??!
3 photos
Honda CBR500R

Honda CBR500R

4.6 from 26 reviews

See the Best Super Sport Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0

Lance

Lance

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

doesn't do much wrong.

published

cheap bike that doesn't make mistakes but isn't brilliant at anything. your jaw wont drop with excitement and the adjustable forks on the 16+ models are a bit of a joke. over all very meh. I feel as if i'm on a scooter at times (however one that can do well on the highway.) you absolutely need an exhaust for this bike.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Brad

BradAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic Learners Bike

published

This is a fantastic bike for both beginners and intermediate level riders.
It has limited power that provides decent torque but not so much that will kick off a beginner. I have had mine about 9 months and love it.
I have not had any issues with it mechanically and it is cheap on fuel.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Oztog

OztogSydney

  • 3 reviews

Solid learner bike

published

This bike was un upgrade to my CB125 that I had just after I got my L's, Better for longer rides compared to the CB125 and with that extra power the last one lacked, The handling was quite nice and the weight were perfect to feel balanced. Over all would recommend.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Yazz

YazzAU

  • 4 reviews

The best learner bike

published

Hello I owned one of these for around 3 years , was happy to even ride it on a full licence as I wasn't ready to upgrade yet, was a little bit uprights so great for long rides, cheap on fuel, came in the tri colours, great for short people, had enough power, highly recommended.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Michael oshea

Michael osheaBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

Amazeballs

published

Purchased myself one of these as an upgrade from my hyosung gtr250
Would have to be the best purchase ive ever made!
Bike was incredible had enough power to be fun not enough you were afraid to ride it to its limits.
Handles like a dream, never had any mechanical issues all visits to mechanics were just services

10/10

Date PurchasedJul 2015

AB.

AB.Broulee

  • 5 reviews

Best LAMS bike on the market.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

johnsonb21

johnsonb21Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

So good

published

Walked into Ongmac Lismore one day just browsing and before I could stop myself, I bought a new bike just like that. Couldnt help myself, it fitted beautifully, rides almost effortlessly. Bit touchy on the throttle but I getting used to that. Tyres dont like wet grass but I wont do that again. What can I say, when I wake up, look outside and think "this is a good day for a ride"...thats what I do, what more do I want? 500cc twin cyclinder is perfect!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

enve

enve

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

awesome bike

published

I bought this bike after a couple of years with no bike as my previous Honda CBR250 was stolen. This bike is fabulous....great reliability, starts first time every time, economical and plenty powerful for me. Took a bit to get used to the different handling as it doesn't like to go slow round the corners but now I'm used to it. Smoother ride than the CBR250 and better for longer rides.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Kristina

Kristina

  • 5 reviews

Best LAMS bike out there

published

So much power for a LAMS bike. I would highly recommend. I purchased the white colour, it really stands out with its shimmery pearl paint and metallic blue and black stripes. It is a super comfortable ride with the handlebars not too low, thick padded seat and comfortable leg position

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Ben P

Ben Pmelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Not as good as the classic

published

Honda will always be a good company but the current bikes are no where near as good as the classics from the 90's. When you're sitting on a bike it doesn't matter what the dials look like, and the old 250 is beautiful at delivering a strong burst of power and a redline of 19.5k

Date PurchasedApr 2013

C.J

C.JSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my new bike!

published

Great bike! Good on fuel and plenty of power for a beginner. Only negative I can think of is that I do not like the exhaust and it sounds like a scooter haha. Also seemed to be hard to track down after-market parts for the year model I purchased (2016). Would highly recommend to anyone getting their learners as this bike is much better valued than the restricted 650s.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Fantastic learner bike

published

I have the cbr500ra 2016. I am a learner rider with nill experience. The bike has a lot of torque in lower gears but not so much that I think I'm going to lift the front wheel
The bike is agile, comfortable and a lot of fun to ride. The ride position is upright and comfortable
But I have experienced sore wrists, I would argue that's more me than the bike
The bike has abs which is good
It's Matt black and gets a lot of looks and comments
Definitely recommend having a good look if your looking for a starter bike
It handles highway riding with ease
Great bike

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Butifull an excellent for learners

published

Very happy with the bike I bought a 2016 and its so cumfy and respsive in all the gears an quite and smooth out on the highway an overtaking no problem a learner would be very happy an very shepe to run better than a ninja for cumfert an haderling

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Daniel

DanielEpping

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Just bought it!! Wooohooo

published

Got my bike 1 month ago and loving it! Great bike smooth ride!! Looks great in black! You will be happy with it! First time on the road and I can't fault it except the horn lol but other than that great first bike and really recommend to any learner rider

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Solid motorcycle

published

Purchased a 2016 model as my first bike after doing lots of research. This bike is awesome. It has looks, smooth power delivery and plenty of grunt for the street. It is easy to ride and forgiving for a newbie. Rides well in the suburbs, on the highway, around the mountains and longer distance. Servicing costs are low and it holds its value well.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Listen to me

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Mambott

MambottAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Mid Sized Bike

published

The Gill Man

The Gill ManSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fantastic learners bike

published

I have owned a 2014 CBR500r for 3 months now and ridden 1200km. Ride position is quite upright and feels very comfortable. In that time I have not experienced one problem. It has just enough power to get you excited but not enough to get you in trouble. easy to flick from side to side and uses around 3.5ltr / 100km. you will not find a better learners bike for the price. Just put a slip on exhaust and it will sound awesome.

Only one criticism, the front and rear suspension is basic and quite soft. can be upgraded if required.


Mammoth

MammothGold Coast

  • 11 reviews
  • 18 likes

A beautiful bike

published

I'm not the expert some of the gentlemen here are, but my two cents worth is I LOVE this bike. I have the ABS version (CBR500RA) and it was worth every sent for the added safety factor. I have the Yoshimura exhaust and wow what a difference. Love it. Has heaps of torque and is light enough to handle well. Holds up famously in highway winds. The 2014 model has more red than the '13 and looks a lot more classy (sorry '13 owners!).

1 comment
Mammoth
Mammoth

Forgot to mention: I put a Yoshimura carbon fibre exhaust on it and what a beautiful difference it made to the sound.


Great bikes to learn on!

published

My wife and I have bought one of these each. I haven't ridden for over 30 years, she not at all.

We've had them a month now and ridden mostly country roads. The power is smooth, adequate and easy fir new riders to manage. I find that it easily maintains 100 or 110 kph without issue at all. Copes well in windy conditions. Comfortable all round.

I would thoroughly recommend this bike to any new rider. Don't be put off by the 500 cc engine. It's not intimidating at all.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Travis

Travisasked

I have a 2015 Honda CBR500R I am thinking of taking my slip on exhaust off (just for sound,THE LOUDER YOU ARE THE SAFER) and putting on a K&N air filter. Will me doing that burn my exhaust valves?

2 answers
Yazz
Yazz

No it will not affect it at all.

Brad
Brad

Hi mate, no it wont affect the valves, only might frustrate your neighbors. I would recommend replacing the stock exhaust with a slip on, they are relatively cheap off ebay and will make the bike sound a lot better (much better then without any muffler). Cheers


Jeremy C

Jeremy Casked

I am 5'8'' and 132 lbs, is this bike right for me? Would it be too heavy?

2 answers
johnsonb21
johnsonb21

I suggest you go for a test ride. As soon as I got on my bike I knew it was for me...

enve
enve

No..i am 5`4" and weigh 67 kg and i love it


GGeorge

GGeorgeasked

what is the mandatory service interval for cbr500r and approximate service cost?

1 answer
Mammoth
Mammoth

6000 for a minor and 16000 for a major service. Major can be between 400 to 800.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.