4 photos
Garmin Fenix 5

Garmin Fenix 5

5S, 5, 5X, etc...
4.0 from 52 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Garmin? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Hard-wearing

  • Durable battery

  • Straightforward app connectivity

Cons

  • Heart rate monitor sometimes inaccurate

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.0 (12)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (12)
  • Battery Life
    4.2 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Brad
BradSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not for monitoring HR or Calories

published

I don't recommend one of these if you want accurate HR or Calorie monitoring. Consistently inaccurate & unreliable readings. I’ve hiked mountains with +250m vertical in less than 60mins with an av/HR of less than 100bpm according to my Garmin when my actual HR is +140bpm. Similar inaccuracy with Calories. I am an extreme fitness & adventure enthusiast.

Purchased in April 2018 for $600.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Sophie
SophieSydney, NSW

This watch was great up until the waterproofing failed after owning it for a bit over a year.

published

The watch was perfect for running with and I used it regularly to swim with until one day after swimming the screen was glitching and appeared to be water damaged. I attempted to dry it off but unfortunately this was unsuccessful and the watch died completely and wouldn’t restart. I would’ve hoped that after owning it for just over a year that the it would’ve maintained it’s waterproof seal.

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $900.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Katherine
KatherineFar North Queensland, QLD

Bad battery life

published

I have been an owner of Garmin watches for many years, & I am very disappointed with the low battery life of Fenix 5S. I used it for first time yesterday on a 3-5 hour bike ride & the battery drained down to 64% , after starting with 100%. My instinct watch has always remain in the 80% After the same length of time.
I do not have notifications or Bluetooth turned on, only the data on the ride screen. Very disappointed in this watch.

Purchased in June 2020 at Garmin for $499.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Fenix 5 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
subsul
subsulGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

On me every minute!

published

Excellent watch, can't fault it.
It's on my wrist for almost the entire day. Tracks just about everything.
I use it mainly for ocean swims, runs, and biking. The Garmin connect app supplements the watch and is very helpful to gain crucial insights into your workout!
Must buy for any sporting fanatic.

Purchased in January 2019 at Rebel Sport for $399.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
platinum1004
platinum1004Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Excellent watch for virtually every use

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Related Articles

Previous

Top 5 Smart Watch Brands for Women

Smart Watches are a convenient and stylish way for women to keep track of their health, socialise with friends and family, and stay organised amid the business of life. Now there are more smart watches designed for women than ever before.

Isabella G.
Isabella G.30 Nov 2020
top-5-smart-watch-brands-for-women
Next
Richard
RichardGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Can't live without it

published

Great sport watch for triathlon

Accurate tracking with running swimming and riding

Over a week's worth of charge when not doing any activities and after 2 years still getting 12 hours of activity

Purchased in August 2018 at 99 Bikes for $950.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Craig S.
Craig S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Built Like a Rock

published

I have had one of these watches for a long time and I wear in every minute of the day (except when charging) and it is a beast. Great features for day to day life, sports and best of all it has been bashed, crashed and smashed but not a scratch. I couldn't be happier.

Purchased in April 2017 at 2XU Online store for $979.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
DOMENICO C.
DOMENICO C.
  • 2 reviews

Amazing

published

I got this watch as Christmas present because my wife knew I was chasing it since 1 year . The size 51mm of the watch is great . It works perfectly , connect to the phone very easy . You get lots of info which makes your life easier . The 2 apps are fantastic , you can change faces so you don t get bored of it .
Great watch
Absolutely suggest it

Purchased in December 2019 at Rebel Sport.

Value for Money
Build Quality
smfzi
smfziSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 55 reviews
  • 16 likes

Faulty backlight functions

published

Love Garmin and I've owned several devices, but despite its great features, like built-in music etc, the backlight problems began only a couple of months in. For the price it is simply unacceptable to have no backlight at all, with the screen is barely visible during the day, let alone at night. The interface is also not as intuitive as other Garmins. From my expereience I wouldn't recommend this model.

Purchased in October 2019 at Rebel Sport for $799.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Fenix 5 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharon
SharonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

This watch is great

published

I love this watch, it syncs really well with the iPhone, it holds the charge for over 1 week and has some great features like sleep tracker and you can see whos calling your iPhone on the watch face. Only thing Id say needs improvement is the screen light, it goes dim when in screen saver mode so no LED backlight

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $500.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Carls
Carls
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Almost perfect- just a bit heavy

published

Love the look of this watch, I gave my old Garmin away to buy this. I love how many functions it has and how pretty it can be (I bought the 5s gold). I just wish it were thinner and lighter. It is way to bulky on my wrist, and completing long runs with it is annoying. Have been swimming with mine, and wear it out for dinner too! I also wish the Garmin app were better. It is such a terrible app compared to others out there- so syncing data and reviewing daily activity isnt as great as what it could be.!

Purchased in July 2017 at Rebel Sport for $899.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Greg
GregSydney, NSW
  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

A perfect product for daily use

published

Love the quality and features of this watch. Battery lasts for 10-12 days after 2 years, GPS works perfectly and I don't have almost anything to complain. Sadly I bought it and in 2 months they released a model with NFC and I cannot allow myself to spend another 1,500 to get another watch just for NFC. I think they should've done NFC from version 3, not to wait to release 5x then 5x plus.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,000.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
L Ho
L HoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

Buttons excel touch screens in wet conditions!

published

- fast charging and good battery life
- waterproof is a huge bonus and keeps device clean
- Can easily personalise everything just like an Android phone
- Light weight and not too bulky for small wrists like mine
- the SUP mode is great for paddling sports

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $399.00.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Paul G.
Paul G.Hunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews

HR software issue - accurate.... whenever it decides to start working

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $950.00.

Incentivised Review No
Jacob
JacobGold coast
  • 5 reviews

Perfect for Tri training

published

Perfect for Swimming Running Jogging
Counts swimming laps
Times sets and rest periods
Works in open water swims
Gives pace as you run
Alert every 1km running
Heart Rate distance Speed for Riding
Keeps all your training organised on Web
The Alarm is easy to set and good for every day Use.

Purchased in December 2017 at Rebel Sport for $600.00.

Incentivised Review No
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Fenix 5 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Geoff
Geoffasked
Fenix 5

can it be used as golf gps range finder

No answers
hiker63
hiker63asked
Fenix 5X

Can the Fenix5X be paired with more than one device (smart phone) at the same time?
Thanks, Rob
[email removed]

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Garmin Fenix 5

Details

Features:

  • Watches in the Garmin Fenix 5 range include the Fenix 5, the Fenix 5S, the Fenix 5S Plus, the Fenix 5X, and the Fenix 5X Plus.
  • They all have wrist heart rate technology that lets you monitor your rate without needing to wear a chest strap, as well as the ability to count steps, monitor sleep, and tell you how many calories you’ve burned.
  • In addition to their running functions, the Fenix 5 watches also have features that help you with different kinds of sports and fitness, including swim training, skiing, golfing, and paddle sports.
  • They all have GPS, but the 5S Plus, 5X, and 5X Plus also have TOPO Lite mapping, which shows you a detailed view of the contours and summit points of the terrain (as well as things like 4WD destinations and hydrographic features), making it great for trail runners.
  • The case sizes are customisable; depending on the model, you can choose from a case size of 42mm, 47mm, or 51mm, letting you choose optimal comfort and style.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the watch had a high build quality, saying that it withstood bashing, crashing, and smashing, and different kinds of sports without sustaining a scratch.
  • They also appreciated the long battery life of the watch - some reviewers said that it had over a week’s worth of charge, which made using it convenient.
  • Reviewers also liked that it was highly customisable, as there were plenty of downloadable apps and widgets available, and it was easy to sync the watch with these apps and their phone.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers noted that the watch’s heart rate monitor was inaccurate at times.
Compare all 5 Garmin Fenix 5
CategorySmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP) $799.00$999.00$949.00$999.00
Screen Size 1.2"1.2"1.1"1.19"
ConnectivityBluetoothBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Voice AssistantNoneNoneNoneNone
SensorsAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass, Gyro Sensor and Heart Rate SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass, Gyro Sensor and Heart Rate SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass, Gyro Sensor and Heart Rate SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass, Gyro Sensor and Heart Rate Sensor
InterfaceTouchscreenButtons and TouchscreenButtons and TouchscreenButtons and Touchscreen
LoudspeakerNoNoNoNo
WaterproofingSwim-proofSwim-proofSwim-proofSwim-proof
Memory (RAM)16 GB
Internal Storage 0.064 GB16 GB0.064 GB
Battery Life14 days12 days9 days
Weight85 g98 g67 g96 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Construction MaterialGlass and Stainless SteelStainless SteelFibreglass and Stainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / FinishSlate GreySlate GreyRose GoldtoneBlack
Compare all 5 Garmin Fenix 5
  • GTIN14: 00753759172046
  • GTIN12: 753759176778
  • MPN: KHGFEN5SEBLK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.