??!
1 photo
Gardenline Tap Timer Item 46715

Gardenline Tap Timer Item 46715

2.9 from 14 reviews

Reviews

(4)
(3)
(0)
(2)
(5)


  • Verified purchase

Lasted a few months then died

published

Bought it when it was on sale (I bought it early because they're only on sale once or twice as year) but didn't actually install it for about 9 months until the irrigation system was completed. Then it lasted for a maximum of 4 months before the screen went dead and stopped working.

Dead batteries thought I, so I changed the batteries. It made no difference. I tried the batteries in a second one I bought at the same time but had never taken out of the packet. That one worked fine.
When I checked the docket I realised I'd bought the unit 13 months before so no warranty.

Next time I'll buy a Pope from Bunnings. More expensive but will almost certainly last longer.

Purchased in January 2018 at ALDI for $30.00.


Germano Moscarda

Germano MoscardaPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Very disappointed

published

purchased from Aldi, worked for a couple of months, then out of warranty, Aldi wouldn't have a bar of it,
you get what you pay for, all I got was a big disappointment. 60 days warranty? dats all you get from ALDI.
i think its only for inside use. no good if it gets the sun.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Works Fantastic

published

Even forgot to remove it in frosty weather still working very well hasn't missed a beat,bloody fantastic better than a lot of units just keeps on keeping on Very east to operate a kid could set it up. mine did and re setting was simple great saver of water, saves plants.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Pgb123

Pgb123Melbourne

  • 3 reviews

Bought 6, 3 failed after 1 year, Aldi says 60 days warranty

published

Absolutel rubbish don’t buy, have bought other brands that last years but these don’t so you are better off buying a decent product and Aldi are always just terrible with warranty anyway

Whereas I find Bunnings usually quite good if you have a problem

No signs of corrosion in battery compartment either

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Latest model is excellent - great value

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Mr Aldi

Mr AldiNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Value for money - excellent

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

John crozier

John crozierBeachmere

  • 7 reviews

value for money timer

published

The timer has worked well for five months. I did find that the batteries needed replacing after four months. The readout panel became unreadable, however the new batteries fixed that. It is easy to set watering time and operate manually as needed. It mounts easily to a garden tap with all washers supplied. When tightened, the connections don't leak.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

d2dcd

d2dcdGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent product

published

I have a small farm with a large garden. There are numerous watering point taps. After dragging the hose around I invested in five Aldi tap timers three years ago. All are exposed, all are still working well. Since then I've added fifteen more. One failed almost immediately, replaced no hassle and with no receipt! Two years later all twenty are working well and I'm a big fan.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Great little unit

published

has been running for nearly 3 years, only changed batteries once, sitting in the middle of the front yard, silly place for a tap. Had a minor issue with the battery cradle terminals corroding, cleaned them up used some Inox on them, no problem since, about 12 months ago now.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
TaleyaJ

TaleyaJGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Good unit

published

I've been running one for about a year - admittedly in a sheltered position. I have the feeling from other reviews these units may not do well in exposed positions. Works well with low-flow (gravity tank fed) supplies, has a good interface. Doesn't chew up too many batteries.


Bagsy

BagsyStawell

Looked good - but looks were deceiving

published

Sadly my experience is the same as above. Worked beautifully for several weeks then died and could not be resussitated. Unfortunately I had thrown my receipt out and could not claim refund. I am wondering whether as they often would be exposed to the sun and heat whether in Australian conditions they might cook?


Gus

Gus

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Worked Great for 2 Weeks

published

The features and ease of setting up are great. But 2 weeks after starting to use it, the screen remains dead even after replacing the batteries. Not one of Aldi's success stories, this one. A nuisance now as I have to return it.


Vlodik

Vlodik

  • 4 reviews

Tried 4 timers. Don't waste your time.

published

I wanted these to work, because they look good and price is right. They worked the first time, but then they stopped working within a couple of uses. I found with the last one if I remove it from the tap to remove the water pressure, it will work the next time, but will only stop again after the next cycle or two. All 4 had the same problem.


Uwe

UweMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Not very good value for money

published

While the timer works ok its lifespan is more than bad. Didn't even make it to the first battery change and of course no receipt and out of warranty. You probably would be better off buying a more expensive one that lasts a bit longer.
Pity really as I am generally happy with Aldi Products.
I could buy another one as the product is for sale again, but should I bother, maybe not.

Questions & Answers

alan c.

alan c.asked

Have just set and placed on tap tap timer (from ALDI $29).the screen is alternating from time to ..when start time is .ie from say 10.20am start time is 6am . Back and forward ...Is this normal ...?

No answers

Tommy C

Tommy Casked

How do I reset my GardenLine Digital Watering Timer

No answers

Paul Gabler

Paul Gablerasked

I have had on for years but now the valve wont open to let the water flow.. I had a spare and connected it ,it worked for a few days but now same thing is happening. The screen is perfect, the illustration of the tap flowing water comes on but no water comes through the system. I have yet another, slightly different version, all bought from Aldi, but before I connect it I thought Id try to see what suggestions you have.

3 answers
Lee
Lee

Curious if you found a solution as I am having the same problem?

Paul Gabler
Paul Gabler

I banged it several times on the side and the next day it worked? I think the release valve gets stuck so a little persuasion seems to have worked. Now going daily with no probs. Good luck

Lee
Lee

Ok Ill give that a try because Ive opened and tried everything else, short of bashing it senseless. Thanks


Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.