?
? !
13 photos
Garmin Instinct

Garmin Instinct

Original, Tactical Edition
3.4 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.3 (10)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (10)
  • Battery Life
    4.1 (10)
Previous
Next
Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Too Complicated

published

The Garmin Instinct was a Birthday gift from last year, one year later still frustrating to use, I mainly use the heart rate function due to having Arterial Fibulation { irratic heart rate } this was great until the app or wiget disappeared spent 2 days on internet running through the manual videos. The videos I saw ran through the video too quickly, looks like im expected to be some expert prior to setting watch, videos no help, my watch functions are different to video does complete opossite to video most of the time nothing happens cant scroll up or down, creating stress, anyway looks like my son has scored a $400, watch, dont buy this watch too many features too compilcated to operate.

Purchased in August 2020 for $399.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
tim

timSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

GPS is horrendous

published

Purchased in January 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $350.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Tim

TimIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

GPS and battery unreliable

published

Not confident with this watch's durability. I've owned it about 6 months and several times it has turned off with a full battery and could not be restarted unless plugged in. Charging can be very slow, but not all the time. Seems to be working ok now, but who knows when it'll play up again.

Purchased in August 2019 at Wiggle.com.au for $609.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Instinct compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
tinkertoy

tinkertoyNSW, 2000

  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great watch

published

I previously had the Samsung s3 which was good but the battery life was pathetic.
I wanted a fitness tracker which provided tracking functions for heart beat, calorie burn, steps etc. with a battery life to match.
This watch is great.
I don’t have it connected all the time to my phone and it usually lasts me around 2 weeks.
The technology used by Garmin on the screen is awesome. You can point the watch to any light source and you can easily read the info on the screen. I think it reflects light which makes the stuff on the screen visible and legible.
It does however have a backlight function.
I bought a Garmin vivo active 4 but I was quite disappointed with it.

Purchased in September 2020 at Officeworks.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Mic M.

Mic M.Sydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

This is a good affordable watch

published

I bought a Garmin Instinct mainly because I wanted to keep track of my heart rate post surgery.
Apart from that, the list of features it has, is astounding!
This has all the features that more expensive watches have but not at the expensive price tag.
Oh, did I mention that it looks really good too.
I'm more than happy.

Purchased in June 2020 at Rebel Sport.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Related Articles
Previous

Top 5 Smart Watch Brands for Women

Smart Watches are a convenient and stylish way for women to keep track of their health, socialise with friends and family, and stay organised amid the business of life. Now there are more smart watches designed for women than ever before.

Isabella G.
Isabella G.30 Nov 2020
top-5-smart-watch-brands-for-women
Next
rit

ritSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 7 likes

The watch is okay but still on the fence

published

Previous to this watch I had the Garmin Vivoactive HR. It was promoted as 5 ATM, meaning that it should have been fine going swimming or snorkelling in shallow waters. But disappointingly it died on a swim and Garmin will only offer a replacement for a reduced price, as it was outside the warranty period. I was reluctant to get another Garmin but it is one of the small number of brands which connects to certain apps like strava. It doesn't have touchscreen like the vivoactive HR but setting the alarm or changing the layout of the screen are easy to work out.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Luke

LukeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great initially....build quality is questionable

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $349.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ty Locky

Ty LockyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Perfect smartwatch for outdoors

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $299.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Rugged watch

published

Had a Vivoactive HR prior to this and was very disappointed.
This on the other hand is a major step up. I work outdoors and this watch has taken all sorts of hits and there's not even a scratch on it. It's one tough watch.
Many functions to get used to with an excellent battery life.

Purchased in December 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $350.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Instinct compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ivan

IvanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Cannot support ASIAN languages

published

Purchased for $399.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ben G.

Ben G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Fantastic Watch

published

Purchased early this year after my Vivo smart decided to break on me, the watch has some great features on it that the Vivo didn't, haven't had the chance to really go through the whole settings but I am very impressed with it so far.
Has great functions and easy to use, lots of activity options to use.
Battery life is very good and last a lot longer than previous watch can last up to 5 days easily without a charge, but that is all dependent on how much the activities are used.

Would definitely recommend this watch and if this ever did break down on me I would go out and purchase another.

Purchased at Rebel Sport.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Outdoor E.

Outdoor E.Southwest, VIC

  • 11 reviews

Super Smart Watch

published

The Garmin Instinct smart watch is fantastic. It has a rechargeable lithium-ion battery and comes with 16MB memory. It records steps, heart rate, has a GPS, barometric altimeter, compass, key lock, elevation profiles, storm alerts and heaps more.
It has a rugged look and is lightweight. It's not designed with anything exceptional or unique; it is a plain-looking smartwatch that comes without a touchscreen. The rubber strap is snug and fits nicely on your wrist.
A fantastic watch that I love that lasts for days using it as a watch and quickly charges when needed.

Questions & Answers

Christian

Christianasked

Instinct

does this watch have a stopwatch function?

1 answer
tinkertoy
tinkertoy

Yes it does.

https://www8.garmin.com/manuals/webhelp/instinct/EN-US/GUID-96244242-0974-4BD5-9DCE-3B1489940F08.html

Get an answer from our members

Garmin Instinct

Details

Compare both Garmin Instinct
CategorySmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP) $399.00$549.00
Screen Size 0.9"0.9"
ConnectivityGPSBluetooth and GPS
Voice AssistantNoneNone
SensorsAccelerometer, Barometer and Heart Rate SensorAccelerometer, Barometer, Compass and Heart Rate Sensor
InterfaceBezel (Physical), Buttons and TouchscreenBezel (Physical), Buttons and Touchscreen
LoudspeakerNoNo
WaterproofingWater ResistantWater Resistant
Battery Life14 days14 days
Weight52 g52 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Construction MaterialGlass and PlasticGlass and Plastic
Colour / FinishGraphite, Tundra, Flame Red, Sunburst, Lakeside Blue, Sea Foam, Black, Coyote TanGraphite, Tundra, Flame Red, Sunburst, Lakeside Blue, Sea Foam, Black, Coyote Tan
Compare both Garmin Instinct
  • GTIN12: 753759209605, 753759214579, 753759214586, 753759228620, 753759228637, 753759228644, 753759242244, 753759258757, 753759258764, 753759258771, 753759258788, 753759258795, 753759258801, 753759258818, 753759258825, 753759258832, 753759260392 and 753759260415

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.