??!
4 photos
Breville Crisp Control Waffle Maker BWM250

Breville Crisp Control Waffle Maker BWM250

MPN: BWM250
4.2 from 17 reviews

Reviews

(9)
(4)
(2)
(2)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
Family

FamilyGippsland, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Yummy Waffles

published

We use this weekly. Love making cinnamon waffles. Use for sweet or savoury. Whole family enjoys them with a variety of toppings. Easy use and cleanup. Great with adjustable temp. Allows for more control.

Freddy fittler

Freddy fittlerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews

Love it

published

This little machine is perfect for our needs,never made so many waffles lol
Purchased about 18 months ago from appliances online.
Heats up fast, never sticks. Only thing is you have to move your arm out o the way on top when you open it otherwise you get steam burn. Wish they could have put a side handle on it to avoid this. I have a great waffle recipe,thick,crispy and tasty. Depends on what recipe is used to get a good result,trial and error

Purchased in June 2018 at Appliances Direct Online for $40.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Anita

Anita

  • 4 reviews

Best waffle maker I've used

published

It does what it says it will do. You can adjust the crisp settings to make them real crispy. A pro tip, use a little cornflour in your waffle better if you want them light and crispy. The only downside is if your batter expands a lot or is more than a half cup measurement, it overfill and leaks a doughy substance. Also its a bit hard to clean when it gets stuck in the back but overall cleaning is fairly straightforward. The waffles produced are on the thinner side but if you prefer thicker waffles it doesn't make them. Still the best waffle maker I've used as I hate soggy waffles and it allows me to control the crisp levels.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Crisp Control Waffle Maker BWM250 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waffles don’t stick, but are thin and dense

published

Used my usual waffle mixture. The waffles cooked evenly and come out of the machine easily, but they are so thin and dense. I will try once more, and if i get the same results, willI look for a new waffle maker. Any suggestions? I liked my old sunbeam one, but they don’t seem to do it anymore.....prior to that I had an electric cast iron one which was amazing but died as it was so old.
Wouldn’t recommend this machine.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Very often we've found that recipes result in the variety of results experienced, have you had a chance to try one of the recipes from the instruction book?

Review
Review

The maker does not allow the waffles to be any thicker.

Bel

BelBrisbane

Frustrated and dissapointed

published

I purchased this more expensive waffle maker from a well known Company with the expectation of it lasting for years.
It is now just over a year old and for the last month or so I have had issues with waffles sticking. When I checked warranty it had just expired. I have adjusted setting, I have adjusted batter nothing has worked and it progressively got worse. Today is the last time it is going in the trash, I have had to use a knife to get them out. The batter was completely wasted. I can't afford this, so I will not be purchasing this again.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Disappointing results as machine gets older

published

Found that waffles started sticking to the non stick surface. I do use my machine a lot, and am very disappointed that I will have to replace my machine so soon. It’s only just over a year old. I have followed all cleaning instructions. I won’t buy this product again.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 56 reviews
  • 3 likes

A treat for the whole family

published

Always wanted one but thought it’d be too much f a hassle as opposed to making pancakes. Well, I stand corrected, the ease of making waffles was surprising. Followed the basic recipe and to our delight, the family totally enjoyed. Thought the quantity amount would not be enough as it only makes 6, though I squeezed 7 and was planning to double recipe next time. There is no need to double quantity as this was a perfect amount. We even split the last one with tummies full.
Happy customer to the waffle and would recommend.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sunnflower

SunnflowerAU

  • 25 reviews

Waffle on

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Luna

LunaPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fabulous Waffles - so easy!

published

This is such a perfect waffle maker! Never need oil so it’s healthier and no need to clean - if some residual is there it just comes off without rubbing. Very easy to use, never have failures even kids use it. Our Sunday breakfast is always waffles and can’t be happier than this product. Highly recommend to anyone. Very compact to store too. I followed the recipe in the enclosed booklet but you can simply use the normal pancake ingredients which are not using butter and sugar.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Crisp Control Waffle Maker BWM250 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Di_1984

Di_1984Sydney

  • 6 reviews

Kids love it!

published

My kids love pancakes and waffles and this makes it so easy. I just use the Aldi pancake mix and they turn out beautifully. No worrying about flipping over pancakes and they cook so quickly! Have tried cake mix and it also works well. Lots of recipes on pinterest to try as well. Well worth the $50 I paid wish I had bought one years ago.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Annie B

Annie BSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great fun to use

published

Instruction booklet says to hold it closed, but that's only needed initially and then you can let go. It works well - absolutely no complaints. The booklet is well written, although I am yet to try any of the recipes in it - instead I've taken recipes from a Danish cookbook. Being able to wrap the cord around underneath for storage is a good idea. Love the finished heart shapes of the waffles.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
lee

leemelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good present!

published

This is the first machine that I’ve achieved for making waffles and it works spectacularly. Although there are no timers on the machine/waffle maker, we just set timers on our phones. The cooking itself makes no difference in the taste however the noise is quite unpredictable, sometimes loud and sometimes soft. The temperature all around is often very hot to the touch ( as it is cooking the waffles ) so that would harm our fingers. The clean-up is easy enough ( whilst making the waffle mixture is a different story ) to rid of the grease made by the waffle and overall, it is a great addition.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Paris

ParisVic, 3977

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

So far so good

published

Not too bad, l'm a little concerned with the steam that comes out from the sides as it's really hot, and you need to hold down the front for a while for the food inside to spread out. The recipes in the book I really easy to follow and seem to work really well.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
OnlineConsumer1

OnlineConsumer1AU

  • 18 reviews

Great Price, Lovely Heart Design and Makes Nice Waffles

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Andrea

AndreaSydney

  • Verified purchase

Finally fulfilled a childhood dream of mine

published

Ever since I was a kid I longed to have a waffle maker at home, to cook delicious heart shaped waffles I loved so much when on holiday. And this was the perfect buy for it. Very impressend with the non-stick function. Waffles come out easily. Different heat settings are great. I just use my recipe for banana pancakes to make the waffles and they turn out nice.
Yes the hinges seem loose but I guess that is to allow for the batter to raise.
Not sure why it says to hold both handles when cooking the waffle. ??? Also, the handles do get a bit hot.

Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Breville Crisp Control Waffle Maker BWM250 compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ben

BenHobart

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Makes tasty waffles quickly - a few minor quibbles

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Ben - thanks for your comments and the test kitchen will be advised of your thoughts on the batter recipe. The Breville team

Fifihamm

Fifihamm

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Delicious Waffles

published

You can either have 5 heart shaped waffles or one large waffle.
Love the crisp control and the coating is very easy to clean and looks very long lasting.
Dont be tempted to use more than half a cup of batter or top wont stay closed.

Questions & Answers

Tea leaf

Tea leafasked

are the waffles crunchy?

2 answers
JOC
JOC

The waffle machine has the ability to set the temperature to make waffles crispy which is a great feature.

Mortishia
Mortishia

Hi, I wouldn't say they are crunchy but do have a crisp taste. They are crispy once removed from maker but if you pile on top of each other, they become soft but still taste great. No different when adding toppings. Good recipe does make a difference too.

Angie

Angieasked

Can this waffle maker be used to make ice cream cones?

1 answer
Annie B
Annie B

Hi, I doubt it. The waffles are quite thick whereas the cones need to be extremely thin and 'stiff' enough to hold their shape when formed as a cone. There is another brand - Russell Hobbs, available through Target - which now makes a waffle 'basket' shape, sort of like a little bowl shape, but it still has to be eaten with a spoon (the waffle takes the place of a bowl, effectively, with ice cream etc. placed inside it once the waffle basket is cooked).

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.