??!
7 photos
DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster

DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage / Icona Elements Toaster

CTO4003 (4 Slice), CTO2003 (2 Slice), CTOV4003 (4 Slice), etc...
2.6 from 91 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
21
4 star
9
3 star
11
2 star
12
1 star
38

Jane do

Jane do

  • 4 reviews

Buyers s be warned

published

I bought the toaster in white when I got home and used it I found out that It only toasts on one side. I rang up and they told me to take it to a repair place which doesnt actually repair them. They sent it to DeLonghi and I had to wait a week for them to send me another when I got the replacement did the exact same thing only toasting on one side and burning the other buyers be warned the worst toaster you will ever buy.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Davo

DavoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Toaster

published

Just bought another one of these toasters even though my old one is still working fine after 3yrs. Liked it so much I bought the replacement as Delonghi seems to be changing the design and we wanted to keep the same one for many years to come.
Works extremely well and looks great in our kitchen.Would definitely highly recommend this product.

Purchased in November 2019 at eBay for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Srah

SrahGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great toaster

published

This toaster looks great. I have the white and chrome version. I chose to pay more for this smart toaster than the microwave that I bought on the same day! I'm really happy with it after more than 12 months and only looked it up to get the electrical specs as this is one of those great appliances that will most certainly be moving with us to our new kitchen in our new house. I chose it in part because of the wide slots that fit home made hand cut sourdough or fat crumpets and it does not disappoint.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Bazil

BazilNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Perfect toast

published

This toaster looks amazing with a glossy white finish. It can cook up to four slices at a time, toasting evenly. Each section having individual controls . The slots are wide so thick slices fit with ease.

Purchased in June 2019 at Qantas store for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

C A

C ACentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great toaster!

published

Great toaster! Fits most slices of bread, cooks well and evenly. Nice red colour, I have the matching kettle and they look very stylish on the bench.
Need to turn up to full and press twice for crumpets, but I have to admit I really like them well done.
Occasionally it will flip the bread right out of the toaster (I think it’s funny) and has never jammed or stuck to the bread in any way.
I'm very happy, it's performed well and I find it very reliable. I do love my toast, and with the defrost & reheat buttons this has got me covered

Purchased in June 2017 at Myer Gifts Online for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

MHardy

MHardy

  • 8 reviews

Looks pretty but toasts unevenly

published

We purchased this 4 slice toaster in silver about 3 weeks ago from a The God Guys with the matching kettle. Our previous Delonghi 4 slice toaster stopped working after 5-6years. After using a few different styles of bread and trying different settings we now know it is definitely toasting unevenly (darker one side and almost none the other side). We have to constantly rotate the bread which is annoying & disappointing considering it wasn’t a cheap toaster. Our previous toaster hadn’t done this so it appears to be faulty elements. Otherwise it’s fine.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance

Les R.

Les R.South East Queensland, QLD

Don't waste your money (Tried 2 in 1 week)

published

We had the same toaster for 5 years and it was great. After an accident, we had to replace it. So we purchased the same one, it wouldn't toast one side at all. took it back a few days later and David Jones swapped it for the newer model. Just tested with a few different slices and it burns one side while other is perfect. Talking it back in the morning for a refund.

Purchased in June 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Useless toaster do not buy it

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Don't get fooled by the good looks...

published

Like many people we thought this unit looked great. The red with chrome matched the wife's other kitchen appliances and it has a great retro look about it. But in my 50 plus years of buying and using toasters, this would rate as the worst. It toasts very unevenly, requiring the setting to be changed to "bagel", which switches off one side of the element so the bread needs to be put back in again but in reverse. The setting knob burns at 1.5 but does almost nothing at 1. Took the unit back after 1-week and was given a replacement, which is exactly the same. This is not acceptable for a $150 toaster. We are still using it after 6-months but it's harder work than it should be, trying to get decent toast.

Purchased in August 2018 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

If you love burnt toast,this is the one for you!

published

This CTO2003 is heading for the recycle bin today after burning every piece of toast put in it for the 3 weeks we’ve owned it. This is probably the worse toaster we have ever owned. It is simply impossible to set this so it toasts adequately without either undercooking or (then) incinerating the pieces. The browning setting is indistinguishable from random - you never know what the result will be. The crumb tray position at the back of the unit is a nuisance. I wish 0 stars was an option.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Do not buy this toaster

published

This toaster is a complete waste of money.
• The cord is too short
• No high lift function if you have smaller pieces of bread
• It only toasts one side of your bread
• Patchy toasting on the good side
• Massively oversized knobs for controlling ‘toast colour’ (timer) go out of sync with a light breeze.

We have owned for about 6 months and I hate it every day.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Looks great .. but otherwise Very disappointed

published

Looks beautiful.. bought the 4 slice toaster, kettle and coffee machine matching..
Electrical fault in toaster . Red lights flash. Wont switch off.. eventually cuts out electrical to whole house.
Reciept was lost by kids who bought toaster as gift neither store purchased or delonghi customer support will replace or refund.
Pathetic to have to throw away a $150 toaster !!!
Very disappointed.
(The $10 kmart toaster i had for 9 years still works perfectly.. )
Now i have a set without matching toaster.. :(

Date PurchasedNov 2017

This is the worst toaster we have had in 48 years.

published

Only toasts one side at a time or burns it. Complained to Delonghi and they sent us a new one and that worse than the first one we paid £65 for it and it's very poor. Would not recommend it to anyone. Looks good but just doesn't do the job.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Steve

SteveSydney

  • 2 reviews

Cant even toast bread

published

I bought this from amazon very cheap at $21. Looks good to the eye but does not toast bread evenly. Dont pay alot for this toaster you will be disappointed. If you have a choice buy another product. I wont replace until its dead or I might give it away to charity or the needy.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Peter

PeterPalmerston

Disappointing toaster

published

We are very disappointed in this toaster. It only toasts on one side therefore takes twice as long to cook a piece of toast as bread has to be turned. This is for all types of bread, including raisin toast and crumpets. For the price paid, one would expect even toasting on both sides at the same time. This is not the case with this DeLonghi toaster. We would not purchase a DeLonghi again. We found the DeLonghi electric kettle very efficient, but not the toaster.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Janet

JanetDonald

Blew up

published

Toaster made a small explosion sound with visual sparking when I was cooking raisin toast.
No longer works very disappointed because I also have the matching kettle I purchased this toaster from a deceased estate second hand but it was immaculate condition and I was told worked perfectly not anymore it's dead.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Petet

PetetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst Toaster I have ever owned

published

Paid a considerable premium to buy a delonghi toaster thinking the brand was quality. Big mistake - it’s the worst toaster I have ever owned. Toast gets stuck regularly and is unevenly cooked on each side.
Looks good but works very badly - I will need to replace it soon.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Andrew

Andrew

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Rubbish quality, inconsistent. My cheapie toaster from years ago is better

published

Here are some facts.
This toaster fails to toast sides evenly, yet inconsistently.
My cheaper ex-woollies toaster from 10 years ago is more reliable.
My DeLonghi Kettle also failed inconveniently at 13 months old.
I think the DeLonghi brand is one we will avoid from now on.
Please don't buy.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

As an ornament, it works. As a toaster, it doesn't.

published

Looks nice but is without doubt the worst toaster we have ever purchased. To say it toasts unevenly is an understatement, one side dark brown/black the other side light brown/white. I sincerely wish we had chosen a cheaper model and importantly, read reviews before purchasing. This is the first DeLonghi product we have ever bought, and will be the last.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Linnie

Linnie

  • 3 reviews

Wish I had read reviews before purchasing

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

b.ray

b.rayasked

I bought two slice toaster . It worked for about 3 months then stopped working. I replaced it with $30 Target toaster which works fine. It has been sitting in the box for about 6 months. Is there a easy fix or ready for bin. No power in the toaster it is almost brand new.
Bas.

2 answers
Elissa
Elissa

I would take it back for a refund.

b.ray
b.ray

I bought it from Costco and I am no loger a member. I have only been to the shop about 2 times so can't justify paying another 50 or 60 bucks for a lousy toaster


Louise

Louiseasked

I would like to order 2 slice toaster CT2003
VBC colour cream & brown i bought the kettle today & did not have any matching need asap?

1 answer
Andy56
Andy56

You can buy the toasters from Big W & Good guys :)


Cala

Calaasked

2 slice beautiful red toaster conked out after 11 months. We are only 2 people here an we eat 3 toasts per day. Can't find my gift receipt either..grr. what can i do with it?

1 answer
Chris
Chris

Take it back to the store you got it from and they may have you on record when you bought it or just email delonghi directly and put it on they they should replace it or at least tell you were to go from there.


Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.