1 photo
Ducati Monster 659

Ducati Monster 659

3.9 from 14 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Naked Bikes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Ducati? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Mileage 3,100 km
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
BAM2020
BAM2020South East Queensland, QLD

Premium LAMS offering

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MandyH
MandyHSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

Ducati monster 659 - trouble to start

published

Brand new 659 monter.
1. Battles to start as per previous comment. Have to turn on and off 3 or 4 times to prime.
Never sorted problem.
Nerang also couldn't find an issue and said common with brand new bikes. Hard to believe.
Not sure how a brand new bike can now do this after it worked ok for first couple of months.
2. Couldn't reach clutch comfortably as small hands. Adjusted then wouldn't go into neutral. Again service manager told me this is normal until 1000km. After 1000km he pushed it to 3000 or 5000km.
Eventually adjusted clutch back as per suggestion of another manager and fixed it.
Was also tossing up between ducati and triumph.
Left ducat nerang agent unsatisfied.

Purchased in June 2020 at Ducati nerang for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Naked Bikes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Ducati monster won't fire up

published

I bought my new ducati monster 4 weeks ago and every morning i go to start it the bike will turn over but won't start .bike shop have told me that they cannot find any thing with the bike .It's back to the bike shop again.more cost .should of bought a triumph

Purchased in November 2020 for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Naked Bikes

Find out how Ducati Monster 659 compares to other Naked Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
frogmouth
frogmouth
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks, Thrills and Soul

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
David
DavidMid North Coast, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sweet bike. Great handling, lovely engine, and that Ducati note and presence.

published

The bike was purchased for my wife who is a LAMS rider. She stepped up from a KTM 390 Duke. After riding a number of other bikes in the LAMS class it became obvious that this bike is the king. This bike is easier to ride than the KTM and is both more forgiving and more rewarding. It is a keeper.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Pujith
Pujith
  • 4 reviews

Bike that everyone have to drive once in his/her life (Ducati monster 659)

published

I should say the bike is something that makes you alive and to have such experience, I should say Ducati is one such brand makes bikes, which feels so balanced and a well balanced will not make you feel the weight of the bike. i have done a test drive with this bike and it is more of between pro and learner bike. so i should recommend to the first time buyers.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Kiwi Chuck
Kiwi ChuckToowoomba
  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Italian pocket rocket

published

Great Experience

published

Other Naked Bikes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
J .F.
J .F.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ducati Monster 659 LAMS Electrical problems. NOT HAPPY.

published

I bought this bike new. It has traveled 5300kms, it is seven months old. The starting problems began when the bike was approx four months old. The bike has an electrical Gremlin. The bike fails to start as the digital dash does not recognise neutral causing it not to start. It has been towed twice back to dealer under warranty and they can not find the issue. NOT HAPPY.
Update on Ducati 659. Had bike towed back to shop.They have fixed the issue, they were very aloof about what the problem was. The main thing is that it is fixed and has not missed a beat since. Loving my Ducati again.

Naked Bikes

Find out how Ducati Monster 659 compares to other Naked Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I would like to purchase one!

published
Azzbot
AzzbotSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

It really is a culture

published

This is my wifes second bike and is an upgrade from a cb250.
What an upgrade it is! It isnt called a MONSTER for no reason. It loud, aggressive and the styling is nice.
We have the full Termi kit, carbon fibre kits, rizolla bar end mirrors...

Really nice bike
Looks good and is loud.

Danny
DannySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice Bike but too expensive

published
Coastal11
Coastal11
Coastal11
Coastal11AU
  • 3 reviews
  • 12 likes

Ducati Style and Quality with LAMS approval

published
Dan
Dan

Thank you very much my friend. I will get one as soon as I can (and put Termignoni popes on it ;D). Just wondering whether I should take lessons on a crappier cycle first!

Coastal11
Coastal11

I think you should Dan - you'll appreciate the 659 all the more!!

Laurie Dean
Laurie Dean

awesome wrap to excite a newbie! thanx

Chris00
Chris00SYDNEY

Great learner bike!

published
Shano02
Shano02
Coastal11
Coastal11

Great review Chris.

Other Naked Bikes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Questions & Answers

Richard G.
Richard G.asked

Top speed

1 answer
Nick M.
Nick M.

My 2012 does about 170

Noddy
Noddyasked

How do i get to the battery on my son's 659 Monster
2014 model i think?

1 answer
Graeme W
Graeme W

Hi Nobby, Have not had the need to access the battery, but I'm guessing it's under the seat somewhere. Just watched a You Tube Video using a 696 (same animal just a bigger heart) hmmm, looks complicated. Once you get it changed, I'd suggest getting a charger and keep the beast plugged in AND switched on. Mine is on the charger 24/7, have never had an issue so far.

Cheers
Chuck

Man not hot
Man not hotasked

Engine alarm on immobilizer . I have to push down the key and re rotate to switch it on . Also low beam and tickel charger not working.. Any help?

1 answer
Graeme W
Graeme W

Hmmm, I see a visit to your local dealer in your future sir. Im totally useless with vehicle electrics, always have been, but have built many electronic bits for my hobbies without a problem, go figure.

See all Ducati Monster 659 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryNaked Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
Engine Displacement659 cc
TransmissionManual
Cooling SystemAir-Cooled
Engine TypeL-Twin, 2 Desmodromically actuated valves per cylinder
Fuel Tank Capacity 16.5 L
Max Torque44 Nm
Weight175 kg
Learner ApprovedYes
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateJan 2012
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.