??!
7 photos
DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster
2.6 from 88 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
9
3 star
11
2 star
12
1 star
37

Bazil

BazilNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Perfect toast

published

This toaster looks amazing with a glossy white finish. It can cook up to four slices at a time, toasting evenly. Each section having individual controls . The slots are wide so thick slices fit with ease.

Purchased in June 2019 at Qantas store for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

C A

C ACentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great toaster!

published

Great toaster! Fits most slices of bread, cooks well and evenly. Nice red colour, I have the matching kettle and they look very stylish on the bench.
Need to turn up to full and press twice for crumpets, but I have to admit I really like them well done.
Occasionally it will flip the bread right out of the toaster (I think it’s funny) and has never jammed or stuck to the bread in any way.
I'm very happy, it's performed well and I find it very reliable. I do love my toast, and with the defrost & reheat buttons this has got me covered

Purchased in June 2017 at Myer Gifts Online for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
MHardy

MHardy

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Looks pretty but toasts unevenly

published

We purchased this 4 slice toaster in silver about 3 weeks ago from a The God Guys with the matching kettle. Our previous Delonghi 4 slice toaster stopped working after 5-6years. After using a few different styles of bread and trying different settings we now know it is definitely toasting unevenly (darker one side and almost none the other side). We have to constantly rotate the bread which is annoying & disappointing considering it wasn’t a cheap toaster. Our previous toaster hadn’t done this so it appears to be faulty elements. Otherwise it’s fine.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Les R.

Les R.South East Queensland, QLD

Don't waste your money (Tried 2 in 1 week)

published

We had the same toaster for 5 years and it was great. After an accident, we had to replace it. So we purchased the same one, it wouldn't toast one side at all. took it back a few days later and David Jones swapped it for the newer model. Just tested with a few different slices and it burns one side while other is perfect. Talking it back in the morning for a refund.

Purchased in June 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Useless toaster do not buy it

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Don't get fooled by the good looks...

published

Like many people we thought this unit looked great. The red with chrome matched the wife's other kitchen appliances and it has a great retro look about it. But in my 50 plus years of buying and using toasters, this would rate as the worst. It toasts very unevenly, requiring the setting to be changed to "bagel", which switches off one side of the element so the bread needs to be put back in again but in reverse. The setting knob burns at 1.5 but does almost nothing at 1. Took the unit back after 1-week and was given a replacement, which is exactly the same. This is not acceptable for a $150 toaster. We are still using it after 6-months but it's harder work than it should be, trying to get decent toast.

Purchased in August 2018 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

If you love burnt toast,this is the one for you!

published

This CTO2003 is heading for the recycle bin today after burning every piece of toast put in it for the 3 weeks we’ve owned it. This is probably the worse toaster we have ever owned. It is simply impossible to set this so it toasts adequately without either undercooking or (then) incinerating the pieces. The browning setting is indistinguishable from random - you never know what the result will be. The crumb tray position at the back of the unit is a nuisance. I wish 0 stars was an option.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Do not buy this toaster

published

This toaster is a complete waste of money.
• The cord is too short
• No high lift function if you have smaller pieces of bread
• It only toasts one side of your bread
• Patchy toasting on the good side
• Massively oversized knobs for controlling ‘toast colour’ (timer) go out of sync with a light breeze.

We have owned for about 6 months and I hate it every day.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Looks great .. but otherwise Very disappointed

published

Looks beautiful.. bought the 4 slice toaster, kettle and coffee machine matching..
Electrical fault in toaster . Red lights flash. Wont switch off.. eventually cuts out electrical to whole house.
Reciept was lost by kids who bought toaster as gift neither store purchased or delonghi customer support will replace or refund.
Pathetic to have to throw away a $150 toaster !!!
Very disappointed.
(The $10 kmart toaster i had for 9 years still works perfectly.. )
Now i have a set without matching toaster.. :(

Date PurchasedNov 2017

This is the worst toaster we have had in 48 years.

published

Only toasts one side at a time or burns it. Complained to Delonghi and they sent us a new one and that worse than the first one we paid £65 for it and it's very poor. Would not recommend it to anyone. Looks good but just doesn't do the job.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Steve

SteveSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cant even toast bread

published

I bought this from amazon very cheap at $21. Looks good to the eye but does not toast bread evenly. Dont pay alot for this toaster you will be disappointed. If you have a choice buy another product. I wont replace until its dead or I might give it away to charity or the needy.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Peter

PeterPalmerston

Disappointing toaster

published

We are very disappointed in this toaster. It only toasts on one side therefore takes twice as long to cook a piece of toast as bread has to be turned. This is for all types of bread, including raisin toast and crumpets. For the price paid, one would expect even toasting on both sides at the same time. This is not the case with this DeLonghi toaster. We would not purchase a DeLonghi again. We found the DeLonghi electric kettle very efficient, but not the toaster.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Janet

JanetDonald

Blew up

published

Toaster made a small explosion sound with visual sparking when I was cooking raisin toast.
No longer works very disappointed because I also have the matching kettle I purchased this toaster from a deceased estate second hand but it was immaculate condition and I was told worked perfectly not anymore it's dead.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Petet

PetetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst Toaster I have ever owned

published

Paid a considerable premium to buy a delonghi toaster thinking the brand was quality. Big mistake - it’s the worst toaster I have ever owned. Toast gets stuck regularly and is unevenly cooked on each side.
Looks good but works very badly - I will need to replace it soon.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Andrew

Andrew

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Rubbish quality, inconsistent. My cheapie toaster from years ago is better

published

Here are some facts.
This toaster fails to toast sides evenly, yet inconsistently.
My cheaper ex-woollies toaster from 10 years ago is more reliable.
My DeLonghi Kettle also failed inconveniently at 13 months old.
I think the DeLonghi brand is one we will avoid from now on.
Please don't buy.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

As an ornament, it works. As a toaster, it doesn't.

published

Looks nice but is without doubt the worst toaster we have ever purchased. To say it toasts unevenly is an understatement, one side dark brown/black the other side light brown/white. I sincerely wish we had chosen a cheaper model and importantly, read reviews before purchasing. This is the first DeLonghi product we have ever bought, and will be the last.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Linnie

Linnie

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wish I had read reviews before purchasing

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Anthony D.

Anthony D.AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice looking but has never worked properly...

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Kirstie

KirstieToowoomba

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect toast

published

Got it very cheap on sale at Amazon. Needed to replace my old toaster and probably anything is better than what I had. Good quality. I found that number 3 made sandwich bread brown. I also like the large slice size so it can various sized bread slices. Also can buy matching kettle for those that like having matching appliances.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Worst Toaster Ever!! Fire Hazard

published

We were given a 4 slice toaster for Christmas 2016 and one week out from end of warranty (12 months) it decided to trip our safety switch in the house. We returned it and got a replacement one under warranty. The replacement toaster has burnt out and tripped the safety switch within 3 months of use.

Rubbish product and so expensive!!! Do not buy. Go for a trusted Brand like Breville, Kambrook etc.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

b.ray

b.rayasked

I bought two slice toaster . It worked for about 3 months then stopped working. I replaced it with $30 Target toaster which works fine. It has been sitting in the box for about 6 months. Is there a easy fix or ready for bin. No power in the toaster it is almost brand new.
Bas.

2 answers
Elissa
Elissa

I would take it back for a refund.

b.ray
b.ray

I bought it from Costco and I am no loger a member. I have only been to the shop about 2 times so can't justify paying another 50 or 60 bucks for a lousy toaster


Louise

Louiseasked

Icona CTOV2003 (2 Slice)

I would like to order 2 slice toaster CT2003
VBC colour cream & brown i bought the kettle today & did not have any matching need asap?

1 answer
Andy56
Andy56

You can buy the toasters from Big W & Good guys :)


Cala

Calaasked

Icona CTO2003 (2 Slice)

2 slice beautiful red toaster conked out after 11 months. We are only 2 people here an we eat 3 toasts per day. Can't find my gift receipt either..grr. what can i do with it?

1 answer
Chris
Chris

Take it back to the store you got it from and they may have you on record when you bought it or just email delonghi directly and put it on they they should replace it or at least tell you were to go from there.


Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

Details

DeLonghi Icona CTOV4003 (4 Slice)
  • Discontinued

DeLonghi Icona CTOV4003 (4 Slice)

6 reviews
DeLonghi Icona CTOV2003 (2 Slice)
  • Discontinued

DeLonghi Icona CTOV2003 (2 Slice)

5 reviews
DeLonghi Icona CTO4003 (4 Slice)

DeLonghi Icona CTO4003 (4 Slice)

23 reviews
DeLonghi Icona CTOE4003 (4Slice)

DeLonghi Icona CTOE4003 (4Slice)

3 reviews
DeLonghi Icona CTO2003 (2 Slice)

DeLonghi Icona CTO2003 (2 Slice)

23 reviews
DeLonghi Icona CTOE2003 (2 Slice)

DeLonghi Icona CTOE2003 (2 Slice)

3 reviews
CategoryToastersToastersToastersToastersToastersToasters
Type4 Slice2 Slice4 Slice4 Slice2 Slice2 Slice
ExclusivityHarvey Norman, Domayne, Joyce MayneHarvey Norman, Domayne, Joyce Mayne
Price (RRP) $189$149$179$189$139$149
Release dateDec 2009Dec 2009Dec 2009Dec 2009

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 8004399760905
  • MPN: CTO4003W

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.