??!
3 photos
Honda CBR500R

Honda CBR500R

4.5 from 28 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

28 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Mileage 18,000 km
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    3.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
D15

D15BRISBANE

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for the price around the town/city. Short Highway trips

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage18,000 km
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Comfort
Handling
See all answers
Justin

JustinSydney, NSW

Great everyday bike

published

The CBR500R was my first ever motorcycle.
It has great power for a LAMS bike, handles well and is easy to ride. I’ve been riding it every day to work and is a very reliable piece of machinery. It looks good and accelerates well compared to a 300cc or below. I’d say as an every day commuter you can’t go wrong with this bike and it’s big enough to take on some weekend trips. The downsides are it’s turning circle, handlebars/Mirrors make it a little tight for tight filtering and once you’ve ridden it for a while you desire more power. Other than that I’d highly recommend it as a beginner bike.

Purchased in October 2018 for A$6,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Comfort
Handling
See all answers
Lance

LanceSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

doesn't do much wrong.

published

cheap bike that doesn't make mistakes but isn't brilliant at anything. your jaw wont drop with excitement and the adjustable forks on the 16+ models are a bit of a joke. over all very meh. I feel as if i'm on a scooter at times (however one that can do well on the highway.) you absolutely need an exhaust for this bike.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Super Sport Bikes

Find out how Honda CBR500R compares to other Super Sport Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad

BradAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic Learners Bike

published

This is a fantastic bike for both beginners and intermediate level riders.
It has limited power that provides decent torque but not so much that will kick off a beginner. I have had mine about 9 months and love it.
I have not had any issues with it mechanically and it is cheap on fuel.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Oztog

OztogSydney

  • 3 reviews

Solid learner bike

published

This bike was un upgrade to my CB125 that I had just after I got my L's, Better for longer rides compared to the CB125 and with that extra power the last one lacked, The handling was quite nice and the weight were perfect to feel balanced. Over all would recommend.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Yazz

YazzAU

  • 4 reviews

The best learner bike

published

Hello I owned one of these for around 3 years , was happy to even ride it on a full licence as I wasn't ready to upgrade yet, was a little bit uprights so great for long rides, cheap on fuel, came in the tri colours, great for short people, had enough power, highly recommended.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Michael oshea

Michael osheaBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

Amazeballs

published

Purchased myself one of these as an upgrade from my hyosung gtr250
Would have to be the best purchase ive ever made!
Bike was incredible had enough power to be fun not enough you were afraid to ride it to its limits.
Handles like a dream, never had any mechanical issues all visits to mechanics were just services

10/10

Date PurchasedJul 2015
AB.

AB.Broulee

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best LAMS bike on the market.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
johnsonb21

johnsonb21Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

So good

published

Walked into Ongmac Lismore one day just browsing and before I could stop myself, I bought a new bike just like that. Couldnt help myself, it fitted beautifully, rides almost effortlessly. Bit touchy on the throttle but I getting used to that. Tyres dont like wet grass but I wont do that again. What can I say, when I wake up, look outside and think "this is a good day for a ride"...thats what I do, what more do I want? 500cc twin cyclinder is perfect!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Super Sport Bikes

Find out how Honda CBR500R compares to other Super Sport Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
enve

envePerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

awesome bike

published

I bought this bike after a couple of years with no bike as my previous Honda CBR250 was stolen. This bike is fabulous....great reliability, starts first time every time, economical and plenty powerful for me. Took a bit to get used to the different handling as it doesn't like to go slow round the corners but now I'm used to it. Smoother ride than the CBR250 and better for longer rides.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Kristina

KristinaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Best LAMS bike out there

published

So much power for a LAMS bike. I would highly recommend. I purchased the white colour, it really stands out with its shimmery pearl paint and metallic blue and black stripes. It is a super comfortable ride with the handlebars not too low, thick padded seat and comfortable leg position

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Ben P

Ben Pmelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Not as good as the classic

published

Honda will always be a good company but the current bikes are no where near as good as the classics from the 90's. When you're sitting on a bike it doesn't matter what the dials look like, and the old 250 is beautiful at delivering a strong burst of power and a redline of 19.5k

Date PurchasedApr 2013
C.J

C.JSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my new bike!

published

Great bike! Good on fuel and plenty of power for a beginner. Only negative I can think of is that I do not like the exhaust and it sounds like a scooter haha. Also seemed to be hard to track down after-market parts for the year model I purchased (2016). Would highly recommend to anyone getting their learners as this bike is much better valued than the restricted 650s.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Fantastic learner bike

published

I have the cbr500ra 2016. I am a learner rider with nill experience. The bike has a lot of torque in lower gears but not so much that I think I'm going to lift the front wheel
The bike is agile, comfortable and a lot of fun to ride. The ride position is upright and comfortable
But I have experienced sore wrists, I would argue that's more me than the bike
The bike has abs which is good
It's Matt black and gets a lot of looks and comments
Definitely recommend having a good look if your looking for a starter bike
It handles highway riding with ease
Great bike

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Butifull an excellent for learners

published

Very happy with the bike I bought a 2016 and its so cumfy and respsive in all the gears an quite and smooth out on the highway an overtaking no problem a learner would be very happy an very shepe to run better than a ninja for cumfert an haderling

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Super Sport Bikes

Find out how Honda CBR500R compares to other Super Sport Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel

DanielEpping

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Just bought it!! Wooohooo

published

Got my bike 1 month ago and loving it! Great bike smooth ride!! Looks great in black! You will be happy with it! First time on the road and I can't fault it except the horn lol but other than that great first bike and really recommend to any learner rider

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Solid motorcycle

published

Purchased a 2016 model as my first bike after doing lots of research. This bike is awesome. It has looks, smooth power delivery and plenty of grunt for the street. It is easy to ride and forgiving for a newbie. Rides well in the suburbs, on the highway, around the mountains and longer distance. Servicing costs are low and it holds its value well.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Listen to me

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Mambott

MambottAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Mid Sized Bike

published
The Gill Man

The Gill ManSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fantastic learners bike

published

I have owned a 2014 CBR500r for 3 months now and ridden 1200km. Ride position is quite upright and feels very comfortable. In that time I have not experienced one problem. It has just enough power to get you excited but not enough to get you in trouble. easy to flick from side to side and uses around 3.5ltr / 100km. you will not find a better learners bike for the price. Just put a slip on exhaust and it will sound awesome.

Only one criticism, the front and rear suspension is basic and quite soft. can be upgraded if required.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

cam b.

cam b.asked

is it 4 stroke?

1 answer
Lance
Lance

yes

Kloe M

Kloe Masked

I am just looking at getting insurance for my 2016 CBR500RA and when finding my bike on most insurance sites it will have the option of the bike as MY15 or MY16 and I am just wondering how I find out which one my bike is? Even though mine is the 2016 model I have read they may still have a "Model Year" that is different.

No answers
Travis

Travisasked

I have a 2015 Honda CBR500R I am thinking of taking my slip on exhaust off (just for sound,THE LOUDER YOU ARE THE SAFER) and putting on a K&N air filter. Will me doing that burn my exhaust valves?

2 answers
Yazz
Yazz

No it will not affect it at all.

Brad
Brad

Hi mate, no it wont affect the valves, only might frustrate your neighbors. I would recommend replacing the stock exhaust with a slip on, they are relatively cheap off ebay and will make the bike sound a lot better (much better then without any muffler). Cheers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuper Sport Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
Engine Capacity471cc
Release dateJun 2013
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.