??!
7 photos
DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster

DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster

CTO4003 (4 Slice), CTO2003 (2 Slice), CTOV4003 (4 Slice), etc...
2.6 from 94 reviews

Reviews

2.6

94 reviews
5
(22)
4
(9)
3
(11)
2
(14)
1
(38)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (12)
  • Even Toasting Yes (4) · No (6)
Previous
Next
Marde03

Marde03AU

  • 7 reviews

Expensive junk

published

Purchased this toaster in 4 slice white. Looked stylish but that was about it. Actually is cheaply made but has hefty price. Had for 2 years and over that time functions started to fail. In the end it only toasted on one side, the short toast function didn't work and controller knob on right side fell off. We only used it on average 2 times a week so expected better for the over $100 price tag. We ended up throwing out to recycling which is only thing it was good for. Purchased another cheaper brand and still have that one in perfect working condition after 3 years.

Purchased in February 2015 at eBay for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
JoyL

JoyL

  • 8 reviews

Stylish and easy to use

published

Our toaster sits on our bench so it was important to me to have a toaster that looked good and worked in with our other appliances which this toaster does.
The settings are easy to use and the slots are wide enough to take those slightly bulky buns.
It can be tricky to clean crumbs from the top as there is a recessed rim where crumbs fall. This is minor and probably more about me being very finicky about my toaster being crumb free!
Overall, a great buy.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
DMH

DMHGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Doesn’t last long before only one side only toasts or burns

published

Looks good but poor quality. One side kept working to a tolerable degree but did burn or cook on only one side and not on the other. The other 2 slicer just stopped working completely. Terrible quality for the price!

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jane do

Jane do

  • 4 reviews

Buyers s be warned

published

I bought the toaster in white when I got home and used it I found out that It only toasts on one side. I rang up and they told me to take it to a repair place which doesnt actually repair them. They sent it to DeLonghi and I had to wait a week for them to send me another when I got the replacement did the exact same thing only toasting on one side and burning the other buyers be warned the worst toaster you will ever buy.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Davo

DavoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Toaster

published

Just bought another one of these toasters even though my old one is still working fine after 3yrs. Liked it so much I bought the replacement as Delonghi seems to be changing the design and we wanted to keep the same one for many years to come.
Works extremely well and looks great in our kitchen.Would definitely highly recommend this product.

Purchased in November 2019 at eBay for A$159.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Srah

SrahGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great toaster

published

This toaster looks great. I have the white and chrome version. I chose to pay more for this smart toaster than the microwave that I bought on the same day! I'm really happy with it after more than 12 months and only looked it up to get the electrical specs as this is one of those great appliances that will most certainly be moving with us to our new kitchen in our new house. I chose it in part because of the wide slots that fit home made hand cut sourdough or fat crumpets and it does not disappoint.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Bazil

BazilNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Perfect toast

published

This toaster looks amazing with a glossy white finish. It can cook up to four slices at a time, toasting evenly. Each section having individual controls . The slots are wide so thick slices fit with ease.

Purchased in June 2019 at Qantas store for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
C A

C ACentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great toaster!

published

Great toaster! Fits most slices of bread, cooks well and evenly. Nice red colour, I have the matching kettle and they look very stylish on the bench.
Need to turn up to full and press twice for crumpets, but I have to admit I really like them well done.
Occasionally it will flip the bread right out of the toaster (I think it’s funny) and has never jammed or stuck to the bread in any way.
I'm very happy, it's performed well and I find it very reliable. I do love my toast, and with the defrost & reheat buttons this has got me covered

Purchased in June 2017 at Myer Gifts Online for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
MHardy

MHardy

  • 8 reviews

Looks pretty but toasts unevenly

published

We purchased this 4 slice toaster in silver about 3 weeks ago from a The God Guys with the matching kettle. Our previous Delonghi 4 slice toaster stopped working after 5-6years. After using a few different styles of bread and trying different settings we now know it is definitely toasting unevenly (darker one side and almost none the other side). We have to constantly rotate the bread which is annoying & disappointing considering it wasn’t a cheap toaster. Our previous toaster hadn’t done this so it appears to be faulty elements. Otherwise it’s fine.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Toasters

Find out how DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Les R.

Les R.South East Queensland, QLD

Don't waste your money (Tried 2 in 1 week)

published

We had the same toaster for 5 years and it was great. After an accident, we had to replace it. So we purchased the same one, it wouldn't toast one side at all. took it back a few days later and David Jones swapped it for the newer model. Just tested with a few different slices and it burns one side while other is perfect. Talking it back in the morning for a refund.

Purchased in June 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Useless toaster do not buy it

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Don't get fooled by the good looks...

published

Like many people we thought this unit looked great. The red with chrome matched the wife's other kitchen appliances and it has a great retro look about it. But in my 50 plus years of buying and using toasters, this would rate as the worst. It toasts very unevenly, requiring the setting to be changed to "bagel", which switches off one side of the element so the bread needs to be put back in again but in reverse. The setting knob burns at 1.5 but does almost nothing at 1. Took the unit back after 1-week and was given a replacement, which is exactly the same. This is not acceptable for a $150 toaster. We are still using it after 6-months but it's harder work than it should be, trying to get decent toast.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

If you love burnt toast,this is the one for you!

published

This CTO2003 is heading for the recycle bin today after burning every piece of toast put in it for the 3 weeks we’ve owned it. This is probably the worse toaster we have ever owned. It is simply impossible to set this so it toasts adequately without either undercooking or (then) incinerating the pieces. The browning setting is indistinguishable from random - you never know what the result will be. The crumb tray position at the back of the unit is a nuisance. I wish 0 stars was an option.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Do not buy this toaster

published

This toaster is a complete waste of money.
• The cord is too short
• No high lift function if you have smaller pieces of bread
• It only toasts one side of your bread
• Patchy toasting on the good side
• Massively oversized knobs for controlling ‘toast colour’ (timer) go out of sync with a light breeze.

We have owned for about 6 months and I hate it every day.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Kristy

KristyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Looks great .. but otherwise Very disappointed

published

Looks beautiful.. bought the 4 slice toaster, kettle and coffee machine matching..
Electrical fault in toaster . Red lights flash. Wont switch off.. eventually cuts out electrical to whole house.
Reciept was lost by kids who bought toaster as gift neither store purchased or delonghi customer support will replace or refund.
Pathetic to have to throw away a $150 toaster !!!
Very disappointed.
(The $10 kmart toaster i had for 9 years still works perfectly.. )
Now i have a set without matching toaster.. :(

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Toasters

Find out how DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

This is the worst toaster we have had in 48 years.

published

Only toasts one side at a time or burns it. Complained to Delonghi and they sent us a new one and that worse than the first one we paid £65 for it and it's very poor. Would not recommend it to anyone. Looks good but just doesn't do the job.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Steve

SteveSydney

  • 2 reviews

Cant even toast bread

published

I bought this from amazon very cheap at $21. Looks good to the eye but does not toast bread evenly. Dont pay alot for this toaster you will be disappointed. If you have a choice buy another product. I wont replace until its dead or I might give it away to charity or the needy.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Peter

PeterPalmerston

Disappointing toaster

published

We are very disappointed in this toaster. It only toasts on one side therefore takes twice as long to cook a piece of toast as bread has to be turned. This is for all types of bread, including raisin toast and crumpets. For the price paid, one would expect even toasting on both sides at the same time. This is not the case with this DeLonghi toaster. We would not purchase a DeLonghi again. We found the DeLonghi electric kettle very efficient, but not the toaster.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Janet

JanetDonald

Blew up

published

Toaster made a small explosion sound with visual sparking when I was cooking raisin toast.
No longer works very disappointed because I also have the matching kettle I purchased this toaster from a deceased estate second hand but it was immaculate condition and I was told worked perfectly not anymore it's dead.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Petet

PetetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst Toaster I have ever owned

published

Paid a considerable premium to buy a delonghi toaster thinking the brand was quality. Big mistake - it’s the worst toaster I have ever owned. Toast gets stuck regularly and is unevenly cooked on each side.
Looks good but works very badly - I will need to replace it soon.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

b.ray

b.rayasked

Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster

I bought two slice toaster . It worked for about 3 months then stopped working. I replaced it with $30 Target toaster which works fine. It has been sitting in the box for about 6 months. Is there a easy fix or ready for bin. No power in the toaster it is almost brand new.
Bas.

2 answers
Elissa
Elissa

I would take it back for a refund.

b.ray
b.ray

I bought it from Costco and I am no loger a member. I have only been to the shop about 2 times so can't justify paying another 50 or 60 bucks for a lousy toaster

Louise

Louiseasked

Icona CTOV2003 (2 Slice)

I would like to order 2 slice toaster CT2003
VBC colour cream & brown i bought the kettle today & did not have any matching need asap?

1 answer
Andy56
Andy56

You can buy the toasters from Big W & Good guys :)

Cala

Calaasked

Icona CTO2003 (2 Slice)

2 slice beautiful red toaster conked out after 11 months. We are only 2 people here an we eat 3 toasts per day. Can't find my gift receipt either..grr. what can i do with it?

1 answer
Chris
Chris

Take it back to the store you got it from and they may have you on record when you bought it or just email delonghi directly and put it on they they should replace it or at least tell you were to go from there.

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.