??!
3 photos
Honda CB125E

Honda CB125E

4.3 from 81 reviews

Reviews

4.3

81 reviews
5
(48)
4
(22)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (6)
  • Mileage 5,682 km (6)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.7 (6)
  • Braking
    3.5 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (6)
  • Handling
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    3.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Chris P

Chris PMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Sorry But

published

The motorcycle that should never have been marketed. With the CT110 and ''Postie 125' that followed this bike filled a void no one even noticed. I'm a Honda kind but this is plain fuglyme. Looks like a scrapped Taiwanese after market jigsaw puzzle that doesn't quite come together. OK their 125 was Pulitzer for its time 70's wise, butt back then Honda attracted people who didn't ride bikes. Another example of ''you get what you pay for'' - a cheap, ugly, underpowered, generator with wheels. poor aftermarket value is obvious.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
Bear S.

Bear S.Sydney, NSW

Brand new rode it home and to work and back once and sprayed oil all over

published

I bought this new 2 Saturdays ago. I rode it home and had a lot of fun on this little bike. I then rode it to work and back one day and found my left boot and pants had been sprayed with oil. I looked at the bike and found oil all over the gearbox and along the side total 118ks of running. I called the dealer and was told it was my responsibility to get it back to them. I get their sister dealership much closer to truck the bike back to my dealership 60ks and wait 6 days to get told that it is a gasket and grommet leaking and that there are no parts in Australia. The dealership has ordered the parts but Honda is saying (2 weeks)6th of June at best.
I know some of you love your 125's but at the moment I'd rather get a refund.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$2,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Mileage 118 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
Nick57

Nick57Bendigo

Review from someone that knows everything about this bike

published

Purchased in January 2013 for A$1,995.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Mileage 20,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
Naked Bikes

Find out how Honda CB125E compares to other Naked Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
J Chu

J ChuSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Meet its design brief perfectly

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Private Owner for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Mileage 8,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
spaceman

spacemanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for learners

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Freedom Motorcycles Brookvale for A$2,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Mileage 1,300 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
SERGE

SERGEBentleigh East

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Really enjoy this bike - great for learners!

published

I'm just a Learner so I wanted a bike rather small, light and easy to ride and it has been perfect so far. Very easy to ride. Of course, it doesn't have a lot of power and you can mainly go up to 80km/h but it's perfect for the city. And regarding fuel consumption you can get any better than that! I will probably upgrade to something a bit more powerful in a couple of years but for the moment, it's what I need to learn, safely.

Purchased in September 2019 at gumtree for A$2,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Mileage 100 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
aiden333777

aiden333777Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

It is so easy to ride and it is very easy to control also its one of my favourite motor bikes. I highly suggest you try it. Very strong condition too

Purchased in April 2018.

Mileage 4,574 km

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mark

MarkSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little bike and cheap to maintain

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
David

DavidPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great little bike!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Naked Bikes

Find out how Honda CB125E compares to other Naked Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
batesy

batesyBathurst

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

rock solid bike

published

I use mine for around town and a few trips out of town, if your a learner or on p plates it goes as fast as u can legally go.

it starts first time every time and you get a brand new reliable little bike for a low cost.
Honda wont make anything bad, its great, i love the look and the handling and the fact that i got a new machine with 0km for the cost of a second hand with 30,000 -40,000 km on the clock.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Tom

Tomperth

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Cheap transport - you get what you pay for

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Tom
Tom
Decio

DecioSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap and reliable

published

I purchased my 2016 cb125e for $1500 used with 5000kms on the clock you can find these on the road for 2400 new worth every cent fuel is 400kms to a tank around 12litres never had an issue starts 1st time every time 1 thing i was told do not use kill switch as it sometimes goes faulty and can get costly to diagnose otherwise perfect ride

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Jack

Jack

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good entry level bike

published

This was my first bike and it's still going strong after 15 years. Never have any issue with it, good price, solid building and have plenty of power for new learner. Great fuel consumption a littl go a long way, easy to fix and after market part r plenty to choose when u want to custom ur bike
Over all great bike

Date PurchasedJun 2001
Oztog

OztogSydney

  • 3 reviews

Simple and easy LAMS Rider

published

Honda has created in the CB125E a simple and affordable learner approved bike, perfect for someone first bike as a lot of learner courses use the same bike in their courses so the transition from course to road is an easy one. Comes in three colours red blue and white . Over all a great early bike to get to terms with riding on the open road.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
giuseppe

giuseppebyron bay

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

perfect run around

published

I live in a small town and I use it just like a scooter, due to its incredible handling and ease of riding.

Mechanical features are as simple as it gets and I expect that it would run forever even if one did not bother service it. Fuel consumption is hard to believe and the rego in NSW is so cheap for such a small engine.

I would suggest it to anyone that wants to avoid traffic, fall in love with motorbikes or just even to experienced riders after a very relaxed ride.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Naked Bikes

Find out how Honda CB125E compares to other Naked Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Larry

Larry3000

  • 4 reviews

Perfect Learner bike

published

I got my learners last year and i wasn't sure what to buy, having read around i can happily confirm this bike was exactly what i was looking for, costs less than 10 bucks to fill the tank and it has no problems reaching highway speeds. would recommend it to anyone looking for an entry level motorbike

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
John Juma

John Juma

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

best in my life

published

Handa CB125 is the best motor cycle l drive for one year is the best ,l enjoy it during that time ,l like it better than a car easy to park less potrol and easy to control.lam still want to drive it here in Australia.lam happy to do that .

Date PurchasedOct 1998
Winbor

WinborBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cheap, confortable and good

published

40km/L, very good for city, you can run for highways top spead is more than 100km/h.
Is very confortable for long hours on bike.
Is very good for city, no good for highway, is perfect for up and downs, is very silence.
I go to mecanic every 4000km to change the oil

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Ina

InaAustralia

  • 4 reviews

Good for beginners

published

Bike is good for beginners, light to handle. Doesn't really go above 80 km/h, so highway driving in traffic can be unpleasant. Very wind affected, but easy to hold in good conditions. Choke takes some getting used to, especially if coming from a bike that doesn't have one. Dirt roads are ok, sandy roads not so much, therefore better suited for town driving.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Best first bike

published

This is an amazing small motorbike to get started on getting your license with. 125 motor, so not alot of speed but I loved this to learn the basics of riding. Highly recommend this bike with a great price and three colours to choose from. Blue, Red and White. Very economical with a good 300kms out of a $10-15 tank of fuel.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Asit

Asitasked

Hi I got cb125e 2016. The headlight bulb has blown. Can you suggest me a nice and bright LED if possible? What type of bulb goes in there? And also my front brake light switch is not working. What can be done any suggestions guys?

2 answers
Chris P
Chris P

I have no idea BUTT - get rid of it - NOW! - Buy a CBR 250 R - RIGHT NOW!! or a VTR 250 - Used $2500. Better reliability than KTM - I'm 59 years old and I'm getting one - a toy with attitude - Honda ARE No. 1

Nick57
Nick57

just use the normal original one take it out need screwdriver and get it off ebay or supermarket. Dont waste your time trying to modify lights for H1 or H2 or led i did it myself and it was a waste of time on that bike. The original had the best range and was good enough you only doing 80km or less most of the time, the led made it bit wider but the range was less which made it worse not better. $180 job down the drain. who cares about the front brake light switch nobody cares if they can see you braking by brake lights on motorcycle they ignore you have time anyway. i would just leave it its not a necessary.

Mrs N.

Mrs N.asked

Does it do well off-road.
I'm not talking about mountains but just gravel and dirt roads and maybe uphill

1 answer
Nick57
Nick57

does great off road, some people even use them on sheep farms. it already has duel purpose tires on it, there harder more long lasting and fine for dirt gravel. Its fine for mountains too , suspension is not high end but its light bike with very low gear ratio and air cooled not much difference to a CRF 250 etc. just dont drive in mud, it will stick to the disk brakes and get stuck on the guards and crap the chain. Offroad and dirt its fine i would call the cb125e just a much smaller lighter version of the KLR 650 its build for the same type of riding 80 percent road 20 percent dirt. occassional farm use and recreation

John wick

John wickasked

What tyres would you recommend for the front and rear? I would like to have a tyre that has a good grip on wet roads unlike the stock kenda tyres.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.