??!
15 photos
Dyson V6
4.2 from 2,842 reviews

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Dyson V6 In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

4.2

2,842 reviews
5
(1,492)
4
(825)
3
(230)
2
(114)
1
(181)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (330)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (338)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (334)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (334)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (328)
  • Pet OwnerYes (185) · No (152)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (339)
Previous
Next

Use it every day, no dramas

published

Our house uses it almost every day for 15-20 minutes. Love how easy it is with no cord, suction is great. Can be hard to clean the machine if not looked after regularly. Once you figure out a good routine it's easy. Battery beginning to die with 20 minutes use, after 2.5 years, but looks easy enough to replace through Dyson.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
02tet

02tetcairns

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

save your money

published

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH, would give it no stars if possible. Bought 2 slightly different models in 2017. Batteries lasted till the warranties expired. Purchased new batteries, both shot again. Major operation to clean the bloody things. After emptying when turned on next time great puff of dust in the face. Total waste of $1000. Never buy a Dyson anything again

Purchased in June 2017 at The Good Guys for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
MCG

MCGSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 30 likes

Not worth the $'s

published

Max run time 30 seconds
Returning it to the charging station will enable it again for another 15-20 seconds
Replaced Battery, cleaned filters and all components.
Basically it lasted us about 2.5 years.
Not worth the money.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V6 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Broken finger guard below trigger

published

Purchased a Dyson V6 in August 2017. Has been used 2 to 3 times a week on carpet and slate. Works well and very handy when you want to use it and putting it away compared with cord fitted cleaners. Recently the small finger guard just below the trigger snapped off. Tried to glue it back on but no luck. As usual products under warranty break after the warranty expires. Contacted Dyson and was told the finger guard may have broken due to the way we use the machine and a new body cost $150 if you fit it yourself. If considering buying any Dyson or similar machine just remember they are more then 95% plastic. For the money we spent purchasing this machine we expected it to last longer. Disappointed - YES!

NotHappy

NotHappyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Fundamental design flaws

published

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Vel

VelGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Rubbish

published

it's rubbish don't waste you're money!!!!
Had 1 and did not charge and got replacement and now again the same thing, just buy yourself a cheap Chinese one at least you will know it's going to stop working.

Purchased at Big W for A$699.00.

Battery Life
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Excellent customer support

published

I bought a Dyson , I found their customer care well worth the $ spent, 2 year warranty and replacement parts sent at no cost to me within those 2 years, cheers Dyson. Ramon, New Zealand

Purchased in June 2017 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
See all answers
cha

chaSouth East Queensland, QLD

rubbish

published

ive got a robo vac that goes everyday so this v6 hardly gets used maybe once a week for ten minutes it still works it only goes for about 30 secs then cuts out then i need to put it back on charge for 5 secs then it works a bit more like 45 secs then off back on charge then maybe a minute its only 18 months old
LAST DYSON ILL EVER BUY

Purchased in January 2019 at Big W for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

waste of money

published

just out of warranty and it stopped working. Its not the battery but the main housing requires replacing by what dyson customer care said. I won't be spending the money on it as it should of lasted longer. Never again will l by a dyson anything.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V6 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dyson V6 Slim vacuum cleaner

published
3 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Rowan
Rowan

Made no difference, barrel difficult remove.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Tracey

TraceyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great machine

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Emily

EmilyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Waste of money!!

published

Bought 2-years ago. Took exceptional care of it. Followed the charging and care instructions, cleaned the vacuum after every use and now the battery does not work. My warranty was out by a few months and Customer Care recommended buying a new battery which seems unreasonable for a customer who already spent over $450 on a vacuum that should've lasted much longer! Very disappointing. Will never purchase a Dyson again. Do not recommend!

Purchased at The Good Guys for A$498.00.

Battery Life
Value for Money
Nellie

NellieSydney, NSW

My review re Dyson V6

published

I was very happy with my Dyson v6 for the first year, it’s light, easy monovering, using it on tember & tiles flooring, Unfortunately recently the battery is not charging, bought it on31/12/18 from BW store at Stockland shopping centre, not sure what to do with it, pls advise!

Purchased in December 2018 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Daniel s.

Daniel s.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

good to use but battery issues.

published

I bought it 2 years ago and I replaced battery twice. First time dyaon service centre sent me new battery because problem happened within 1 year. But new battery was dead after 3 months so I bought non genuine battery from ebay it is much better than genuine battery and capacity is much bigger as well even if the battery is cheaper than genuine one.

Purchased in September 2018 at Big W Retail Stores for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Tyronne

TyronneWestern District, VIC

Battery terrible

published

We brought this last Christmas 2019, was working well but now go to use it and it only last 20sec. We only use it on our floating timber floors and tile floors. It goes on it’s charge after ever use. Vacuum works well-loved it but now not very happy. It’s not even 12 mths old.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Tyronne
Tyronne

Thank you

Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V6 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

SarahHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Going well so far

published

I bought this for our office.
Easy to use, small and manageable with great suction.
It's easy to remove waste and clean. Very handy if you have stairs.
So far so good.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Alin

AlinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Have it for 5 years without any issue.

published

Bought it about 5 years ago and do not have any issue with, however we do not use it as vacuum to clean the whole house therefore 10-15 minutes battery run sounds OK.
Head is hard to clean.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Rachel

RachelSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Customer service wasn’t the best and battery awful!

published

2 battery replacements in 3 years. Absolute joke - don’t bother buying one. I’ve owned 2 Dyson sticks and the constant same issues happening. I spoke with customer service, went through the steps to no avail beside them trying to resell me a new battery.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
georgenexus

georgenexusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Excellent

published

Perfect machine. It's very light and maneuverable. It charges very quickly. I had a warranty claim on the battery and the service team was very helpful and honored the claim quickly and without hassle.

Purchased in May 2018 at Big W Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

KJH

KJH

  • 4 reviews
  • 13 likes

Totally useless

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Big W Online Store for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Page 1 of 143

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Dyson V6

What are the differences between each Dyson V6 model?

The primary difference are the included heads or attachments. While all Dyson V6 models contain the same power, charging time, and bin capacity, each model offers a different head to suit a particular household need. For example, the V6 Fluffy model caters for households that have hard floors by including a non-scratching soft roller head.

Why is my Dyson V6 pulsating when I try to use it?

The pulsing or stop-starting noise indicates there is a blockage somewhere in the vacuum. It may be in the head, wand, filter, or bin (including the flap connecting the wand to the bin). Clear these areas and check no moving parts have hair tangled in them.

What does the red flashing light mean on my Dyson V6?

If the red light flashes 12 or more times it indicates there is a problem with the battery, and it may require replacement. Fewer flashes may indicate a problem with the body of your machine. Contact Dyson on 1800 239 766 for more information.

Can I charge my Dyson V6 in a very cold or very hot environment?

Dyson recommends that your V6 unit is charged in an environment that is between 3°C (37°F) to 40°C (104°F). It is recommended that you unplug and wait to charge your vacuum if your room is hotter than colder than these temperatures.

Can I leave my Dyson V6 to continually charge in the charging station?

It is safe to leave the V6 to continually charge; either in the docking station, or just the charger plugged directly in, so the vacuum is always fully charged every time you use it. You cannot use the vacuum while plugged in.

Latest Consumer Questions

Iris M

Iris Masked

V6

Hi there, I have just had my battery changed on my V6 Absolute. The representative at the dyson office in Taren Point replaced it for me and he also told me to put it on charge when I get home.
I have put it on charger but there is no indication that it is charging, no blue light unless I press the red button and then it blinks 10/12 times and then it stops blinking. Could it possibly be the charger, I have moved the charger to a different power point just incase it was that but it still has no indication to me that it is charging at all.

No answers
Christine M.

Christine M.asked

V6

My dyson v 6 runs for about a minute then cuts out the charge light comes on but doesn’t stay on, do tell me what’s going on worked fine until we came back from holiday this week.

No answers
Marg

Margasked

V6

I am going abroad for 15 months will my dyson v6 cordless battery be OK .

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

If the machine will be unused for a long period of time, we encourage fully charging the machine then removing it from the charger.

On your return, we would encourage again fully charging your machine, before using it for the first time.

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help.

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.