??!
3 photos
Gentrax 3.5kW Camping Inverter

Gentrax 3.5kW Camping Inverter

4.4 from 140 reviews

Reviews

(96)
(26)
(2)
(3)
(13)
Dave

DaveCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews

No good so far, won't start

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $569.00.

peter h.

peter h.Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

gentrax generator junk

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Outback Equipment for $749.00.

Walter

WalterSouth East Queensland, QLD

best Generator ever!

published

had 4 Generators in the past. Last one was a Genforce GT6000. That one was very good as a back up power supply in my house in case of black outs. It did however not have electric start and was therefore hard to start for my wife. threfore sold it.
Bought the Getrax. Much better product. powers all my house at once - water pump, fridges lights etc.easy start . just amaizing product - cannot speak highly enough of it. A little noisier as the Genforce 6000 but what a buy! Does everything easily!
thanks and well done!

Generators

Find out how Gentrax 3.5kW Camping Inverter compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Danny

DannyNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

What a piece of crap

published

Purchased from outback camping
First problem lcd was blinking then fuels started to leak I had to send it back and at first they wanted me to pay transport even under warranty after a discussion they picked it up they send it back with one less remote and gave me a credit for the remote only in last couple of months I started using it and it started to rev really high and then just drop to a low idles so low it would shut off but after a while it would eventually run and now we have just noticed that fuel is leaking again from the bottom of the generator like my mum said you buy cheap you get cheap total piece of crap

Purchased in October 2018 for $700.00.

Bzzzz

BzzzzPerth, WA

Never again

published

Brought a 3.5kva genset takes ages to start. 3 5kva my ass my 1kva genset can hold more power. It cuts out can't even hold a toaster.
Biggest heap of junk I have brought.

Bandula

Bandula

  • 3 reviews

Similar Problem on first use

published

Sorry to hear what have gone through, I experienced s similar problem on first use. Generator stops every 20 min and when open the fuel lid there was a vacuum built up inside. After a few tries I found out there is a small opening on the fuel lid to open when it is in use. Once I open it no problem, it worked like charm. I used it in a low light condition and did not have glasses to read instructions properly. It is a really good generator.

Purchased in June 2018 at eBay for $350.00.

Gtaham

GtahamCentral, SA

  • 3 reviews

Works for me

published

Bought it on eBay, a bit confusing at first, pulled the cord started first time, then things got better, the electric start with remote, once again first start, but read the manual first, great generator and great price and great service, and very helpful staff when I rang up and pointed out that that I hadn't read the manual. Would definitely recommend it to anyone

Purchased in August 2019 at eBay for $649.00.

Phillip Oliver

Phillip OliverSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Buy a proper Geni - not a Chinese one

published
not happy

not happyHunter Region, NSW

not happy

published

my 3.5 shuts down when I plug it into our van.i have tried it on 3 other Van's same result..but does run other things plugged directly into it the main reason for buying it was to run our caravan..not much help from the dealer..

Purchased in June 2019 for $600.00.

Generators

Find out how Gentrax 3.5kW Camping Inverter compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great product

published

The generator is exactly what it says it is and produces the power that it says it can. It is quiet as stated and the economy function is great. In the past I have had big brand generators and so far this is as good as the big brand generators. I would recommend this product.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
4landus

4landusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent Generator works as advised

published

Very fast delivery and received within 4 days which was great considering it was the Christmas period. After reading instructions started 1st pull and ran like a dream. More than enough power which runs our Caravan Ibis 3 Airconditioner, a 35w battery charger and our microwave all at once without wavering. High recommends this product.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

good product

published

Good generator which works well although i think a little noisier than stated. Great for camping as it will operate everything in our caravan. Starts well even from the first time although haven't yet tried it under full load. Quick service and delivery as it arrived before the stated date.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

works as it should

published

great little generator. put oil and fuel in it and she fired up. tested a few drills and a drop saw even tested the 12 volt on my car with it and it works fine. should be fine to run anything i need to run. cheers gentrax would buy another one

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Dave

DaveMyrtleford

Starts easily, runs perfectly!!!

published

Generator due to arrive 2/1, arrived 29/12. Put oil in, fuel in and followed starting procedure. Started first pull. Subsequent starts - exactly the same results. So far, so good. Have used the 3KW generator with a 2400 watt 9 inch grinder without an issue. Haven't pushed it further than that so far.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
jazz

jazzadelaide

works a treat

published

i put in the correct oil. i put in the correct fuel. pulled the starter cord ONCE only, and everything worked as it should.
- it is refreshing to know that some things manufactured in China, do work as intended.
i have no hesitations in recommending this product and ebay seller

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Generators

Find out how Gentrax 3.5kW Camping Inverter compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Gentrax Generator

published

I have purchased 2 of these in the last 3 years. One for caravan and one as backup for our off grid home system.
I have found them to be extremely reliable, one unit on its 7th oil change. I have just purchased another for our next door friend since the storms last week left him without power for 3 days and he borrowed our caravan unit and was astounded that it could power his tv / fridges and lights all at once.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
rudy_25

rudy_25

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

The right one

published

I didn't know where to start but after doing my homework I decided the 3.5kW unit would be right for my new 2kw portable air condioner in our camper bus and I was so glad I did, so easy to use and plenty of power when the air con switches on its compressor part.
It is also good looking and reasonably quiet. dual 15 amp sockets mean you can plug in the van plus anything that you might want to run while sitting outside like a big fan to blow the mozzies away, I don't need the 12 volts at the moment but who knows?
Delivery was quick as well, very happy indeed.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
max

max

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

We havent used it yet but had it going and it seems great

published

Cant wait to use it
I have seen other reviews and they are all positive so hopefully mine will be as well
We are taking it with us when we go travelling soon so it will be great to be able to go free camping and have our own power source

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Perfect Generator

published

The Gentrax 3.5kW does all it is ask to do runs my caravan Aircon, fridge and microwave all at the same time, as fabulous buy.
It was delivered to me on time, and was very well packed, if you are looking for a Generator don't go past this one.
Well done, would buy again.
Thanks

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Knolltee

KnollteeBrisbane

So Far So Good

published

I recently received a Gentrax 3.5kW inverter generator through the post. It arrived on time and apparenly undamaged. It was easy to set up and started as per the instructions. I have only used it twice and on both occasions it operated to my complete satisfaction. Only time will tell whether it was a good buy or not, however, so far so good.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Judy m

Judy masked

Hello. I wrote about the generator having problems..well it will not start or go at all, really needs to be sent back .... how do I do this .....need help...

2 answers
Dave
Dave

Judy, if you still have the packaging that the generator arrived in, then repack it and address it to the retailer you bought it from. Sadly, as was indicated , you'll have to pay the postage, but once it's fixed, then it's posted back to you at no charge. Check a local courier and see if they are cheaper than Aust Post. Alternatively,if you have a friend with the necessary know-how, then perhaps he/she can fire sort the problem for you, or even drop it in to a local car mechanic, they'll have the knowledge to get it going.

John Picton
John Picton

Was going to buy one but not if all these posts say they are no good

rick

rickasked

I want to put a extended run fuel cap on my generator so I can attach a larger tank of fuel , can anyone recommend one that fits?

No answers
ozallroader

ozallroaderasked

What is the purpose of the ECON mode on the GS-CEDD 3.5kW model? The manual has no description of that control other than saying it should be OFF when starting. I assume it reduces fuel usage but under what circumstances? When should it be selected ON? What does the switch operate? A solenoid? Throttle setting? Fairy dust? No complaints about the generator performance. It starts first pull cold but curiously won't when hot unless the choke is on. Never struck an engine that needed choke hot. Economy is fantastic. In ECON mode powering 2 fridges and various battery chargers I got 8 hours on a full tank of 98 octane today in the aftermath of the Sydney storm power outage. The toaster makes it work harder for the short term but no evidence of the OVERLOAD light. I'd give it a very good rating, its noise level letting it down one mark. Its about 80dB 1 metre away from the exhaust when on light load, rising to about 84dB when powering a 1500W load.

1 answer
Dave
Dave

Economy mode uses less fuel and runs longer and will power small appliances

Get an answer from our members and Gentrax representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.