??!
13 photos
Dyson Cyclone V10

Dyson Cyclone V10

Absolute +, Animal, Animal+, Motorhead
3.9 from 450 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (223)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (225)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (226)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (226)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (226)
  • Pet OwnerYes (140) · No (87)
  • Battery Life
    3.4 (222)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Susan

SusanHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Spits the dirt back out

published

I find this vacuum cleaner is easy to carry around and it's great not to have to trip over chords, but it doesn't clean well at all. Often the dust goes up beyond the rubber seal inside the head and the dirt is impossible to fully empty. Not happy with it at all. Once a week have to go over whole house with ducted vacuum cleaner.

Purchased in January 2021 for $849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers

Major design flaw with emptying the bin

published

It's fragile, the red clip for emptying the bin is a design flaw. The whole body had to be replaced twice in 2 years due to the plastic clip breaking!

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
MikeShaw

MikeShawSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Amazing and convenient, didn’t think I would like it as much as I do

published

Great product if you don’t mind paying the eye watering price. As I have a young child that makes a mess 2-3 times a day the time saving is worth while.

If you vacuum once a week it may not be worth it.

One thing to note. It’s not great for cleaning cars etc like I hoped it would be. For it to work well it’s used a motorised head which is almost sealed that’s how it picks up sort as good as a corded vacuum. If you use the attachment that don’t have this seal like the dust one the don’t pick up too well but still do the job just about.

One thing to note is the. Issue blocks easily. Takes a few mins to fix but can get annoying. Only happens with large debris

Battery isn’t easily replaceable and very expensive so doesn’t get 5 stars

Purchased in March 2019 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cyclone V10 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
J77

J77Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 25 reviews
  • 38 likes

Nothing but problems

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
Aleen

AleenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Problem with empty the bin

published

the red clip is very hard to click down to empty the bin. I totally can’t do myself and only my husband is able to empty the bin which is quite annoying. Very regrettable purchase considering as the price I paid...

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Nick

Nick

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best vacuum for a 3bd house

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Dr M N Ahmed

Dr M N AhmedSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rubbish

published

why are you refusing to fix this appliance when you took the money two years ago on purchase for exactly this purpose?
you guys are liars and thieves and should be ashamed of your behavior.
i m going to make a complaint to office of fair trading, put this incident on your twitter and facebook handles, the google review and inform all colleagues on Australian Medical Association.

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles
See all answers
myopinionis

myopinionis

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

WORST DYSON I HAVE EVER OWNED

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Dyson for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
9 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
myopinionis
myopinionis
Dyson
DysonDyson

This is certainly concerning as we aim to provide a high level of service, regardless of the guarantee status of your machine. Please join us on live chat or Facebook Messenger and we will be happy to look into this and assist further.

Anne Q

Anne QSouth East Queensland, QLD

Warning for consumers - don’t buy

published

We bought this cleaner nearly 2 years ago. It’s never had a decent run time. I contacted Dyson 12 months ago and they sent me a new battery- no questions asked. I contacted Dyson again recently as the same thing was happening- cutting out at around 10 mins. What has now transpired is that you’re only supposed to use the max power level on cushions etc. Dyson directed me to P4 of their (updated) manual. This information is omitted in the manual we were given at purchase. Very disappointed. I wouldn’t have purchased it had I known this.

Purchased in January 2019 for $949.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cyclone V10 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
William

WilliamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Much better than I expected

published

I have found the Dyson to be superior to other stick vacuums. It set the standard others followed. It is lightweight and therefore much easier to get out, use, and put away than my ducted vacuum. The ducted vacuum worked very well and has performed well for years - but the ease and effectiveness of the Dyson has just about made my ducted vacuum obsolete. I have had no issue with battery or suction. Except when the waste container filled up, or the stick tube became clogged. Solution? Empty the waste often - just like you do with mowers.... as for the blockage - that was not so obvious to find. But I did, it was easy to fix and the suction became great again. Worth the money in my opinion.

Purchased in November 2020 at Myer for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers

Direct drive cleaner head doesn't work

published

Just bought the v10 Animal plus and charged it 3.5hrs for its first use however when I started to use it I noticed the direct drive cleaner head doesn't spin. I tried taking it off and putting it back on then all three modes but it doesn't spin.

Purchased in December 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Bridget

BridgetSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible- a dozen times and then stopped. Dyson main head failed, needs to be replaced- for $200 from our pocket!!!

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Marleen P.

Marleen P.

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Hate Dyson

published

Will never buy another Dyson machine in my life to what I know now. Dyson machines can’t handle find dust it clogs the machine and then dice and blames it on you and says it’s your fault that you’re not maintaining your machine properly. I always clean my filters properly and do everything that they say to do but it still my fault not happy with Dyson will never buy their machines ever again

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Marcus

MarcusGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Very easy to use

published

Extremely versatile the hanging charger device doesn't appear sturdy and has come loose of the wall attachment, the attachment is a bit sticky sometimes the head filter requires regular washing and drying, the emptying mechanism is a bit sticky. Overall very good vacuum but very overpriced

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
jamsie

jamsie

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Dyson Animal 10

published

I have found that there is Not much Battery life , No I would not spend that much on a Stick Vac anymore . I would only buy a cheaper Stick but there is no match for the Electric Vaccume. They have much better suction also last much longer.

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeTiles
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cyclone V10 compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AJP

AJPPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst Vacuum Ever Purchased

published

We purchased the V10 Animal less than a year ago. The battery quickly lost power and has a maximum runtime of 5 minutes. A complete waste of money and much cheaper vacuums have performed better at a fraction of the cost.

Purchased in December 2019 for $899.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Gervais

GervaisSydney, NSW

Worst Vacuum we have ever owned DO NOT BUY

published

This vacuum blocks every 10 seconds. It has kinks that are difficult to clean out. It has a battery life of 7 minutes which is incredibly annoying as we cannot do hardly anything before it runs out of battery. It cannot handle carpet at all and gets completely clogged up and dont even bother trying if you have a pet. It is a terrible product. You would be better spending a fraction of a price on a cheaper vacuum at KMart than buy this piece of junk. This will be my last Dyson. I do not normally post online reviews however am so frustrated with this piece of crap that I felt compelled to warn prospective purchasers.

Purchased in February 2019 at Dyson for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Lisa

LisaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

dissappointed big time!

published

Disappointed in an understatement .

Blocks everytime I use it (without fail)
this is my second one now
The filter light is ALWAYS ON even after washing it ...
Can anyone please tell me what is good about these machines ?

its suppose to be gr8 but not the case and always neeeded recharging after a little time of vaccuming otherwise has been gr8

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
Lisa
Lisa

thanku for your help
i will get onto this today

Naz

NazGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

As expected from Dyson product

published

Purchased at The Good Guys for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Sabina K.

Sabina K.Central, SA

WHY DO PEOPLE LIKE DYSONS ?

published

This is my second Dyson and definitely my last ...
Had it for a year now and just realised that its been hanging up for the last 4 to 5 months without being used ...

Disappointed in an understatement .

Blocks everytime I use it (without fail)
Won't even pick up even the lightest of things like bird seed...
The filter light is ALWAYS ON even after washing it ...
Can anyone please tell me what is good about these machines ?

I want to sell it on EBAY but would feel bad to the person buying it ...

Purchased in July 2019 at Toby Deals for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeWood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

Masie Mouse

Masie Mouseasked

Cyclone V10

I am also having great difficulty removing stick so that I can empty canister. I asked a friend with stronger hands to do it for me, and he too had to really struggle, with both feet holding stock/floor attachment and pulling unit up with both hands, I see other people have experienced this problem. Where do you spray the WD40?

2 answers
J77
J77

WD40 sorry I don't know. I had issues opening the actual canister to empty to start - then the on/off button.....
If and when you do get it off, empty the canister, take it off the main body, give it a good clean, ( including using a toothbrush to get into all the small areas), + the stick, ( lots of DUST build up), allow it to dry of course, and put the canister back onto the main body.
## I gather you could 'wipe only' some WD40 on the stick as electrical currents run through this area from what I have seen. IDK.

Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi Masie,

Thank you for your question.

We do not recommend using WD40 or a lubricant of any kind as it can damage the machine if its gets sucked through to the main body.

The wand should easily come off the machine with a slight pull while holding the clip down. If this is not the case we would encourage you to reach out to our helpline via phone, live chat or email via https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us so we can help arrange a replacement for you.

Sid

Sidasked

Cyclone V10

VERY difficult to detach wand from the power head. BRUTE force required. Is there a trick or should I just return the vacuum ??

1 answer
PMG
PMG

I used a little w40 and no longer have that problem.

Michael J.

Michael J.asked

Cyclone V10

My v10 absolute works ok with my old filter but new one pulses and cuts out. However if I cover the inlet with my hand it works fine - release hand and cuts out?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Dyson Cyclone V10
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum CleanersStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $999.00$899.00$999.00$799.00
Bin Capacity0.76 L0.76 L0.76 L0.76 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight2.67 kg2.67 kg2.67 kg2.67 kg
TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
Charging Time3.5 hours3.5 hours3.5 hours3.5 hours
Running Time 60 min60 min60 min60 min
Power525 W525 W525 W525 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateApr 2018Apr 2018Apr 2018
Compare all 4 Dyson Cyclone V10

  • MPN: 226420-01

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.