??!
4 photos
Fisher & Paykel FabricSmart Top Loader

Fisher & Paykel FabricSmart Top Loader

IW812, WA80T65FW1 (8kg), WA70T60FW1 (7kg), etc...
2.8 from 110 reviews

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

2.8

110 reviews
5
(27)
4
(18)
3
(11)
2
(15)
1
(39)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
sanshar2002

sanshar2002

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Easy to use and good long term service

published

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeSimpson 39P350K
See all answers

Never Again

published

Purchased Model WA8060P1 and have no end of problems.After the warranty ran out we had to have the logic board replaced and then six months later water starts leaking from the bottom of the appliance
We always thought Fisher Paykel was a name that could be trusted and on reflection that was a myth.
Will never go anywhere near this companies products ever again,BE WARNED from the reviews their products are not worth the exorbitant prices they charge.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
s55

s55Murrumbeena

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it still after 3yrs

published

Many cycles. Tried all and extremely satisfied. Delicate cycle very good for a top loader. Cycle times accurate and love that I can spin one item of clothing and does not go out of balance. Use it regularly and it hasn't missed a beat. Also has a good fast spin. Love it.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel FabricSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wayne M

Wayne MHunter Region, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 likes

It just works

published

washes well, is mostly quiet in operation and though sceptical about full auto it does a good job in selecting fabrics, spin speed and wash action. Powder through the top is easy and never found anything undissolved. You can set how you like or just press start, now been running for 3 years including a move out of Sydney.

Date PurchasedJul 2014
Jennifer B

Jennifer BPerth

  • 5 reviews

Bought for my mother

published

For the price it is a good machine. My mother wanted it because it had an agitator. She used to have an old washing machine and she had read up about how when it doesn't have an agitator it does not wash your clothes as good. She also needed a top loader as she cannot bend down.

This model was a good size. Not too big and when it is just her she can put it on the short cycle. It was simple to hook up and the controls are simple to use. It is average when it comes to noise. No noisier then mine that I have at home.

So far no complaints.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
nita.arreza

nita.arrezaSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

It makes my life easy. I like it!

published

I like a washing machine with an agitator compared to the one without. I set and forget this model so I really like it.I don't have to keep changing the settings. It has a timer so I know when the wash is going to finish. It has a pause button in case you need to add more clothes.The only thing I don't like is, it doesn't collect the lint or it doesn't have a lint bag so sometimes the lint are left on the clothes specially the blacks. Overall, I am very happy with it coz it makes my life easy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sonia

SoniaBrisbane

Such a bad experience

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
A123

A123Townsvile

  • 2 reviews

Computer died after 3 years, just out of warranty

published

Worked okay for 3 years. Then the computer died. Terrible. Never buy another Fisher Paykel product again. I Rang the call centre. Service fee will be about $150 and the new computer part over $100. Not sure it's worth having it fixed as high probability of something else failing after. Lousy quality product.

Date PurchasedAug 2013
BigStan

BigStanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Never a problem

published

Had this unit over 15 years. Never had any technical or mechanical problems. Auto water sensor has been a bit finicky on occasion and rethinks itself a few times, but that is all we could say about it in a negative aspect. The purchase date provided is an approximation only.

Date PurchasedAug 2001
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel FabricSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
user2008

user2008

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent Machine 14 years of trouble free use

published
Date PurchasedSep 2003
Nic

NicKingscliff

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

NOT HAPPY JAN!!!!!!! !!?

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Power cut on spin cycle and now it's dead!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2012

After 3 years the Washing Machine is not working -

published

At least 10 times our machine has stopped. When it gets to a spin cycle we get a message on LCD power cut,turn power off & on says restart in 10 seconds than stops after 5seconds.The power point is fine all other appliances are working perfectly. Fisher & Paykel produces rubbish products, I am very disappointed.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
Carty

CartyQueensland

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Quality Machine; Very Efficient and Clever.

published
Deza da Advocate

Deza da AdvocateSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 36 reviews
  • 17 likes

Pretty Good

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel FabricSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Washerlover03

Washerlover03

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Confusing Options

published

It's okay but the options are so awkward to adjust so quite often people will just get confused and press power and start meaning that they will often get a cold wash with an Auto Sensing water level when they might not want it so stupid. Its alright if you want to always use an auto water level.

LHill

LHillAdelaide

A pain to wash with.

published
Lena Muo

Lena MuoNSW, 2146

  • 41 reviews
  • 24 likes

Quiet and great washing machine

published

Have had this washing machine for a few years. The stand out feature is its quietness and also a range of cool modes such as Eco power mode and duvet mode. It also senses the amount of water and the type of fabric so quite handy. No problems so far. Clothes come out clean however there may be some residue left on it depending on how dirty your clothes are. There is also the option to rinse the machine on its own but I found that to be a waste of water and energy as it doesn't do much.

Sally

SallyMorayfield

Great Machine

published

Washes clothes well with no lint left on clothes. Spin cycle is very good, clothes come out nearly dry. Doesn't tangle or rip clothes. Quick and efficient, I have a family of 4, and wash most days and I find the 8kg is just right. I have used this machine since the start of January 2016. The only bad thing I found was the auto water fill does not fill the right amount in the tub, so I manually use med or high water level depending on the amount of clothes to be washed and this solves the problem without a hassle. I would recommend this machine.

Didn't work from day 1

published

went to use the machine the first time, dial would only go to regular. Other options wouldn't work properly either.
Technician came and ordered part. He returned to fix the machine three weeks later. Machine worked for a day. Again dial wouldn't work. Technician returned. Needs a tech expert to come and put another part in. That was two weeks ago have not been able to get a date for the repair and we are without a working washing machine.

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Lesley Staines

Lesley Stainesasked

FabricSmart IW812

Hello I have had my Fisher & Paykel iw812 machine 17 years has been absolutely brillant. Just recently water has been dripping from the water inlet valve inside the machine.
Do I need to organise a service person to attend and can this be fixed.

No answers
Jerzy K.

Jerzy K.asked

FabricSmart IW812

Error code 105. Says its a comms error. How to reset codes?

No answers
Dommo

Dommoasked

FabricSmart IW812

Had this washine machine for 8 years, getting message saying "POWER CUT" - restarting in 10 seconds. Any ideas on how to resolve this ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.