??!

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

3.5

51 reviews
5
(16)
4
(14)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (3)
  • Battery Life
    2.6 (5)
Previous
Next
Wenddee

Wenddee

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really Handy 2 in 1

published

I use the vacuum mainly on hard floors - lots of dead strands of grass and dust/hair bunnies/dog hair. I find it a great little unit. It rarely runs out of charge. Works fine on carpet too. Feels like quality.
It is not a heavy duty unit - I have a Bosch stick too and it is much sturdier.
The handheld has some limitations with its shape and being unable to get into crevices or small places - awkward in the car, can't get in beside the fridge etc but it has reasonable (not great) pickup power. I would not be without it. Still searching for the perfect handheld that is still affordable. I would recommend it.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
noeleen d.

noeleen d.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Perfect little vacuum

published

This handy vac easily cleans my carpets, tiles and timber floors with ease.
Haven’t had to use the hair and thread chopper yet.
So pleased I chose this model. It’s all of a month old now.

Purchased in July 2019 at Betta Home Living for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Dissapointment found.

published

Works well at first. But don't see the point in manufacturing an appliance that doesn't last? Have had for 3 years and I get about half a minute of use per charge. Waste of time and money do not buy this product unless you crave dissapointment.

Purchased in June 2016 at Joyce Mayne for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux Ergorapido 4th Generation compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jarod

JarodPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 4 likes

Horrible, like previous generations

published

This vacuum last a few weeks and I had to send it back for service, because the service was in Australia half the repair places they recommended (when I called them) have closed down. I finally found one, and waited another 4 weeks only for them to tell me the problem was the battery (which i already knew). Instead of fixing it they sent it back to return to the shop for a refund.

I have had similar problems with previous electrolux vacuums and will not be buying one made by electrolux again.

Purchased in May 2018 at RetraVision for A$198.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Jaugust

JaugustGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

good product short life

published

I have had a blue ergorapido for 2 years and it is now near dead. Its battery lasts less than 3minutes.
During the 2 years it got sent off once for repairs (the brush motor) which wasnt a hassle at all but took about a month.
It is light, easy to use and can do most jobs with the adapters. The little leds turned out to be a bit gimmicky and pointless. Easy to empty, decent suction but can't handle long hair.
This vaccum was well adapted for a small flat but would probably be overwhelmed in a house if it worked
At a $100 per year i think, this vacuum is not good value for money because of its short life (i could have put up with the other faults)

Purchased in October 2016 at The Good Guys Online store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum and Wood
See all answers
Willan

WillanWarragul, Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant

published

I brought this Vacuum over a year ago, but given it to.my daughter as she has 3 children, 2 dogs and 1 bird. So between snacks on the floor there is dog hair and bird feathers. I got myself a Kmart one. Each time I use the Electrolux at my daughter's, I miss it because it is light, funtastic suction and easy to use. When finish vacuuming, the dirt stays inside. With the Kmart one it always falls out. Defenitly recommend the Electrolux. Looking around at the moment for good deals to replace my Kmart one.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Trish_D

Trish_DSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Brilliant.

published

Lugging a very good but heavy vacuum cleaner around became a nightmare and I investigated the cordless stick style vacuum cleaners and haven't looked back. The ease of use is unquestioned and I no longer feel exhausted after vacuuming. It is excellent on both tiles and carpet. The length of time it can be used isn't great before recharging is needed but it is so easy to use and does such a brilliant job that I'm happy to live with that. I can usually manage most of the house before the charge goes. The fact that it is so simple means I am prepared to use it until it needs charging and then finish later.
Without doubt, one of the best purchases I've made.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Nic

NicCuddly Creek

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Why so many poor stars we love ours

published

We can't believe how poorly reviewed this stick vacuum has been reviewed. We haven't had any of the issues listed here and love how easy it is to use and pack away in small spaces. The sucktion could be better but come on it's a stick vacuum and very small

Date PurchasedSep 2016
awiseowl

awiseowlMid North Coast, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love It

published

I have the white ZB3104 Ergorapido.
Great value for money, got it in the MY** online E*** store on sale.
Love the head LED lights which shows where the grime is.
Suction was surprisingly good, I think comparable with low model a Dy***.
Easy to empty even for a dummy like me.
There is a dust filter too.
Very light to push around, best on hard floors.
Battery does not last too long but it managed the bottom half of our house (2br & bathroom).
I keep it on charge all the time.
Great for quick bathroom hair, fluff vacuum ups & kitchen crumbs.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux Ergorapido 4th Generation compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Louis B

Louis BAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rubbish

published

Charge doesn't hold just useless
Very disappointed this is a fault these Vaccum had a decade ago. Why is it still occurring
How can companies knowingly make and sell defective products it's ridiculous.
These Vaccum are not cheap just disposable rubbish really I won't buy them ever again
Just rubbish
More so the good guys online don't back up this product

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Electrolux
ELECTROLUX ..Electrolux
C. ANDERSEN

C. ANDERSENSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 74 reviews
  • 73 likes

Battery didn't last..

published

I have two of these appliances, one for upstairs and one for down; the battery in this model has started to cut out after about two minutes, even though it is fully charged at the start. The battery in the older appliance holds its charge for much longer and both appliances are used every day. I can still get ten minutes of vacuum time out of the older appliance. The cordless stick vacuum is a brilliant concept and very handy and simple to use for a quick run around the tiled floor or to pick up dry spills and cleaning the car. I liked the first one so much I bought the second but I will have to rethink whether I buy another one or try different brand. Replacing the battery is uneconomic.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Stephania

StephaniaSouth Australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Light weight and easy to use

published

This 2 in 1 hand held vacuum is super quick and very easy to use. Has quite good suction, which works well on both my hardwood floors and rugs. Battery has never died on me while using and I have used for up to 45 minutes with no issues. I have given four stars as I don’t find the Dustbuster as useful, it is uncomfortable to use.
Apart from that. I also have a corded dyson and find this to be just as good, quicker and lighter.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Elliekr41

Elliekr41

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant little machine

published

Love this vacuum cleaner. It's lightweight and easy to use. For an inexpensive cleaner it does just what I need and has quite a decent suction on it. I have always swore y the brand I was using but I would not use any other cleaner now. Cordless means I can run it around the house easily and it has a decent enough battery life to do whole house in one go.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Allanah N

Allanah N

  • 4 reviews

Everyday essential!

published

Never owned a vacuum that worked so efficiently, easy to store and easily portable, great for every surface in my home, even the stairs! We have pets in my house and housemates aswell so a lot of dust and dirt gets under the furniture, the Electrolux helps me clean every inch of my home with ease

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Jill

Jill

  • 5 reviews

Great

published

This vacuum has great suction and is very light and easy to manoeuvre. Lifts pet hair and works well on both tiles and carpet. Easy to charge on dock and can vacuum whole house in one charge. Love the inbuilt cutter to clean hair off brush roller. Highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Electrolux Ergorapido 4th Generation compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony A

Tony ASydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Save your money, buy a Dyson instead

published

We decided to purchase a stick vacuum. I initially told my wife to buy a Dyson, but the slightly cheaper price of the Electrolux won her over. Initially we were very happy with the machine and it’s suction, so Happy in fact that we purchased a second one for my Mum and my sister in law also purchased one. The machines work great for roughly two years then the battery dies. Problem is for the cost of the battery, you could almost buy another machine. This fault happened to all 3 machines which ultimately got tossed out in the rubbish collection. Lesson learnt, don’t skimp, buy a Dyson.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Diane

DianeCianciana Sicily

Junk Do Not Buy

published

I’m not happy with this product at all. I regret spending the money on what I believed to be a better product. Can’t get 5 minutes out of it before the piece of JUNK dies. Save your money! I thought Electrolux was a good brand and have had 2 that lasted 30 years between the 2.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Overall good but not strong enough

published

This product is light and not very noisy. It is easy to use and really convient. However, it is not strong enough to take the dirty things out of the carpet. Always leave some parts...You should clean your house more often if you got this product. Overall good but more suggested for floor.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Nicole L

Nicole LAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works for a while

published

This product was purchased $150 at Godfreys. The vacuum is very stylish and easy to use. It takes a while to charge and can vacuum two rooms twice before needing to be charged again. The suction is good.
Pro: Works on carpet and hard floors, attachment is removable and can be used in a car - the battery power allows it to be portable and cordless, easy to empty dust
Con: The location of the dust holder makes it hard to get underneath couches and cabinets. Has trouble maintaining it's charge after a few months.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
K.V.K

K.V.KFremantle

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little Vacuum Stick

published

I am happy with the performance as a really quick and mobile clean up solution. Just don't expect the same suction you get from a wired vacuum cleaner. It is light and easily maneuverable. My wife nearly uses it everyday. It even has a little button to cut up long hair stuck on the floor attachment. It charges slowly but it is really tidy when packed away behind the closet.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Marg

Margasked

Ergorapido ZB3103 (Juniper Berry, 4th Gen)

I have a Electrolux ZB 3103 bought on 11/4/2018. The battery now does not last more than 5 minutes after a full charge. I only want it to do a house dust and crumb clean in between my normal vacuuming,about 2-4 times a week, but I did expect the battery to last longer than this. It seems that it is difficult to get another battery for these and the cost is prohibitive. Only now I am looking up this website and find the many problems people are having with batteries. What do you suggest I do please?

No answers
Rhonda H.

Rhonda H.asked

Ergorapido 4th Generation

What voltage is this vacuum

No answers
Kaye T.

Kaye T.asked

Ergorapido ZB3103 (Juniper Berry, 4th Gen)

I have a ZB3103 and need a new battery, I have just read it has been replaced by another model, where can I get a new battery, or do I have to buy a new cleaner?... Kaye

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Electrolux representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.