??!
4 photos
Hills Garden Sprayer

Hills Garden Sprayer

1.7 from 47 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.7

47 reviews
5
(1)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(11)
1
(27)
Previous
Next
Aaron B.

Aaron B.Western District, VIC

They dont stock parts, you drop it your up for a new one

published

Rang company because being a 80 dollar machine you would think they stocked parts, the unit fell over on me and cracked the lid that holds the pump in. No go, would not buy another Hills product if they don't care about their customers problems. Went back to purchase place of Mitre 10 and to be honest they were very reluctant to help also. They begrudgingly contacted the Rep after personal persistence. Waste of my time over a 2 dollar plastic lid, but that is what they want isn't it, throw away society.

Purchased in September 2019 at Mitre 10 for A$79.00.

8 ltr garden sprayer

published

I have had my sprayer for 6 years and yes ot has a 5 year warranty but in saying that never had a problem untill now and it is in the wand rang to ask is i could get a replacement but they don't have but must be a lot of complaints as the girl said they are Working on it they really should have complete wand[the whole thing] as the bottle will never wear out So come on Hills get your act together as it is every ones complaint I have bought another on so if i have this complaint after 5 year i want to be able to buy the complete attachment

Purchased at Bunnings Rothwell for A$85.99.

annoyed

annoyed

  • 3 reviews

Many sprayers just dont work

published

We have tried so many expensive and cheap garden sprayers including Hills, have yet to find one that works. The latest one Ryset bought today doesn't work. Pump it to the exact amount of pumps Though we adjust the nozzle as per the directions, the solution dribbles out and stops after exactly 1 - 2 seconds and have to pump again, Hills reacted the same. We refuse to use deadly Roundup instead use a great organic one.

Purchased in June 2020.

Garden Tools

Find out how Hills Garden Sprayer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WOODY

WOODYPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Hills 5ltr spray pack

published

OK.
have had that spray pack for about 2 years. Only one spray nozzle supplied but thats ok but
the spill tray at the top over time crimps the plastic tube due to the large cone and it restricts the flow. Would not buy again. Bought a nylex 5ltr heavy duty and all is good and a lot cheaper.The wand holder on the Hills is rubbish and will break after a dozen uses. Bad design from .Hills.
Try to replace the Hills plastic tube but not possible. Threw it in the bin.

Purchased in January 2018 at bunnings for A$60.00.

Peter A.

Peter A.Sydney, NSW

Faulty O rings

published

The O rings in the trigger valve swell up & you can't turn it off. As this is a common problem Hills should supply improved O ring kits at low cost.

Purchased in January 2019.

Brian Phelan

Brian Phelan

  • 2 reviews

this a shocking spray machine

published

Sadly so frustrated it has to go where it wont be seen any more it started off so well but the release valve is a problem as reported by other users cmon Hills lets do something. B

Kim

KimSouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money

published

Don't waste your money on the Hills 5 litre pressure sprayer. I have bought a few and they last about 6 months max before the trigger/valve mechanism misfunctions and you cannot turn it off. I have cleaned them out, reset the seals, time after time but hopeless. Have learnt my lesson now, keep your receipt, you will need it.

Purchased in December 2019 at Mitre10 Nambour for A$26.00.

Fleeced

FleecedAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 14 likes

Terrible Product

published

I have now had 3 Hills 16L spray packs and they have ranged from being faulty on arrival to lasting a very short period. Issues have been from spray wand leaking on me to just not working at all.
I had 3 because the supplier kept replacing the faulty units but I have now given up and looking for a reliable manufacturer.

susieq

susieqSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not fit for the purpose intended!!!

published

Looks the part but that is where it finishes. This issue was bought to their attention over a year ago by another reviewer, seems that they really don't care to make improvements to fix the issues related to their sprayers. Obviously another great Australian company being run into the ground. l will be returning this crap sprayer to the store where it was purchased for a refund and l can say that l will NEVER purchase a product from "HILLS" ever again.

Purchased in January 2019 at Mitre 10 for A$8.25.

Garden Tools

Find out how Hills Garden Sprayer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

5lt Hills Sprayer

published

Purchase sprayer ay 3-4 yrs ago. Has been sitting under house for over 2 years because the handle trigger off/on switch wont switch off. Only way to stop is to let the pressure out and that is really a nuisance. Appears you have a problem here. Replaced all seals but same problem- was told by the Mitre 10 that it is the handle an no replacement available. That is the only problem I had.Oh well, another good looking sprayer to the tip with not much use. I bought another sprayer yesterday and it wasn't a Hills.

DO something!!!NE South west Aust.

published

Worst product I have bought for my Garden,from SMALL HAND SPRAYS TO 9LT SPRAYS. Maximum life less than 1 year, I would have sent to the tip over 2 year at least 5 sprays and 5 more to go.HILLS I am fed up with your products. Do something!!!

Myshelle

MyshelleAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

So disappointed with Hills sprayer

published

Only bought this morning, picked Hills over a cheapy. Not even half way through my first spraying and the plunger broke clean away. Hardware shut now so back tomorrow. Paid $35 Never again.
I hear Hills is moving overseas are they making their escape.

Purchased in August 2019 at Thrifty Link Hardware for A$35.00.

Display Name

Display NameBrisbane

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Terrible

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Mitre 10.

Ron from Brisbane

Ron from BrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not very impressed by Ron from Brisbane

published

Bought 2 of these garden sprayers over the last 9 months and after a couple of uses both units began leaking from the joint seam on bottom of unit, have purchased other brands and no had problems.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$26.00.

Usually happy

Usually happyHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

IM SO STUPID TO BUY ANOTHER

published

Worked ok for first fill then the plunger fell apart. The wand is about 30cm long or a foot or so. A joke if you dont want to bend over.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$26.99.

Garden Tools

Find out how Hills Garden Sprayer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nona   I go now

Nona I go nowAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Just managing to keep it going

published

Mine is about 3 years old & use for killing wandering jew and other tough weeds (as we adjoin bushland). Have used two maintenance kits so far to replace the pressure release valve. Trigger is useless as it doesn't cutoff - have to release pressure to stop flow (I can live with that). Just noticed some orange plastic and springs in the bottom, possibly failed parts from the previous valves? Hopefully not a new problem. Wouldn't recommend paying extra for the "name".

Purchased in September 2015 for A$50.00.

Ann02

Ann02Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Short lived useability

published

I am so disappointed in this product! Always preferring to purchase Aus company product I bought one last Summer and after 4/5 weeks it ceased to hold pressure and became frustrating. Had lost receipt so made the mistake of buying another similar version but still Nylex .Yet again after 3 months it has stopped spraying. I've cleaned all tubes in case of blockage but there is a definite fault at the handle/trigger

Date PurchasedJul 2018
paully2012

paully2012Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 42 reviews
  • 23 likes
  • Verified purchase

Absolute rubbish, leaks from button from first fill, returning it.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Dan Johnson

Dan JohnsonSunshine Coast, QLD

  • 90 reviews
  • 120 likes

Low quality product, poor design, shocking user manual

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

POOR QUALITY MATERIALS

published

These things can't be used with any type of corrosive liquid as the trigger spring is plain old mild spring steel, it has corroded and broken into 2 pieces. It needs to be 316 grade of stainless spring steel. Also the lance is not the required grade to resist corrosion, it also needs to be the 316 grade of stainless steel. I used diluted pool chlorine to bleach paving that had become stained with black mould. Made the mistake of leaving the mixture in the bottle and in the wand etc. Went to use it again a few weeks later and the liquid came out of 3 holes in the lance.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

D Tuckwell

D Tuckwellasked

How can I get container cap off cannot remove it.

2 answers
D Tuckwell
D Tuckwell

It is the 5ltr container

Jan F.
Jan F.

I have the 8ltr one and have never had this problem [D Tuckwell] the only thing i have had is the srayer the washes wear out from the chemicals They told me when i rang to see if you can buy the accessories that they should have all the accessories to buy this year some time But the only thing i can suggest is ring them up they have a 13000 no You have made sure the air is out haven't you?

Heather N.

Heather N.asked

Please help. The wand drips & refuses to spray !

2 answers
Kim
Kim

Have you unscrewed the tip and checked that the filter inside is not clogged up ?

Brian Phelan
Brian Phelan

yes mine was a problem I would prime it up and go to spray and the wind was just slip out of its sail.. was so frustrating a time waster..B

Robin Bohringer

Robin Bohringerasked

Have Hills 5Lt sprayer and the sprayer handle wont switch off. As pumping air into sprayer the water comes out the nozzle Lance and you can place the switch in any position and it wont stop water from spraying. Would it be the plunger assembly (298) in the handle or perhaps the (313) pump valve at bottom of pump barrel. I replaced seals in handle but couldn't get the plunger out- is there a secret in this as maybe the problem.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.