??!
1 photo
Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

MPN: 35904921
3.9 from 73 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.9

73 reviews
5
(36)
4
(19)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (8)
Previous
Next
Carol Martin

Carol MartinIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

This washing machine is a beauty!

published

This 5.5kg washing machine has a selection of four basic and adequate wash cycles. It never becomes unbalanced while washing large items; it just quietly gets on with the job.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeElectrolux EDV505
See all answers
Chris G

Chris GSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fisher Paykel MW513 5.5kg top loading washing machine from Appliances Online is a very good buy.

published
janie

janieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst purchase ever

published

Bought this machine around 6 months ago after previous f&p washer that was amazing omg sounds like an plane taking off o n spin and not happy with more than 1 towel etc surely this is not right !

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adqm

AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 16 reviews

Like it a lot, but very big!

published

My house is small and it takes up a lot of space, but that means it does fit a lot, it cleans perfectly and all the settings work great. The time it takes for one load is average but it is still great.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kmart for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Pidgie

Pidgie

  • 29 reviews
  • 1 like

Going....going... after only 21 months

published

This is my second F&P Quicksmart and after 21 months of once-a-day use there is a strong smell of stale water coming from it which indicates that it is not fully emptying after the wash cycle. The previous one only lasted three years before going with a big bang. I am careful as to what goes into the machine and always use those washing bags for small items. Apart from the short life span, the machine is a good reliable work-horse which has not had any other issues. I will be looking at other brands when this one goes.

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Waz

WazSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews

Initial reaction

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Waz
Waz

May 2020 and this machine is still working very well. Wife is more than happy we bought it. It operates so quitely it's often hard to know if it is actually working - and it washes well.

Babs

BabsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

My 3rd one!

published

Yes - this is my 3rd F & P washing machine and I have to say I just can't go past it. My previous one lasted 11 years but I will add that it only does washing for one which no doubt added to it's longevity. It's very quiet apart from when it's draining water and you hear a not so quiet pulsating noise but does it's thing quickly and efficiently. I rarely run it on anything but a normal cycle and find it very kind to my clothes. I luv, luv, luv the 1000 rpm spin cycle which helps aid the drying time on the clothes line tremendously. Not the cheapest on the market given it's only a small machine but in so far as a good quality, efficient & durable machine, it's a winner.

Purchased in June 2019 at Domayne QLD, Bundall for A$548.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

best washing machine

published

this is my 2nd fisher and paykel washing machine ive owned, there great super quite very had any problems i wash everything from quilts, pillows, jumpers, delicates totally satisfied, have used other brands in the past.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
speedy gonzales

speedy gonzalesWanganui

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable, low maintenance washer.

published

Faultlessly had 3 yrs of trouble free general household washing.
Easy to use features, washing heavy soiled to delicates perfectly.
Washing times are as expected to obtain perfect wash & spin cycles.

Overall: Very satisfactory & recommended..

Purchased in April 2016 at nz. 100% electrical.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chickens

chickensMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome

published

Awesome machine!
Quick cycles, simple controls, easy to use.
Faster and quieter than my old machine, and spins faster so clothes come out drier.
Would have preferred to have more than the basic 3 water levels (low, medium and high), but not worth upgrading to a more expensive model for the rare time that "med-high" is preferred.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Sar

SarSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Loverly quiet machine

published

Excellent for smaller loads for a single person.
Beautifully quiet and efficient. Due to being smaller I cannot wash blankets or bigger loads.
Functions in tvs machine give many options such as spin speed which is highly useful for delicate shirts etc
Overall a great machine.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Sydneen

Sydneen

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best Washing Machine I have owned in 60 years

published

Given our first Fisher & Paykel Top Loader, a second hand one, some 20 years ago which worked extremely well until July when it finally gave up the ghost. We replaced with the same model. Best ever - washing comes out clean, almost dry after spin dry cycle, quiet and economical. Well done, Fisher & Paykel.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Sandy67

Sandy67melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Works very hard at our place

published

We give this washer a very hard time with daily use and it takes all we can throw at it. We have had it for over five years and it's still going strong. The touchpad had aged a little bit but that could be because the sun comes into the laundry. Its already given very good value. Definite trooper

Date PurchasedAug 2013
Meekey

MeekeySydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Washing Machine

published

Love this washing machine. It is easy to use and is quick and efficient. I like how quiet it is when washing. I have never had any problems with it. It is a lot better than my previous machine (Simpson) which only lasted 3 years. I would recommend to others.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
dreamygirl8

dreamygirl8Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Efficient and gentle on the clothes

published

This is my second FisherPaykel washing machine. My first one lasted just over 14 years and I was very impressed with all the features and the quality. Researched this new model and ordered it online. I never had any problems with it and it is perfect for a family of 4. It has all the cycles that are necessary and works well for all types of fabrics. It is efficient and gentle on the fabrics.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debbie

DebbieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews

Love it

published

I had a Fisher & Pykel for 15 years. Back then it was only the 5kg machine top loader. It was reliable and never has a problem till it died one day. So after hearing rave reviews about the front loaders (LG) I bought one, which was a nightmare. It was very noisy and the machine moved while washing and my back hurt. So after 2 years we went back to the Fisher & Pykel Quicksmart 5.5kg top loader. Its quiet, quick, and cost effective on the save water mode and washing mainly in cold water saves on the gas bills. We only do a couple of loads a week. For the price and reliability it has been a really good washing machine.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Skippy

Skippy

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very quiet

published

This is just a quick initial first impression review - I will update later if I have anything to add.
The main thing I notice straight away is how QUIET it is - it is definitely the quietest machine I've owned yet. Yes - even the fastest spin cycle is quiet, in my opinion It's also faster than my previous machine (a Simpson "Ezi Set" SWT604).
The Simpson only lasted 5 years before developing a fault, so I decided to cut my losses, and rather than have it repaired, I've come back to F&P. (I had a F&P before the Simpson, which lasted well)

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Lexisview

LexisviewSYDNEY

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great machine easy to use

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Quickpig

QuickpigSoldiers Point

  • 30 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Expectations

published

Our new Fisher and Paykel MW 513 appears to be almost identical to the previous MW 511 which lasted 14 years with only the outlet pump requiring replacement during that period. The controls are logical and easy to use. The direct drive motor is quiet and the wash cycles are quick and efficient. Fully loaded, it's necessary to ensure the clothing is evenly distributed around the drum or things can get very noisy. Really happy with it so far, I will update this review periodically to comment on reliability.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Marty

MartyTweed Heads

  • 2 reviews

Another great washing machine from Fisher Paykel

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 4
See all Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader reviews

Questions & Answers

malcolm

malcolmasked

QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

seems there are lots of questions for this quicksmart machine but no quick and smart answers when the spin cycle will not intitiate. our machine purchased in january and has failed already because a DB sheet and 2 pillowcases were out of balance. redistributing the load did not work.

2 answers
Nise
Nise

That did happen with sheets but no problem once redistributed. I had no problems with my first FP 5.5kg that's why I purchased a second one. My new 6kg is so far terrific.

malcolm
malcolm

would you believe Nise, my wife came in after two goes of my own and a i said to her, "no Luck, it still doesnt spin out but go ahead and do a load, ill just hang it out all wet." she put on a fairly big load, no bigger than ususal and we kept an eye on it for the whole time. the temperamental thing went right through to the end including the spin cycles for rinse and finish. work that one out. Cheers Malcolm

vaniajonathan626

vaniajonathan626asked

QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

where is the lint disposable waste in this machine?and if it is internal I will like to know how it works ,because eventually could block the machine...I just bought this machine...I have always clean the waste in my other ones...

No answers
Mick  R

Mick Rasked

QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

Looking for the lint filter on mw513 machine serial number mrg497517

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.