??!
8 photos
EvaKool FridgeMate

EvaKool FridgeMate

FM095, FM070, FM060-FF, FM055
4.4 from 20 reviews

Reviews

4.4

20 reviews
5
(14)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next
John D.

John D.Hobart, TAS

No Longer an Aussie Icon

published

Purchased in March 2018 for A$950.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Bob

BobSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Most unsatisfactory....be warned!

published

Purchased in April 2017 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Dazza WA

Dazza WASouth West, WA

12 years strong

published

Bought online more than 12 years ago (yep the big Ugly yellow one We call it the Beer King) only had to replace manual install thermostat easy DIY 10 min fix plus cost of part otherwise its as tuff as they come and still going strong well done to EvaKool something built to really last, bought 2 other smaller Ev's over the years after all got to keep the steaks n snags in something as well man cannot live on just cold beer, so far so good

Purchased at Online for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

That's awesome Dazza - love stories like yours.

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how EvaKool FridgeMate compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam R

Sam RPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Still serving us well

published

We’ve now had our Evakool portable fridge freezer for several years, using it when we go camping. We’ve had it jam packed with food and drink and it hasn’t let us down. It’s lived on the back of various utes, been bounced around when we’ve gone off road , and hubby goes seriously off-road. It’s been through torrential rain, dusty hot dry conditions such as when we went along the Gibb River road, and still stays cold, icy in the freezer section, and doesn’t suck too much power

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Lucas

LucasSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Been in for warranty repair longer than I have used it and doesn't work that we'll.

published

Purchased in October 2017 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Ian G

Ian Gcatskill

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Fridge

published

Had a manual control yellow monster for over 3 years. Worked a treat even in really hot weather Last year it failed and was repaired by the local techy.
This year it failed again and the interior was starting to delaminate, took it back to the local bloke again.
The following week he called me and said he had sent it to evekool. Last week, I got a call from him. Your fridge is ready to pick up.
What a surprise, a brand new in the box digital 3 speed.
So from time to time things fail. But what a service backup.
In short, Great fridge and Great backup from the company

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Clark Kent

Clark KentSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews

Quiet, efficient & robust

published

8 years old, seen plenty of beach camping. One lap of Australia and performed faultlessly. Ran two 160 ah deep cycle batteries with 160w solar panels. Rarely needed to run generator even during overcast weather. Charged one battery whilst running fridge and LED lighting off the other battery. Swapped battery over each afternoon, quite unnecessary and seemed capable of running at least 3 plus days on one battery.
Favourite part of ownership was the quietness, after some very noisy Engel fridges this one is a dream!

Date PurchasedDec 2010
Bevo

BevoGeraldton

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best camp fridge I've ever owned

published
Date PurchasedMay 2009
1 comment
Bevo
Bevo
art

artWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

The yellow monster, reliable & durable

published

We purchased our fridge/freezer as floor stock at the factory shop about 5years ago. Fits into a slider in the back of our Discovery & has been used off road in some very dusty conditions out West. Had the flashing light after about 3 years, phoned up the factory & was told to check our second battery, it was dud. Nothing fancy to go wrong & the two inner baskets make it easy to add/remove contents. Great as a back up for power cuts/Christmas overload as also works off the mains, which means you can chill down overnight before putting in the vehicle, minimises draw on the battery.

Date PurchasedMar 2012
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how EvaKool FridgeMate compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

JohnMackay

Good strong fridge

published

I have 3 evakools 2x70 &1x95 for about 7 years and there still going strong. The biggest advantage is their simplicity no fancy electronics just std danfoss with manual thermostat . Like all fridges it's critical to limit voltage drop so the bigger the feed cables the better and try and direct connect to the battery I changed the plug in lead to a hard wired 4mm cable with a 50a Anderson the vehicle wiring is 6mm the cig lighter plug in most vechiles is not capable of delivering stable power and consequently you often get the fault lights coming up on under voltage especially when the battery starts to drain so big cables & Anderson plugs and most problems are solved

Date PurchasedJun 2009

Just Brilliant

published

Like several others here I have had my EvaKool for years. It has been fantastic. The only warning I have is similar to one of the other guys, make sure your battery is kept in good nik or you get the dreaded flashing warning. The insulation is great and draw rate also great, just a little sensitive. Its been all over Aust and lives in Townsville so handles the heat well.

Date PurchasedApr 2007

Check your battery rating.

published
charchie

charchieSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent value very tough

published

We purchased the new style FM95 gray model with digital controls. It's the best fridge freezer I have ever owned.
Being poly is wont dent crack or rust
It has some great features, it can be half fridge half freezer all fridge or all freezer. It's very quite and super efficient running on normal car battery for 2.5day without being charged running as a freezer.
We have used it 2 weeks straight out bush running half fridge half freezer and was fantastic.
I like the fact it has a bung so I can wash it out at the end of the trip.
Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a 12v fridge. And it's Australian made

Good Fridge, BUT

published

We bought our FM055 EvaKool fridge last October and are very pleased with it. We had it running on our back verandah for around 6 months and once we found the correct temperature, by using the supplied thermometer for food/ drinks,it worked very well.
With that in mind we set off for a trip north. All went well until I found one of the stubbies of beer had rolled over and went through the basket and damaged the "cooling pipes".
In my opinion the problem is a design fault. The basket wire is not fine enough to stop bottles slipping through the gaps.
Hopefully EvaKool and take this problem and fix it.
Cheers and happy travelling............Bruce

Julie

JulieGympie, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Working wonderfuly so far

published

Everything went well except the delivery took a little longer than expected and it appears to have dented our beautiful new fridge a little disappointing.

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how EvaKool FridgeMate compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robbie

RobbieApollo Bay, Victoria

Can't find a fault

published

I've had this fridge for 8 years now without any failure! 6 months of every year over the last 6 years I have used it as a freezer running 24/7 and only ever had to replace 1 fuse (easily done). I'm not sure about these days, but when i bought the fridge it used less current than the big players. I can't recommend this fridge enough, It is a steal at the price and outlasts the competitors plus it Aussie made. I realy love the simple but strong engineering, I'll buy this fridge again if it ever breaks down.

1 comment
Robbie
Robbie

3 years later and it's still cranking away!

palevo7

palevo7Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Fridge or Freezer or both - it just works

published
Chris.s

Chris.s

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge but not perfect - still best on market for size

published

- solid - can slide around and stand on etc as it is like an esky.
- lid warps when hot and bows in the middle when outside is hot and inside is cold. lets small amount of air out.
- bought through australian direct and got the programmable thermostat which works well.
- have broken both clips off it by sliding it in car with them up once but called evakool and they sent me new ones for free. they sent me thicker foam for around top to fix gap too.
- access is awesome as it is not deep like engel and no bag to fuss with.
- customer service is awesome
- overall i love it

simon1234

simon1234Bathurst, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Quality Australian Built Portable Fridge

published
one4x4

one4x4Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolutely brilliant fridge!! Cant live without it! So good

published
2 comments
ian.andreasen.50
ian.andreasen.50

You work for everkool?? I find my 60l uses way more power than the magazine test results, the latches break easily and they warp in the sun. Your mileage may vary!

gavinees
gavinees

Questions & Answers

Lois G.

Lois G.asked

FridgeMate

evaporator for 70 ltr fridge mate, can you supply or tell us who can. Price and availibity please

1 answer
Dazza WA
Dazza WA

https://www.evakool.com.au/fridge-freezers/spares/
For parts see above site
Not sure it is viable to replace as a full re-gas would be required and you will need to ensure that you get new seals (O-Rings) its a pretty expensive repair and might be better off getting a new or secondhand complete fridge for similar money

Chris D

Chris Dasked

FridgeMate

Panel lights are on, but can't get the compressor to kick over. I've recently changed the cigarette lighter/military make Jack, maybe the wiring into or out of that is the problem?

2 answers
Dazza WA
Dazza WA

https://www.evakool.com.au/fridge-freezers/spares/
try for a panel at above site for replacement unit

Chris D
Chris D

Thanks Dazza. Best rgards yes, CD

Craig M.

Craig M.asked

FridgeMate

What setting do I have it on going from 240v to 12v please

1 answer
Lucas
Lucas

Hi Craig,

No changes. The 240v power supply plugs in to the same fittings.

Get an answer from our members and EvaKool representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.