??!
5 photos
Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Series

Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Series

MPN: A511051AU
2.0 from 29 reviews

Reviews

2.0

29 reviews
5
(1)
4
(3)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(15)
Previous
Next
Aldrin

AldrinNorthern Territory

Worst Brand!

published

I've been with Asus for 6 years without any prob, laptop still working. Try upgrading with Dell, only lasted a year! Got a replacement motherboard which didn't last long either!

Purchased in December 2017 at Dell Australia for A$1,699.00.

Jason

JasonCentral, TAS

  • 4 reviews

All the features but SLOW and Frustrating

published

Purchased in August 2018 for A$880.00.

Justin

JustinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Avoid it if you can.

published

Avoid it if you can. As soon as the warranty period finished it started breaking down. The mouse pad worked off and on. It randomly turns off and on the 20th month of ownership it has completely died. If you are purchasing from a retailer with an optional extended warranty definitely purchase it and then return it every 18 months to be fixed.

Purchased in February 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,250.00.

Laptops

Find out how Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Series compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ThumbsDownKurmond

ThumbsDownKurmondSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 17 reviews

Screen hinge broke a month after warranty end

published

that's very disappointing. I paid for this laptop around $1400 and it worked well until like a 1 months after the warranty end. Do they really expect us to pay $1400 for a new laptop every year???

Purchased in November 2017 at JB Hi-Fi.

Eesh

EeshCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Good but not great!!!

published

Bought it on 2014 and that was the time when it was so powerful,but these days after getting all new updates etc it started showing off its aging signs and then became to worse to use,takes at least 5 min time to start during startup of this machine although I have switched off heavy things that will use up a lot of RAM to start,my friendly suggestion to people who needs to buy this go for 8+GB RAM and SSD as an hard drive rather than default HDD storage.

Purchased at Dell.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alberto Rincon

Alberto RinconGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Big Design problem

published

The computer is good for my needs specs and all in all is a good product.
BUT, there is a big issue with the design, the keyboard is silver and the characters are white with a back lit that make things worst. I can't not even type because I can't see the letters in my keyboard.

I still do not understand how this computer was approved to go to production.

Do not but it, you won't be able to see or type.

Purchased in June 2019 at Dell Australia for A$900.00.

Jennjne

JennjneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Great laptop

published

love this computer but had to immediately update the Ram as it could not run my embroidery software programs fast enough. Love that the keyboard lights up so you can type in the dark. Sorry I didn’t look close enough at the keyboard as I don’t need the extra numerals area on the side, which has made the laptop just a bit too big. Found that dealing with Dell themselves with queries was a long drawn out nightmare but sorted out finally. Also finding that I have to charge the battery daily as it doesn’t seem to last long enough. Running the free Classic Shell program as I hate Windows 10. Works very well.

Purchased in July 2019 at Dell Australia.

gadallma

gadallmaHobart, TAS

Absolute rubbish

published

Worst computer I have ever bought, I gave never known a laptop run so slow. I recently bought a low end surface pro which blows the Dell away. I will never buy another Dell

Maree S

Maree SPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews

Don't waste your money

published

Its only a few months old and keeps on blacking out. So slow and just keeps on blacking out and stopping. Always have to do a hard shut down to get it working.

November 26th 2019 Update: Worked only for 2 months

It stopped working after 2 months, it took the tech to come out twice and replace parts but it never really worked again. I buy 2 laptops a year, and will never buy another DELL again. Support is good but it should have been replaced. Cant ring support for my warranty on the parts as that expired. I will never recommend DELL to anyone.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$900.00.

Laptops

Find out how Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Series compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Remya

Remya

  • 2 reviews

Very slow

published

This boots up very slowly. Applications take forever to load. Moreover, support for this laptop is non-existent. I could have done better for the price that I had paid for the laptop.

Purchased in September 2017 at Dell Australia for A$800.00.

DON'T BUY

published

DON'T BUY. Laptop is the slowest I have ever seen in my life, even if the configuration are the highest, this doesn't mean it will work any better. Chrome can barely open, pressing on things take forever, internet keeps dropping, laptop keeps heating up. I already asked for a refund. This is one of the worst products I have ever bought in my entire life. DON'T BUY!

Purchased in December 2017 for A$1,080.00.

Anju

AnjuSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bad connectivity

published

At first the laptop looks good and is light weight as well, but within 3 months of use the internet connectivity drops out every 10mins, or sometimes in 3 mins. This is a bad choice for online working environment . I bought this for my university assignment but never allow me to upload something because of the connections dropping problems . Waste of money and time . Never buy this , this laptop seriously has problem with wifi connections .

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Upfront momma

Upfront mommaGold coast

  • 18 reviews
  • 1 like

Great laptop great price up to 1 Terabite of memory

published

This dell laptop is a great price and does everything you will ever need in a laptop . With 1 t rb of memory. Extraordinary for a laptop
Easy set up i love the screen size and the picture clarity is superb. Windows 10 is the perfect os giving you every option you will ever need..
I had to purchase norton antivirus separately which i feel should be built in,
Also Very heavy would be my only negatives
I love the card reader slot making it very user friendly when viewing photos, videos etc and the picture quality is vibrant.All in all, A very good price and a breeze to use.. Whether for home, study or work i highly recommend this Dell laptop

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Sezzle

SezzleMaryborough

Mega Disappointment

published

I purchased my Dell after loving my previous Dell. When it arrived it had no sound, so Dell arranged a tech to repair, hey were efficient with that. However the laptop performance is absolutely terrible. Slow to turn on, start up, takes literally minutes to open a photo, it's so unbearable I barely use it. The newer models feel cheaply made too compared to my previous one. I won't buy another one that's for sure!

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Download sometime is very slow

published

My Dell Inspiron 15 5000 laptop computer download is very slow (about 70% time is slow) if compare with my 8 years old Dell Vostro desktop computer (about only 10% slow) both use the same internet provider, the other operation is reasonable ok, the help service from Dell's agent is quite good.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Laptops

Find out how Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Series compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A Huge Disappointment

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
ASeb

ASebNSW, 2135

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Really good

published

impressive quad-core performance. If it is with a ssd its performance is great. COmes with reasonable price and tablet-morphing abilities make it a compelling—and powerful—mid-range ultrabook.
The Dell Inspiron 15 5000 is an affordable 15-inch laptop with solid 8th Gen Core performance, but it's hindered by a horrible display and brief battery life

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Paul Eastham

Paul EasthamAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Just dont buy Dell

published

I bought an Inspiron 15 5000,,, paid top dollar,,, it had trouble from when I first turned it on...
After 2 weeks it refused to turn on,, 2 weeks later I'm still battling with Dell for warranty.
They admit over the phone they have a problem with this Laptop,, hence no replacement parts are available..
I have spoken to Dell in Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, India, Sydney and Melbourne,,, but just get pushed off..
They dont have an answer

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ropeable!

Ropeable!Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Happy with this computer so far...

published

Just bought one of these and so far I can say that it is a little ripper. My son uses auto cad at work and has loaded it on. Runs beautifully. So far a great unit, love it!. I love the backlit keyboard and also the lack of weight, my old Acer weighed a ton.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Brendan

BrendanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Just crap

published

Locked down computer with terrible driver support. Cannot get Windows USB drivers to work. Good lick with WiFi.... Intel chip sets are probably to blame locking down the system. Very unhappy with this frustrating piece of crap. Regret having to get a dell. Overall performs poorly. Such a dodgy practice.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all Dell Inspiron 15 reviews

Questions & Answers

Kwog1

Kwog1asked

Inspiron 15 5000 Series

Why has it been ranked terrible?

1 answer
Paul Eastham
Paul Eastham

The laptop was faulty from the first moment I turned it on.
It took 2 weeks and many many phone calls to get a replacement.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.