14 photos
Google Chromecast
3.4 from 182 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Networked Media Players in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Google? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Love St Kilda
Love St KildaPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish I could give it minus 5 stars

published

This product is incredibly difficult to set up. I spent 4 hours and still couldn't do it. It's supposed to need wi-fi, but Google Home also wants me to pair it by Bluetooth. It won't pair- a message says 'an app is needed to pair this' ‍ Hang on, Google Home IS the app! Catch-22 !!! I tried everything in Google Home Help. I hate this product and it's ruined me.

Purchased in May 2022 at Officeworks Physical store for $58.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Done and Dusted
Done and DustedSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Endless frustration

published

Purchased in January 2022 for $99.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter
PeterCanberra 2600, ACT

Frustrating, infuriating and now after about 3 months, inoperative.

published

This device was always slow and clunky but I put up with this until it became completely inoperative. It called for anew login and then failed to provide an alphabet to do so. I believe I have been cheated by Google and feel very disinclined to ever use any of the companies prducs in future.

Purchased in October 2021 at Technician for $150.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
steve
steve
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreliable

published

Chromecast does not automatically connect to TV. Have to reconnect it each time you wa t to use it. Sometimes it will connect sometimes it will not. Very frustrating. Who wants to disconnect and reconnect each time you use it. Reset router etc

Purchased in January 2022 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $38.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
annnee
annneeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Works well but having difficulty with the app

published

It is easy to set-up and it works well but not 100% all the time. At times, but rarely, my device gets disconnected so I'm unable to cast. The app is hard to navigate through especially for streaming

Purchased in October 2021 at Amazon for $39.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
emily c.
emily c.
  • 2 reviews

Frustrating!

published

We are finding this device so frustrating. It is very counterintuitive to change the choice of wifi (no simple wifi setting - must "forget device" and then resetup?!), then wont turn up in list of devices. Cant seem to hotspot it either! (When you are away from normal wifi like on holiday for example), inconsistent quality with voice/video lag, or the app on our phone keeps losing sync or connection. And yes - wifi speed was tested and all ok

Purchased in December 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony8029
Tony8029Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 93 reviews
  • 67 likes

Terrible with IOS devices. Working one minute, broken the next

published

I am an IT technician for a living, i deal with complicated technical issues every day of my life however I could not get this thing working.

One minute its ok, next minute it tells you that the wifi password is incorrect yet you know that nothing has changed.

The help available online from Google is so vague that there is no way of fixing the issue.

I have owned it too long to return it so it now goes in the bin.

Purchased at Officeworks.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Rebecca W
Rebecca WMid North Coast, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible device with extremely limited compatibility with apps

published

Bought this to stream shows / movies via apps from mobile / tablet to the tv (as we don’t have a smart tv)
I’m in no way technologically incompetent but I found it pretty confusing to set up AND once set up would only cast with about 3 apps. (Instructions in box woeful). If an older person tries to set this up they’d be throwing it out the window.
Will be returning to the store for a refund. Do not purchase unless u wish to be tearing ur hair out

Purchased in August 2021 at Officeworks Physical store for $50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Annoyed
AnnoyedSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Poor connectivity with IOS

published

Since the IOS update of 14.2 google chromecast has failed to connect to my iPhone or any other device for that matter
Upon doing a lot of research on this issue that’s the conclusion I have drawn and that google and apple are yet to address the issue.
I just had to go out and buy the fire tv stick instead and works much better!
It was working fine before up until a few months ago.

Purchased in December 2018 at Big W Retail Stores for $69.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PrincessTanya
PrincessTanya
  • 4 reviews

We love our Chromecast!

published

We love our Chromecasts, we have one on every TV and our projector, I would recommend getting the 3rd generation as we had an older one and it buffered a lot when watching live sports but haven’t had a problem with this model. We use it to stream all of our streaming platforms and when we aren’t watching anything we have our favourite photos playing on it in the background and have had people comment on how great it is we can have our photos playing on the screen.

Purchased at Officeworks.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robyn
RobynGippsland, VIC
  • 2 reviews

We love it, wish we'd known about them before now

published

We have poor reception of an evening so use this for normal free to air live tv in addition to all the apps. So easy to install, i couldn't believe i didn't need help. Only a 4* because the remote i find slippery and sometimes difficult to find being white, believe it or not

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for $90.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mirriulah
MirriulahNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Drives me crazy with frequent short pauses.

published

Good ideas which allows me to view my laptop on the tv but whats the point of a product that has constant pauses and drops a second or two of dialogue and visuals every few minutes or so.
I cannot believe that companys' with the resources of Google Chrome would put out such a crappy piece of gear.

Purchased in March 2020 at Kogan.com for $75.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Doreenrunner
DoreenrunnerMelbourne
  • 50 reviews
  • 34 likes

Fails too quick.

published

Have 3 chromecast v2,v3 and ultra, all stopped working when the version google home 31.112 updated. Only the ultra recovered with support instructions. The other 2 just fails update and says network problem when the router can see they are connected. Build other wifi network and same result. Quick search online is an old problem with chromecast, maybe to sell new ones? Not worth the short life they have. Also the customer support is bad or does not exist in messanger or by phone.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased for $45.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
markh0464
markh0464
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst user friendly device ever

published

I’ve had a gut full of this device I just want to smash it into a thousand prices. I’m away in our caravan with no tv reception, however we have internet through our iPhone, I have spent hours trying to get the iPhone to cast to our chromecast connected tv. It won’t, factory reset whatever, it is not user friendly. Google chromecast is a waste of money.

Purchased in January 2016 at JB Hi-Fi for $55.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mirriulah
MirriulahNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

High Tec Low Performance

published

I have to wonder why in this day and age my Google Chromecast regularly (at least once a fortnight) stops functioning and I have to go through a range of primitive switching and re-booting to get it to come online again.
I have seen military blokes sitting in a booth thousands of kilometres away remotely fire a rocket and precisely destroy their target but my google chromecast has problems remotely connecting to my laptop one metre away.

Purchased in January 2018 at Kmart Online Store for $60.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Leigh L.
Leigh L.asked
Chromecast

How do I get SBS on my new google Chromecast with google tv? I thought I selected it from Apps menu on install but it’s not appearing now on available apps...?

No answers
john
johnasked
Chromecast 3rd Generation (2018)

why when I use the device to watch SBS on demand does it sometimes cut the start of the show, and why is it that all the other providers such as I view, does not seem to have this problem. what do I need to do to fix this irritating problem

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Contact the company obviously

ilias K.
ilias K.asked
Chromecast 2nd Generation (2016)

I would to ask if when you mirror your screen to the tv, does it use the wifi on your mobile. I would like to mirror my screen to tv and then use the wifi to surf the internet (google maps, a browser page or anything else). So is the wifi free to browse the internet while mirroring your screen?
And now there is also a guest mode. So you can mirror your screen lets say in a hotel without using wifi. Is again your wifi free to surf the internet while doing this? Thanks

2 answers
Thomas
Thomas

When setting Chromecast up it asks you which wifi you want to connect to ? I only have one that connects and does it all, home installed wifi where all products identify and log to - hope this helps.

QLDZDR
QLDZDR
See all Google Chromecast questions

Get an answer from our members

Google Chromecast

Details

Compare all 3 Google Chromecast
CategoryNetworked Media PlayersNetworked Media PlayersNetworked Media Players
ConnectivityWi-FiWi-FiWi-Fi
App StoreGoogle PlayGoogle PlayGoogle Play
Netflix App CompatibleYesYesYes
SD Card SlotNoNoNo
Price (RRP)$59$49$59
Replaced byGoogle Chromecast UltraGoogle Chromecast UltraGoogle Chromecast Ultra
Compare all 3 Google Chromecast
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.