??!
1 photo
Gentrax 2.5kW Camping Inverter

Gentrax 2.5kW Camping Inverter

4.4 from 14 reviews

See the Best Generators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0

Ant.Tee

Ant.TeeSydney, NSW

Excellent value for money

published

A well constructed portable generator. After filling the engine oil, petrol, and following the user guide for starting procedure, it fired up quickly. The engine is reasonably quiet - quieter than I had expected, so thats a bonus.

Purchased in October 2019 at eBay for $469.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


jiri

jiriSouth East Queensland, QLD

Excellent machine it this price category

published

The generator performs well and the performance matches specification. I found it the quietest in this price bracket - still noisy though ;-), but if you want something "whisper quiet", spend about 4 times of its price for Honda or Yamaha... It is well put together and it is supplied with an instruction manual written in a good English.
My only gripe is the start feature. In temperatures around 20*C it takes 4-5 pulls to get it going, what is rather average. I didn't have chance to test it in colder weather.
In total: very good value for money, hard to beat.

Purchased in October 2019 for $469.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nick

NickPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Very good value for money

published

I needed a 2.0 to 2.5 KW Generator for very occasional use in our Caravan. A Honda or Yamaha generator would be good, but not at the price they are! The Gentrax is ideal - well-made, good-looking and a quarter the price of the others. I was also impressed with Outbax Camping for their very quick response to my query to them. Good work!

Purchased in October 2019 at Outbax.

greg

gregSydney Surrounds, NSW

value for money

published

great product very satisfied with the quality and ease of opperation I have not it used for long periods yet but does what it is claimed to do and look forward to prolonged use

Purchased at Outbax for $375.00.


Excellent Service and Product

published

Bought a Gentrax 2.5kw Inverter, service was great with a quick delivery and an awesome produce. The generator itself is compact, light and runs quietly. I bought this to service my caravan and it will do the job perfectly.

Purchased in September 2019.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


great item

published

bought a 2.5kw generator, quick delivery, item in perfect order , followed instructions for starting procedure , started easily and does what its supposed to, still running it in and will give it a real test in a few weeks

Purchased in June 2019 for $280.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Terry

TerryEyre Peninsula, SA

Ok after It eventually started

published

Looks gr8 but doesn’t start very easily.The manual said pull it till it starts didn’t think it would take so long to fire up.Once going all good till next time

Purchased in June 2019.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Genx gives plenty

published

A bit bigger than I thought long running time does the job for my needs and recommend this unit highly nothing bad to say and price is great compared to other models on the market place started first go out of box should last a long time with little maintenance

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Mick C.

Mick C.Telina Gladstone Qld

  • 2 reviews

Good value for price

published

The Generator itself works well but have had issues with fuel leak in tap and oil leak from return line hose clamp. Have only used it twice for 4 hours. Haven't used a full tank of fuel yet which is pretty good. Will be using it more regularly in the future.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Jono

JonoGoulburn Valley, VIC

Great value for the price

published

Delivery in good time and as described. After oiling and fueling up it took about 20 pulls too fire up, probably due to no priming bulb. The choke lever is too short and difficult too use. Haven't used it under full load as yet only a few test runs too run it in. but once warmed up it starts within 2 or 3 pulls. 2 x 15amp outlets, Eco mode, 12 volt charger are good features to have. All in all very happy with my purchase so far.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Altheman

AlthemanSpalding

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Gentrax 2.5kw

published

Received my gen in good time, all as described. Fueled her up and pulled the cord. Off she went.. Havent used it for that long yet, all good so far. Got a few trips coming up and hopefully it keeps purring along. They say u get what u pay for, "hopefully this is not the case" as it was a really good price and im hoping it keeps on keeping on. Better doing a review after a year.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Awesome

published

Hey as having a total shoulder replacement was worried about starting my new generator. Asked the wife to start it .being new i thought it might take a while omg 3 pulls to start. Excellent decision. Now using a toaster awesome. Wife and myself so happy to have breakfast with toast

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Tim

TimSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good for the money

published

I paid $425 for this generator including delivery. I actually makes the rated output. The coke is difficult to use and there is no fuel primer bulb so you need to pull it a few times after filling the fuel. It is quite loud under full load, however this is not that bad for the power it is generating. It is fuel efficient and weighs 30kg. The oil filler is pretty fiddly as is changing the oil which needs to be done at 30 then 100 hours. It runs my jayco eagle no problems including the aircon. Happy with the purchase and would buy again if needed. Honda price for equivalent is $2500.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Paulc98

Paulc98Mount Druitt

  • 17 reviews
  • 17 likes

Gentrax 2.5kva generator

published

Unit arrived well boxed. The user manual could do with a review and a rewrite. The choke is just about impossible to get to without removing the access cover. This needs to be done to check the oil level. The unit sraers fairly easy and is quite acceptable for the noise level. The unit needs to be earthed however the ear5h cable is not provided. In all when the cost is considered it is a reasonable purchase and offers value for money.

Questions & Answers

Fred S.

Fred S.asked

HI, John C. said he bought this generator for $280, admittedly 4 months ago, but can I ask, where did he buy it please, regards Fred

No answers

Ellen & Alan

Ellen & Alanasked

Paulc98 made three observations which I would be interested to know if they have been addressed since he wrote this review 3years ago.
1. earthing cable is needed but not provided
2. The choke is difficult to get to without removing the access cover
3. The manual could do with a rewrite

1 answer
Jono
Jono

No earth lead provided, I made my own from 6mm cable soldered to a 8 inch bolt. Didn't have a problem with the manual. The choke lever is too short and difficult to access, I've tried to extend it but it's travel is restricted by the outer cover.


Get an answer from our members and Gentrax representatives

Details

CategoryGenerators

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.