

MissyMooDarwin

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best waffle maker you can buy

published

Initially purchased on a whim after trialing this at a hotel for buffet breakfast. if you like waffles this is the best maker you can buy with easy cleanup, less spill and more precise measuring of batter with the supplied cup. Allows for extra time for browning which is great if you want to have a pale waffle so you can freeze and re-toast later. Versatile use, rosti turns out perfect.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Smart Waffle BWM620 / BWM640 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jhui

jhuiSydney, Australia

  • 3 reviews

the best waffle at home !

published

i have had this for almost 2 years now and like it very much. It makes great waffles, also It makes the perfect Belgian waffles too . my kids is really love it! we will never eat at another house of waffles again! We get creative and festive with it by adding fruits and whip cream. We haven't perfected it yet but it is still delicious and keeps the money in our pockets .

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Sharon W

Sharon WMelbourne

My search for the perfect waffle machine is over!

published

I've never written a review in my life but these were worth mentioning. The best waffle machine creating crispy exteior and fluffy interior with an all over even colour due to its even heat distribution. Also waffles made with other machines requires them to be further crispened up in the oven, but the waffles made with the Waffle Pro can be eatened straight away, no further crisping required. I was skeptical about their recipes but the belgian waffle recipe was soo good and had a great aroma. Money well spent!

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Disappointed - no variable temperature

published

Based on the great reviews, I bought this. It is much more expensive than other waffle makers and for that money I would expect to be able to vary the temperature at which waffles are cooked. However you can only vary the time. So far all my waffles are coming out either too dark or undercooked. Very disappointed and will go back to my tefal waffle maker having wasted $250.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Libby H

Libby H

  • 2 reviews

We’ve been turned into waffle-adicts!

published

After buying a cheap (under $30) waffle maker that was recommended by a friend (and being bitterly disappointed), the hunt was on for the best waffle make we could find! Although quite expensive, we have not been disappointed with the BWM640, and have experimented with so many flavours - apple/cinnamon/walnut is the current fave! We make double batches and freeze them (just need to thaw slightly before toasting so the middle warms up), and often find the flavour improves on fresh. Being able to set the machine and wait for the beep saves having to keep checking on readiness, especially when cooking for a crowd!
Another breville success for us!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
wuilley

wuilleyAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Issue raised with machine not accepted within warranty period

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Love it

published

After lots of research - I bought this waffle maker and I have to say, it is excellent.
It churns out perfect waffle after perfect waffle.
I'm still experimenting with recipes - but the waffle maker itself is definitely a winner. If you love waffles and you can afford it - this is worth the investment.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Smart Waffle BWM620 / BWM640 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shenjen

ShenjenMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Used 1st time so cant give accurate review

published

Bought from Myer store in Ebay last month but started using today. Heard sparked sound 5x so has it replaced w/o any hassle instore. I have been using Breville BWM520 and has been excellent so decided to change to this model becoz i have read good reviews and this model has sensor cooking!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Shenjen - thanks for your comments and let us know how your waffle maker goes. Thanks, the Breville team

Shenjen
Shenjen

Got the machine replaced n so far waffle has been perfect..yummy. this is fantastic machine n so far i m so impressed n my family enjoyed the waffle so much.

twkitch

twkitchPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews

Great waffle maker but...

published

Waffle maker worked great still does with the exception that the timer doesn't automatically start anymore which is a shame.
Most of my appliances are Breville love the products but a little disappointed the timer has failed.
Have to press the restart button to get the timer started. I think I read other people also had the same problem shame they hadn't rectified the repeating issue

Date PurchasedMar 2015
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Twkitch - the design team receives these notifications and appreciates feedback. Thanks, the Breville team

fingron

fingronnsw

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Beyond expectations

published

I used a gluten free recipe from a website [link removed] on the first batch the waffles were wonderful. I lightly sprayed both surfaces and there was total release of all 4 waffles. It is important to measure half a cup per waffle (in the cup supplied) otherwise the mixture can spill into the surrounding tray which is designed to catch overflow. It is not cheap but we bought with frequent flyer points which eased the price pain. It is just so simple to use & we love it.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Fingron - that's great news. Thanks for your comments. The Breville team

fingron
fingron

My pleasure; It nice get a product that works first time & as expected.

tryagain

tryagainMelbourne

I Am In Waffle Heaven

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi tryagain - thanks for your comments. The Breville team

Steve

SteveSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Perfect waffles - consistently

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Steve - thanks for your comments. Glad to hear you like waffles as much as we do. The Breville team

Susan

SusanSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Doughy on the inside

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Susan - the test kitchen has advised that crispy, thin waffles will not be possible with this deep thick waffle maker. If you're able to return the unit the BWM 520/No Mess Waffle make may be more suitable. Thanks, the Breville team

Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Smart Waffle BWM620 / BWM640 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very reliable. Great results every time.

published
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Allie - thanks for your comments. The Breville team

Allie
Allie
Kim

KimWarrandyte

  • 7 reviews

Great machine and excellent quality waffles!

published
Catt

CattSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fantastic Waffle Maker

published
mrsscollins

mrsscollinsSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 24 reviews

New Favorite "toy" for sunday brunch

published

We Love this new Waffle Maker from Breville !!! Purchased for mothers day and well used ever since ! Kids love it also , means sunday brunch has a new option...has also been fun for afternoon playdates ! Belgian reciepe our family Favorite so far !
Easy to use, auto timer, spill rim , just works ! Easy to use and a world away from the fab old space ship looking one my Dad has when i was a child ! Gorgeous !!!

Cass A

Cass ASydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very easy to use and clean

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Annette

Annetteasked

Smart Waffle BWM620 (2 Slices)

How can I prevent belgian waffles from burning on the outside and undercooking on the inside? I have had my waffle maker for just over two years and for the bulk of this time the maker worked beautifully. However, for the last few months our belgian waffles are either burnt on the outside or undercooked on the inside. Is there something I can do to fix this? I purchased mine in Canada so not sure where I can send this to to fix it but by now it's certainly out of warranty.

No answers
Adriano

Adrianoasked

Smart Waffle BWM620 (2 Slices)

What's the difference between the 620 and 640? Is it just that the 640 makes 4 waffles? Can I make potato waffles with both?

2 answers
fingron
fingron

The 620 seems to be discontinued in australia. I love the 640 (which was expensive until my wife found frequent flier points). Not sure what potato waffles are/
I make gluten free waffles using buttermilk & there are great recipes on this web site;
agirldefloured.com.
http://www.agirldefloured.com/2012/06/14/gluten-free-buttermilk-waffles/
enjoy

Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Adriano - there are two waffle makers in the Breville range - you can view both product details and download recipes and the instruction booklets from this link
https://www.breville.com.au/cooking-appliances/snack-makers.html
Thanks, the Breville team

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.