??!
1 photo
Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW60 (6kg)

Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW60 (6kg)

MPN: 35904934
4.2 from 41 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.2

41 reviews
5
(21)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Nise

NiseGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great small size machine

published

Machine is quiet and spins really well. This is my second Fisher Paykel slightly larger and this one has an eco feature. First one lasted 20yrs. Really happy with this machine.

wsp9145

wsp9145Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Tangles and gets off balance on regular basis

published

Limited internal space due to large agitator. One queen size quilt cover is maximum load and this will tangle EVERY time and the machine will get off balance EVERY time. It also gets off balance if I wash towels. I have played around with load size so as not to overload, but problem remains. I need to stand by the machine EVERY spin cycle to rectify problems. For other loads, anything like a long skirt or trousers, will get tangled in the agitator.
I have had this machine for 2 years and while it is still operating without any mechanical issues, I have just bought a cheap washing machine to replace it. Washing is now considerably easier! Perhaps if you only need to wash single sheets and small towels it would be fine.

Gill B.

Gill B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Moving with the times

published

Still apply the old-fashioned way of sorting clothes into darks and whites.
This machine in particular is good in that the favourite option is automatic. This means that the water fills in such a way that you are not over using water by the amount of water you require. The machine fills just enough to thoroughly wash and rinse the clothes. This then also reduces the cycle times of your wash..
Having mentioned this, you also have the option to use the different cycles. For example choosing the delicate option, it really is a more gentle wash.
I like the size of this machine because it is big enough to wash your bigger items like bedspreads, blankets etc.

.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman Online for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW60 (6kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simone

SimonePerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet and reliable

published

I have been using my washing machine for over a year now, and I absolutely love it.

My previous washing machine was a noisy beast; this one is so quiet that I often forget it's on. It just gives a few beeps when it is done and that is pretty much it.

The 6kg size is perfect for our family of 3; it handles everything from delicates to soiled clothes. It's super straight forward to use and finishes the cycles quickly. I'd researched my options before purchasing and had seen a lot of good reviews for this machine. I feel it has definitely lived up to that feedback - it's been used at least once a day for a good 15 months without any issues whatsoever.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Natasha

NatashaPerth

  • 5 reviews

You can't go wrong buying this one!

published

I love this. I have had previous issues with machines quickly showing mold regardless of of airing them and cleaning them as per the instructions. I have had no such problems with this machine. I love how quiet it is when washing and how it doesn't crease my clothes as much as other machines

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sabastion Beamer

Sabastion BeamerBroom

  • 4 reviews

Damage pillows and water leak

published

Not very happy as we chucked in some small pillows in cases and they split right open even on delicate wash! We also after this had water leaking from somewhere in the back. As its in warranty were just waiting for someone to pick it up and have gotten it swapped for a different model but by the same make

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
george

georgeperth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet machine

published

It is a quiet machine and it clean well.The clothes does not tangle after washing and the spin cycle take out most of the water.
A good feature is it tells you how long it will before the washing ends.
And the price on the machine was reasonable.
Cannot coplain.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Pktick

PktickSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great machine

published

I love this washing machine and would never go with another brand again. It does tend to go off balance with a heavy load but every machine I've had does that. I did need the extended warranty but the service guy came out so quickly and fixed it with ease. No problems since

Date PurchasedMar 2013
KPF

KPFPerth

  • 4 reviews

Love this machine

published

Good washing machine for an apartment for 2 users. It does have the lint problem but that 's common for all F&P machines. Found out the hard way that softener does not go well with the eco cycle as my clothes still came out with softener. Panel functions were flexible enough. I did find it pricey for a small machine but I guess I'm paying for the brand.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW60 (6kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Diezie

DiezieTenterfield

  • 5 reviews

No Regrets - a reliable machine

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DrBob737

DrBob737AU

  • 15 reviews

The Washing machine actually built to last.

published

Washes the clothes well even in cold water. Almost drip dry when I remove the clothes. A real workhorse machine that can handle the capacity. You have to realize the direct drive motor in this machine and no need to run a gearbox is what makes Fisher & Paykel great.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Shaldon7

Shaldon7Bundarra

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

So happy

published

I love this machine! Has been amazing from day one. My partner is a farmer so constantly washing muddy, greasy, dirty clothes and coming out clean every time. Can be a bit on the louder side but we have a
Large laundry that can echo. Love that you can pause for it to start in so many hours. Love it’s

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Rock

RockDungog

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good machine

published

This machine is a quiet machine that doesn’t make much noise, appears to not move around a lot. Does not wear out clothes, favourite thing about the machine is that the washing powder spreads through the machine and doesn’t stick to clothing and leave powder marks. The water ratio is not the best

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sean

Sean

  • 2 reviews

Nice little unit

published

Six weeks, and does the job.
I purchased the extended warranty as I have an existing electronic control board memory.
It is quick and quiet.
I bought it, (in a hurry), after using this site to decide what machine to purchase. My old trusty F&P started leaking around water pump, (couldn't be bothered fixing it).
I have read some reviews about water splashing up on the high water setting. I checked this by opening up the lid and sticking my head in while the machine is washing. I saw a few little drops onto the angled side. I solved this by pulling my head out and closing the lid.
I live in NZ. I ordered online. When it was in store, (three days, man), I picked it up.
One year on, still good, still the same. No problems at all.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Deb

DebAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Reliable Little Gem

published

This wasn't what i expected, when i washed the childrens play clothes. They came out clean & fresh no messy residue .Which ive had issues with other brands. Hard working machine well worth it's weight in washing power! The machine wasnt to loud which is a issue for me as laundry room near children's bedroom. Can rely on Fisher &Paykel!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW60 (6kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colin

ColinYarrawarrah

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy and Quite

published

This machine is very easy to install being a light model.The cleaning phases are easy to manouvre as you run through your particular wash cycle.The final result finishes with the cloths being nicely cleaned and thre rinse cycle also does a nice job extracting the water.Our machine is whisper quite,although it is situated in a closed off laundry.The Eco Rinse and wool cycles would be my favourite features.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sofie

SofieFairfield

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Too small

published

My mum had a 6kg washer that broke down after 15 years. SO I bought her this replacement. When it arrived, the drum looked half the size of her old one. It gets good reviews, but it is way to small to wash enough stuff, so we ended up changing it. This is not for someone who washes their sheets and towels frequently

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Love my washing machine

published

Only purchased my fisher and Parker machine 3 weeks ago and have found it to be super quite even during the spin cycle. Have found that my washing is coming out cleaner and removes more stains. The rinse cycle is perfect, doesn't tangle clothes around the agitatior. The settings are easy to use and easy to understand. Cycles are short with the option to increase the washing time.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Sallw59

Sallw59Surf

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent results - good value

published

We replaced our 15 year old 10kg Fisher & Paykel after we gave it to someone that had several kids. The 6kg model is more suitable in size for our needs now and is just a easy to use as its functions are the same, and since it has similar workings so we expect it will last as well.

Plus
It washes well
Is economic with water
It is hard to unbalance loads

Minus
It noiser than many front loaders - but it's so much faster.
Note: we reset the spin rate down from 1000rpm to 750 as we've found that is more than enough and is quiter too.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Rob

RobMelbourne

  • 14 reviews

Great machine

published

Well made reliable and a good size for average sized laundry areas. Since getting around 12 years of use from the previous F and P machine I decided to upsize to this model.
The auto everything function does a great job of washing clothes and has options for delicates reducing the speed of the impeller blades so as not to damage clothing articles.
Heavy duty mode seems to work very well with the appropriate quality powder and additives to remove grease/oil stains from my overalls.
Very happy with this model and easy to set up level with adjustable feet for flooring uneveness.
A great product you will be satisfied with for many years.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 3
See all Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Top Loader reviews

Questions & Answers

Mac

Macasked

QuickSmart MW60 (6kg)

Can the F& P MW 60 do cold only washing?

2 answers
fisher_man
fisher_man

mw 60?

Sam
Sam

I am not sure about MW60. Mine is MW511 and yes, you can do cold only washing with MW511.
In fact, I am mostly do cold only washing.

Bison

Bisonasked

QuickSmart MW60 (6kg)

Hi, we got our new MW60 yesterday and I am going crazy trying to figure out how to do just a cold wash. Seems that you can't change the temp setting on this one (warm wash seems to be it's thing) and that is upsetting as we only ever used cold wash with our other smart drive that was 18yrs old. Can anyone help with my dilemma.

2 answers
Rocket
Rocket

No sure as you would think you can do a cold wash ,did you hold the button down to select cold ,if doesn't work swap the hose from hot to cold and see how it works ,if don't work ring F& P may assist in problem

Bison
Bison

Thanks Rocket. Finally got it sorted.

Margi

Margiasked

QuickSmart MW60 (6kg)

Hi,my F/P quicksmart which is 2,5 yers old never had a problem, just now suddenly as I was going to startmy usual wasing after turning it on and trying to set it sarted beeping and can't do any programming, not letting change just a few lights on and beeping even after i turn it off at the power point because can't even turn off on the machine itself, it goes on for about 10sec than it stops beeping and ....any idea what can be done? Part from calling a service man.... Thank you

1 answer
Rocket
Rocket

Hi margi
It is hard to diagnose the problem without seeing it could be the top board were you turn it on .which is about 80$ depending were you live if in Australia.the other thing could be the lid safety switch try tapping the lid or make sure the lid is fully closed if you lift the lid to the up position it will lift straight out and you can clean it .hopefully it's not the main board as its about 150$ for that board and if you can't do it yourself the service Guy is going to charge his labor on top of that .hope this helps

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.