??!
1 photo
Holman Automatic Digital Tap Timer CO1605

Holman Automatic Digital Tap Timer CO1605

1.9 from 29 reviews

Reviews

(2)
(1)
(3)
(10)
(13)


Not working

published

I’ve had this for about 18 months and the electronic display works ok but the valve doesnt open during programmes watering times or when you press the manual watering button. Screen shows that the system is watering.

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.


Screwed

published

Most seriously screwed up timer I've ever had to use. Worked for 10 minutes, then failed. No buttons worked. Cant even turn it on or off manually. Useless. Don't buy unless you like wasting time.

Fester

FesterPerth, WA

Hit and miss

published

This is the 4th or 5th of these units I have bought. Some have lasted a few years, however, I now have one that has only lasted 6 weeks and summer has just started! The unit does not start at the set time, so back to Bunnings once again. Poor built quality, they break down pretty quickly in the sun, and expensive for what they really are. Does anyone know of a quality unit that is the same cost ($50)? Bunnings seems to be oblivious to the issues and just keeps selling them. One time I returned one to find out there was a recall. I would expect more from a local company.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $54.00.

Martin W.

Martin W.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Holman Digital Tap Timer rubbish

published

Have had 4 of these units and while working they are ok. But if you have an issue don't expect any good advice from Holman support. Went to change battery ready for summer and the digital readout went to 4 zeros and is locked in that position no matter which buttons you push. What was Holman's response "No idea what the problem is. Must be in the electronics." So I said "What am I supposed to do with it then just throw it away" to which she replied "I guess so". So if that's an example of their quality then I might as well buy a cheap one and be prepared to replace it every year. The others will be going in the bin when they pack up which will no doubt be sooner than later.

Purchased in January 2018 at Stratco.

2 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Martin W.
Martin W.

You had all the information I can provide. Your response is of no help. I have bought another brand. No more Holman for me.


darren40

darren40

  • 8 reviews

Always read reviews first

published

Very easy to setup and program but thats as far as it goes have 2, one stopped working after a couple of weeks so thought better check other timer installed a month before also not tuning on ( coincidence or quality of product, then I read other reviews) cant be bothered taking back to Bunnings as they will just give me another one or 2

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $49.00.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Darren, sorry to hear you have had a disappointing experience with our timers. Trouble shooting is available on our website. thank you, your Holman Team!


Simple maintenance

published

Had mine for a couple of years. Just stopped working. Because Im using damn water without a filter it had finally blocked. Tested the dc motor which was fine. Used some compressed air to clean the valve. Screwed it back together, good as new now.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Jim S. Thank you for your review!


Jim

JimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Poor quality build with casing leaks

published

I've purchased two of these assuming Holman to be a better brand than some of Bunnings cheaper alternatives ie Pope

Unfortunately both timers have leaks / splits in the casing within 6 months rendering them useless.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $49.00.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

MBH

MBHGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Split in one unit blockage in the other

published

I’e had a poor experience with the quality of these . I replaced 2 which split after a few months. Another has split and the other is blocked in the unit.

Purchased in February 2018.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Not happy

Not happyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Would help if pressure rating is clearly on the package

published

I think the design of this product is pretty decent. The digital clock timer and easy access to battery is really good.
The problem is that my mains pressure does go up to 850kpa and as others have experienced the solenoid activation will not open at pressures above 600kpa.
I bought this unit on special and for the price it's a pretty good deal, however, I cannot use it and would have been nice to know upfront on the package what it's rated to. Would have saved me a lot of time.

I returned it to Bunnings and swapped it for something that can run up to 1000kpa (indicated on the package!).

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Not Happy, the packaging of our timers clearly display the max KPA use for each timer. This is also written on the enclosed instruction sheet for each timer. Thank you, your Holman Team!

B. Craig

B. CraigHarrison 2914, ACT

Frustrating Product

published

This product stopped turning on after two months. Disconnecting the battery and resting the timer worked for three days then wouldn't turn off. I wished I read these reviews earlier.

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $79.99.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello B. Craig, we are sorry to hear this! you are welcome to give us a call on 1300 716 188 for any further assistance we can provide. Thank you, your Holman Team!


Rob L

Rob LGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked well until it didn't!

published

The timer was working perfectly for about a year I guess. Then a coupe of days ago I noticed my plants were very dry. It was then I realized that the timer was no longer functioning. The display now showed 4 zeros and was locked in this display. This meant therefore that the unit was now useless. (I had to remove the timer to be able use the tap again).
New batteries have not made a difference. It is now just a piece of junk!
I might just state that this unit was a replacement of the Holman C01601. That unit sprang a leak in the back seam. So two different Holman tap timers and both failed.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Ham

HamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Co1606 Tap timer

published

I’ve bought 5 of these until over 12months and all have failed with 6months. Bunnings replaces all of them at some point in time. Now 2 (both about 12months old) have started leaking from the casing! The other two units won’t turn on (like other reviews) but if you turn the tap on/off the solenoid will kick in. Rubbish product and for $52 a unit it is a disgrace... you need to have faith and trust in a brand and product to water, not fail and kill your garden.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Ham, thank you for your review. We believe you have been in contact with our service department in regards to this issue. Your Holman Team!


Kyteroad

KyteroadCentral, SA

  • 2 reviews

Not impressed

published

I purchased this unit to water a small garden area while away for two weeks. It seemed to work OK on its initial operation but wont start automatically since. Strangely, if I turn the tap off and then on again...IT WORKS. So much for automatic timer! I think its an IT issue!

Date PurchasedDec 2018
2 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Kyteroad
Kyteroad

Thank you Holman team for the feedback. I have returned the unit to Bunnings and purchased a Pope product that works (without a pressure reducer)


Angry_Nugget

Angry_NuggetPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked great for two months

published

Timer was working great for two months then failed. Functionality of the timer appears to be working except for the mechanics, the solenoid/valve is not disengaging/engaging on manual or on the timer, checked water checked filter replaced battery despite it being full. It seems there is an inherent failure with this product. No receipt can be found.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Leaky fittings

published

Almost impossible to connect to a tap without leaking. Do not bother. Returned next day for refund. The connections to fit to an existing water tap are very poorly designed. Not clear that battery was NOT included. Treads for screw fittings easily cross treaded. Poor fitting with standard snap on attachments. Instrctions very basic and only half complete,

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman
SJE

SJESydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Inferior Product

published

We have now purchased 2 timers for the Holman misting system, they don’t even last one season and then fail to work. Bought a second one thinking we just had a lemon, but the second one was even worse. Don’t waste your money with this product, look for another brand.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
2 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello SJE, unfortunately, this is the incorrect product for a misting system. You will need a BTX1 or a misting timer. Thank you, your Holman Team!

SJE
SJE

I have now put my comments under the correct product as provided. Either wat still a Holman product of poor quality.


Loz

LozKewdale

  • Verified purchase

Good while it lasts

published

Same issue here as with other reviewers.
Worked great and with no issues for 2 months but then started turning on by itself on times and days that were not scheduled. Changed the battery even though it was still 3/4 charged and then it totally went on the blink, automatically starting as soon as the battery was in and not being able to turn off or operate any functions.

Called Holman and they were really helpful agreeing it is faulty and informing me that it can be exchanged at place of purchase without receipt using the batch no.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Loz, thank you for your review. Hopefully you had no issues having it exchanged.


Holman Auto timer 1601

published

Worked well when operating, 5mths..... then leaks appeared, rusted out the battery and circuit board... pulled apart as I am a bloke with a techo mind.... found a crack in the screw mount for the valve assy.. obviously hand fisted fitment of the screw... this led to the seal in the valve assy leaking... :( now the second timer just blinks twice in a row every second, tried new batteries etc... now its apart as well...
I don't keep receipts...

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
blu
blu

bought two more new items... maybe you could cover that cost of two new items... can scan the receipt… will call..


Sudden failure

published

Worked well on our veggies twice a day for six months. Then stopped working. Thought it was battery but replaced that twice and no different, still not working. Checked the manual for correct battery sign. We don’t have the bunnings receipt now. I’m hoping the other reviews on this page are just a small representation of the product quality.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Great when it worked

published

I have had same issue as another reviewer. Worked fine then won't switch off. Switched batteries and unable to program. Great product functionally except they don't last and can't rely on it. Bought a few and others lasted longer but eventually failed. Can't give details if these purchases at the moment.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
2 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Luz
Luz

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Al Pal

Al Palasked

How do I know when to replace the battery? The unit is no longer switching on and I can't get it to work manually either. The display just shows an outline of a battery but the numbers on the timer are still brightly lit.

1 answer
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Al, if the battery indicator is showing empty, please replace the battery. Thank you, your Holman Team!


Nasco

Nascoasked

My C01605 will not operate even with brand new battery installed just makes buzzing sound. Unable to programe nothing appears on screen regardless of which button is pushed. Unit was in storage for around 12 months and battery was removed. Any ideas? David Forbes. Queanbeyan NSW 2620 Ph 0262971947

1 answer
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Nasco, for technical support, please call us on 1300 716 188.


Chincf

Chincfasked

The settings are done correctly but the timer can't activate to release water. Suspiciously the water pressure is too high that hold up the activation of the valve. Please advise.

3 answers
Martin W.
Martin W.

Im sorry I cant help with your specific issue. I abandoned this brand recently due to poor quality and lack of customer support

Chincf
Chincf

Oh! A bit too late for me...thks

Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello, please call us on 1300 716 188 for product support. Thank you, your Holman Team!


Get an answer from our members and Holman representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.