?
? !
2 photos
Engel MT45F-S

Engel MT45F-S

4.2 from 9 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.2

9 reviews
5
(6)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
NOT HAPPY

NOT HAPPYGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Peeling paint and rust.

published

Not happy. Yes it keeps food cold, but paint is peeling from side, top and bottom, and it is rusting. I have had 2 other Engel fridge's with not a problem. From Ray's outdoors now Macpac.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2014 at Ray's Outdoors for $1,228.58.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Colin55

Colin55Darling Downs, QLD

Colin55

published

Purchased in February 2009 for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Troy Kenny Aitkenhead

Troy Kenny AitkenheadAgnus Waters

  • 2 reviews

still works like new

published

in my 4wd 83 Nissan patrol for 9 years on dirt roads not tied down, in qld,had fire wood on top of it in dust, and in floods & exposed to salt water close to the ocean every day, the 4wd rusted out but the fridge is a bit dinted and damaged bit of surface rust around the lid where the paint chipped off but still snap freezes and cold as new! just the battery went flat for the temp gauge after a year other wise it works really well draws 2.5 amps on max turbo freeze and idles about .03 of a amp after every things cold depending on how many times you open the lid

Date PurchasedJan 2008
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MT45F-S compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

cant beat it

published

brought in 2004 been across the simpson flinders top end plus to many camping trips to name.
only advice is once its turned on for the first time don't turn it off except to move from the house to the car.
they dont like being used then turned off and put away till next time.

Date PurchasedJune 2004
andyk

andykGemfields Central Queensland, Qld

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good unit ...hasnt missed a beat

published

Purchased in 2011 (to replace an earlier model that I fried the power board on with a quick charger and needed a quick replacement) The unit has run continuously in the back of the Cruiser ever since. These are great reliable units that are generally bullet proof and can take a few knocks . Temperature control is precise and the beer is always at the set temp of 0.3 C deg . By the way the original MT45F purchased in 2001 still works perfectly today after a $400 repair that was my fault anyway not the units. Thanks Engel

Date PurchasedDec 2011
1 comment
andyk
andyk

Just a follow up ...another 2.25 years on and its still going as good as the day I bought it, thanks engel !!!

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Poppygoose

Poppygoose

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great when working

published

I've had my engel for 8 years and have bad to replace the cooling system twice at a cost of $625 each time due to a blockage in the cooling unit which they tell me is a sealed unit. Not happy i could have bought 2 fridges for what I've spent

rampy

rampy

  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Cooling Unit Failure at 7 years

published

I have used it off and on for seven years now with relatively little usage. In fact you could say it has had a very easy life. Turned it on the other day to stick some drinks in it only to discover that it doesn't cool. Authorised servicing agent has advised me that the cooling unit has failed due to a 'blockage' ~$625 AUD to repair and replace entire unit. So, not so bullet proof.

Best fridge/freezer around

published

Cant fault it, never misses a beat. Have used it from the Outback to the Snowies, would never leave home without it

faded

fadedPerth

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Wouldn't leave home without it

published

Had it for coming up on 6 years now without any drama's, Dad's is coming up on 25 years old with no drama's,
Been on plenty of trips with other people with Waeco's and similar and all have had faults at some point in time, sure they are extremely expensive for what they are but they should last a life time.
reliability, simplicity,
expensive

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Engel MT45F-S compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Engel MT45 reviews

Questions & Answers

Russell

Russellasked

MT45F-S

My Engel cycles on for 4 seconds then off for 4 seconds and repeats this for as long as it is turned on.
It starts doing this as soon as it is turned on.

2 answers
Shane
Shane

G'day Russell,

Some thing wrong there, if you have set on ? say -5 , it will run for a while and turn off for short periods. After 24 hours or so it'll run less and be off longer as the fridge has achieved its desired temp.
It sounds like a thermostat or control setting issue. You'll need to get it to a Engel service agent to have it checked/ fixed. Might still be under warranty ? Cheers
Shane.

Russell
Russell

It short cycles as soon as you turn it on , it never achieves temperature - it does not matter what number you set the thermostat to.

Clean not green

Clean not greenasked

MT45F-S

Hello I have a 40th Anniversary MT45F G4 S
It belonged to my late father and I believe he bought it March 2005 , I am trying to establish if it is 40 or 60 litres , it looks quite large ? I am selling it to buy one smaller
Many thanks Jayne Dexter
0427724985

1 answer
danti
danti

Still available?

reg g

reg gasked

MT45F-S

how old would my 40th anniversary mt45f-g4-s engel be

2 answers
Angry19
Angry19

I think it was released in 2005.

reg g
reg g

ok thanks

See all Engel MT45F-S questions

Get an answer from our members

Engel MT45F-S

Details

Compare all 4 Engel MT45
CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $1,299.00
Type Dedicated Fridge + Freezer Combo
Capacity40L
Can Capacity60 Cans
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel and Interior Light
Weight24 kg
Dimensions 508 x 648 x 364 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Construction MaterialSteel
Compare all 4 Engel MT45
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.