??!
3 photos
Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart

Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart

WL80T65CW1, WL80T65CW2 (8kg), WL70T60CW2 (7kg), etc...
1.8 from 647 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

1.8

647 reviews
5
(63)
4
(47)
3
(18)
2
(60)
1
(459)
  • Build Quality
    2.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.1 (10)
Previous
Next
JMG

JMGSouth Australia

  • 4 reviews

im glad its discontinued put me of fisher & paykel

published

its suppose to be water efficient but does not clean clothes proplerly it goes out of balance during spin.It is not realy automatic as always running back to fix problem and re start.In the past i always had hoover I would not get a fisher & paykel again.Good job this model is discontinued.

Purchased at Radio Rentals SA.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Elena

ElenaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

USELESS machine ever built

published

Bought brand new from Harvey Norman in 2014. Worked well for maybe 2 years, then would consistently go out of balance and needed to move clothes around for it to spin and finish the cycle. Had my previous Kleenmaid machine for 20 years an absolute dream but they don’t sell them in Australia anymore - great shame. This Aquasmart is undoubtedly the worst machine ever designed in the history of mankind. If someone tries to sell you this, RUN as fast as you can to a different brand, different shop. Your mental health depends on it.

Purchased in June 2014 at Harvey Norman for A$980.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nonya

NonyaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Seems to be fine for us

published

I'm interested to know if the people leaving reviews have bought from new or second hand. My dad fixes and repairs, seems to do a good job? Especially if you follow manufacturer instructions and don't use fabric softener!! And put a proper load of clothes in, not overloading. It also helps if you level them out properly using their screw out feet. The only reason I'd mark this at 3 stars is the suspension rods could be better, besides that, seems to be fine.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robbie L.

Robbie L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Never worked well from day 1, nursed along the last few years

published

Purchased in February 2007 for A$990.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Would NEVER buy again

published

This machine was okay for the first couple of years, then started to thump loudly. Thumping increased in frequency until now I can't even use it - have to 'rebalance' clothes and restart over and over again, cannot even finish one wash due to this. The thumping sound is like a car crashing into the laundry, and the damn machine moves across the laundry as if possessed. I'm reduced to washing by hand until I can get time to go to the shop and buy a new one, which won't be another F&P! Oh, I also had to change to liquid detergent as powder detergent always left marks on clothes.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Matt

MattCanberra

  • 2 reviews

Will go out of my way to never buy a Fisher&Paykel product ever again

published

Absolute rubbish. Wouldn’t wash a sock. Doesn’t fill. Doesn’t rinse. Doesn’t spin. Junk. Garbage. Wouldn’t even use as a boat anchor. Would happily drop from a great height. Never again will I buy a F&P product and will tell everyone I know to avoid this company like the plague.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Judy

JudyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst machine

published

This machine is trouble. It tangles clothes, leaves lint on all dark items, is frequently unbalanced and makes loud cluncking noises often,
After using for only 2 1/2 years it died. I'm told it is a control panel failure.
Not worth repairing so it's going out for hard garbage collection.
I'm looking forward to getting a new one.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
MissC78

MissC78Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Built well and very user friendly

published

Coming on 9 years old, and used multiple times a week, this machine is well suited to big loads. From heavy work clobber to delicates, king size bed sheets and doonas, the range of pre-set options to choose from will have a washing solution for all needs. Being able to tailor those settings to each load makes it very user friendly. And then a reminder after 100 washes to run a "clean me" cycle makes putting the clothes in the barrel the hardest part of washing. Always one to wash with liquid (not powder), my only negative is a white residue is sometimes left on black garments - in both warm / cold cycles. Otherwise, the unit is very gentle even on the toughest of loads - a brand I would certainly purchase again in the future.

Purchased in July 2010 at Harvey Norman for A$975.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
VPL

VPLQueensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Read the reviews carefully

published

Lint left, unbalanced continually, and some clothes and sheets need rewashing after washing. I don't ever have dirty items, but many come out dirty after washing. Its aqua smart meaning frugal with water, but you actually need water to wash clothes. While frugal with water the cycle takes over an hour so expensive on power. Read the reviews carefully because it appears some are very questionable in their endorsing such a woeful washing machine that should have been recalled. After staying in Timeshares throughout the world using hundreds of washing machines over the years, this machine is the worst I have ever encountered.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bronte

BronteSydney, NSW

leaves lint and a white residue on darks

published

Does not wash blacks well, leaves a residue of powder or lint? Have tried cleaning machine several times and changing to liquid but still can't get a good wash on darks.

Purchased in March 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Patch

PatchGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Excellent machine if used properly

published

This machine is excellent if you adhere to the manufacturer’s advice.
It will not clean well if overloaded and will imbalance if underloaded. Use the suggested detergent in correct amounts. I use this machine 5 times a week with my family’s clothes. I also put through massage towels at a rate of 20 per week. Always a great wash. I also like the programming with is intuitive and the clean cycle keeps me up with when the machine needs cleaned.

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

The WORST Washing Machine

published

I agree with what other reviewers have stated about the Aquasmart Model loads being unbalanced. This happens constantly! One load of laundry can take 5 hours due to all of the sensors detecting 'unbalanced' laundry. This washing machine is a joke! We went out today, to buy a Maytag-they have always been reliable.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Vicki

Vicki

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best washing machine I have ever owned!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2009
emmady

emmadyrobina

  • 7 reviews

happy with the machine

published

This washing machine cleans really well.. clothes come out rinsed very well. doesn’t seem to wear out our clothes like other brands. I’ve found a top loader is far easier and more convenient to use. all round a great machine that does what it supposed too. we definately made the right choice.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Ann

AnnSydney

  • 2 reviews

Worst washing machine should have been recalled

published

Dud machine bad from day one it took too long to wash and continuously noisy and offbalance and it lasted 11 years was not a heavy user 2 loads a week and black clothes were covered in washing powder every time I used Omo had to use liquid to overcome this issue. My old Simpson lasted 35 years Fisher and Paykel no longer a New Zealand company sold to Haier crap brand will not buy ever again!

Date PurchasedOct 2007
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
judy

judyAdelaide

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

loved this machine

published

I had this machine for almost ten Years. Had a perfect run, not 0ne call out. My towels were always spun well and dried really fluffy,never had a problem with any of the cycles. Why on earth I got the idea to try a different brand. BOSCH what a disarster. When I can afford to I'm going back to FISHER AND PAYKEL.

Date PurchasedMay 2008
rfcroc

rfcrocBrisbane

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not a good purchase

published

The worst machine we've owned. Was in for repairs multiple times. Loud, bangs like a bin truck. Is not kind to anything delicate so bring out the mesh bags if you have them. Will not run a spin cycle without endless rinses in between. Wish we had bought anything else.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

White Trash

published

Mine just broke. So happy. Time to buy a new one. Clothes came out dirtier than went in. Sheets in knots. always unbalanced, black stuff just impossible to come out clean, went through about every washing detergent on the market to find something that wouldn't leave residue, gave up on the HE feature years ago - never washes properly, takes ages, have resorted to doing many smaller loads - just so things will clean properly and if you want to wash a blanket or doona, be prepared to spend the whole afternoon at home tending to the thing. White Trash. Pure and simple.

Date PurchasedFeb 2011

Lint all over cloths. Get a work out with the cloths brush on every item.

published

Leaves dark marks on clothes very disappointed every time I do a wash!
Hardly any water to cover clothes!
Bad idea! Traded in a front loader which I hated but this tops it all.'
Bought second hand but looked in very good condition, sad I didn't read reviews before hand.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Ann G

Ann GBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not as good as I expected

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Page 1 of 33

Questions & Answers

Ian S

Ian Sasked

AquaSmart WL80T65CW1

When turn on at wall machine makes 3/4 beeping sound and no power to control panel, why is this?

No answers
sjhanlon

sjhanlonasked

AquaSmart WL80T65DW1

as posted above i an trying to sort out a friends aquasmart washer model WL80T65C have ordered correct suspension rods and elastic straps [ genuine] and replaced them , machine is level , drum is centred , done a test wash with NO clothes and machine still stops on spin cycle and gives an out of balance message , machine does not vibrate , bang or move etc very quite it just stops when in spin cycle with an out of balance message . have done fac reset makes no differance , its bloody frustrating to say the least , fisher and paykel used to have a really solid name . not to sure any more about that

1 answer
SAM
SAM

Ditto, cannot agree more did all above finnaly have decided to replace with different brand

Angela F.

Angela F.asked

AquaSmart

Why does it take so long to do a basic load of washing

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Details

Compare all 6 Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart
CategoryTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing Machines
Water Rating4stars4stars4stars4stars
Energy Rating3.5stars3.5stars3.5stars3.5stars
Height1050mm1050mm1050mm1050mm
Max Spin Speed1000rpm1000rpm1000rpm1000rpm
MechanismImpellerImpellerImpellerImpeller
Width600mm650mm
Depth600mm650mm
Capacity7kg8kg
Replaced byFisher & Paykel AquaSmart WL70T60CW2 (7kg)Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart WL80T65CW2 (8kg)
Compare all 6 Fisher & Paykel AquaSmart

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.